Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 mod warning post #5144

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

greendom wrote: »
    I don't mind negativity - far from it and I'm not averse to it at all. It's just that the thread is currently drowning in a sea of misery atm and it was becoming a chore to visit.

And I don't think Arsene or any of his team come to boards for any nuggets they can find to help with team selection or tactical expertise

It's natural after poor results, win on Sunday it will be smiles all around again I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

ronjo wrote: »
    Aha, ok thanks Raf, so stream for me.

I usually get FA Cup on one of my local channels being on foreign soils but the Olympics is on instead.
    I was hoping then to watch on FilmON but BT wont be there.

I know Bt seem to be getting a serious amount of our games so tempted to just get it in for next year, sick of the streaming :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Sunday is huge we need this cup, I expect our strongest 11 out

• Registered Users Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭ronjo

Raf32 wrote: »
    I know Bt seem to be getting a serious amount of our games so tempted to just get it in for next year, sick of the streaming :pac:

I usually get all League (including 3pm on Saturday), FA Cup, League Cup and Champions league games here for 9.60 a month so I cant complain really.
    Its unusual not to have an Arsenal game on tv for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Mickeroo wrote: »
    It's natural after poor results, win on Sunday it will be smiles all around again I'm sure.

Yes hopefully so.

I think Fabianski will start as he played well in both the other cup games. After the result at Anfield I think he'll play our best back 4 and Jenkinson won't be risked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Think sometimes over the last week or so some have kind of lost sight of just how good a season Arsenal are having.

Injuries have played a part in seeing a little splutter in performances now, but I would not bet against Arsenal pushing on from here, at all. Think back to where you were placed at Christmas last season, compared to this? The improvement is impressive, it honestly is.

You most certainly are in a title race, and can still consider yourselves one of the favourites. There is absolutely no reason why you cannot win it.

Game at the weekend should be interesting, but even if you lose, and even as a Liverpool fan I think Arsenal will go through, its not a big deal. Bigger fish to fry and all that in terms of CL and the League.

Arsenal are at the doorstep of a potentially great few years. Bones of a great squad, a manager who despite some murmurings in certain corners is still definitely the right guy at the helm, and you've turned the corner financially with regards to stadium debt, etc.

Saying this is your best bet to win the title isn't true. I am absolutely convinced ye will be at the upper end of the table for the next few years, minimum. Just look at the core players ye have.

Add a striker to that and arguably your up there with the best in Europe.

Its becoming increasingly evident that this league is bananas. Its absolutely mental and you see the rise and fall of fortunes, game on game as teams like City and Chelsea slip up when you least expect, and now even season on season. Liverpool's rise this year, United's fall.

Consistency is the key, and over the last 12 months plus, no team in the league has had more consistency than Arsenal. That's why I think you'll be alright. You have a great foundation, and now the resources to build on. Even if you don't win the title, you're gonna be in a dog fight for it, and ultimately, you can't complain with that. Build from it.

Liverpool may only be a few points behind this season, but we're a year or two away from ye yet, and when we put our own stadium actions into plan, we may become stagnant in our progression for a while then too. It'll probably coincide with Gerrard being phased out of the team, plus perhaps Suarez leaving too, and it could even be too much for us.

Arsenal don't have those problems right now and you're all set for a good few years. Its a good time to be a Gooner.

*Ends ramble*

Still hope we give ye a hiding at the weekend though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭dinorebel

^ Just found myself agreeing with a Liverpool fan:eek: is it Valentines Day or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Knex. wrote: »
    Think sometimes over the last week or so some have kind of lost sight of just how good a season Arsenal are having.

Injuries have played a part in seeing a little splutter in performances now, but I would not bet against Arsenal pushing on from here, at all. Think back to where you were placed at Christmas last season, compared to this? The improvement is impressive, it honestly is.

You most certainly are in a title race, and can still consider yourselves one of the favourites. There is absolutely no reason why you cannot win it.

Game at the weekend should be interesting, but even if you lose, and even as a Liverpool fan I think Arsenal will go through, its not a big deal. Bigger fish to fry and all that in terms of CL and the League.

Arsenal are at the doorstep of a potentially great few years. Bones of a great squad, a manager who despite some murmurings in certain corners is still definitely the right guy at the helm, and you've turned the corner financially with regards to stadium debt, etc.

Saying this is your best bet to win the title isn't true. I am absolutely convinced ye will be at the upper end of the table for the next few years, minimum. Just look at the core players ye have.

Add a striker to that and arguably your up there with the best in Europe.

Its becoming increasingly evident that this league is bananas. Its absolutely mental and you see the rise and fall of fortunes, game on game as teams like City and Chelsea slip up when you least expect, and now even season on season. Liverpool's rise this year, United's fall.

Consistency is the key, and over the last 12 months plus, no team in the league has had more consistency than Arsenal. That's why I think you'll be alright. You have a great foundation, and now the resources to build on. Even if you don't win the title, you're gonna be in a dog fight for it, and ultimately, you can't complain with that. Build from it.

Liverpool may only be a few points behind this season, but we're a year or two away from ye yet, and when we put our own stadium actions into plan, we may become stagnant in our progression for a while then too. It'll probably coincide with Gerrard being phased out of the team, plus perhaps Suarez leaving too, and it could even be too much for us.

Arsenal don't have those problems right now and you're all set for a good few years. Its a good time to be a Gooner.

*Ends ramble*

Still hope we give ye a hiding at the weekend though. :pac:

A lot of our players are approaching 30 so a good bit of rebuilding has to start soon.

Look at our cbs, all are close to 30 and we have no up and coming ones getting a chance at the moment.

Thats a brilliant post Knex, fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

A lot of our players are approaching 30 so a good bit of rebuilding has to start soon.

Look at our cbs, all are close to 30 and we have no up and coming ones getting a chance at the moment.

There's always one negative bollocks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Consistency is a virtue !

Ah no what you're saying is spot on and fair play, just pointing out we have some rebuilding to do, but no better man for the job than Wenger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,751 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

d7b9990400ea7827d79381f20e020817.png

Time will I pick you up tonight Marty?

You think having a CB approaching 30 is a problem.
    Thats when they are in their prime generally.

Why the f*ck have I a Chelsea fan at the top of mine??????

Boards Matchmaking!beta
    now ye're lovin'
    Username Compatibility
    GavRedKing
    tayto lover
    Marty McFly
    Spanish Johnny
    gnfnrhead
    CatInABox
    greendom
    Raf32
    Jamsiek
    Mickeroo
    Mars Bar

You think having a CB approaching 30 is a problem.
    Thats when they are in their prime generally.

No no not a problem, just meant we have no youngish cb like Cahill smalling Jones etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Our centre backs can have another 4 good years at the top.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

I have always enjoyed bags of Taytos!

Username Compatibility
    tayto lover
    Galvasean
    Mars Bar
    Marty McFly
    GavRedKing
    Mickeroo
    greendom
    gnfnrhead
    GeorgeBailey
    wandatowell
    Fuzzy_Dunlop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Soups123 wrote: »
    Sunday is huge we need this cup, I expect our strongest 11 out

I think Wenger has already said he will rotate though hasn't he? I wouldn't be tarting Fabianski he leaving and we have Sczez in top form so why bother imo.
    AdamD wrote: »

:pac: whatever time suits you better wine and dine me though I expect roses :cool:.

Our centre backs are can have another 4 good years at the top.

Didn't Kos ramble about wanting to win trophies last year?

All I'm saying is sagna looks off and possibly vermalen, is there something wrong in saying we might have a bit of rebuilding to do in defence?

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

No no not a problem, just meant we have no youngish cb like Cahill smalling Jones etc.

Gary Cahill is the same age as Koscielny and only a year younger than Mert, unless I'm thinkin of a different Cahill?

All I'm saying is sagna looks off and possibly vermalen, is there something wrong in saying we might have a bit of rebuilding to do in defence?

If Sagna and Vermaelan go then obviously we need to replace them. If everyone stays put it will at least be ok for another year. Although, a 4th choice centre back still needs to be signed.

shano_88 wrote: »
    If Sagna and Vermaelan go then obviously we need to replace them. If everyone stays put it will at least be ok for another year. Although, a 4th choice centre back still needs to be signed.
    That's true I suppose, we should be good for a few years in defence. No signings needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

Jenkinson would be cannon fodder for those Liverpool attackers.
    Sagna was bad enough last Sat but Jenks would be worse for this game.

I don't know Tayto - Jenkinson has great pace. He may be a better option against Sterling if he plays on the left again like last week because he destroyed Sagna. 3 of the goals can be directly linked to Sagna's positioning and then failure to get back.

We have to give Jenks game time. He can't be expected to walk in two years time and be top class. Needs to learn too even with the risk of mistakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Why the f*ck have I a Chelsea fan at the top of mine??????

It could be worse

val_zps37367b2c.png

:o

Mourinho getting personal again......yawn

cant handle the pressure and shows his true colours.

He is a classless pr*ck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

AdamD wrote: »

uHblRL6.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Mourinho is an absolutely classless and abhorrent individual. Taking the ex back never works out and I'll laugh when it inevitably ends in tears for Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

cson wrote: »
    Mourinho is an absolutely classless and abhorrent individual. Taking the ex back never works out and I'll laugh when it inevitably ends in tears for Chelsea.
    He is the greatest troll. A master.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I also got Tayto at the top of my list.

The only conclusion I can draw from that Tayto is that you're a slut.

keano_afc wrote: »
    I also got Tayto at the top of my list.

The only conclusion I can draw from that Tayto is that you're a slut.

Back off

Tayto top of mine too, pure Robbie Keane job boys, lying to us all! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Kerry Gooner

Attention agent Kolo..........keep up the good work

I would think Arsenal fans will have plenty to discuss in about 90 minutes .....

Tweet from @darrenarsenal1

I'm guessing a new contract for Arsene....

I would think Arsenal fans will have plenty to discuss in about 90 minutes .....

Tweet from @darrenarsenal1

I'm guessing a new contract for Arsene....

Yip would imagine so.

Absolutely hate the translator boys, if we dont do it would love City put them to the sword.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Absolutely hate the translator boys, if we dont do it would love City put them to the sword.

what's this about?

he is good though, called man city a 'jaguar with L plates' recently :pac:

If Wenger, Moyes or Rodgers said that they would be absolutely slated but with him you invariably get people chuckling and say what a great troll he is...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

I really cant stand mourinho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Specialist in failure (to act decisively in the transfer market)

batistuta9 wrote: »
    what's this about?

he is good though, called man city a 'jaguar with L plates' recently :pac:

He's a muppet. I think the lapdogs are even beginning to see through him now at this stage.

Classless is the only way to describe him.

Sad thing is you will have a few fools that will laugh away at his comment about Wenger and think it's the funniest and most truthful thing they have ever heard!

If Wenger did a European tour of the top football Clubs in the big countries and had an unlimited budget he would not only have trophies, he would have the reputation for doing it in unbelievable style.

Instead he stayed here and helped build and sustain the future of a great Club like Mourinho did at...........

No nothing wrong but I don't think they're on the wrong side of the age like United's centre backs, If anything I would say they're in their prime as all 3 of them are 28+, so I would say another 3-4 years at the top unless someone moves.

He's a muppet. I think the lapdogs are even beginning to see through him now at this stage.

Classless is the only way to describe him.

Sad thing is you will have a few fools that will laugh away at his comment about Wenger and think it's the funniest and most truthful thing they have ever heard!

If Wenger did a European tour of the top football Clubs in the big countries and had an unlimited budget he would not only have trophies, he would have the reputation for doing it in unbelievable style.

Instead he stayed here and helped build and sustain the future of a great Club like Mourinho did at...........

What did he say now?

He is a specialist in failure.

If I had 8 years and failed to build a team I would walk away, bla bla bla

+1,

He is full of Bull**** and English media lap everything he says, He wasn't patronised in the same way in Spain and Italy and that's why he didn't like it there.

I want City to stuff them in the cup tomorrow and wouldn't mind anybody winning the league bar that hypocrite...

He is a specialist in failure.

If I had 8 years and failed to build a team I would walk away, bla bla bla

Cheers.

Oh what a horrible little man, just can't help himself.

Most people have seen him for what he is.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Mourinho's comments cut close to the bone IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Mourinho is class. He always knows which buttons to press. And he actually seems like a nice guy beneath the cartoonish persona he puts on.