Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow Fit4Life League 2014

• 21-01-2014 10:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭

Another year and we're off again.
    The first 2 rounds have been announced in advance of next month's AGM.

Round 1
    When: Thurs 6th Feb, 7:30 start
    Where: Greystones (sign on near the track)
    Distance: 2 Miles
    Course: Out and back on cycle lanes
    Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/1492730797619972

Round 2
    When: Thurs 6th March, 7:30 start
    Where: Rathdrum (sign on TBD - probably St. Colmans Hospital)
    Distance: 5k
    Course: Road - 3 laps

€5 for AAI affiliated members
    €7 for non AAI affiliated members

Prizes
    Open categories
    Men and Women: 1st 3 Junior, Senior (under 40 on race day), O40, O50 and O60.
    Fit 4 Life Categories:
    Open to New and Recreational runners.
    Self-selected by participant.
    Prize Structure: 1st 3 Women, 1st 3 Men plus 3 spot prizes.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Round 2 this Thursday evening.

Round 2
    When: Thurs 6th March, 7:30 start
    Where: Rathdrum (sign on from 6:30pm - St. Colmans Hospital)
    Distance: 5k
    Course: Road - 3 laps

Prizes
    Open categories
    Fit 4 Life Categories:

Didn't make it myself last night, so thanks to the team for covering.
    Results can be found here, race was won by Damien Lawless in 17:03, closely followed by Abhainn in 17:11, 1st woman was Anne-Marie Kenny in 21:09.

Round 3 will be hosted by Bray in Shanganagh on April 2nd at 7:30pm, 3k on the tarmac path.

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

Thanks Dom.

Rainy night, hilly course, dark roads, but as always immensely enjoyable, very friendly and ruthlessly efficient.
    I always come away from these F4L races wondering why I don't do more.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Abhainn

wrstan wrote: »
    Thanks Dom.

Rainy night, hilly course, dark roads, but as always immensely enjoyable, very friendly and ruthlessly efficient.
    I always come away from these F4L races wondering why I don't do more.

Missed your tall figure BB67 but I think you were running from?:) a plane around that time.
    Agree with wrstan hats off to the organisers with good refreshments after, Course was long hill (600m) followed by 300m flat then 500m decent x 3 .5 times! Little tester but great workout

DATE CHANGE:

This is confirmation that due to availability the Fit4Life Round change will change to Thurs Apr 3rd – full details below.

Fit4Life Round 3
    When: Thurs 3rd April, 7:30 start
    Where: Shanganagh Pk, Shankill (sign on near pedestrian bridge)
    Distance: 3k
    Course: Tarmac – 1.5 laps

Prizes
    Open categories
    Fit 4 Life Categories:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    DATE CHANGE:

This is confirmation that due to availability the Fit4Life Round change will change to Thurs Apr 3rd – full details below.

Fit4Life Round 3
    When: Thurs 3rd April, 7:30 start
    Where: Shanganagh Pk, Shankill (sign on near pedestrian bridge)
    Distance: 3k
    Course: Tarmac – 1.5 laps

Prizes
    Open categories
    Fit 4 Life Categories:

Facebook event page up now: https://www.facebook.com/events/420250821444904/

Should be a decent race up the sharp end if afew of the boardies showup, its actually a decent course also, flat as a pancake, and not too many bends!

Couple of smackdowns being planned for this evening I believe - who's heading over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Couple of smackdowns being planned for this evening I believe - who's heading over?
    ill be heading veiwing the smackdowns from waaay back...

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

I'll be there but sadly will be in the HiViz jacket and clip board category and not in the flashy racing flats category :mad:

Had the tunes blaring all day, even got the motivational videos going ha, I'll be there ready and waiting, can't wait!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Timmaay wrote: »
    Had the tunes blaring all day, even got the motivational videos going ha, I'll be there ready and waiting, can't wait!

Great running Tim.

Happy out, bagged a pb and all. The early race shakeup wasn't really intentional ha, we have been doing mostly 1500m stuff in training, and from talking to dom afew days ago he said 3k is that horrible distance between proper middle distance flatout, and 5ks, so I thought feckit, might as well push from the gun, I got alittle carried away with the pace though I'll admit ha, thankfully just about hung on ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Happy out, bagged a pb and all. The early race shakeup wasn't really intentional ha, we have been doing mostly 1500m stuff in training, and from talking to dom afew days ago he said 3k is that horrible distance between proper middle distance flatout, and 5ks, so I thought feckit, might as well push from the gun, I got alittle carried away with the pace though I'll admit ha, thankfully just about hung on ha!
    Ah ye still had enough left in the tank for a damn fine finishing kick!

Results from last night

Ok track and field season is (finally) upon us, and the next Sli Cualann Fit4life race is a 1mile challenge on the Greystones track, on Thursday 15th of May. There will be several grades on the evening, with a big spread in different races from a sub5 down to 10mins+, so something to suit everyone. The usual top3 prizes for various different age groups, alongside afew spot prizes, and some refreshments afterwards, all for 5 euros. The timetable will be finalized soon, but 1st race will be about 7.15pm.

Little bump for this one, this Thursday evening.
    Gentle breeze, no rain, 13 degrees :)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxUCO20OFBo3ckl5X2tlNnl6SmE5czJ0ZkN4NkRjQUlTRnhF/edit?usp=sharing

Good low key event last night, in perfect weather conditions!

Next f4l is up in 2weeks time Thur 29th, its a 4miles trail/grass race in Wicklow town, hosted by Inbhear Dee AC.

For anyone that fancies some altitude training :pac:
    There's also a charity BBQ afterwards, run by the lcoal athletics club along with kids events and activities.

Next race up in our Wicklow F4L league is a 2miles road race through Roundwood village. Start and finish at the GAA pitch.

This is open to everyone, Walk Jog or Run the 2miles!

Prizes
    Open categories
    Men and Women: 1st 3 Junior (under 20), Senior (under 40), O40, O50 and O60.
    Fit 4 Life Categories:

Registration opens at 7.00pm, Race Start 7.30pm

It might help if you tell us the date its on :p

I gave you one task :pah: :D

Anyway Wednesday 18th FB event here

• Registered Users Posts: 35 chrissymc

Anyone know why the league standings havent been posted up? half way through the races and nothing! whats going on?

chrissymc wrote: »
    Anyone know why the league standings havent been posted up? half way through the races and nothing! whats going on?

Volunteers Huh - shower of selfish b@st@rds :P

I'm sure there'll be something up before the end of the week.

chrissymc wrote: »

Minor rant ha, but what "goes on" in almost every single sports committee up and down the country is a small handful of volunteers end up doing all the work, and they are busy all of the time, and stuff gets done on a "just in time" bases, and in this case, league standings aren't urgently need until later in the season, in some years they do not surface until after the league is over, and just before end of league prizes are handed out. However last few years we have tried to get them earlier, hopefully someone will get around to that soon this year.

Hi Beep Beep, u gave me a laugh with the selfish btards line! and Timmayy, thanks for the explanation i wasnt complaining just curious cos last year standings were up on the Sli website i could see how i stood and what i had to do to win a prize, like to give myself motivation!

Next race up in our Wicklow F4L league is a lightening quick 5k in Shanganagh.
    The weather promises to play ball, so anyone PB hunting this could be the one.

Park at the back car park beside the soccer changing rooms and make your way over towards the pedestrian bridge.

This is open to everyone, Walk Jog or Run the 5k!

Prizes
    Open categories
    Fit 4 Life Categories:

Next race up in our Wicklow F4L league is a lightening quick 5k in Shanganagh.
    The weather promises to play ball, so anyone PB hunting this could be the one.

Park at the back car park beside the soccer changing rooms and make your way over towards the pedestrian bridge.

This is open to everyone, Walk Jog or Run the 5k!

Prizes
    Open categories
    Fit 4 Life Categories:

Jaysus, didn't realise I was O40! :)

Male or Female :pac:
    You telling porkies when signing in :confused:

Male or Female :pac:
    You telling porkies when signing in :confused:

All the good runners are over 40!
    Now, where did I leave those pink asics and that sports bra......

Results from last night below, remaining fixtures will be finalised at a meeting on Tuesday.
    http://www.slicualann.com/fit4life-2014-results-r8.html

Anyone know where we can see the drone video or is there any photos from the Shanganagh 5k?