Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 mod warning post #5144

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

Am in Rome, found a nice pub to watch the match in.

Just seen our lineup and the Liverpool line up. Very worried now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,119 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I'm happy enough with Giroud being dropped. He's been very poor the last few games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Gonna say this again, why do we not press players in midfield, we stand back and give them time to pick a pass and open our defense.

See what a bit of pressing does, its simple but affective.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Opinion on Sanogo so far? he's showing some ability I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

bad2dabone wrote: »

Been very good so far.
    The fact that he's not slow helps us a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,751 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Hes been good, bit raw at times but hes physically a beast. Agger tried to take him out and ended up holding his face in pain, priceless.

I'm hopeful we've got a potential benteke / lukaku on our hands - if a little behind in his development due to the injuries

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

I'm already loving him, Ok he has swiped at a few things, but he is giving Agger/Skertl hard time and he is quick and haranguing the back four...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Growing into it, seems to swing and miss the ball a bit same last time I think.

Big and strong though and is stretching the game a bit for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

jamescd wrote: »
    Am in Rome, found a nice pub to watch the match in.

Just seen our lineup and the Liverpool line up. Very worried now

Looks like I was worried for nothing lol

So far anyway. Hope we see this through

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,411 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Very impressed with the lad. Sure he's snatched at a few chances and misplaced one or two passes but overall he's put himself about very well and doesn't look one bit phased by the occasion. I look forward to him getting more game time after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭ironkiwi

Impressive first start for him, took it down on the chest well for Oxs goal. Giving Agger an uncomfortable day and throwing himself about.

He is doing more than Giroud has in the last couple of games.

Few air shouts but he is at least getting himself in there and in the right positions. A goal will do him a world of good in the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I like him only 20 loads to work with

Not afraid to throw himself around either

Poldi......................................................

Tracking backs been good too, complete myth that hes a liability.

Also Ox has been awesome, 1 goal 1 assist, drawn 2 yellow cards.

Love him, hope he doesn't leave this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,119 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Podolski simply has to start more for us when he's fit.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,411 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

3 more please.

Jeez how feckin biased is Andy gray...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

*Awaits crying Liverpool fans*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Apparently they didn't really care about it anyway......

1st decision of note we've gotten all season, compared to teams like City...I won't be feeling guilty.

Fabianski and Ox were great

I used to want liverpool to win the league if we don't.

Not anymore.

the fans are insufferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭ironkiwi

Impressive first start for him, took it down on the chest well for Oxs goal. Giving Agger an uncomfortable day and throwing himself about.

He is doing more than Giroud has in the last couple of games.

Few air shouts but he is at least getting himself in there and in the right positions. A goal will do him a world of good in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭gebbel

Payback is sweet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Everton!!! Bring it!!!

The temptation to run into their thread after last week's shenanigans is great, but I'll control myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

AdamD wrote: »
    The temptation to run into their thread after last week's shenanigans is great, but I'll control myself.

They arent worth it. Gloat in our own thread and leave the others be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

We are used to beating them so we can deal with it better :)

Anyone going into the Liverpool thread gloating

No not me either

Leave that pettiness to other fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I do believe I owe one niallo27 a promised visit into their thread, but no, we're classier than that :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

Great game of football, well done Arsenal!

Team's best performance of 2014 for me. The Ox has to start from now on.

What a result this is for Arsenal, one that may just kickstart their season.

FFS, you'd swear we were in 7th in the league or something.

On the match, delighted we beat them, with half the second string team too.

If Liverpool finish fourth ahead of Sp*rs by 2 points at the end of the season, I'll totally get over that 5-1 defeat :D

Loving Jens on the panel I have to say.

Here comes BR to feed the Pool fans his usual rubbish

Was a really good win with a far from strongest first team

Let's show some real class and stay out if the Pool thread

i dont get the need to go into other threads to celebrate, no other thread i would rather be after that result than here.

Ozil is a different player with a bit is pace to play with

That ball for ox was superb (podi goal)

Seriously no need to go into the pool thread to gloat. It's not the Arsenal way.

Raf32 wrote: »
    i dont get the need to go into other threads to celebrate, no other thread i would rather be after that result than here.

Agree match thread for those who want banter real chance if an FA Cup now

What a feeling to have knowing we have a top 3 centre back in Kos. No striker I fear when we have him marking them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Ozil is a different player with a bit is pace to play with

That ball for ox was superb (podi goal)

Absolute peach of a ball, and the way the Ox muscled past Agger was great to see.

It was also Ozil who picked out Sanogo with the cross in the lead-up to the first goal.

Neither of those will show up in any stats so we will continue to hear about how bad he is from those who know nothing.

Great win, badly needed, sanogo done well.

Well done today lads. No complaints from me. Webb was equally poor for both teams.

I'll be hoping ye stuff the Toffees :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Lots of positives from this game for me.
    1.The result of course. With another home-draw (though a difficult one), I feel that we might be able to go all the way.
    2.First half performance was the best in quite a while. I'd suggest they all watch it before all big games.
    3.Promising performance from Sanogo.
    4.Solid performances from Fabianski and Jenkinson. I'm gonna miss Fabianski if he goes on summer, but it's understandable really. He could be first keeper in many teams.
    5.Ox looks to be getting up on speed after his injury. With his pace being a bit quicker than the rest of our available midfielders, he might give some space for Özil creativity.

While I won't be going near other threads I will be awaiting the pool fans to come in here to talk about the game and have some banter

As it is perfectly normal they told me last week

Sitting here patentially

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

FFS, you'd swear we were in 7th in the league or something.

On the match, delighted we beat them, with half the second string team too.

If Liverpool finish fourth ahead of Sp*rs by 2 points at the end of the season, I'll totally get over that 5-1 defeat :D

Actually if Everton get above them to finish 4th it will be even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Really liking what I saw from Sanogo today, the more games he plays, the more confident he'll be, in his shooting and being clinical. He was really up for it today, which is great to see.

Lovely finish by Pod, he should start next game, brillant display by the Ox and we're getting a little bit of what we lost from Walcott, that pace and finishing.

Also Fabianski was really great, brillant back-up keeper to have.

Oh Wenger nice comeback to Jose there!