Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

It's all I can afford ...new bike.

• 20-01-2014 10:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭

Ok for fear of being flamed...it's a carrera its from halfords and it will probably be the Christmas zelos special edition...319 e,
    My first road bike in over 20 years im 42, the weight of the bike does not worry me , my weight does...95kg. I can't get btw scheme im not loaded and I hope to do about 100km a week. So my question is am i mad, Considering im new to the game what do I need to get to my goal, spares , clothing, tools etc.
    I've looked secondhand and lbs but its all a lot more dosh.
    All help and constructive advice much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,256 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Cycling bib-shorts.
    Spare inner tubes
    Puncture repair kit
    Tyre levers,
    Spare tyre (or two)
    Pocket pump
    Track/floor pump.

That's enough for this week! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

A good lock if you'll be leaving it outside at work/town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Welcome to the cycling forum! Ask for help as often as you need, all questions big or small welcome.

07Lapierre's list is pretty good. I know it's kind of a lot but if you actually go and ride the bike, it'll be well worth it. You'll save money, live happier and live longer. Could even get to work faster! When you think of it like that, you'd be mad not to.

Be patient and keep a close eye on our adverts forum, some serious bargains do crop up, and it's almost always quality stuff. Adverts and donedeal are also always worth a look, feel free to post a link to whatever you're thinking of buying if you want a second opinion.

Main thing is get on the bike, bring a drink of water, and the benefits will roll in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Welcome to the cycling forum! Ask for help as often as you need, all questions big or small welcome.

07Lapierre's list is pretty good. I know it's kind of a lot but if you actually go and ride the bike, it'll be well worth it. You'll save money, live happier and live longer. Could even get to work faster! When you think of it like that, you'd be mad not to.

Be patient and keep a close eye on our adverts forum, some serious bargains do crop up, and it's almost always quality stuff. Adverts and donedeal are also always worth a look, feel free to post a link to whatever you're thinking of buying if you want a second opinion.

Main thing is get on the bike, bring a drink of water, and the benefits will roll in :)

Cheers , I've been lurking here for a few weeks, I've read and researched hence the halfords quote ; ) . Ok im 95 kg but im also 6'1'' and reasonably fit.
    I've been watching adverts and DD but I just have to get going ASAP while the head is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Good luck, let us know how you're getting on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

moonshadow wrote: »
    Ok for fear of being flamed...it's a carrera its from halfords and it will probably be the Christmas zelos special edition...319 e,
    My first road bike in over 20 years im 42, the weight of the bike does not worry me , my weight does...95kg. I can't get btw scheme im not loaded and I hope to do about 100km a week. So my question is am i mad, Considering im new to the game what do I need to get to my goal, spares , clothing, tools etc.

Don't worry, that's a grand bike.

There are a few of us using Carrera TDFs (similar price, not sure about spec) for commuting or longer distance cycling. I love mine - it's heavy as sh1t but once I'm rolling I'm happy out. I'm doing far more miles on it than my "good" bike.

Just get out on your bike, that's all there is to it. Short distances, whatever. Keep your legs spinning and eventually longer distances will be faster and more fun.

07LaPierre has the basics nailed, but you'd even get away without a lot of that for the first month or three.

Enjoy!

Thx guys, now im feeling a bit more positive about buying it... Looks like im not mad at all, keep the advice coming:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Not even mad in a little bit.

Two things - watch a few YouTube videos about setting up your bike (saddle height and position, adjusting handlebars) and get your position comfortable. It makes a bit difference to your "efficiency".
    Watch a few YouTube videos about bike adjustment and repairs - you need to know how to change a tyre, fix a puncture (and probably adjust your gears, on a new bike) while you're out and about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

The TDF's often come up on done deal from €220, a lot of them come with extras like pumps, computer, helmet etc. would not be a bad deal particularly if the tyres have been upgraded and leave enough for padded shorts and shoes.

krissovo wrote: »
    The TDF's often come up on done deal from €220, a lot of them come with extras like pumps, computer, helmet etc. would not be a bad deal particularly if the tyres have been upgraded and leave enough for padded shorts and shoes.

Thx Krissovo, I missed one today on DD with extra bits, okay for €250 a tdf mind you i later found out it had 1600km on it, but I looked at the new zelos today and I think it's good enough for a slogger like me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Thx Krissovo, I missed one today on DD with extra bits, okay for €250 a tdf mind you i later found out it had 1600km on it, but I looked at the new zelos today and I think it's good enough for a slogger like me.

1600km isn't a whole lot and so long as it's well looked after then that mileage wouldn't show on a bike.

My Ridley has approximately 3500km on it and it's absolutely mint and the next best thing to brand new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Bloch

I've never used specialist cycling clothing. I have a pair of dark trousers that have a bit of stretch in them and they worked out fine.

A newcomer might be tempted to leave out the floor/track pump, but it's pretty essential. You need to know the pressure or you'll make life hard and/or suffer pinch punctures some day.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

My first road bike in over 20 years im 42, the weight of the bike does not worry me , my weight does...95kg.
    I started off quite a bit older and a hell of a lot heavier than you. Over the first year or so I dropped 20kg or so and in total since 2007 have dropped around 35kg. Im still only 6 or 7 kg lighter than you (and slightly taller) - Your weight is not an issue and if you can average 100km a week without a significant increase in calorie intake you will probably drop quite a lot of weight

One word of caution (which I didn't follow, but should have) - get yourself checked out by your doctor before taking up strenuous sport/activity after such a long break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

if your totally new to cycling my 2 cent worth 40 years cycling:eek: did i say that.
    don't leave home without food in your pocket fruitcake/banana is excellent.
    fill your water bidons one with water other energy drink.
    2 spare tubes maybe puncture repair and leavers to get the tyre off and on.
    multi tool is good one with chainbreaker.
    don't pust hero gears 52x11:D:D keep your cadence light.
    be seen.
    ENJOY.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭mamax

The zelos is a good starter bike, don't frown on it because its cheap, I've been cycling one all winter :)
    My advice would be to change the stock tyres and saddle once you get a feel for it.
    The frame is very strong and bulletproof especially on the roads I ride on and I like mine so much I've recently upgraded to a 105 groupset.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Carrera tdf for sale with less mileage:
    http://www.adverts.ie/road-bikes/carrera/4633709

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Rambling Man

Took up cycling last year at the ripe old age of 47. i'm flying, don't obsess over the bike, get started - but if you take to it you will quickly want to upgrade. There's a very good market in second hand. Best of luck, youngfla

Ps was also in the 90kgs, weighing in at 79kg now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭OREGATO

The Zelos isn't a bad bike for a beginner at all IMO.

I bought one a few weeks ago and it's been great so far. My plan was slightly different, I'd been cycling for the past 2 years to work on a hybrid and wanted to try a road bike to see if it was for me, didn't want an initial outlay of mad money so decided on the Zelos.

I was going to go second hand but the issue of not knowing enough as well as not being sure what size frame was right for me made me think it was more convenient to buy new.

I'd echo mamax's advice and if you're going for it, change the pedals first and foremost. They probably won't charge you for putting them on if you get them when you're getting the bike.

As for the gear, multi tools and levers can be bought on ebay for every cheap, they might not last as long, but I've a multitool that I bought for €4 and it's still going strong. Footpump is essential, Halfords sell them for around €10, the cycling clothing, I've been buying my stuff in Aldi, check out some of their stores as stock will vary but there are deals to be had.

Apart from that, just enjoy it and don't rush into it too much. From transitioning to a road bike, I've found my elbows are pretty sore (probably to do with fit etc) but I'll be upgrading in the next few months so will get a proper fit once I've bought a new shiny bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Beasty wrote: »
    I started off quite a bit older and a hell of a lot heavier than you. Over the first year or so I dropped 20kg or so and in total since 2007 have dropped around 35kg. Im still only 6 or 7 kg lighter than you (and slightly taller) - Your weight is not an issue and if you can average 100km a week without a significant increase in calorie intake you will probably drop quite a lot of weight

One word of caution (which I didn't follow, but should have) - get yourself checked out by your doctor before taking up strenuous sport/activity after such a long break.

That is solid advice alright. I am not long in the game myself but I love it especially in the summer months. Best of luck OP. Let us know how everything goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,256 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

logik wrote: »
    That is solid advice alright. I am not long in the game myself but I love it especially in the summer months. Best of luck OP. Let us know how everything goes.

"Cycling isn’t a game, its a sport. Tough, hard and unpitying, and it requires great sacrifices. One plays football, or tennis, or hockey. One doesn’t play at cycling"
    Jean de Gribaldy (Sean Kelly’s Manager)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,012 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Good luck moonshadow. Don't spend too much time thinking about it, just get out there.

Re: 100kms a week - in one spin or over several. If spread out throughout the week, you won't necessarily need bibshorts etc if funds are tight.
    .... mind you i later found out it had 1600km on it
    1,600kms? - hardly run in yet. Many of us here would put up 1,600 a month in Spring/Summer/Autumn. My Ridley has 14,000kms, my Fuji 12,000kms, my Trek 3,000and 2 other bikes from pre Garmin days with no record of mileage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

In addition to the good advice already posted; when starting cycling in winter, learn how to fix a flat / change a tube properly at home (including why you punctured) before going to far from home. The side of the road on a bad day in winter is not the nicest place to learn these things.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Your not mad, i was close to 20 years off any form of bike,im 43, im no slim jim,I have a badly fcuked up leg full of pins and plates,pretty constant pain and numbness while out on the bike [thats a whole other story],i suffer from asthma in the winter months [Up until 2 weeks ago i was going strong but it got too much so ive retired to the gym for the next 2 months or so]
    I bought a carrera tdf for €400 odd in halfords back at the end of August,since then ive clocked up 2,600 klms.
    With regards to clothing i made sure to get a good pair of shorts more so than anything else,everythign else would not be considered top class gear but for my level it does me fine as does the bike.
    Yeah i get the odd look of disgust from a few snobs but most cyclists i meet give me a friendly wave.
    My advice is get out and just enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Dcully wrote: »
    Yeah i get the odd look of disgust from a few snobs but most cyclists i meet give me a friendly wave.
    You probably don't even get those odd looks of disgust - some unfortunate people suffer from 'bitchy resting face syndrome'.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3v98CPXNiSk

My own thinking face looks kind of aggressive. It's probably the pain of having to think that does it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Jabel

Go for it OP and welcome to the over 40's club here!
    You will not regret getting out there on the bike, it's without
    doubt the most enjoyable way to get around (to work or otherwise).
    I've cycled to and from work for years on mountain bikes,
    a flat bar road bike and most recently a shiny new Cube Peleton Race and convinced myself I was to old/unfit/tired to
    cycle every day, the most I could manage would be 3 days.
    But necessity is the mother of invention they say and due to car trouble
    I had no option but to cycle every day from last summer and boy have I
    surprised myself (and others) with the progress I've made.
    I gradually got fitter, lost weight and am now cycling 5 days a week and
    loving it so much that I feel guilty if I cant cycle for some reason and feel
    I'm cheating! Get the Carrera, don't be tempted into a hybrid of any sort, a few cheap(ish) items of clothing and away you go.
    Best of luck, stay safe and follow the rules of the road;)
    J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭mamax

Check out aldi and lidl frequently and you will find end of line cycling gear reduced to clear
    Their jackets and base layers are great value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

A track pump is one of the most important items to buy once you start cycling regularly. Often people who start off don't realise how important it is to keep the pressure high in your tires. Even if it feels rock hard it may not be. I pump my tires up every second ride but once a week will probably do. High pressure will 'dramatically' decrease your chance of getting a puncture and make cycling easier. A track pump is 10 times better than a hand pump for getting the tire up to high pressure easily.

Wow so many replies and advice, thanks all. Got a few pm from good folk and may have a shot at a boardsie bike but if not I'm going to go with a carrera get my ass off the sofa and on a saddle and head off to enjoy a spin or two a week.
    I have to say the cycling forum is a real community and seems full of good decent people full of advice and with honest replies.
    Ta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

[quote="moonshadow;88584661"
    I have to say the cycling forum is a real community and seems full of good decent people full of advice and with honest replies.
    Ta.[/quote]

Ah its a great place (when Lusk Doyle isn't here)!

Good luck moonshadow. Don't spend too much time thinking about it, just get out there.

Re: 100kms a week - in one spin or over several. If spread out throughout the week, you won't necessarily need bibshorts etc if funds are tight.

1,600kms? - hardly run in yet. Many of us here would put up 1,600 a month in Spring/Summer/Autumn. My Ridley has 14,000kms, my Fuji 12,000kms, my Trek 3,000and 2 other bikes from pre Garmin days with no record of mileage.

Jeepers, you really need a diesel model!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭rollingscone

07Lapierre wrote: »
    "Cycling isn’t a game, its a sport. Tough, hard and unpitying, and it requires great sacrifices. One plays football, or tennis, or hockey. One doesn’t play at cycling"
    Jean de Gribaldy (Sean Kelly’s Manager)

How much are Rapha paying you to insinuate their marketing into this forum?

:P

I just might be sorted with a boardsie bike, ill confirm tomorrow night..seems like I found a good crew in here :)

Well ,the saga continues.
    One thing I can confirm is that if anyone tries on cycling clothing before they purchase a bike they will not buy a bike !!!
    Why cause it is the most unflattering attire ever worn by a bulgy man ;)
    Bike hopefully tomorrow evening.
    Thx all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Well ,the saga continues.
    One thing I can confirm is that if anyone tries on cycling clothing before they purchase a bike they will not buy a bike !!!
    Why cause it is the most unflattering attire ever worn by a bulgy man ;)
    Bike hopefully tomorrow evening.
    Thx all.

That's what I felt too when buying my first bike for years recently, but I sucked it up and took the advice of the guy in the shop that the padded shorts would be worth it - haven't ridden without them since and they've definitely minimised the sore arse effect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

That Halfords offer price on the Xelos is very good at the moment. That bike was originally priced at over €700 so I would grab it if I were you and join up with the rest of the MAMILS out there !