Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs Scotland build up thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭andymx11

Looking forward to seeing Trimble. Still have reservations but his work-ethic is fantastic and as a result it's impossible to begrudge him a start though

Still can't help but wish we could put Zebo in there though

Yea I actually am looking forward to seeing a Trimble under Joe, could give him the little bit of an edge that he can sometimes be missing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Last chance saloon for me with Trimble. He has a chance and either he takes it or contents himself with playing for ulster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Despite saying I wouldn't return to the Aviva to sit in the north or south stand after the Australia game I'll be in the corner of the South Stand on Sunday

Here's hoping I won't be surrounded by children this time. A bit of atmosphere wouldn't go astray either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

Preparation and nerves

That is what everyone says about him, he analyses his own team and the opposition to an incredible degree and tells players stuff about their game they had no idea about.

http://www.thescore.ie/david-ferguson-scotland-ireland-1289179-Jan2014/

"Duncan Weir has hardly played for Glasgow and when he has, he hasn’t played very well. So we expected Ruadhri Jackson to be in; he’s been starting more games for Glasgow and he’s been playing ok. Nothing brilliant but he’s been playing ok."

"Johnson has explained that he wants to play a particular game against Ireland. He knows the type of game he wants to play, and feels Duncan Weir is better suited to that than Jackson. It’s interesting because Weir is more of a kicking stand-off than Jackson, who is more of a runner"

"Ferguson explains that Scotland’s team management have been at pains to underline the improving nature of Weir’s passing and running threat, but his suspicion is that Johnson wants to “keep the ball out of Scotland’s half at all costs” on Sunday."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Completely baseless internet rumour is 7 Leinster, 4 Ulster, 3 Munster, 1 exile in the starting XV. Make of that what you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

danthefan wrote: »
    Completely baseless internet rumour is 7 Leinster, 4 Ulster, 3 Munster, 1 exile in the starting XV. Make of that what you will.

just looking at the likely XV I think that's probably accurate enough

at this point the likely team really picks itself, there is only one or two choices about maybe giving Moore a run or Marshall over D'Arcy etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Healy, Ross, Toner, Heaslip, Bod and an beirt Kearnaí

Best, Henry, Trimble, Marshall

O'Connell, O'Mahony, Murray

Sexton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I'd say Larbre has it. It's a decent side but jaysus we miss SOB.

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Would be happy enough with that team.

Your completely baseless rumours are always correct so let's start filling in the blanks. The exile is Sexton...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Not enough Leinster :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭andymx11

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Your completely baseless rumours are always correct so let's start filling in the blanks. The exile is Sexton...

Robin Copeland- CURVEBALL.

If thats the team it turns out to be it has a nice balance to it. Obviously you'd want the injured guys all available, but as a side to face that Scotland team I think theyll do a good job and get a 15-20 point win.

Bench so?

McGrath, Cronin, Moore, Tuohy, O'Donnell, Madigan, Boss, McFadden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

The exile is Niall Morris dragged into the squad with Luke out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

Last chance saloon for me with Trimble. He has a chance and either he takes it or contents himself with playing for ulster.

I still fear he won't start!! He has had so many disappointments recently. The guy hasn't had a chance for Ireland since the warm up games of the World Cup. He was our most in form player in these games, let alone our most in form back. I think he had one autumn appearance in 2012 and this is last we have seen of him in a big game? I stand corrected on this though. If the big man starts it will be richly deserved on the back of his efforts for Ulster the two seasons. Fingers crossed that he starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Indeed, he should be grateful he is being given this opportunity;)

assuming he is actually picked

Brewster wrote: »
    I still fear he won't start!! He has had so many disappointments recently. The guy hasn't had a chance for Ireland since the warm up games of the World Cup. He was our most in form player in these games, let alone our most in form back. I think he had one autumn appearance in 2012 and this is last we have seen of him in a big game? I stand corrected on this though. If the big man starts it will be richly deserved on the back of his efforts for Ulster the two seasons. Fingers crossed that he starts.

All of the following assumes he is starting: The chance he got in 2012 against SA was very similar to the chance he will get on Sunday, and he didn't really take it. The feeling was he wasn't effective enough at international level (at least, not as effective as the many up and coming wingers) and he didn't do anything to dispel that notion. Gilroy got the start against Fiji/Argentina and really took his chance, and got 5 Six nations starts off the back of that. I agree with Swiwi, at 29 and with many wingers coming back from injury, if he doesn't impress this could prove his last chance

• Brewster wrote: »

Agreed, every time I read someone write "Trimble's never done it at international level" I always wonder how many games of his have they missed.

McFadden's game against Aus got him worlds of plaudits, and deservedly so. He was the best player simply because he did everything he was supposed to, and he was aggressive and hungry.

Pretty much exactly as Trimble had done many times for Ireland that year (2011)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

You Aussies are awfully harsh on the blonde bomber ;)

All appearances for Ireland starting and off the bench in any type of game

Bowe 54 / 26
    Earls 39 appearances 12 tries
    Fitz 27 appearances 2 tries
    Gilroy 5/2
    Dave K 2/2
    McFadden 19/8
    Trimble 50 appearances 12 tries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

ssaye2 wrote: »
    All appearances for Ireland starting and off the bench in any type of game

Bowe 54 / 26
    Earls 39 appearances 12 tries
    Fitz 27 appearances 2 tries
    Gilroy 5/2
    Dave K 2/2
    McFadden 19/8
    Trimble 50 appearances 12 tries

So what you're saying is that our starting wingers should be Dave Kearney and McFadden? Might well pan out that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

Clearly I'm clutching at straws here, but at least Luke Fitz seems to be in good spirits on Twitter https://twitter.com/lukefitz11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

What time is the team being announced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

What time is the team being announced?

Tomorrow sometime. It's normally about 1:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Tox56 wrote: »
    All of the following assumes he is starting: The chance he got in 2012 against SA was very similar to the chance he will get on Sunday, and he didn't really take it. The feeling was he wasn't effective enough at international level (at least, not as effective as the many up and coming wingers) and he didn't do anything to dispel that notion. Gilroy got the start against Fiji/Argentina and really took his chance, and got 5 Six nations starts off the back of that. I agree with Swiwi, at 29 and with many wingers coming back from injury, if he doesn't impress this could prove his last chance

Yes, he didn't impress that day but I think he got one pass in the game. Perhaps if he'd stripped naked and did a fandango on the half way line some one might have noticed him and gave him the ball. The rest of the team were stellar that day - my arse. They were all crap but somehow Trimble gets singled out. He made a handling error while covering for Kearney and Bowe who were out of position but again, they get no criticism.
    Amazingly, for such a ****e winger, he does o.k. 34 starts and 12 tries for Ireland and 57 tries in 176 games for Ulster. Am I missing something here. Compared to Fitzgerald. 19 starts and 2 tries for Ireland and 121 games and 29 tries for Leinster. Someone posted above that since Fitz was out we would lose a lot in attack and needed to do X or Y to make up for it. So what has changed? Is looking good the same as being good? Fitz has looked sharp, so has Trimble. Maybe they are both simply not good enough at international level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

Hey myself and my fiancee are heading up to the match sunday morning from Kerry and Im wondering whereas bouts we can park close to the Aviva for free or good value parking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Clearly I'm clutching at straws here, but at least Luke Fitz seems to be in good spirits on Twitter https://twitter.com/lukefitz11

He's probably used to it at this stage!

Really hope he's fit for the Welsh game.

The last posts are about him picking up a 141 amg merc coupe!!! If that was me I'd be in a fecking good mood too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Henwin wrote: »
    Hey myself and my fiancee are heading up to the match sunday morning from Kerry and Im wondering whereas bouts we can park close to the Aviva for free or good value parking?

most areas near the stadium are free on Sunday, it's Saturday the problem is.

If anyone was looking to do up a proper write up for the game can they let us know.

Henwin wrote: »

That would be Kerry.

No just kidding, if you arrive in Dublin fairly early I would head for Herbert Park or the roads around Clyde Road which are only pay parking Mon-Fri/Sat (but check the timeplate in each parking bay). They are quiet enough and youll be 5-10 mins walk from Lansdowne

You Aussies are awfully harsh on the blonde bomber ;)

Can't work out if this is HJ or JD11 trying to make me fall for the oldest trick in the book. Ah what the heck, I'll demote myself to Australian for a day.

Although I'll wait and see how the weekend pans out, and whether Luke Marshall gets the nod, based on this year's Leinster form, an attacking axis of Darcy, BOD, DK, and Trimble hardly fills me with glee for the Welsh game. Awful lot of pressure then goes on Murray/Sexton/RK to create something. RK is great at counter-attacking off kick ball, but he's never been the greatest at hitting the backline off set moves IMO.

jacothelad wrote: »
    Yes, he didn't impress that day but I think he got one pass in the game. Perhaps if he'd stripped naked and did a fandango on the half way line some one might have noticed him and gave him the ball. The rest of the team were stellar that day - my arse. They were all crap but somehow Trimble gets singled out. He made a handling error while covering for Kearney and Bowe who were out of position but again, they get no criticism.
    Amazingly, for such a ****e winger, he does o.k.

? He's not a ****e winger, you can be a very good winger and still not the best option. He could be just OK at international level but when his competition are performing better than that on the same stage it won't get him a place in the team. Remember too he played in that 2nd test on the 2012 NZ tour and was nothing more than average. If he puts in a similar performance against Scotland as he did in those SA or NZ games I don't think he can have any complaints if he is dropped, he has a chance now and he needs to take it.

The last posts are about him picking up a 141 amg merc coupe!!! If that was me I'd be in a fecking good mood too

Ive no doubt he'd gladly use an old bicycle if he was guaranteed one injury free season.

If anyone was looking to do up a proper write up for the game can they let us know.

Leonard7 did offer awhile back...

I'll defer to actual Irish posters (thomond, molloyjh, former legend etc, who have done previews recently), but if you get stuck by Saturday, I don't necesarily mind writing something up.

Maybe someone from Ulster might volunteer for a change of viewpoint. Not looking at any mods in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Tox56 wrote: »
    ? He's not a ****e winger, you can be a very good winger and still not the best option. He could be just OK at international level but when his competition are performing better than that on the same stage it won't get him a place in the team. Remember too he played in that 2nd test on the 2012 NZ tour and was nothing more than average. If he puts in a similar performance against Scotland as he did in those SA or NZ games I don't think he can have any complaints if he is dropped, he has a chance now and he needs to take it.

Sarcasm..should have used 's...e'. Which of his competition are performing better? Fitzgerald? Bowe? Zebo? Mcfadden? Kearney jnr?

Edit. Trimble certainly isn't Ireland's best winger. However, he has done well enough. Unless of course he gets the blame when Ireland lose and someone else gets the credit when Ireland win. All this talk about him not taking his opportunities is so much wind and piss frankly. Has Fitzgerald performed better for Ireland or has he too failed to take his opportunities but as it's him it's o.k. Looking at their respective records I'd say Trimble has done o.k. despite often playing out of position on the left or even in the centre - as has Fitz a few times and once awfully at 15.

I'll do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭OldRio

Just been on Ticketmaster, Block 119 tickets available at the moment

jacothelad wrote: »
    Sarcasm..should have used 's...e'. Which of his competition are performing better? Fitzgerald? Bowe? Zebo? Mcfadden? Kearney jnr?

Kearney Jnr has two caps, and although he's not the player I would look to ahead of Trimble he impressed me in those games. Gilroy was performing well enough (definitely took his chance against Argentina) and deserved to start in the last 6 Nations, Zebo took his chance against Wales too but we haven't seen him since, and the exact same can be said of McFadden in that Australia game. Bowe was off form but is a class act when he's playing well. In fact I think if Trimble delivers a performance similar to McFadden's against Australia it will go some way to convincing doubters
    Can't work out if this is HJ or JD11 trying to make me fall for the oldest trick in the book. Ah what the heck, I'll demote myself to Australian for a day.

Although I'll wait and see how the weekend pans out, and whether Luke Marshall gets the nod, based on this year's Leinster form, an attacking axis of Darcy, BOD, DK, and Trimble hardly fills me with glee for the Welsh game. Awful lot of pressure then goes on Murray/Sexton/RK to create something. RK is great at counter-attacking off kick ball, but he's never been the greatest at hitting the backline off set moves IMO.

I'd have said it's RK's counter-attacking that is more suspect than his ability to hit the line, at least that is what is the first to go when he is off-form (see last season). Generally makes yards/linebreaks when he is used off a set piece, can do both well when he is in good form

I'll do it

I'll double check with leonard7 first.

no hassle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

We'll do it

I'm expecting plenty of optimistic hyperbole to get us all psyched up!

19543261 wrote: »
    I'm expecting plenty of optimistic hyperbole to get us all psyched up!

I volunteered because I know I'm not going to be busy tomorrow. Plus it will be Friday, plus I'm actually going to the game, plus I'm back on the beer this weekend for the first time in a month

It's going to be optimistic alright

I'll think you'll find Leonard7 was trolling, but I guess better to ask him (of which you have the powers) rather than assume...

I volunteered because I know I'm not going to be busy tomorrow. Plus it will be Friday, plus I'm actually going to the game, plus I'm back on the beer this weekend for the first time in a month

It's going to be optimistic alright

If you can find someway to big-up the Scottish team to us, you'll have redefined optimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Don't think that has any basis what so ever, given the difference between the coaches ethos.

If you can find someway to big-up the Scottish team to us, you'll have redefined optimistic.

Richie Grey isn't starting, so that's a massive help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Richie Grey isn't starting, so that's a massive help

Nick de Luca, one of the world's greatest centres, not playing for Scotland. It's s disgrace.

stephen_n wrote: »
    Don't think that has any basis what so ever, given the difference between the coaches ethos.

Has MOC outlined his ethos? Not being smart, just asking. I guess I'm genuinely disappointed that all Ireland's best wingers are either injured, or inexplicably not selected, or selected then get injured. It could cost Ireland during this tournament.