Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting to know.....the Sherriff with a Shotgun

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

BennyMul wrote: »
    evening Mike.

what superpower would you pick
    what boardies scalp would you like to claim.
    what characteristic about you would you change and why.
    ideal locations for a row, swim, bike run

If you met a young Mike what advice would you give him,

Hey BM
    • Superpower - understand women the ability to fly would be cool :)
    • Scalp - Bambaata, had a battle with him on the bike a few times, usually him pipping me to T2.. then he is gone for dust.
    • Characteristic - hmmm I tend to procrastinate over stupid little things than need doing :cool:
    • Locations
    - Row on the Charles river Boston, Swim in the Med off a Sandy beach, Mountain Bike any of the American or NZ Redwood Forests, Run on Mount Blanc

If I met young Mike, I'd tell him to do his leaving cert again and get the points. Oh and learn to swim :)

EC1000 wrote: »
    Run PBs over the usual distances, 5k, 10k, Half etc,
    I've never been a runner but I've done a few of each distance
    • 5k local race: 18:05 - needs updating, ran it with a hangover
    • 10k Adare: 38:09 - likewise :cool: it was done the day after a 4 hour TT bike
    • Half Marathon Limerick: 1:23:40 - happy enough with this one
    • Marathon Connemara: 3:00:20 - seriously need updating!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭griffin100

Hey Mike,

- which of your sub 3 challenges do you reckon is the most difficult and why?
    - why as a very experienced ow swimmer did you have a panic attack in the WOTS? (as someone who has had similar experiences I'm interested)
    - You've backed away from tri, do you think it's on the wane in Ireland?
    - how are you not going to die of boredom doing laps of Eton Dorny?
    - what's your nutrition plan for the 10km swim?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

Trig1 wrote: »
    Love it..reminds me of our Junior 4's win back in 93

Did you race against the Bish crew that won it in 92?

Trig1 wrote: »
    If you could go back and re-do your life again what would you change? if anything?
    Money no object-where would you live?
    What car would you drive?
    What bike would you cycle?

If you were to compete in rowing again (if you were young again) would you row in a University club or a local club ;) {u.l. vs smrc - the good and the bad}

Where do you see yourself in 5years time?
    How many Burpee jumps can you do in 2minutes?
    Whats your fastest time for 100m flat out on the erg? (and how many people do you need to hold the erg to stop it moving)

Favourite meal in a restuarant?

Jaysus Trig talk about open questions.. and another bloody fitness task :cool:

If you could go back and re-do your life again what would you change? if anything?
    I'm happy where I am now so going back to change things may mean giving up what I have now (the friendships, family). So, though I dream about just this from time to time it usually boils down to a couple of things.
    1. If I had got properly stuck into a single sport and pushed to my potential where would I be? I'd love to have been a competitive swimmer. I think parents are really important in a child's early sporting life and mine were just not swimmers or sporty.
    2. I redo my Leaving Cert and get the points for PE Teaching

Money no object-where would you live?
    Caz would live in New Zealand and I'd follow her to the end of the earth so, New Zealand. Beaches and mountains, summary summers and wintry winters, forest trails etc..

What car would you drive?
    A Jaguar Sportbrake for family stuff
    A Ferarri 458 Italia for me

What bike would you cycle?
    TT - Scott Plasma
    MTB - Specialised S Works StuntJumper

If you were to compete in rowing again (if you were young again) would you row in a University club or a local club ;) {u.l. vs smrc - the good and the bad}

Well if I took it up in Uni I'd row for the Varsity Crew. If I took it up as a Junior I'd be at Micks (Local Club) and row Inter-varsities for the Uni but Champs for the Club

Where do you see yourself in 5years time?
    Supporting shotgunjunior in Junior Schools Cup Rugby matches and/or Swimming Gala or whatever he pursues. I'll be there to support him. Change of Career to something Teaching/Coaching related. Part of a team going to an Adventure Racing World Series Event. Certified Swim Coach.

How many Burpee jumps can you do in 2minutes?
    Just did 54 and legs are like jelly.. my body is wrecked from these mini challenges

Whats your fastest time for 100m flat out on the erg? (and how many people do you need to hold the erg to stop it moving)
    Shotgunjunior's erg test is 200m. He hops on to have a lash off it once in a while. So, I've done a couple too. Last one was a 32.5 seconds with a 16.3 first 100 and 16.2 second 100. My current best 100 is 15.6 secs and no one holding the erg :)

Favourite meal in a restuarant?
    Not fussy but expect a lot better than I can cook myself. Service and atmosphere, wine selection all make a big difference. You could have the exact same meal in 2 different restaurants and rate one 3 stars and the other 4 based on experience. But I love a perfectly slowly braised beef and crunchy veg or a lobster risotto. Local black pudding and fresh chutney and salad starter. Basically whatever the local speciality is. New Japanese place opened in Limerick a few weeks ago so I'm going to head in to test their Gyoza (dumplings), Miso Ramen (buckwheat noodles in a soup with indigenous veg and pork) and of course sushi rolls yum yum

Heaven for me though is a stone baked pizza and a local full bodied red in a passionate family run Italian, in Italy, overlooking the Med, late at night...

griffin100 wrote: »
    Hey Mike....

- which of your sub 3 challenges do you reckon is the most difficult and why?
    The run. The rowing pace 2:05/500m is the most comfortable sub3 pace of the 3 for me. Its just about building the endurance. The swim is unknown territory but I have faith in pushing hard and just not quitting because my body will hold up. I've run 3 hours for a marathon so I know I can do it. Its getting through the training (the long PMP) runs unscathed and then executing the race strategy on the day. You could say that for the row and swim too but for the run I need to stay ahead of the cramps and that is my main worry.

- why as a very experienced ow swimmer did you have a panic attack in the WOTS? (as someone who has had similar experiences I'm interested)
    I've no idea. I've swam a lot in rivers and lakes and in shelter sea bays. We were a mile out to sea and I lost the group I was with when it became choppy. This shouldn't have thrown me as I've loved the rough swims in Kilkee Bay. For some reason I mistook a small white buoy for a cap and swam towards it. When I got there I realised I had swam way off line. My Garmin was being stupid and telling me that after 70 odd minutes I had barely 3km done. I momentarily forgot what landmark to aim for. It was a collection of things that were not making sense and I simply forgot to breathe. After a few seconds I was freaking out looking for a rescue boat to pull me out of the water. Its never happened me before. I've been swimming on my own on a river with an angry swam baring down on me and not flinched. I was so relieved to swim for a bit and catch sight of the shore that I practically sprinted the last km. It was an unusual situation but a scary one at that.

- You've backed away from tri, do you think it's on the wane in Ireland?
    I think the problem is that there are just too many races and too few experienced RDs and volunteers. Many of the mickey mouse races that spring up suddenly are in it for a quick buck. I think the NS is over complicated and the AG thing although a money racket, is necessary to fund the sport until it becomes more mainstream. Aileen Reed started something but we need a result in Rio really to generate momentum. Some clubs are doing great things for juniors but TI need to support clubs and develop those coaching structures with real expertise.

Overall I think multisport will grow but not so sure triathlon will keep going. The smallest discipline of tri, swimming, requires so much time for so little gain for most that it presents dilemmas that are an obstacle to longevity. To be competitive at tri you just have to be able to swim. So many take it up in their 30s and 40s and cannot put the time into swimming. It doesn't make sense to. They don't get to enjoy swimming and suddenly part of the sport is not fun. We need Elite competitive triathletes to follow and that means juniors being able to swim 17mins for 1500 for starters. Anyway I'm rambling. I like the sport but its cashing in before it has matured.

- how are you not going to die of boredom doing laps of Eton Dorny?
    Its 5 laps. I think that will really help actually. Breaking the whole 10km down to segments and treating each one in turn

- what's your nutrition plan for the 10km swim?
    interested's take on this would be to just swim fast so you don't need food but we are not all sharks gliding effortlessly. No solids, probably a bottle of carb mix chucked down after 70-80 mins. To be honest I haven't given it any thought yet. For the run and row its will be 4-5 gels each but I don't think I'll be stopping that often in the swim :confused:

Thanks for the questions!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Couple of Weeks in New Zealand with mountain bikes

Give a shout if you're heading over! (But two weeks isn't enough- you'd barely scratch the surface)

My question- do you see yourself changing into purely doing things for the challenge or will you always need the competition against other people/teams. Would you be as happy crossing the patagonian icecap on your own, or would you need to chase/be chased?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

Doing all the physical challenges set on this thread, has this been your toughest weeks training since IM??

Grape or grain? Red or white? New world or old world?

Favourite icecream?

Chocolate brownie or apple pie??

I like to ask the realy hard hitting questions!!! :)

MrCreosote wrote: »
    Give a shout if you're heading over! (But two weeks isn't enough- you'd barely scratch the surface)

My question- do you see yourself changing into purely doing things for the challenge or will you always need the competition against other people/teams. Would you be as happy crossing the patagonian icecap on your own, or would you need to chase/be chased?

Defo! Yes it would be more than 2 weeks :)

Good question. I love the race and the competition so pitting myself or my team against others is a factor. I do have some solo ideas in mind but they mostly rely on some form of support.

BTH wrote: »
    I like to ask the realy hard hitting questions!!! :)

For Sure ;)

Doing all the physical challenges set on this thread, has this been your toughest weeks training since IM??
    I'm certainly feeling DOMS where I haven't felt them in years!

Grape or grain? Red or white? New world or old world?
    Grape, red, old world oak like Rioja Reserva or a Cabernet

Favourite icecream?
    Not really into ice cream but I will indulge a good gelaterie. Usually a combination of mint choc, lemon, vanilla and mango. I like fresh zingy ice cream

Chocolate brownie or apple pie??
    Easy, apple pie all the way - the whole pie of course!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

:eek: I feel like I'm late to a party!!!!

Okay...down to business with the head Stud Muffin!!!

In a battle of romantic bones, who has more in their body, you or AKW??

Regarding the love of your life, Caz (lucky gal!), did you chase, or were you chased??

You, Caz and shotgun junior stuck in the house on a Sunday - what does that look like?

If I hopped in your car with you right now, what would be playing on the radio or what cd would you have in the player?

Do you have any favorite tunes to psych you up before a race?

And pre-race/race superstitions or rituals?

Biggest mistake you ever made in a race or event? (not counting that crab thing that happened while rowing)

Which do you prefer: individual or team events, and why?

Why do you train and participate in races/events at this point in your life?

Do you have any tattoos? Or any piercings?

When might I receive my letter from you? ;) (no hurry, though. just thought it was a good question. :))

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Dory, at this stage Shotgun is hardly able to lift his arms so the question is 'who can give the best hugs?'

Method in the madness ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

AKW wrote: »
    Dory, at this stage Shotgun is hardly able to lift his arms so the question is 'who can give the best hugs?'

Method in the madness ;)

You sly dog, you. ;) But my next question was going to be.....

How long can you kiss Caz without coming up for air after reading this?

You know, objective instead of subjective. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

How often do you see something in a blog on here and view it in the light of your "other job" and think : "Man I have a great idea what is going on in that persons head, I could really help them"

And then do you ever act on these impulses?

You walked in to this one Mike...

Jump on the rower and do a 500m x10...
    Let us see what your feeble girly arms can pull for testing pace...
    I reckon you wont break 1:45 on each one :)

Right tonight first off, me an my feeble girly arms gave this a go
    10x500m with 90 secs rest

Result - Kurt G would like these numbers :)

500m @ 1:44.4, 308w
    500m @ 1:44.3, 308w
    500m @ 1:43.8, 317w

IN YOUR FACE HOBBIT HAHA!!!!! :D

Seriously though this hurt. I got through the first 5 ok. Nice high tempo of 28-29 strokes per minute. Rock solid power and tempo. Felt good. Psyched up to get #6 done and break the back on the session. 7 and 8 were tough but I just about recovered for #9. #10 was just pain but good pain as I counted down the strokes to freedom from the pain cave. Really good session :)

I had planned a row anyway but hard to beat this session's value for a short window of time. Seems the Hobbit underestimated my feebly girly arms. I'd like to see him take them on in a scrap :P

Dory Dory wrote: »
    :eek: I feel like I'm late to a party!!!!:))
    Better late than never sweet cheeks ;)

Okay...down to business with the head Stud Muffin!!!

In a battle of romantic bones, who has more in their body, you or AKW??
    No idea, he is Married a lot longer, but I do have some gushy tricks up my sleeve :)

Regarding the love of your life, Caz (lucky gal!), did you chase, or were you chased??
    I chased. Chased her up hills at the weekly hill running group. Knocked on her door regularly and stood there like a lost puppy. Cooked for her. Turned the drive to a tri club training weekend into a road trip with carefully selected tunes...

Ah no, we were friends for months before we dated. We just clicked and hung out, talking sh!te on the phone for hours. One day it just clicked. We went for Malt Milkshakes (Yum) and a movie. I dropped her home to her door, said my goodnight and drove away. I lived a 40 minute drive away at the time. It was a densely foggy night and I was kicking myself for not having the balls to do something. So I turned around...

Circled the block a few times plucking up the courage and then dragged myself up to her door like an awkward teenager, my heart beating on the outside of my chest, ready to make my move. Confidence had never been a problem in my life up to this point. Caz answered the door rather surprised and I....... ....asked if I could use her bathroom!

I spent all of half a second standing in her en suite, mortified. I exited and made for a quick escape before the game was up. On the way out the door, I stopped momentarily caught her smiling, dancing eyes, grabbed her and kissed her. She was shocked and closed the door in my face!!!!

You, Caz and shotgun junior stuck in the house on a Sunday - what does that look like? Watching documentaries on National Geographic Wild HD, playing any form of game, top trumps, trivia cards etc. .or just mucking about taking the p!ss out of each other

If I hopped in your car with you right now, what would be playing on the radio or what cd would you have in the player? Its a multiple CD changer so I always have a selection. Right now it would be Alicia Keys songs in A minor, Alicia Keys unplugged, Ministry of Sound Trance Anthems, Mary J Blige the Tour, Michael Jackson Thriller and Plan B the Defamation of Strickland Banks.

The Radio Channel is biased towards 80's music. Alex will put on Spin FM when he is with me. Its a cheesy teenie poptastic "Daddy do you not know who Celina Gomez is!!" blending of too cool for school sarcastic tennie presenters shelling out tennie disco belters :)

Do you have any favorite tunes to psych you up before a race?
    Loads, to name a few...

Why Go - Faithless
    Uprising - Muse
    Happiness - Alexis Jordan
    Nightmare - Brainbug
    Touch me - Rui Da Silva
    Let me be your fantasy - Baby D

And lots more, usually a great base behind an epic tune with a sick drop

For Triathlon I always walk through the series of steps in transition.
    For Rowing I pee out the side of the boat at the stakeboat before the start of the regatta

Biggest mistake you ever made in a race or event? (not counting that crab thing that happened while rowing)
    Electrolytes in Roth 2011. I was fit enough for the sub 10, executed th erace plan and hit the half way mark in the marathon in 8 hours. It was a sweltering day with no shade. I drank too much water and not enough electrolytes. Rookie mistake. Epic Cramps 8km to go....

Which do you prefer: individual or team events, and why?
    I'm self motivated to train on my own but tend to lose focus in races. I often start too fast or too hard in a race. I fare better in teams because the pressure of not letting the team down keeps me switched on. Also the pace is usually an agreed one. If its the lower end of my range I will lead or carry. If It is the upper end I will give everything to hang on.

Why do you train and participate in races/events at this point in your life?
    Its an outlet that keeps me balanced. I believe you need to be fit and healthy for a happy life. I feel alive.

Do you have any tattoos? Or any piercings?
    Yes a Maco Shark (I love Sharks) over a scar ( I was mugged and stabbed in the leg as a teen).

When might I receive my letter from you? ;) (no hurry, though. just thought it was a good question.
    :o It is and you will I promise. The story is just not complete yet!

tunney wrote: »
    How often do you see something in a blog on here and view it in the light of your "other job" and think : "Man I have a great idea what is going on in that persons head, I could really help them"

And then do you ever act on these impulses?

In general people blogging here have already chosen to take charge of their lives and embrace a healthy and progressive way of life.

I do spot things yes but act on the impulse, no. I just help out when approached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Right tonight first off, me an my feeble girly arms gave this a go
    10x500m with 90 secs rest

Result - Kurt G would like these numbers :)

500m @ 1:43.8, 317w

IN YOUR FACE HOBBIT HAHA!!!!! :D

Seriously though this hurt. I got through the first 5 ok. Nice high tempo of 28-29 strokes per minute. Rock solid power and tempo. Felt good. Psyched up to get #6 done and break the back on the session. 7 and 8 were tough but I just about recovered for #9. #10 was just pain but good pain as I counted down the strokes to freedom from the pain cave. Really good session :)

I had planned a row anyway but hard to beat this session's value for a short window of time. Seems the Hobbit underestimated my feebly girly arms. I'd like to see him take them on in a scrap :P

Ah darn, good effort. I underestimated your girly arms. Given how evenly you paced them i should have went for 1.40 to see more of a struggle as there is no way you would hold that set on those times....plants seed into stubborn MCOS's head:)

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭dapope

Couple of Weeks in New Zealand with mountain bikes

This might be what you are looking for:
    http://greatsouthernbrevet.blogspot.ie/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

Seriously, a pi$$ at the stakeboats? :D That's priceless.

Did you ever race at any international regattas - Henley, Ghent or the likes?
    Is it all rugby and swimming for Shotgun Junior or does he do other sports? What sports would you like him to be doing?
    Favourite book and movie?
    You have a 3 hour window for training - what's your posion?
    Why do ye keep putting up you're prices? As complaints manager you must be fair busy! Conor Pope giving out about ye on twitter :pac:
    Favourite training session for swim, bike & run.
    As part of your focus on conditioning, stretching, etc - how are you introducing and balancing this against training? Also, what sort of areas you focusing on?

Have a good weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

pgibbo wrote: »
    Why do ye keep putting up you're prices? As complaints manager you must be fair busy! Conor Pope giving out about ye on twitter :pac:

Between that, no red button and the maddening delay when using the remote on MMDS - I am off, my sheer laziness is your best chance :D

Favourite Movie Character?
    Favourite Action Hero?
    Why did it take you so long to sort out the dodgy box, did you drag your heels deliberately to screw sky?
    Limerick = bad rep, deserved or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

And why can my box not record two things and let me watch another at the same time?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Trig1

Did you race against the Bish crew that won it in 92?

Hi Pgibbo, I wasn't in the 4 but i was in the 8 that came 3rd behind Bish and Limerick boat club, I ended up going to the homes that year with 4 lads from bish and 3 lads from Limerick boat club, we won gold and set a course record in strathclyde...

For Rowing I pee out the side of the boat at the stakeboat before the start of the regatta

:D:D:D:D Ha ha love it, did the same once but didn't notice the womens 8 drifting slowly passed me :o:o

Ah darn, good effort. I underestimated your girly arms. Given how evenly you paced them i should have went for 1.40 to see more of a struggle as there is no way you would hold that set on those times....plants seed into stubborn MCOS's head:)

1:40 is another dimension entirely, might get there but will require months of training. Could maybe hit 2 in a row now, 3 tops
    dapope wrote: »
    This might be what you are looking for:
    http://greatsouthernbrevet.blogspot.ie/
    Cool thank you. look wicked! Bookmarked :)

Seriously, a pi$$ at the stakeboats? :D That's priceless.
    Its a nervous thing!

Did you ever race at any international regattas - Henley, Ghent or the likes?
    Only the Head of the Charles. Loved it.
    Is it all rugby and swimming for Shotgun Junior or does he do other sports?
    Yep swimming and rugby for now. Does other things in school like tennis, basketball etc.. He is only 8. I only found sport as a teen.

What sports would you like him to be doing?
    Whatever he chooses I'll be there for him 100%. Ideally, playing rugby for Ireland

Book: Hard to narrow down as I read a lot. Reading a cool one at the moment called "Friday Night Lights" about the Permian Panthers high school football team and the relationship between it and of a small Texas town called Odessa in the late 80's.
    Movie: Love all the Marvel stuff. Appreciate the deep and meaning full Shawshank etc.. but its a shallow toss up between Braveheart, Armageddon and Any Given Sunday

You have a 3 hour window for training - what's your posion?
    Ooh a lake swim, followed by some single track mountain bike and a ganrly hill run. I've a feeling I'm going to enjoy XTERRA this summer :D
    Why do ye keep putting up you're prices? As complaints manager you must be fair busy! Conor Pope giving out about ye on twitter :pac: Another Pope, Brent Pope is an advocate on twitter. Like any utility in life, costs rise. Don't always agree with it but keep me in a job.

Favourite training session for swim, bike & run.
    Swim: Long OW swim in the Med or if it has to be the pool, a set of 1000, 800, 2x400, 4x200, 8x100 off descending repeat times
    Bike: Turbo 2x20min sweet spot or a 2.5 hour bike with fast rolling hills
    Run: Before dawn on fresh fallen snow. Since that is a rarity, I like nailing a session of 1km reps

As part of your focus on conditioning, stretching, etc - how are you introducing and balancing this against training? Also, what sort of areas you focusing on? It takes time but stretching and rolling in front of the TV is one way. I need to find time for yoga though, easily the best all round flexibility and conditioning session for me. Other wise regular 10 minute spot focus on calves, quads, back which have all been problem areas etc..

Have a good weekend.
    Thanks you too mate!

catweazle wrote: »
    Between that, no red button and the maddening delay when using the remote on MMDS - I am off, my sheer laziness is your best chance :D

Favourite Movie Character?
    Favourite Action Hero?
    Why did it take you so long to sort out the dodgy box, did you drag your heels deliberately to screw sky?
    Limerick = bad rep, deserved or not?
    MMDS: :o Shame you can't get Fibre.
    vie Character:
    Movie Character: Selene - Kate Beckinsale in Underworld
    Action Hero: The Hulk
    The box: not me personally :)
    Limerick: No worse than the big smoke. Just more publicised crimes. Some of the stuff that happens out the country side makes my stomach turn.
    tunney wrote: »
    And why can my box not record two things and let me watch another at the same time?
    Horizon can record 4 and watch a 5th. I have both the DVR and HZN. Thought DVR was great until I got HZN.

Movie Character: Selene - Kate Beckinsale in Underworld

snap!!!! love her , love all the underworlds except last one which was crap

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Book: Hard to narrow down as I read a lot. Reading a cool one at the moment called "Friday Night Lights" about the Permian Panthers high school football team and the relationship between it and of a small Texas town called Odessa in the late 80's.

i presume you've seen the movie(good) and tv show(very good)?

anyway, few from me before the week is out
    you seem to live variety, do you ever think you'll settle on one sport? adventure racing is obviously tickling the fancy now,will this be a long term passion? or will the hunger move on?

who would you have on your team, 3 average guys/girls who gave 110% or 3 ass kickers who gave 80? even if the 80 was better than the 110 from the others?

if you like the adventure races, and obviously the running,ever think of the long distance desert races? any interest?

mossym wrote: »
    i presume you've seen the movie(good) and tv show(very good)?
    Nope but will do once I've finished the book.

anyway, few from me before the week is out
    you seem to live variety, do you ever think you'll settle on one sport? adventure racing is obviously tickling the fancy now,will this be a long term passion? or will the hunger move on?

Good question. I do love variety. AR, proper AR is the goal. It crazy and such a challenge. I don't know, it a long term plan. The hunger is for challenge. One thing I will keep up for life is swimming. Its easily the best physical skill I've picked up in my adult life. I doubt I'll settle one sport. Even back when I did one sport like rowing, I did Judo and Inline Skating on the off season.

who would you have on your team, 3 average guys/girls who gave 110% or 3 ass kickers who gave 80? even if the 80 was better than the 110 from the others?

Interesting question. Would you rather come 2nd in a race with a team who could not do more or would not do more? I guess it depends on context too, 80% to win a race would do but I couldn't see lasting friendships. Average skill can always improve and a team giving their all is an inspiring thing to be part of. I've been in teams in both cases and I'll take someone who doesn't quit over laziness in the blink of an eye.

if you like the adventure races, and obviously the running,ever think of the long distance desert races? any interest?

I'm not that mad about running! Running across hot deserts doesn't appeal to me.