Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 mod warning post #5144

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,844 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I'm not trying to be dismissive, Arsenal gave a very good account of themselves and as I said their is no shame in getting beat. However, it also must be seen in the context of Bayern being in a two goal (away goals at that) position. The onus was on Arsenal to command the game and I never saw that in any great amount last night.

It just seems that the same excuses are trotted out every year.

We just need a few extra players, we just need to avoid injuries, we just need....

At what point will Wenger finally get all these magic pieces together?

It's not last night, per se, but rather the mistakes in the Summer and Winter transfer windows that came back to haunt. Arsenal need to get high into Bayren, and Giroud is just not that type of player to turn a defence. He played well, worked hard, but it's not his game. Imagine what could have been done with a Suarez, or Henry in his prime etc. Instead we got Ozil who apparently isn't playing well because of those around him.

Last year Wenger told us that the team would learn for this, but yesterday showed that if they haven't really.

Anyway, just my opinion, not trying to p1ss anyone off or anything

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,462 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I do like Football365:
    Frankly, Mediawatch is bloody tired of the Ozil bulls**t that has sweated its way through the second half of the season. What is it about the English press that causes them to jump at the idea that a foreign player's poor form is due to mental weakness? Ozil just doesn't match up to our brave lions John Terry and Frank Lampard, who were part of the England team that was embarrassed by Arsenal's shrinking violet and his German teammates in Bloemfontein in 2010.

The Ozil 'conundrum' is pretty bloody obvious, to the extent that it exacerbates the tedium of every single redundant column written about his lack of fight. With certain players in the team - remember Aaron Ramsey and Theo Walcott? - he has more opportunity to excel and demonstrate his exceptional range of passing. When he is able to play in the centre with runners from midfield (Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain in recent weeks) he can perform to the best of his ability, as his display against Everton proved.

A final point - the fact that Arsenal are in the middle of yet another injury crisis has meant that Ozil has been forced to play almost every game (and frequently out of position) - something he is simply not used to following three years at Real Madrid. He is exhausted, even more so than Mediawatch after having to read yet more dribbling bumfarts about the playmaker's predicament.

The press are looking for a scapegoat to explain Arsenal's drop in form, when the reality is that they are enjoying their best season in years. And, if anyone is to blame for the Gunners not being able to compete at the elite level, it is surely Arsene Wenger, who failed to strengthen the squad adequately in the summer and again in January. The Ozil angle is simply too easy and too f**king obvious. But don't let that stop you, fellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Leroy42 wrote: »
    I'm not trying to be dismissive, Arsenal gave a very good account of themselves and as I said their is no shame in getting beat. However, it also must be seen in the context of Bayern being in a two goal (away goals at that) position. The onus was on Arsenal to command the game and I never saw that in any great amount last night.

We just need a few extra players, we just need to avoid injuries, we just need....

It's not last night, per se, but rather the mistakes in the Summer and Winter transfer windows that came back to haunt. Arsenal need to get high into Bayren, and Giroud is just not that type of player to turn a defence. He played well, worked hard, but it's not his game. Imagine what could have been done with a Suarez, or Henry in his prime etc. Instead we got Ozil who apparently isn't playing well because of those around him.

Last year Wenger told us that the team would learn for this, but yesterday showed that if they haven't really.

Anyway, just my opinion, not trying to p1ss anyone off or anything

I get the feeling anything Wenger would do would piss you off Leroy. I respect your opinion but totally disagree with it.

Looper007 wrote: »
    I get the feeling anything Wenger would do would piss you off Leroy. I respect your opinion but totally disagree with it.

Where do you get that feeling from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I do like Football365:

That is brilliant :) hits the nail squarely and firmly on the head.

Much like some of our own fans at times this season the media are just dying for a excuse to jump all over Ozil he got destroyed after the Liverpool but sure the ten other players on the pitch that day all played fine.

As Setanta pointed out before the Everton game were he was brilliant he created more chances than any other player in the top 5 leagues this year but yea he has been complete and utter pants let's go with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

To be honest I can't stand Pep Guardiola's style of football think watching paint dry is more entertaining much like Spain his tactic is bore the opposition into submission it can be dire to watch at times. Tika taka football is not total football to me.

Bayern of last year were a much more powerful looking team who played better football imo.

Even Beckenbauer is sick of it
    However, the former West Germany international believes their style of play has gone backwards since the former Barca coach took over.

"In the end, we'll be unwatchable like Barca. They'll be passing it backwards on the goal-line," he told Sky.

"[My vision] is different. If I have the chance to shoot from distance, especially in front of a crowded defence, I'd take it. It's the most efficient way."

http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3924/germany/2014/03/12/4678883/bayern-will-be-unwatchable-like-barcelona-beckenbauer

• Registered Users Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Soups123

That is brilliant :) hits the nail squarely and firmly on the head.

Much like some of our own fans at times this season the media are just dying for a excuse to jump all over Ozil he got destroyed after the Liverpool but sure the ten other players on the pitch that day all played fine.

As Setanta pointed out before the Everton game were he was brilliant he created more chances than any other player in the top 5 leagues this year but yea he has been complete and utter pants let's go with that.

His stats for goals and assists this season (his first season) are second to none.

Of all players we have signed including the greats I don't recall any statisically having as strong first season start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

So if Wenger had done what he should have, Arsenal would have gone to Bayern and bossed them last night?

Balderdash!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,484 ✭✭✭✭cson

If you've any tactical appreciation of the game then Bayern are currently the nadir of that. I get folks frustrations with them but for me; they're awesome to watch. If you look back at last nights game you'll see immediately following Podolski's goal when Arsenal started to get on top for maybe a 5 minute spell; Guardiola had them aggressively press the space, not the man, and forced Arsenal back, because we simply did not have the players to run between the lines to negate that move. When they did win it back, he had them pass it in the middle third for a spell bringing the tempo back down and essentially playing on their terms from their on in - Arsenal do not have the players to press Bayern which is the only way you'd unsettle them from there.

Put simply; Bayern have the strengths to exploit Arsenal's weaknesses and Arsenal don't have the strengths to exploit Bayern's. The teams that will trouble Bayern this year are BVB and Real Madrid. Atleti would have a chance but I think Bayern would be too experienced against them.

What this sums up to for me, speaking in terms of us winning the CL, is that AW is either tactically inflexible or else is handicapped by the players (he chose) in what he's trying to do. Either way; as far as I can see its on him.

gosplan wrote: »
    So if Wenger had done what he should have, Arsenal would have gone to Bayern and bossed them last night?

Balderdash!!!

Exactly, he is the manager, his bloody job is to get his team to be the best! What do you think he is there for? To pluckily go from season to season. Arsenal have a huge financial warchest, a brilliant stadium, some of the best commercial deals out there, fanatical & loyal support base, a great location to attract the top players. What else does he need.

Another way to look at it is that it doesn't matter what Wenger does, Arsenal are destined to always be second best?

So lets all just sit back and accept that we can never win a trophy again unless the cards fall in our favour (like the FA Cup) as otherwise we can't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

In fairness Arsene is a fantastic manager. It's Arsenals lack of spending and low salary cap that stops them being a top top team. You could have built several fantastic teams over the years with more spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Exactly, he is the manager, his bloody job is to get his team to be the best! What do you think he is there for? To pluckily go from season to season. Arsenal have a huge financial warchest, a brilliant stadium, some of the best commercial deals out there, fanatical & loyal support base, a great location to attract the top players. What else does he need.

Another way to look at it is that it doesn't matter what Wenger does, Arsenal are destined to always be second best?

So lets all just sit back and accept that we can never win a trophy again unless the cards fall in our favour (like the FA Cup) as otherwise we can't do it.

Are you sure you are a fan of Arsenal . Stop moaning and stick by the club, You would be the type of fan that would moan if Wenger went out and splashed the cash and we won titles. Nothing would please you. Not every club needs to throw money at it and it makes it all better.

How exactly did the cards for in our favour in the F.A Cup? We beat Three of the top 6 clubs in the PL. We had the toughest route to the semi's.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Knocked out by Munich

Having to read some ****e on here

So either we beat the best team in Europe or we've failed?

You can't demand this stuff. All you can do is compete and wait for things to go your way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

And the award for *Most idiotic post of the week* goes to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

Mr Blobby wrote: »

oh come on ive worked all week for that:mad:

cson wrote: »
    If you've any tactical appreciation of the game then Bayern are currently the nadir of that. I get folks frustrations with them but for me; they're awesome to watch.

I'm not saying Tiki Taka football isn't effective and works well we all know it does, but nor is it total football as some would like you to believe.

Mourinho is effective and very good and what he does but a lot of the time his style of football can be dire to watch and for me tiki taka is often lauded but very similar in viewing style were as Mourinho is often criticised for his style.

I personally thought Bayern were better to watch last year and as a sport that is meant to entertain, thrill and be a spectacle that is what I'd much rather be watching.

Anyways we were beaten think the if the red card had of been given in the first leg it would have been a different story but we could debate that all day and still get nowhere, bring on Spurs :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,484 ✭✭✭✭cson

Arsene is a top manager and we wouldn't be within a country mile of where we are now without him but he does have some pretty consistent weak spots such as his apparent lack of putting together tactical plans for superior opposition and his failure to address obvious weaknesses in the squad (though quite how hamstrung he is by budgets etc no one knows).

It's interesting that our CL Final appearance came through him employing a more tactical formation throughout the campaign with the 5 man midfield.

Maybe he'll adjust his sights but I'll be surprised if we ever threaten to win the CL with him at the helm.

Arsene is a top manager and we wouldn't be within a country mile of where we are now without him but he does have some pretty consistent weak spots such as his apparent lack of putting together tactical plans for superior opposition and his failure to address obvious weaknesses in the squad (though quite how hamstrung he is by budgets etc no one knows).

It's interesting that our CL Final appearance came through him employing a more tactical formation throughout the campaign with the 5 man midfield.

Maybe he'll adjust his sights but I'll be surprised if we ever threaten to win the CL with him at the helm.

Hmmmmm ;).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

sack wenger. clueless. out of the CL again. poor subs. poor team. cant motivate them to beat bayern away. should have won and beat them easily. shocking. If we cant beat Bayern we have no hope in beating the mightly Wigan. Sack Wenger now so we can get a better manager who can save our season....

Our CL final appearance was a freak event.

Am I right in saying a back 4 with Senderos, Eboue and Flamini set the CL record that year for consecutive clean sheets.

I think the CL is really about getting to a certain level and then getting the breaks.

Look at Chelsea, they competed for years and then snuck one.

All you can do is make you club amount the best in Europe.

Anyone demanding that we steamroll the CL and put the best teams in Europe to the sword in away games is being totally unrealistic and showing very little respect to other clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

ozil is just awful at the moment... real Madrid must be laughing 42m!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

bangkok wrote: »

Someones been reading the papers

Aaannnnnnddddddddd we have a challenger for Leroy congratulations you are now in the running for worst post of the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Yeah I hear ya bruv– lolz hes rubbish innit?!
    Like on Saturday he only scored 1 made 1! Loz, waddaloadarubbish he is! 42 million!
    Rubbish!
    In the league this season he’s 3rd in assists and 2nd in key passes – but man, eeeeees rubbish!!!!Roflmao!
    Real madriz must be lolling der asses off!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Hes being played out of position.

Need to get him in that left back slot pronto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Like on Saturday he only scored 1 made 1! Loz, waddaloadarubbish he is! 42 million!
    Rubbish!
    In the league this season he’s 3rd in assists and 2nd in key passes – but man, eeeeees rubbish!!!!Roflmao!

That hurt my eyes to read.

to communicate with idiots you must speak their language.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Rubbish!

what language is that?

I really don't like to slag the positions of other clubs but enjoy watching Man U in the Europa league next season ... if you make it.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

what language is that?

gangsta!

I really don't like to slag the positions of other clubs but enjoy watching Man U in the Europa league next season ... if you make it.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

You could be there yourselves, I wouldn't speak too soon.

BloodBath wrote: »

No, no we wont. I'd put money on with anyone top 4 is guaranteed. Were in the top 4 is another thing but can't see Spurs catching us even if we loose the weekend.

Dunno We’ve averaged 2.1 ppg during the last 10 games per season during wengers time in charge, so that’ll leave us with perhaps 80 points. Should be enough for CL football.
    Last season we won 8 and drew 2 of our last 10. That was pretty good. I’d take that again.

I don't see it happening either but it's not of the question.

Looking at your next 5 games I could see you dropping at least 7-9 points with the amount of injuries you have to the midfield. Maybe as much as 12.

BPL 16 Mar 2014
    v Spurs (A)

BPL 22 Mar 2014
    v Chelsea (A)

BPL 25 Mar 2014
    v Swansea (H)

BPL 29 Mar 2014
    v Man City (H)

BPL 6 Apr 2014
    v Everton (A)

Look at shît arsenal with there shît record signing

Sitting 3rd in the league on goal
    Difference and in the semi final of the cup

Shît. Shît. Shît

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Ah, Neil Ashton, how the heck are ya?

I don't see it happening either but it's not of the question.

Looking at your next 5 games I could see you dropping at least 7-9 points with the amount of injuries you have to the midfield. Maybe as much as 12.

BPL 16 Mar 2014
    v Spurs (A)

BPL 22 Mar 2014
    v Chelsea (A)

BPL 25 Mar 2014
    v Swansea (H)

BPL 29 Mar 2014
    v Man City (H)

BPL 6 Apr 2014
    v Everton (A)

I can see us dropping 3-5 maybe none

What's your point

How is it idiotic?

As the manager of the club you really believe Wenger's job is to merely compete but to ultimately not win?

Or is it that you think Arsenal are a small club and therefore don't have the financial muscle to compete? 42m for Ozil would seem to counter that arguement.

I am happy that you are more than happy to wait yet another year for Wenger to sort things out. No point saying we drew Bayern and therefore had little chance, if we had won the group we would have avoided them. But I suppose thats not his fault either.

We have one center forward, lost our class winger before the transfer window but chose not to find a replacement.

Wenger is a very, very good manager and one that we should hold onto for as long as possible. I don't believe any body would do any better.

That does not mean that he cannot do better, the team cannot do better.

Kallstrom is back with a robotic back, and Ramsey is back too.

Arsenal have:
    Spurs (a)
    Chelsea (a)
    Swansea (h)
    City (h)
    Everton (a)
    West Ham (h)
    Hull (a)
    Newcastle (h)
    West brom (h)
    Norwich (a)

Realistic:
    Can easily see : D L W L D W W W W W
    20 points.

very most hopeful I’d love:

W L W W D W W W W W – I know that entails us beating spurs away (possible) and City at home (also not impossible if we play our best) and then not slipping up.

Who do united have remaining? Ah yeah, that’s correct, it doesn’t matter – Europa league 

What is it? 6 points and a game in hand over spurs with 9 games to play?

Can't see it tbh.

Never the less, if it did happen, I'd hope to have more cop on to go into the Spurs thread and slag them about how they spent the Bale money.

How is it idiotic?

As the manager of the club you really believe Wenger's job is to merely compete but to ultimately not win?

Or is it that you think Arsenal are a small club and therefore don't have the financial muscle to compete? 42m for Ozil would seem to counter that arguement.

I am happy that you are more than happy to wait yet another year for Wenger to sort things out. No point saying we drew Bayern and therefore had little chance, if we had won the group we would have avoided them. But I suppose thats not his fault either.

We have one center forward, lost our class winger before the transfer window but chose not to find a replacement.

Wenger is a very, very good manager and one that we should hold onto for as long as possible. I don't believe any body would do any better.

That does not mean that he cannot do better, the team cannot do better.

This is very different from saying Wenger is at fault cause we didn't dominate Bayern away.

Edited: the mistakes were made by Ozil, Szcz and Kos in the first leg.

You have 0 chance of beating City.

What is it? 6 points and a game in hand over spurs with 9 games to play?

Can't see it tbh.

And the goal difference is stupid I think

And there march is worse than ours

We can still win the thing esp of Liverpool can

come on sack wenger already

At home 0 chance

Run along you now

I'm not trying to troll. Just being realistic. I'd sooner see you guys win the league than them but it's not going to happen.

Luckily Mourinho is going to sew things up. Anything to stop city or especially Liverpool winning it and I'll be happy.

1. Chelsea
    2. City
    3. Liverpool
    4. Arsenal
    5. United
    6. Spurs
    7. Everton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

And the goal difference is stupid I think

And there march is worse than ours

We can still win the thing esp of Liverpool can

to be fair if ye match liverpools results ye will finish below them

:pac::pac: there out in force today, I didn't realise City were the unstoppable monsters of football who blows every team that comes before them away. Just don't tell Wigan ssshhhhh.

This is very different from saying Wenger is at fault cause we didn't dominate Bayern away.

Or from saying in the F.A Cup all the cards have luckily fallen into place implying we didn't have the toughest run possible to the semis.

come on arsenal