Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 mod warning post #5144

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,456 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

They're one down. Poor team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Tim in the stands dressed in a suit and tie...there'll be no gilet throwing tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

One look at Milan's league position should put you off Balotelli.

He's not only not lived up to his potential but he's brought the team down a bit. The same could be said for City who won things in spite of him.

Yeah maybe Wenger could change him but that's a risk we don't need to take.

Look at it this way. If we sign Balotelli, we'll have him and Giroud and going by Balotelli's history, that would end up with Giroud up front alone again.

It's like with Bendtner. The problem was never that he was lazy or egotistical or overpaid, but rather that he occupied a space that should have gone to someone else that we could call on in our time of need.

It's more potential deadwood, and with our ability to pick up injuries and our striker shortage, we can't risk it IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

i really wanted us to sign Soldado, Jovetic and Lamela in the summer and slated Wenger for not signing them. Look how bad they all turned out :pac:

Ha ha Spuds right back in it now.
    Another goal and they're through.

The gift that keeps on giving :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Raf32 wrote: »
    The gift that keeps on giving :D

Was a good result for us tonight, we were out after the first leg tbh. Not many teams leave Lisbon not beaten.

KingdomYid wrote: »
    Was a good result for us tonight, we were out after the first leg tbh. Not many teams leave Lisbon not beaten.

I know credit where its due. I just found it typical Spurs after all that good work and not to get a stonewaller pen at the end to giving away one themselves.

They played well after the substitutions in fairness but were poor in the first half.

I know credit where its due. I just found it typical Spurs after all that good work and not to get a stonewaller pen at the end to giving away one themselves.

Yes it did not surprise me when it happened, too long supporting them at this stage to get too upset about it.

They played well after the substitutions in fairness but were poor in the first half.

Agree.

Yes it did not surprise me when it happened, too long supporting them at this stage to get too upset about it.

Least yee can focus on the league now and hopefully do us a favour and take points off Liverpool :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

gosplan wrote: »

He's not only not lived up to his potential but he's brought the team down a bit. The same could be said for City who won things in spite of him.

Look at it this way. If we sign Balotelli, we'll have him and Giroud and going by Balotelli's history, that would end up with Giroud up front alone again.

It's like with Bendtner. The problem was never that he was lazy or egotistical or overpaid, but rather that he occupied a space that should have gone to someone else that we could call on in our time of need.

It's more potential deadwood, and with our ability to pick up injuries and our striker shortage, we can't risk it IMO.

I don't really get how you can say that Balotelli has brought Milan down. When he signed last year he scored 12 goals in 13 appearences to ensure their CL qualification. He hasn't been very good this season but still got 11 goals in 20 games in a very poor milan team.

You also make it seem like he gets sent off every other game. He has one red card this season.

Now he's not ideal for many reasons mainly to do with his attitude, but there really does seem to be a dearth of top quality CFs potentially available, especially pacey skillful ones, and he ticks those boxes. Milan's league position would also make him easier to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

I'm sorry but you're just plain wrong..

The reason Milan have been so poor is down to them having a terrible defence. They've also been lacking a good holding mid.
    Balotelli has been one of the few good things about that team. You're saying that he hasn't lived up to his potential.. He's only 23 ffs!!!

Yes, he'd be a risk.. But so would Costa,Martinez and everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

You wouldn't lose any money on Balotelli taking a punt now @ ~£20m

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

credit to spurs. Thought they stood up very well in the second half - you know i'm a dedicated hater and i was looking forward to a drubbing, but they did well.

Now, beat liverpool for us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,083 ✭✭✭DenMan

Come to Arsenal Mario! Puma will help to make it happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Falcao is also with puma, would that be a goer?
    Though i doubt the club will take a puma handout anyway even if that rumour is true.

What about Cavani or llorente

Di Marzio who is incredibly reliable has said that Mandzukic's agent has flown to London to discuss a move to Arsenal or Chelsea.

http://gianlucadimarzio.com/calcio-internazionale/bayern-monaco-lagente-di-mandzukic-incontra-chelsea-e-arsenal-la-situazione/

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭king Henry 14

Di Marzio who is incredibly reliable has said that Mandzukic's agent has flown to London to discuss a move to Arsenal or Chelsea.

http://gianlucadimarzio.com/calcio-internazionale/bayern-monaco-lagente-di-mandzukic-incontra-chelsea-e-arsenal-la-situazione/

That'll be chelsea then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Going to be at a wedding this Saturday, of all games to miss this season :(, although it could end up working out well for my stress levels if were shiit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

To those talking about Milan, I think the fact that they took the likes of taraabt from qpr shows how much they've fallen

I just cannot see Wenger being interested in Balotelli at all.
    The guy is mad.
    He would disrupt things and Wenger gets rid of players like that. Just like Ade was got rid of.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Going to be at a wedding this Saturday, of all games to miss this season :(, although it could end up working out well for my stress levels if were shiit.
    Slip out of the mass early and be at the bar in loads of time to see the game before the meal kicks off

PRIORITIES!!

PS Ask the priest to say a prayer for us

The day I got married I snook off during the reception to watch the Arsenal game. About 10 of us did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

The day I got married I snook off during the reception to watch the Arsenal game. About 10 of us did.

Damn right, once the precedent is set you were golden for all future Arsenal games.

Well played Sir.

Wow to think we are even competing with them is miraculous, shows we really do have the best manager in the league

BjNPemQIIAAWzDR.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

In Milan's big games this year (Inter, Napoli, Roma, Fiorentina, Barca, Athletico ...all twice and Juve three times), he's scored 1 goal.

Of course there's a good player in there and if we were spending lots on a couple of players, yeah throw him in with another good forward and see if it works out.

But we're not going to do that. No way are we going to do that. We might get one expensive forward. If that's Balotelli, Wenger will stick with him regardless and he doesn't prove up to standard he will occupy a place in this team for a couple of years before being shipped out. That's 2 or 3 more years still without a game changing striker.

I get that people see this as our chance to get a world class forward into the squad but is he really that? He hasn't been world class at any of his clubs.

He may grow into that but if he doesn't it'd hurt us.

Now if i was a Chelsea fan - yeah sign him up. if he doesn't work out Jose will cut him loose at the first chance. Wenger being a stubborn git will persist with him. Jesus ... we still have Bendtner!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I don't see an available CF that would suit us. The names that are being thrown around are ok but not what we need to be challenging for CL and EPL. Right now I think converting Draxler into a CF could be the best option.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Wow to think we are even competing with them is miraculous, shows we really do have the best manager in the league

You could read the same sentence in the Chelsea thread if Mourinho is to be believed.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

I haven't seen the press conference, but Arsene has been talking about his 1000th game. I just thought I'd put most of what he said (ripped straight from twitter) up here, as the way that he conducts himself is in stark contrast to several other managers in the EPL.

Makes me very proud to be a Gunner.
    It's a privilege and an honour to manage 1000 games at this club. The Club has always supported me.

Time will tell if I managed to make this club bigger than it was when I arrived but I hope so.

It's the game of the season for us because it will be against a direct opponent.

I'm extremely motivated to stay for as long as possible but I accept that the next 1000 will be difficult.

The most important thing for the quality of the Club is the consistency of its achievement.

Tomorrow I represent my club, I don't represent myself and I keep my personal feelings away from that.

This club has given me a chance and I've turned many things down and shown my loyalty.

Today we can fight with the top clubs financially. I have to live with opinions from other people and accept them.

My job is to transform theory into action and we will try our best to do that.

The result tomorrow will be linked with the performance on the day. We are on a good run.

The next period for us is to deliver trophies and competing with everyone at the top level.

Also, Rosicky has to have a test. :mad:

raging we have so many injuries would love to beat mourinho tomorrow

Wenger interview on now on SS News.
    Rosicky a doubt for tomorrow. Will know later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

Jose wrote:
    I admire Wenger & Arsenal, a club that stands by their manager in bad moments - when the bad moments were quite a lot

Please shut him up tomorrow.

maximoose wrote: »

The most despicable man in football, cant stand him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

maximoose wrote: »

Says a lot more about Mourinho than it does Wenger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Arseblog on Twitter :D
    Arseblog wrote:
    Being furious at Mourinho for being a cunt is like being furious at the grass for being green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

In Milan's big games this year (Inter, Napoli, Roma, Fiorentina, Barca, Athletico ...all twice and Juve three times), he's scored 1 goal.

Of course there's a good player in there and if we were spending lots on a couple of players, yeah throw him in with another good forward and see if it works out.

But we're not going to do that. No way are we going to do that. We might get one expensive forward. If that's Balotelli, Wenger will stick with him regardless and he doesn't prove up to standard he will occupy a place in this team for a couple of years before being shipped out. That's 2 or 3 more years still without a game changing striker.

I get that people see this as our chance to get a world class forward into the squad but is he really that? He hasn't been world class at any of his clubs.

He may grow into that but if he doesn't it'd hurt us.

Now if i was a Chelsea fan - yeah sign him up. if he doesn't work out Jose will cut him loose at the first chance. Wenger being a stubborn git will persist with him. Jesus ... we still have Bendtner!!!!

He is definitely better than Costa, Martinez, Llorente and Mandzukic though. Going by your logic if it's not Falcao or Cavani we're wasting our time on deadweight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

The most despicable man in football, cant stand him.

Hard to believe he is still so childish, I'll always go back to the Vilanova incident, he showed how classless he was then. Not only the eye gouge but then afterwards when asked about it by media he claimed not to know what they were talking about and he did not know anyone called "Pito" Vilanova, Pito is Spanish for cock, he just had to add insult to injury. He has no class whatsoever. The sooner Sky News stop drooling over every word that comes out of his mouth the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Sums it up really.

Oliver Kay ‏@OliverKayTimes 12m
    "Specialist in failure"? Wenger is a a specialist in things that Mourinho has never even had to think about at Chelsea, Inter, Real.

Man Utd v Bayern Munich in CL. Hmmmm

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Man Utd v Bayern Munich in CL. Hmmmm

Only one winner there, I think.

I wonder, if it turns out the way I expect, will the rags be full of headlines about how Rooney is "nicking a living"?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭ronjo

So if Rosicky is out tomorrow then the team picks itself I guess

Szcz
    Sagna BFG Kos Gibbs
    Flamini Arteta Cazorla
    Ox Giroud Podolski

Very few options on the bench and can see why Gnabry came off early for the kids the other night.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

right lads out of the current top 4 who would you not mind winning the title if its not Arsenal, and why?

Agueroooo wrote: »
    right lads out of the current top 4 who would you not mind winning the title if its not Arsenal, and why?

City. Don't have any problems with the manager, the players or the fans. The same can't be said of the other two.

EDIT: When I say fans, I don't mean in general, I mean that I know a couple of people that will lord a victory over me for months, possibly years.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

CatInABox wrote: »
    City. Don't have any problems with the manager, the players or the fans. The same can't be said of the other two.

me: Arsenal

why: cause yiz are trying to do it the right way without financial doping etc.

Agueroooo wrote: »

If it was just about the manager and players than Liverpool by a long way but the fans (sorry unfair, some of the fans) really put me off.
    Maybe its because you have most and its always going to be like that.

City would probably be the least painful.

Love the way Liverpool play, fearlessly with a fantastic tactician at the helm. But I just couldnt listen to the fans if they won it. Chelsea are a definite no because I despise Mourinho so that just leaves City, play good football, like the manager but terrible for football. Its lose lose lose everyway if its not us :pac:

I guess we are the obvious choice. ;)

Agueroooo, come and join us... we are really nice :D