Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 mod warning post #5144

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

We need a tough midfield reinforcement. And a good striker. This squad with Vieira or Gilberto and Henry or RVP would surely have won this league.

A fit Walcott and Ramsey next year will be important, but we shouldn't rely on that. Even if they're fit, someone else will be injured. Signing Balotelli and Bender (for example) would be a good summer, provided were pick up a few squad reinforcements of the Arteta/Edu/Eduardo type level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Sczecny has been ****e today too.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

OK i dont get all this hate for Liverpool because of a few internet forum posts, jaysus man up guys.
    Personally if Liverpool dont win it [i think we will just fall short] id love Arsenal to win it.
    You see i base this on the fact i admire Wenger,the amount of times he has rebuilt the team into a formidable force is amazing ,he seems a decent man ,they play good football,i quite like some of their players, --- you know the usual reasons why somebody would wish a team well,I dont base on what i read from a few fans on an internet forum.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Dcully wrote: »
    Dont be ridiculous, ffs the EPL is the same competition its just a name change.
    Its like saying Arsenal never won the league if the powers that be changed the title of the competition next year :rolleyes:

It was more than a name change tbf, it was a completely new division and if you look up the history of how it was founded you'll see that, but before you get up in arms, I agree with you, it's the same teams competing against eachother at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,118 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Sczecny has been ****e today too.

How so. How was he in anyway at fault for the first 4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,456 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Quazzie wrote: »
    How so. How was he in anyway at fault for the first 4?

Should have saved the second and fifth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

Arteta really has been shown up today lads. Really poor. He just cannot run anymore. Need a big response Tuesday night when we will even have less pace with Ox gone.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    The point is Liverpool fans have some neck coming in here slagging us when weve been more successful the last 20 years.

While i personally have said nothing negative or slagged off Arsenal, all i see is a bit of banter going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Liverpool have never won the EPL and won't win it this season either.
    Living on past glories is pointless.

Arsenal are as well no?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭purplepanda

Nothing will change with Wenger in league with Kroenke & the board all making their annual profits & bonuses.

Wenger is a gutless coward & should have fallen on his sword after the 8-2 shambles. But the cash is more important than football success to him!!! :mad:

Only Wenger would have the affront to sign a new lucrative contract after such shameful performances :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Nothing will change with Wenger in league with Kroenke & the board all making their annual profits & bonuses.

Wenger is a gutless coward & should have fallen on his sword after the 8-2 shambles. But the cash is more important than football success to him!!! :mad:

Only Wenger would have the affront to sign a new lucrative contract after such shameful performances :rolleyes:

I'll be polite as possible and just say.. Go away.

Go follow some other team, please. Maybe Chelsea or City would suit you better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Christ conceded 17 goals on your travels against your three title rivals says it all

Arsenal are as well no?

Your mate was making the point that Liverpool are a bigger team.
    My point is that even though they have won more trophies they have not won the EPL over the 25 years of its existence. So neither can spout about past glories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Something wrong when we fall apart so often this season in big games.

Arsenal are as well no?

No. We claim to be a top four team, and we have proved that season after season. There was a time when we looked like title challengers this year, and we said we were, but we knew when that stopped.

Liverpool fans still claim to be the biggest in the country despite having not won in the leagues in well over 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭djan

Arsenal are as well no?

Yep I just think this arguing over whos better blablabla is pointless. End of the day its all about winning tophies and leagues this season I would say liverpool have edged us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

Based on what?

Turning down Munich/Madrid/PSG where he would have had endless cash to spend on any player he wanted and win trophies easily based on someone else's groundwork over moving the football club he loves into a new ground, having to sell gems he has found to make £30million a year, all the while keeping us in the top 4 and floating around the edges of winning a trophy while Man Utd can't even have a manager change without falling away to nothing?

Gutless coward?? GUTLESS COWARD!

Sit down before you hurt yourself :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Dcully wrote: »
    While i personally have said nothing negative or slagged off Arsenal, all i see is a bit of banter going on.

Its just the arrogance of some of your fans thats annoying, its easy to come in here and slag when things arent going well. Its the one reason I wouldnt luke Liverpool to win the league, it would be like England winning a world cup we'd never hear the end of it.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Christ conceded 17 goals on your travels against your three title rivals says it all

Ah it only says something about 3 matches really.

Go follow some other team, please. Maybe Chelsea or City would suit you better.

Been following The Arsenal since 1969 home, aways & Europe, I'm entitled to my say just as much as any other supporter is.

Supporting Wenger & Kroenke & the rest of the clubs management is not compulsory.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

seriously get ****ed.

Phoenix wrote: »
    Whats happening with ye?

Ate some bad Lasagne..

Been following The Arsenal since 1969 home, aways & Europe, I'm entitled to my say just as much as any other supporter is.

Supporting Wenger & Kroenke & the rest of the clubs management is not compulsory.

then it's even more embarrassing that you're talking such guff considering you're not a child.

Its just the arrogance of some of your fans thats annoying, its easy to come in here and slag when things arent going well. Its the one reason I wouldnt luke Liverpool to win the league, it would be like England winning a world cup we'd never hear the end of it.

Fair enough but are we any worse than other teams?

Meanwhile Ill just quote what i posted a few mins ago.
    OK i dont get all this hate for Liverpool because of a few internet forum posts, jaysus man up guys.
    Personally if Liverpool dont win it [i think we will just fall short] id love Arsenal to win it.
    You see i base this on the fact i admire Wenger,the amount of times he has rebuilt the team into a formidable force is amazing ,he seems a decent man ,they play good football,i quite like some of their players, --- you know the usual reasons why somebody would wish a team well,I dont base on what i read from a few fans on an internet forum.

Its times like these that I get to see who the level headed posters are and who the idiots are.

Whats happening with ye?

Answers on a postcard ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

This is definitely worse than the 8-2. Shambles and we are even going to be more down to the bones now, looks like Kos is injured and Ox will get that suspension. Id love a crawl to 4th and a cup win now but fear this team will let us down like they always do. Days like this i wish i didnt love football as much as i do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Heart breaking stuff. Results and performances like this ruins the weekend!!

bad2dabone wrote: »
    then it's even more embarrassing that you're talking such guff considering you're not a child.

Supporters paying the highest ticket prices in world football whilst making Wenger, Kroenke & the rest very rich for winning 4th place trophies is what's embarrassing. :(

Even more so when supporters blindly follow the clubs propaganda without question. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Alright, we ain't going to win the league, but this has been one of the more enjoyable seasons for a while.
    We started the season favorites to be knocked out of the top 4, and it looks like we have that sealed anyways.
    There is still the FA Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Thank fcuk we dont have to play any of the top teams in the FA Cup. We've been fairly consistent against the teams further down the table so we should be able to see off the others left.

Need a big response on Tuesday.

dvemail wrote: »
    Alright, we ain't going to win the league, but this has been one of the more enjoyable seasons for a while.
    We started the season favorites to be knocked out of the top 4, and it looks like we have that sealed anyways.
    There is still the FA Cup.

Totally agree!
    If we win the FA Cup this will have been a great season.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

Whats happening with ye?

Self destructed big time. The passes Cazorla and Ox gave away for first 2 goals was crazy! Ridiculous. Played into yerhands and ye were brilliantly clinical.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭omega man

What's the bet wenger will still say we're still in it "mathematically" :D

As angry I am with him and his players I feel for him as this should be a big day for him but all that will be mentioned is how Jose was right and he is specialist in failure :mad:

couldn't bare to see Jose's smug git face after the match. Sad day all round for the club.

Good chance now for Sanogo to oust Giroud. Reckon he may start next few.

Supporters paying the highest ticket prices in world football whilst making Wenger, Kroenke & the rest very rich for winning 4th place trophies is what's embarrassing. :(

Even more so when supporters blindly follow the clubs propaganda without question. :mad:

Ah, it's hardly North Korea....

Spent €42million on Ozil and I expect one or two big names in the summer of the ilk now that we have been told we definitely have the money. One of them better be a striker ...

Very few of us in here do that.

Throwing your toys out and calling one of the best managers we've ever had a "gutless coward", that's shameful for a grown man.
    Wengers flawed, everyone knows that, but I'm still grateful to him for what he's done over his 18 years in charge.

You of course are entitled to spout nonsense whenever you like. Everyone else is also entitled to think you're a reactionary fool.

Heart breaking stuff. Results and performances like this ruins the weekend!!

Extremely gutless.
    There is something very wrong at the club I love.
    17 goals conceded in three away games.

Griezmann, Bender and a top striker. thats how close we are.

Raf32 wrote: »
    Griezmann, Bender and a top striker. thats how close we are.

Yeah, a proper DM to replace Arteta and a striker to replace Giroud.
    Bit more pace on the wings wouldn't go amiss either.

The biggest problem for us is, that I honestly don't think there is a big enough striker for us to get. I'm not convinced by the list of candidates that was suggested the other day.

Maire2009 wrote: »
    Ah, it's hardly North Korea....

Spent €42million on Ozil and I expect one or two big names in the summer of the ilk now that we have been told we definitely have the money. One of them better be a striker ...

One of them needs to be a new manager, Wenger is past his sell by date, at any other top European club he would already be gone way before this season.

Other top European clubs change their managers every 2-3 years not reward them with lucrative contracts for 4th place :mad:

Wright, Bergkamp, Anelka, Henry, Van Persie...............Giroud.
    There is our problem right there. That symbolizes the drop in quality of this team.

Quazzie wrote: »
    The biggest problem for us is, that I honestly don't think there is a big enough striker for us to get. I'm not convinced by the list of candidates that was suggested the other day.

me either and it was me suggesting them. after today i want us to blow 70 or 80 million on a cavani or falcao

One of them needs to be a new manager, Wenger is past his sell by date, at any other top European club he would already be gone way before this season.

Other top European clubs change their managers every 2-3 years not reward them with lucrative contracts for 4th place :mad:

I really shouldn't be bothered responding to your ramblings but I'll humour you. What other "top European club" has moved to a new ground and had to make £30mil a year, thus preventing them from spending big to top players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Raf32 wrote: »
    Wright, Bergkamp, Anelka, Henry, Van Persie...............Giroud.
    There is our problem right there. That symbolizes the drop in quality of this team.

van Persie had one single good season. Anelka two. They have no business being in that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Did Flamini feauture in our defeats to City and Liverpool does anyone know?