Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Cup 2014 Super Thread copyright warning #1645

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Itv cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Hoddle needs a haircut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

Dunphy - "These aren't great players Liam... John do you think Paulinho is a great player?"

Giles - "I don't even think he's a good player" :pac:

Switched on to ITV... REVERSE REVERSE!!

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Cantstandsya

Bloody hell RTE... I'm sure the lads could have talked rubbish for 30 mins, it's the World Cup... it's rare for me to complain about some classic Simpsons, but come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Looking forward to a month of the lads on RTE.

Poorly researched, limited facts and personal missions and prejudices.

But it's frank, open, passionate, great craic and uniquely Irish.

No BBC/ITV blandness.

Think this is their last tournament , will miss them.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

Right, is that it for the night about how whacky the guys on RTE are? Good.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

murpho999 wrote: »
    Looking forward to a month of the lads on RTE.

Poorly researched, limited facts and personal missions and prejudices.

But it's frank, open, passionate, great craic and uniquely Irish.

No BBC/ITV blandness.

Think this is their last tournament , will miss them.

Just Bill's last tournament I thought?

Will miss him though and his planned stupid questions just to set the boys off :D

Dara O Briain on Twitter.
    Well, if the football matches the opening ceremony... it'll emerge from a giant Chocolate Orange and we won't be able to hear it.

Bloody hell RTE... I'm sure the lads could have talked rubbish for 30 mins, it's the World Cup... it's rare for me to complain about some classic Simpsons, but come on.

BLASPHEMY!!!

Simpsons on RTE before world cup is classic :P

vidor wrote: »
    Right, is that it for the night about how whacky the guys on RTE are? Good.

Sorry

eamon-dunphy-gagged.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Simpsons on RTE before world cup is classic :P

"So you work for Carl aayy?" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Just Bill's last tournament I thought?

Will miss him though and his planned stupid questions just to set the boys off :D

"I was reading in the paper this morning, this English journalist thinks David Luiz is a great player, what do you think about that Eamon?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

RTE is becoming a parody of itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

anyone have any leagues for me to join?

join my friends league, the more the better. pride and glory for the winner!

website https://www.dreamteamfc.com/

pin: 8185982

password: Football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

The England team visited an orphanage in Brazil today.It was heartbreaking to see their sad little faces with no hope.

efb wrote: »
    RTE is becoming a parody of itself

Happened years ago. It's been a cringefest for so long at this stage.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ITV is soooooo boring. Simpsons until RTE returns it is.

RTE should have went for the Father Ted episode with the over 75's football tournament.

You didn't see ITV at the beach so. The laddish nonsense on BBC with shearer and rio will be worse.

This guy can't speak Engerlish

Adrian Chiles is too smug and cocky for my liking.

He thinks he's hilarious.

Eurosport have Joey Barton as part of their coverage if anybody fancies it. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Best coverage on television for years imho, I can't stand the blandness on other channels . Even panellists that toe the line elsewhere open up on RTE , all great stuff. We will miss them when they are gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭whacker00

5starpool wrote: »
    ITV is soooooo boring. Simpsons until RTE returns it is.

Lee Dixon talking about his friend in the leafy suburbs zzzzzzzzzzz

Ian wright may spice it up a little, he looked well pumped up on the beach earlier

whacker00 wrote: »
    Ian wright may spice it up a little, he looked well pumped up on the beach earlier

Looked drunk to me.

Ha ha ITV have England as a Dark Horse! Best they could do!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I'm stuck watching ITV coverage, really not a fan of Adrian Chiles, his attempt at dry sarcastic punditry just annoys me and comes across as if he doesn't know what he is talking about. Only good thing was watching Roy Keane's reactions when Chiles said something silly, but no Keane with ITV world cup coverage, has ruined that for me.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Looked drunk to me.

I think he's always like that. Isn't it special needs or something. Or some learning difficulty.

Oh there's Gus Poyet. Sacked in 3....2....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Eurosport have Joey Barton as part of their coverage if anybody fancies it. :pac:

My favourite psycho! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭whacker00

they only seem to have build up, do they have the rights to show any games ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

efb wrote: »
    Ha ha ITV have England as a Dark Horse! Best they could do!

It only dawned on me that the English media didnt actually hype them up at all this time, like the overkill of past tournaments.They finally got a bit of cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It only dawned on me that the English media didnt actually hype them up at all this time, like the overkill of past tournaments.They finally got a bit of cop on.

Wait until they win a game and if they beat Italy, then God help us.

And as RTE coverage resumes, Bill can be seen slyly hiding away the shot glasses from view...

Neeson wrote: »
    You didn't see ITV at the beach so. The laddish nonsense on BBC with shearer and rio will be worse.

It's a different sort of sh*t but still a sh*t in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

No disrespect to England but have they earned the right to be called possible winners? Like they are behind Switzerland in the rankings and no one is even mentioning them (A good bit behind too). England haven't in years shown the ability to win it, last was probably in the early 90s. I think it's just the reputation of an old England team that builds this sort of hype around them. Saying that, they'll probably make me look like a fool now and go on and do very well. :P

It's a different sort of sh*t but still a sh*t in the end.

The one on itv is one where everyone has to evacuate the house such is the stink off of it. Rte can be flushed and all is forgiven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Is the game on RTE viewable outside Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭Umadbrah?

Is the game on RTE viewable outside Ireland?

Use an Irish proxy or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Honesty of effort there

Lack of creativity in a match where they beat the world champions 3-0?

There's Giles analysing some Brazil game from bloody years ago. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I've defended Giles forever but I cannot believe he just used 1970 footage to get the point across that Brazil are a "functional team".

Real insightful John.

Jesus wept.

"David Luiz would be a liability playing in the League Of Ireland"

Fúck sake Dunphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,982 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Just so excited now, the greatest tournament in the World is only a couple of minutes.

The fact that it only happens every four years makes it even better every time it comes around.

Picking Spain to win it and France as the ones to spoil the home party.

FFS. Are all the WC threads going to quote what someone on the panel said?

eagle eye wrote: »
    Just so excited now, the greatest tournament in the World is only a couple of minutes.

I'd argue that the Euro's is better. All killer and no filler.