Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arctic Monkeys Marlay Park July 12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Id say you will be in time for Jake Bugg

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭riskshamam

Anyone know anything about buses heading up from cork? What is everybody doing with getting up there/staying the night etc.?

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

riskshamam wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about buses heading up from cork? What is everybody doing with getting up there/staying the night etc.?

Organise an after party there.... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭wong

Anyone have any idea about getting pit passes for Marlay park gigs?

How early would you need to be there to get one do ye reckon?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

Well lads, quick question. I'm heading to this with my mate and we have no accommodation booked yet, I gave a look on trivago and at this stage prices are all very high... As college students without summer jobs, this rules all them out. I've turned my eye to staying in a hostel, something which I have never done before. So I was wondering does anyone on here have any experience of staying in a hostel in Dublin, and could maybe recommend one? We are thinking about heading out after the concert also.

Cannot wait for this concert, it's going to be epic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

buyer95 wrote: »
    Well lads, quick question. I'm heading to this with my mate and we have no accommodation booked yet, I gave a look on trivago and at this stage prices are all very high... As college students without summer jobs, this rules all them out. I've turned my eye to staying in a hostel, something which I have never done before. So I was wondering does anyone on here have any experience of staying in a hostel in Dublin, and could maybe recommend one? We are thinking about heading out after the concert also.

Cannot wait for this concert, it's going to be epic.

We usually stay in hostels when we're up for gigs. They are all pretty decent, all you really want is someplace to throw your head for a few hours. We actually had bother getting someplace for the AM gig so took the plunge on a hotel.

Sorry I can't recommend anyplace as the places we've always stayed in are sold out!

Anyway, you'll have no problems in a hostel, so book one quick and get ready for the gig.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭PaddyPooHead

All hostels seem to be booked up which is poo. Getting accommodation for this is not looking easy.... Has everyone got theirs sorted already?

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

All hostels seem to be booked up which is poo. Getting accommodation for this is not looking easy.... Has everyone got theirs sorted already?

Try airbnb.ie, you might be able to book a room in someone's private house for a night.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 RichTea123

If anyone is wondering about stage times, I seen this on entertainment.ie so I presume it should be accurate!

Time Artist
    3:00pm GATES OPEN
    4:20pm Royal Blood
    5:30pm Miles Kane
    7:00pm Jake Bugg
    8:45pm Arctic Monkeys

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

I'm pretty sure the tickets said gates were not open till 4 or 4:30?!?

RichTea123 wrote: »
    If anyone is wondering about stage times, I seen this on entertainment.ie so I presume it should be accurate!

Time Artist
    3:00pm GATES OPEN
    4:20pm Royal Blood
    5:30pm Miles Kane
    7:00pm Jake Bugg
    8:45pm Arctic Monkeys

• Registered Users Posts: 5,069 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Batesy wrote: »

Gates open at 3 pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 RichTea123

Batesy wrote: »

I double checked what it says on my ticket there and it says gates are 3pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Jake bugg at Glastonbury on BBC3 now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

time for pit passes? 12 be ok?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭bennyl10

D.Q wrote: »
    time for pit passes? 12 be ok?

12 you'll be looking at,barrier not just passes

Haha really? All the years I've been going to gigs I've always gone up stupidly early. Just in case.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Jacks Smirking Revenge

Arctic Monkeys seem to be repeating this setlist for the entire tour, which would be fine if it was a good setlist...

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/arctic-monkeys/2014/artpark-lewiston-ny-63c06233.html

Meh, at least Royal Blood should add some life to the proceedings.

Arctic Monkeys seem to be repeating this setlist for the entire tour, which would be fine if it was a good setlist...

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/arctic-monkeys/2014/artpark-lewiston-ny-63c06233.html

Meh, at least Royal Blood should add some life to the proceedings.

Jaysus that's an awful setlist..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,671 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

What's wrong with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Jacks Smirking Revenge

I know they're supporting the album but almost playing "AM" in its entirety is a bit much. Even if I liked the album I'd still be disappointed with the setlist, a paltry two songs from "Whatever people say I am."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

Anyone hear of a shuttle bus from town to Marley Park being organised by MCD?

I'd prefer to hear stuff off 'AM' over 'Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not' every day of the week

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭LostArt

buyer95 wrote: »
    Anyone hear of a shuttle bus from town to Marley Park being organised by MCD?

it's not organised by mcd

http://www.marathonsportsbooking.ie/Tours/Marlay_Park_Bus_Service/Overview

I'd prefer to hear stuff off 'AM' over 'Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not' every day of the week

Your ears need adjusting :p

Seriously though 9 off AM is riduculous, its just under half the set.. its a good album but not spectacular.. and no teddy picker..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Can't understand their mentality for not wanting to switch up the setlist even a small bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,221 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Same, it seems at times like they are just going through the motions. I remember watching other gigs from around the same time after I saw them at EP last year and the gigs really were identical. Even the way Alex introduced each song and the things he said to the crowd in between each song was the exact same. They were still great though. My advice would be don't spend too long reading up about set lists or watching gigs online etc beforehand, just go and enjoy it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

MadYaker wrote: »
    Same, it seems at times like they are just going through the motions. I remember watching other gigs from around the same time after I saw them at EP last year and the gigs really were identical. Even the way Alex introduced each song and the things he said to the crowd in between each song was the exact same. They were still great though. My advice would be don't spend too long reading up about set lists or watching gigs online etc beforehand, just go and enjoy it.

As I said earlier in the thread, I went to see them in finsbury park and that's the exact notion I got. Same with all my pals. Hopefully they liven up a bit for Dublin!

id love if they played AM all the way through, and then repeat half of it. ****ing love that album.

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭callmepetardu

Won't be pit passes for it at all I don't think. If it's the same as it was today, it's a free for all!