Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 mod warning post #5144

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

ronjo wrote: »
    I guess we are the obvious choice. ;)

Agueroooo, come and join us... we are really nice :D

One of us..One of us!! :pac:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I'd pick Liverpool for entirely footballing reasons. I like the way they play, I think Rodgers is a great manager (though I could do without ever hearing him speak again). The few Liverpool fans I know in real life can be pretty annoying but tbh, it's generally just banter the odd time they've beaten us and besides they'll be much too busy lording it over United fans if they won to bother with me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Agueroooo wrote: »
    right lads out of the current top 4 who would you not mind winning the title if its not Arsenal, and why?

Tough one. I'm not a fan of the way Chelsea and City are more or less trying to buy the title. I would say Liverpool as they are doing it the right way and playing some really nice football. Unfortunately they have the most unbearable set of fans.

In the end I would have to say City, at least they are playing nice football compared to Chelsea and their manage conducts his business with respect for others. And their fans are a decent enough bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I know loads of Liverpool fans, only a few are the head-wrecking variety. They've waited 24 years and I think that's long enough to deserve one, if it's not us I couldn't begrudge them.

City and Chelsea would both be painless for me considering they have a combined total of about 37 fans over the age of 12 in the country but they're billionaires playthings who represent what's wrong in football and I couldn't ever give either of them my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

If it wasnt for maybe a few Liverpool fans on here and a few i know i would have no problem with them winning it, underdogs carving open teams just the minority that lets them down.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Dont really care as long as its not Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I can't see us winning, a draw would be a good result but we really need the 3 points from this game to close the gap. The team has picked itself due to injuries and we won't have a game changer on the bench. Mourinho is a great tactician and knows exactly what is he going to be up against tomorrow and will stifle us yet again. I hope we don't concede first as it will turn into an ugly game after.

Should we just go negative like they did at the Emirates and play for the draw?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Raf32 wrote: »

if we could I would a draw and a home win against city would be huge.

But I dont think we have the players to go a do that unless we get one ahead.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Wenger would never do that.

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Wenger would never do that.

Yup thats why we all can be so annoyed with him at times :pac: ah no have to go for it tomorrow though i suppose its either win or bust really.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

1-1 draw tomorrow

Sorry lads, but I see nothing but a defeat tomorrow with the team and bench at our disposal.

Feckin injuries wrecking our season again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

What's the story with Rosicky? I think Ramires missing for them will be a big blow too though. I actually fancy our chances there tomorrow.

Yup thats why we all can be so annoyed with him at times :pac: ah no have to go for it tomorrow though i suppose its either win or bust really.

Bit of luck at times and a plan B, let alone transfer woes over previous years, you's wouldn't be trophyless for as long as you guys have been. Lot of time for Wenger's football philosophy, but my god, I'd be driven up the wall with his stubborn ways. Rafa was nowhere near as bad in that regards and trust me, at times I was more than frustrated with him. Being adaptable is a trait a lot of managers don't possess, Wenger has done very well considering the lack of a plan B it can be looked at it that way I suppose.

Key is having someone supporting Giroud IMO for the game. I realise Walcott's injury is massive blow and all that, but in general it seems Giroud is so isolated in the big games from what I've seen, and thus without blistering pace, he can get marked out of games quite easily. I watched a hell of a lot of Montpeiller the season they won the league, Belhanda and himself was the perfect partnership of a CAM and ST who weren't terribly quick. Just a fantastic understanding, how to make runs off ball with give and goes and anticipating the next pass. Ozil and Cazorla haven't shown that as much as I thought they would.

Bit of luck at times and a plan B, let alone transfer woes over previous years, you's wouldn't be trophyless for as long as you guys have been. Lot of time for Wenger's football philosophy, but my god, I'd be driven up the wall with his stubborn ways. Rafa was nowhere near as bad in that regards and trust me, at times I was more than frustrated with him. Being adaptable is a trait a lot of managers don't possess, Wenger has done very well considering the lack of a plan B it can be looked at it that way I suppose.

Key is having someone supporting Giroud IMO for the game. I realise Walcott's injury is massive blow and all that, but in general it seems Giroud is so isolated in the big games from what I've seen, and thus without blistering pace, he can get marked out of games quite easily. I watched a hell of a lot of Montpeiller the season they won the league, Belhanda and himself was the perfect partnership of a CAM and ST who weren't terribly quick. Just a fantastic understanding, how to make runs off ball with give and goes and anticipating the next pass. Ozil and Cazorla haven't shown that as much as I thought they would.

Agreed its his way or no way but definitely not going to knock him for it, the building of the stadium put huge constraints on him, im sure if we were at Highbury we would have a few league titles and a couple of domestic cups in the 9 years. Definitely need a runner of Giroud as he cant do it himself like Suarez and Sturridge. Ramsey was key earlier on in the season making bursts into the box, something we have been clearly lacking since his injury. Ox has been doing it off late though and if we can get him going tomorrow and have Rosicky in the side we definitely can give them a go.

Also key is dropkicking Hazard early on too. Though you's failed at doing that against Gotze TWICE! So I shouldn't get my hopes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Also key is dropkicking Hazard early on too. Though you's failed at doing that against Gotze TWICE! So I shouldn't get my hopes up.

This is Arsenal not Stoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,456 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Sorry lads, but I see nothing but a defeat tomorrow with the team and bench at our disposal.

Feckin injuries wrecking our season again.

Hazard and Oscar will be hard to handle especially as Spurs bossed our midfield last week. Those two are very mobile and cover lots of ground.

Rosicky's facing a late fitness test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,456 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Roddy23 wrote: »
    What's the story with Rosicky? I think Ramires missing for them will be a big blow too though. I actually fancy our chances there tomorrow.

Rosicky might be ok. Will have a fitness test tomorrow morning.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Hazard and Oscar will be hard to handle especially as Spurs bossed our midfield last week. Those two are very mobile and cover lots of ground.

I'm still convinced they only bossed our midfield because that was what the gameplan entailed after taking the lead so early, obviously that tactic would be a mistake against Chelsea though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Time for some positivity. Let's go for the win and then Wenger can do cartwheels all arond the pitch, then when he gets to Mourinho.. STUNNNER!!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Time for some positivity. Let's go for the win and then Wenger can do cartwheels all arond the pitch, then when he gets to Mourinho.. STUNNNER!!!!

Well, if we win 1-0, all Arsene will need to do in the post match interview is say "Boring is a team that can't score at home" and then drop the mike.

great show about arsene on ss1

Is the game on bt sports tomorrow?

Ya you are correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,118 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

great show about arsene on ss1

Just watched it. Was moreso an interview with Dein about Arsene than being directly about Arsene. Nice though, and I particularly like his parting line at the end.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Quazzie wrote: »
    Just watched it. Was moreso an interview with Dein about Arsene than being directly about Arsene. Nice though, and I particularly like his parting line at the end.

For those of us unable to watch, what was the parting line?

CatInABox wrote: »

"We spoke often of Narnia in the days that followed. And when my cousins left, after the war ended, I missed them with all my heart as I know all Narnians will miss them till the end of time."

It was a fairly expansive interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,118 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

CatInABox wrote: »

He was asked if he'd ever return, amd he said that he goes to every home game and is always on the sub bench, which I took a hint he'd love a return some day and is only waiting for his chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Agueroooo wrote: »
    right lads out of the current top 4 who would you not mind winning the title if its not Arsenal, and why?

well of the contenders I think Liverpool are the ones I should be backing, but my brother who's a liverpool fan would DO my head in. Not to mention a couple of posters on here. Well one mostly, one massive arsenal hater.
    Chelsea, well they represent everything i don't like about football, so no thanks.
    City, would be painless as I don't know any city fans. But there's little credit in spending close on 1bn to win a league.
    So I'll probably suck up the annoyance and support liverpool to win it if we don't.
    And make judicious use of the ignore button!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

BjQr7miCMAAnhFr.jpg

This one is from the Evening Standard, those of "Arsene who?" fame:

BjR8O0LCAAAitUq.png

If I had to pick who to win the league, I'd say Liverpool to be honest. It would wind up Man Utd fans like no tomorrow, that and it's nice to see the monopoly broken. Plus they have gone a long wait without the League. I'd be okay with Man City as well, just not Chelsea cos of Mourinho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

The day I got married I snook off during the reception to watch the Arsenal game. About 10 of us did.

Nice I was at a wedding years ago were there was a big Ireland game one and a lot of us had planned to sneak out during the dinner speechs to watch the game, luckily the bride had other ideas and arranged for two tvs to be in the room showing the match during dinner and delayed all speechs till after the game by which timeeveryone was hammered and didn't them yammering on.

On tomorrow feeling really apprehensive I think with a full strength team we would be well able for them but sadly we couldn't even get Ramsey back in time :(

for some reason i'm actually feeling that tomorrow could be a good day for us.

(i'm often wrong!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

bad2dabone wrote: »
    for some reason i'm actually feeling that tomorrow could be a good day for us.

(i'm often wrong!)

Well I'm sure every single one of us hope's your right.

Willian is a big loss for them imo he has been playing well lately. Wonder will Mourinho do his usual and set out to kill the game and make it a borefest.

Well I'm sure every single one of us hope's your right.

Willian is a big loss for them imo he has been playing well lately. Wonder will Mourinho do his usual and set out to kill the game and make it a borefest.

Id imagine at home though Chelsea will have to come out and attack which might actually suit us better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

Really have no idea what will happen tomorrow - I'd be happy with a draw but a win would be something else. We can't lose, that's for sure.

Maire2009 wrote: »
    Really have no idea what will happen tomorrow - I'd be happy with a draw but a win would be something else. We can't lose, that's for sure.

Even just to put a dent on Moroninho's title charge it would be terrific. A detestable spoilt little man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

BjSAWhuIgAAC-CF.jpg

Great back page from the Independent. Really hope the players rise to the occasion tomorrow and put in a performance for him. Will take a draw but a win would be just glorious.

Arsene Wenger has always been my idol and hero growing up, i really hope we do it for him tomorrow and the rest of the season, he really is arsenal imo. Mourinho wants to win for himself, Wenger wants Arsenal to win, thats the difference, love the man, really want to see him hoisting that big trophy again.

And tbh i kind of take back saying I would want city to win it, i really want anyone but Mourinho, took that specialist in failure very personally, hope he ends up trophy less this year and i look forward to his inevitable sacking.

It would be the perfect long awaited karma for the arrogant b@stard. Fergie could be hard to listen to but at least he respects Wenger.

Never had a problem with Fergie he went about his own business and never got to the level Mourinho is on. Spit on Wengers legacy that day. The funny thing is we all know Wenger will still be here when he is gone.

the dein program on the great Arsene Wenger:

Gonna miss the game today. Heading down to visit my birds friends for the weekend.
    The line "sure the weekend apart will do us grand" doesn't wash with her.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

worryingly we've been spanked in our early kick-offs (man c & pool). we've also performed poorly since ramsey went out injured.

I think we can win this game but like last week, it'll be difficult to watch.

Wow
    BjSzdvVIMAID3ha.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

handsfree wrote: »
    worryingly we've been spanked in our early kick-offs (man c & pool). we've also performed poorly since ramsey went out injured.

I think we can win this game but like last week, it'll be difficult to watch.

To counter that, we've won all our away games in London.