Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Timber!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭overpronator

After The Frank Duffy I took the Sunday and Monday off, Sunday as I was wrecked and sore legs put paid to any running. Monday was an unplanned rest day as a last minute trip to Croker on Sunday resulted in too many pints and a ropey Monday overall.

Tuesday 10.6 miles easy 8.27 pace
    I did alot of this on grass in the PP and had company for the first 7, I was feeling pretty good at the end so I tacked on another 3 for the 10.

Wednesday 7.1 miles easy 8.31 pace
    Just an easy 60 minutes on a really drizzly night, nice run and felt good.

Thursday 3x2miles @10k pace 11.3 miles total
    This was the famous final McMillan 10k session and despite dreading it all day at work it actually was fairly ok. 5 mins jog between reps. Splits were
    Miles 1&2 12.39 (6.20 pace)
    Miles 3&4 12.33 (6.17 pace)
    Miles 5&6 12.42 (6.21 pace)
    As usual I did these up on the acres lap in the phoenix park and the wind was especially cruel and swirling that night so I was really glad to hold pace. Rep 1 was grand but I was working into the wind over the last half mile. Rep 2 was the toughest by far as I had a full mile into the gale and I had to be on my toes to keep pace. The legs felt very heavy starting the last one but I just put the head down and managed to finish the session out strongly, definitely easier as I knew it was the last rep. A difficult session but strangely satisfying, particularly as I managed it with the tough race from last Saturday still in the legs.

Friday 4.3 miles 8.33 pace
    I wanted to do this at 9 min miles+ as a recovery jog but the rain was so bad that I sped up to get home, a really horrible evening! The legs were really tired after the session but not too sore so I was happy enough

Sunday 16 miles LSR 8.48 pace
    I jumped in with a couple of lads from Team Carrie in Dunleer again for this one. After taking Saturday off I was hoping the legs would be in ok shape but I was fairly tired all through the run so I was happy that the pace was really easy on a lovely sunny morning. The route was a solid uphill for the last 10k so I was glad when it was over but it was great doing a long run with company.

I'm happy with a solid week overall, just over 49 miles with a decent session and long run. Bleesington 10k this Saturday so it will be an easy week, I may do a mini session on Tuesday to keep me ticking over depending on how i feel but im 50/50 on it. Really looking forward to the race as I've heard great things.

Tuesday 8 easy 8.15 pace
    I took Monday off and headed for the phoenix park last night. I was thinking about a small session ahead of the race Saturday but I decided against it, I've a small niggle in my hip these last few days, nothing too bad but I don't want to aggravate it so ill run easy and do some strides over the next 3 days. I stuck to the trails and grass for a nice 8 easy miles, felt lethargic at the start but shook it off as I went. It was the calmest evening I can remember up there in weeks and weeks, not a breath of wind and I enjoyed this one, the evenings are drawing in so there's not many of these runs left for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Well done on that last McMillan session. He promises that if you complete that session then you will hit that pace in the race. By my calculations based on that run you're due in in 39:15 at 3:55 min/km. (I managed that pace in Fingal but the racing line had me finishing in 39:41).

What's the strategy/target Saturday?

outforarun wrote: »
    Well done on that last McMillan session. He promises that if you complete that session then you will hit that pace in the race. By my calculations based on that run you're due in in 39:15 at 3:55 min/km. (I managed that pace in Fingal but the racing line had me finishing in 39:41).

What's the strategy/target Saturday?

At the moment I'm thinking that I'm going to try to hold something approaching 6.20 pace for the first two miles and see how I'm going from there. The goals in ascending order are to get under 40 again at a minimum, after that to break the PB (39.55) and if I have a good day to get under 39.30 if I can. I'm under no illusions though, sub 40 is tough so everything after that is a bonus!
    What are your thoughts on the course, there is a bit of a hill at 7kish but otherwise ok? How are you feeling about it, you're hitting for sub 39 right? The speed is there anyway.

At the moment I'm thinking that I'm going to try to hold something approaching 6.20 pace for the first two miles and see how I'm going from there. The goals in ascending order are to get under 40 again at a minimum, after that to break the PB (39.55) and if I have a good day to get under 39.30 if I can. I'm under no illusions though, sub 40 is tough so everything after that is a bonus!
    What are your thoughts on the course, there is a bit of a hill at 7kish but otherwise ok? How are you feeling about it, you're hitting for sub 39 right? The speed is there anyway.

Touch-wood and if all goes right on the day I'd say you'll definitely go under the 40:00 and I'd have my money on you getting a PB.

Here's my race report from last year's race and it carries a Garmin link.

A year has passed but I remember the first 6.5K as being either flat or slightly downhill. I remember the hill at 6.5K being very challenging. After the hill there's a gorgeous downhill which should allow you recover time lost on the hill. Then there's a little drag at 9 or 10K.

Overall I think it's a fair course.

Yeah I'm shooting for sub 39. If the stars align on the day I might just do it. But I'm not brimming with confidence.

< 39:00 = Gold
    < 39:30 = Silver
    < 39:41 = Bronze
    < 40:00 = Consolation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I think you're being a bit pessimistic tbh. I know nothing about the course. but judging on the McMillan session you did in tough conditions last week I'd expect you to go sub 39. I know OFAR says it predicts 39:15, but in a race environment I think you'll go faster.
    Good luck! :)

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I think you're being a bit pessimistic tbh. I know nothing about the course. but judging on the McMillan session you did in tough conditions last week I'd expect you to go sub 39. I know OFAR says it predicts 39:15, but in a race environment I think you'll go faster.
    Good luck! :)

Cheers yaboya, always love your optimism, something I need more of I think when it comes to racing! Will give it all a serious lash, plenty of people from here to try and chase anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Best of luck tomorrow. Your training has been fantastic. Will catch up with you there :)

Good luck tomorrow OP.
    I'm expecting a sprint finish between yourself & OFAR as you both sail in under 39 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck tomorrow OP.

Thanks a mil lads, I'll keep an eye out for ye at the start. Yaboya you're some man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭wowzer

Best of luck in the morning

39.16 this morning in the lakes 10k, 35th place I think. Happy with that, feels like job done and a pb by about 40 seconds. Will do a report over the next couple of days but will enjoy a few pints later. Absolutely brilliant race, a great credit to Lakeshore striders.

*double post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Congrats! Great pb!

Congrats, great running.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Well done on the PB, sounds like a great race too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Sweet :D Well done

Great running today and a well deserved PB. Enjoy them beers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

Super running, congrats!

Edit: just looking back there the 3x2 mile session was pretty much exact, just shows it's a great session.

Well done on the pb.
    Great running ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Congrats savage time, enjoy your well deserved drinks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Very well done OP, great running. It was coming in fairness and very well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done on the pb OP!

I was really looking forward to this race due to reports from here and had targeted it for a good run almost since London so it was great to finally get it done. Training had gone fairly well over the last 6 or so weeks so I was hopeful of a PB and ultimately a sub 39.30.

I got down in good time and did a quick warmup running into outforarun and Tom Joad before the start, the lads were in good form and before I knew it we were lining up at the start. There was a great atmosphere and the start was smooth and uncongested with the specific starting sections. I always start too far back in races stupidly erring on the side of caution but stepping into the sub 40 section I was across the line and moving within a second of the gun, great stuff. The pace was brisk early on with slight downhill once we got off the bridge so I just went with it, keeping an eye on the breathing. Mile 1 6.11
    I found miles 2&3 tough going, maybe because the first mile was a bit quick, the course was mostly flat with little rolling ups and down along the country roads. I wasn't hitting pace along here but was working quite hard so I didn't want to force things before half way, there was a bit of a wind but overall I was feeling sluggish Mile 2&3 6.29, 6.32
    Coming through halfway somewhere around 19.58 I knew I needed to get my act together so I upped the effort and really began trying to catch runners ahead of me. I wasn't panicking as I could still see outforarun about 100m up the road but I was starting to properly hurt by the time we hit the hill at the start of mile 5. I knew the hill would be tough and it was, I got myself up it and thankfully I recovered fairly well. Checking the watch I could see overall pace at 6.25 so I was confident of at least getting in under 40, now it was just a question of how much. I really got stuck into the downhill and went all out to the finish. I passed a good few runners over the closing miles and OFR was getting closer and closer, whilst I knew he wouldn't be caught he definitely made for a good target. The last half mile really hurt as they're supposed to but crossing the line the watch read 39.15 so I was delighted, not minding the 1 second robbed by precision timing to give me a chip time of 39.16 Miles 4,5&6 6.17,6.22,6.03 (5.31)
    Once I got myself together I had a chat with the lads and a big well done to OFR on a cracking time. Tom Joad had a less than perfect day but I know sub 39 and faster is a mere formality for him over the next couple of weeks.
    35th place Chip Time 39.16

Very happy with my own time especially as it's exactly a minute quicker than Fingal back in July on a marginally slower course. Id like to have a crack off sub 39 before the end of the year so if anyone has a recommendation for a fast;) 10k in the Dublin area let me know.
    Finally Id like to thank Lakeshore Striders for a brilliant race. The course is fair, challenging and fast and the goody bag as well as the general organisation was brilliant. Its 100% on the calendar for next year.

Finnt wrote: »

Edit: just looking back there the 3x2 mile session was pretty much exact, just shows it's a great session.

Yeah would agree with you there Finnt, its a brilliant session. It doesn't necessarily make hitting goal pace feel any easier but it really helps with handling the sheer discomfort of 10k pace towards the end of the race if that makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,604 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Lovely running - well done.

Nice report and well done again on a great run. I need to get some finishing tips from you, very strong finish at 5:31 pace for the last quarter of a mile.

Cheers, I think its just run like f*ck once you smell the finish line!! What are you thinking training wise over the next 10 or so days. Will you do a HMP session this week and would you be doing a LR of 2hrs+? Not really sure how to approach things ahead of the half as I don't think a proper long run will be of too much benefit at this stage, but 6-7 miles at HMP would if the legs feel recovered?

I'm going to take it fairly handy during the two midweeks before the HM. But I'll probably try fit in some HMP miles alright on Saturday morning or lunchtime (I'll let you know when, if you're about we could hook up for these if it suits?), maybe 4-5 miles more so than 6-7. I'm setting HMP at 4:14/4:15 min/km [6:49/6:50 min/mile]. Then on the Sunday I'll probably do a 14 miler at 8:30 to 8:45 pace.

Yeah, you're probably right actually wrt the HMP miles. I think ill try to get those in Thursday evening, legs allowing. Give me a shout when you know what time you hit the road on Sunday morning for the LR and ill join you if I can.

Monday Recovery 5.22 miles
    I went up to the phoenix park with the better half for a grand handy recovery run, the pace was extremely gentle, 5 miles@ 10.14 a and we ran mostly on grass on an absolutely cracking evening. The legs were pretty tired and sore as my recovery from Blessington wasn't too optimal with plenty of ale consumed at the beer festival in the RDS on Saturday night. Totally worth it:D

Tuesday MLR 11 miles
    Met a mate for this one and the pace was again nice and easy on what was an even better evening than Monday and not a breath of wind in the Park. Im really going to miss these evenings. Again this was mostly on grass and trails so easy on the legs. Pace was 8.39

Wednesday 5 miles
    I had hoped that the legs would be back ship shape by Wednesday but they felt very tight on this and my hip was still niggling at me. I had planned to do a few strides but thought better of it. Bumped into outforarun on his MLR and also had a whinge to him about the state of me legs! Pace here was 8.13.

Thursday HMP session
    I had all but decided to knock any thoughts of a session on the head this week based on the last couple of runs but lo and behold I woke up this morning and I felt fairly decent. Walking about at work was ok so I decided to go ahead with a few miles at HMP as I'd planned. I jogged up to the Acres lap for a 3 mile warmup and it was fairly calm wind wise and not too warm, so good conditions.
    Splits:
    I enjoyed this and settled into a good rhythm early on. It felt comfortably hard apart from the last half mile or so where I was more conscious of the effort. I could have tacked on the 7th mile for the "gold standard" HMP session but as it wasn't a session I had really built towards I decided to take what I had and be happy. 2 miles cooldown for an 11 mile session overall.

Ill take things fairly easy between now and the Dublin half where the plan is to go with the 1.30 pacers and see if I hang on. Its tempting to target a more aggressive time, McMillan has me down for 1.27.30 but I know that I just don't have enough proper long runs done for that so hopefully Ill hold on. I'm considering targeting the Waterford half in December but I'm still 50:50 on that one, if anyone has done it let me know your thoughts.

Healthy splits yesterday. 24 hours can make such a difference to a pair of tight and niggly legs.

Nothing too exciting going on around these parts at the moment in the lead up to the Half on Saturday

Sunday 14M LR
    Met up with outforarun for Sundays long run, 14 miles steady/easy around Ashtown the phoenix park and on the trails. The miles ticked very quickly on a great morning for running, enjoyed this one and as always having company on an longer run seems half the battle. The pace was up and down due to the terrain but always felt easy, it averaged out at 8.20

Tuesday 8 miles easy
    I met a mate for this one and we kept it almost completely on grass, across the acres and some trails along the perimeter before heading back across the acres. Hes doing his first half on Saturday so I was doing my best to set his mind at ease. Ha, little does he know whats in store! Pace was 8.50ish.

Wednesday 5 miles easy with strides
    The goal with this one was just to wake the legs up so a couple of miles in I eased into some strides, gradually upping the distance and pace, I did 7-8 in total. I felt good once this was done but cant seem to shake this little hip niggle I have, something to look after in the next couple of weeks.

Ill do a similar run either Thursday or Friday and that will be it, looking forward to Saturday.

Tom Joad wrote: »

Sub 1:30 no problem.

I told you so :pac:
    Well done!

1.28.04 Chip time, I had a really solid run today so I'm delighted. It was also deadly to see so many of the lads from here cruise in under 1.29 and the better half was comfortably under 2hrs so a great day all round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

brilliant result! Cograts:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Congrats brill time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Excellent. Delighted for you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

1.28.04 Chip time, I had a really solid run today so I'm delighted. It was also deadly to see so many of the lads from here cruise in under 1.29 and the better half was comfortably under 2hrs so a great day all round.

Get the long run out of the way before next Saturdays beer marathon ;)

Superb stuff - way to nail a sub 1:30 :D

On the first page of my log I had said that my goals for this year were to break 40 for the 10k and 90 for the half, so having taken care of the former twice now in the last couple of weeks I was really determined to sort out the half marathon time at the weekend.
    I had already had a stab at sub 1.30 early on in the year in Bohermeen but I never really felt right at the pace in that race and finished up in 1.31.04 with heavy legs being the order of the day. This time out I was hoping that the bit of "faster" running that I've been doing lately would help with handling the pace but was concerned with my endurance so the plan was to set out easy enough behind the 1.30 pacers but be on their tails by the time we hit the Aras roundabout for the second time and work it out from there.

I met up with outforarun before the start and was glad to have someone around me who is running similar times so I didn't panic if the pacers went off too hot for my liking at the start. The start was crowded and slippery, especially going down the khyber, I didn't care what the pace was until we got out past the zoo, I was just making sure I didn't trip anyone or get tripped myself. Once we hit the North road I could see the pacers about 100 metres up the road and they seemed to be inching away from me gradually but checking the watch the pace was exactly where it needed to be so I sat tight and ticked the miles off. Outforarun was close by all along here and looked to be absolutely cruising whenever I saw him. I do remember thinking to myself that I felt great as we came through the first water station so was feeling optimistic. The pacers were exactly 20 seconds ahead of me as I reached the castle knock gate and turned down Chesterfield for the first time, so right on target.
    Miles 1-5 6.41, 6.58, 6.45, 6.52, 6.41
    As we approached Farmleigh I began to feel really comfortable and was even holding myself back slightly as it was still early days, I was also inching back towards the pacers but was in no hurry. I had gone for home at this stage of the Frank Duffy and paid for it with pain so was conscious of that! Entering the park again I grabbed lucozade and by the time we reached the Furze road turnoff I was just off the back of the sub 90 group. The downhill here helped move me along and as we moved onto the paths on the bottom half of Chesterfield I was in the middle of the group, I remember looking down at the watch at one point to see 6.35 pace and being shocked at how manageable it felt. Cant beat running downhill in groups! I said a very quick hello to Dublin Runner here and he honestly looked like he was barely stretching his legs beyond recovery pace, seriously impressive.
    Miles 6-10 6.43, 6.34, 6.44, 6.37 6.40
    As we left the park and onto the main road I decided to hit for home and got away from the pacing group. I could feel the effort levels start to build, moreso in the legs than the lungs so I just kept the focus on picking off the runners in front. As we re-entered the park I got up the hill fairly smoothly and managed to hold sub 90 pace to the top which I was delighted with. There was a guy at the top bellowing encouragement (I think I recognised him from the Marlay Parkrun organisation committee) and one phrase along the lines of "keep pushing and don't be feeling sorry for yourself" was brilliant motivation, thanks to him for that one.
    Inside the last mile now and I had a small sniff that maybe sub 1.28 was on so I just went all out and had Statss hot on my heels as we rounded the corner onto the Furze road which gave me another kick. My legs were going though half way up the furze road as I could feel cramp kicking in and I couldn't speed up any more so I was glad to cross the line in 1.28.05 by the watch
    Miles 11-13 6.34, 6.48, 6.27 (5.34)

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/594623688

Delighted with the time as its also a big PB, 3 minutes over Bohermeen and judging by how I felt I hope that there is a little bit more to come off that over the next 6-12 months. I cant believe how strong I felt, probably the best I have ever felt in race and was thrilled that that last uphill section which very nearly ended me in the Frank Duffy was my fastest mile of the race.
    Well done to outforarun Statss and Wowzer who all were sub 1.29 also, we were all within seconds of each other so strong runs all-round from everyone.

I've no races planned for the rest of the year yet but I think the jingle bells 5k will be one for the diary and probably another 10k aswell. The Waterford half is maybe a bit lower on the agenda now after that result. Ill figure out what I'm at over the next couple of weeks but the next serious long term goal is a Spring Marathon next year.

Super running OP.

We should all have a crack at Bohermeen next year and get Statss to set up a prediction table again like he did for Fingal.

wowzer wrote: »
    Super running OP.

We should all have a crack at Bohermeen next year and get Statss to set up a prediction table again like he did for Fingal.

Ha yeah exactly Wowzer, would be good to get a good group down and get the the slagging started early in the build up! Bohermeen is a definite for me anyway, Ive done it twice now and as you know yourself its a great race.

Ah F*ck off the lot of ye smug sub 1:30'ers :D:D:D

Obviously delighted for ye all :D but will be hoping to join the cool kids with the sub 1:30's after Bohermeen!!

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Ah F*ck off the lot of ye smug sub 1:30'ers :D:D:D

Obviously delighted for ye all :D but will be hoping to join the cool kids with the sub 1:30's after Bohermeen!!

No bother to you, sure you're the fastest out of all of us over the shorter stuff ;) Beware though, that would put you near the top of the predictions table and it seems kinda jinxed :pac::pac:

Cool it's a date so. Looking forward to it already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

I can safely say I will not be instigating any league tables after fingalgate :D