Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 mod warning post #5144

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

wawaman wrote: »
    103 million and counting ! :rolleyes:

we're going to spend every penny!

oh wait, it's april 2nd.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

we won't be getting Cesc now, Fifa imposed a 14month transfer ban on Barca...

"Fifa imposes a transfer ban on Barcelona for two transfer windows because of violations relating to "the international transfer of minors", the world governing body announces. The Spanish club has been sanctioned for breaking the rules in the case of 10 minors and also been fined £306,000." - BBC Sport

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

So Barcelona have gotten a two window transfer ban for "breaking rules on signing international players under 18."

Which rule did they break? I'm only asking as we've signed Gedion Zelalem this year, and he's only 17.

I have a feeling that I'm missing information on this, as I remember that we had to wait until he was 17 before signing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

what ye think of this rumour about kaboul going to arsenal in the summer?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

kevthegaff wrote: »

He is okay back up, not bothered either way, the fact that it wouldnt get the goat up for many spurs fans would also reduce my interest in it

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

CatInABox wrote: »
    So Barcelona have gotten a two window transfer ban for "breaking rules on signing international players under 18."

Which rule did they break? I'm only asking as we've signed Gedion Zelalem this year, and he's only 17.

I have a feeling that I'm missing information on this, as I remember that we had to wait until he was 17 before signing him.

Ah, the BBC have clarified some of the information.
    BBC Sport wrote:
    Fifa rules state that international transfers are only permitted for players over the age of 18 - unless the player in question meets one of three qualifying criteria.

Most likely Gedion meets at least one of the qualifying criteria.

In fairness, Arsenal are the last club that I would expect to have shady dealings, Arsene just wouldn't see the profit in risking a fine.

CatInABox wrote: »
    Ah, the BBC have clarified some of the information.

Most likely Gedion meets at least one of the qualifying criteria.

In fairness, Arsenal are the last club that I would expect to have shady dealings, Arsene just wouldn't see the profit in risking a fine.

Fifa only allows international youth transfers when one of three situations apply: the player's parents have moved country for their own, non-related reasons; the move takes place within the European Union if a player is aged between 16 and 18; or the player's home is less than 50km from the national border being crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Bit ironic that we got Cesc and Bellerin etc as the Spanish system does not allow their clubs to give professional contracts to youth players

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

greendom wrote: »
    Bit ironic that we got Cesc and Bellerin etc as the Spanish system does not allow their clubs to give professional contracts to youth players

It is.

Barca's problem is they were doing it with players outside the EU. think there was one from South Korea or something.

gosplan wrote: »
    It is.

Barca's problem is they were doing it with players outside the EU. think there was one from South Korea or something.

BBC were saying that there was 10 players at issue.

gosplan wrote: »
    It is.

Players can move within EU, barca signed players from Korea, Africa and far away places..

Should make the next couple of transfer windows a little easier with one of the big players out of the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Jasus Barca are in for a tough time. A lot of players there coming to the end of there careers and Valdes gone in the summer as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Jasus Barca are in for a tough time. A lot of players there coming to the end of there careers and Valdes gone in the summer as well.

Boo fcuking hoo :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭wawaman

I think this "ban" will work out the same as the time Chelsea were banned. It will be overturned and make no difference in the long term

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Valdes: “I don’t want to leave you hanging, I’ll sign a new contract”
    Barcelona: “Oh thank you Victor!”
    Valdes: “1m a week”
    Barcelona: “D’oh!”

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

kevthegaff wrote: »

april fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,663 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Funny pisstake by Arseblog on the Kalou rumours http://arseblog.com/2014/04/in-which-i-am-prompted-to-embrace-the-verse/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

I'd be delighted with Barcelona's squad and a transfer ban for a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,117 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Didnt we sign Zelalem when he was living in the states? That'd make it outside the three conditions wouldnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Quazzie wrote: »
    Didnt we sign Zelalem when he was living in the states? That'd make it outside the three conditions wouldnt it?

Hes German and therefore an EU citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Wouldn't the ban only apply to signing players? You can't exactly ban someone from selling players.

I'd be delighted with Barcelona's squad and a transfer ban for a year.

Well tbf though Xaxi will be going on 35 with the weight of another world cup barely off his legs before the season begins again. Iniesta will be around 30/31. Granted they have Neymar and Messi but if they get injuries there is only so much even they can do and Messi himself has had a rough run of injuries the past year or so. Im not predicting meltdown but it will affect them no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Lavezzi would be some signing if we could manage it

All we can do from an Arsenal point of view is aim to hit that 82 point mark because 4th or not that would be a relatively impressive tally.

Combined, please god with the FA cup. For me that would cap off a decent season.

We're hoping for 9 point collapses from each of our 3 rivals other than that. You would hope Chelsea would collapse anyway because of that vile man in charge. I wont be greedy though. Hold off Everton and the cup would mean progress for me but 82 points would suggest real progress. Alot of what ifs but at least the chances are we wont have to sell to buy for a change and can break the habit of a lifetime and bring in some top class fresh faces in the summer.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Wouldn't the ban only apply to signing players? You can't exactly ban someone from selling players.

Ha ha you'd be hoping their players might get restless and a fire sale could ensue as a result :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Well tbf though Xaxi will be going on 35 with the weight of another world cup barely off his legs before the season begins again. Iniesta will be around 30/31. Granted they have Neymar and Messi but if they get injuries there is only so much even they can do and Messi himself has had a rough run of injuries the past year or so. Im not predicting meltdown but it will affect them no doubt.
    Of course it will affect them, however I still think in a year without new non academy players they'll still be well ahead of any of the English teams.

Id imagine they'll have to dip into their academy and it will be mighty interesting as to what they can spring from it. They had some serious players in the u19 against us. Im assuming maybe the likes of Deuleofeu will be recalled and utilised next season.

Pity Ibra gone off. Id love if PSG could nick two more goals and bury the tie.

Raf32 wrote: »
    Lavezzi would be some signing if we could manage it

Maitiudi would be the ideal replacement for Arteta

Pity Ibra gone off. Id love if PSG could nick two more goals and bury the tie.

3-1 will have to do :D
    Anyone know if Ibra can return? Pity they conceded the penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

greendom wrote: »
    Maitiudi would be the ideal replacement for Arteta

He just signed a new contract a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Another loss for Chelsea, Arsenal-esce in its hilarity.

Yano Arsene is having a better season than Mourinho imo. Both wont win the league now but we might have the FA cup to show at the end of the season while Jose ends up potless?

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    He just signed a new contract a few months ago.

A man can dream can't he ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Dpn't forget Valdes is off and Puyol is no spring chicken either theres a good aging/going spine to that team. But will be interesting to see how they do and what players they promote form the youth system.

Anyways back to Arsenal stuff nothing to see here.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Another loss for Chelsea, Arsenal-esce in its hilarity.

Specialists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,663 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Awaits Mourinho failure headlines...

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭GillespieRoad

Re Barca ban, what happens if a player wishes to move? Sure l, theoretically they should see out their concert but we know that doesn't happen. I don't see the sense in keeping an unhappy player at a club in punishment for his club's actions. Can anyone clear this up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Re Barca ban, what happens if a player wishes to move? Sure l, theoretically they should see out their concert but we know that doesn't happen. I don't see the sense in keeping an unhappy player at a club in punishment for his club's actions. Can anyone clear this up?

Jesus & Mary Chain guitarist Bill Reid regularly walked off during concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,117 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I don't think the Barca ban stops them selling, just buying. It just means they will choose not to sell because they can't replace.

Awaits Mourinho failure headlines...

slow_internet_browsing_skeleton.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Quazzie wrote: »
    I don't think the Barca ban stops them selling, just buying. It just means they will choose not to sell because they can't replace.

Sucks for Bendtner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Lads I'll be astonished if this Barca ban doesn't go the way of the Chelsea one. If nothing else the appeal will go on through the summer leaving them free to make whatever replacements they need in this summer's transfer window anyway.

It's not an issue that will affect us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Lads I'll be astonished if this Barca ban doesn't go the way of the Chelsea one. If nothing else the appeal will go on through the summer leaving them free to make whatever replacements they need in this summer's transfer window anyway.

It's not an issue that will affect us.

The Chelsea situation was completely different, that was one player and the came to an agreement with the other club. The Barca issue is with 10+ players and all of the journos I follow on twitter seem fairly convinced it can't go the same route as Chelseas.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

But its FIFA. They'll appeal, the ban will be quashed and they'll be given a fine of €5000.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭ronjo

keano_afc wrote: »
    But its FIFA. They'll appeal, the ban will be quashed and they'll be given a fine of €5000.

And warned about their future behaviour.... Dont forget that part.
    Its very important !

Raf32 wrote: »

Fantastic...... On the bench on Sunday and then hopefully he can start against Wigan.

If we can somehow grind out a win on Sunday and get some players back then it would really be possible to finish the league very strongly and hopefully capitalise if any of the three ahead of us slip up.

I know there is some IFs in there but I am feeling positive after seeing that Ramsey news.