Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest things thread(op for R&R access)

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

There was a bar/club in Canada when I was in college that did the drip tray thing incredibly blatantly, they sold off the dregs as 25c glasses of beer. No one seemed to mind because 25c! They were ****ing awful though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I'm a magnet for meanness.
    I had a family member buy a set of German saucepans from a salesman. Coming free with the large set was a case of German professional knives and tools. As I was a chef at the time she suggested to me, having never used the knives, that I might find them useful. Thinking I was having a gift bestowed on me, I was chuffed until she said she expected 75 euros for the whole lot. 'That's a bit steep', I said considering they were given to her free. She refused to back down so I just paid her the money and used the knives. About a month later she approached me looking for the knives back. I said obviously considering I had been using them that this wasn't going to be possible. She said 'I want the knives but I won't be giving you back the 75 euros!!!!!!' I told her where to go with that idea.
    Where I live has shared laundry which uses a coin facility for electricity. Some of the tenants are so mean that when I insert the money and am using the machine, they still come in waiting and intimidating me so they can use the credit. Even though it is completely obvious that the machines are in use they keep checking them and leaving piles of clothes around waiting for me to finish.
    One day I was washing clothes and the guy upstairs comes down and uses the dryer at the same time because for him it was free. I said straight out, where the fck were my wet clothes going to go once the washing machine had finished its cycle? He acted like some kind of alien who didn't understand me.
    I replaced the bulb in that room since I moved in until I eventually realised that none of the rest of them ever did this, so I stopped. For the last six months everyone has been washing their clothes in darkness because they are too stingy to buy a bulb. I vehemently refuse to replace it out of sheer principle.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    There was a bar/club in Canada when I was in college that did the drip tray thing incredibly blatantly, they sold off the dregs as 25c glasses of beer. No one seemed to mind because 25c! They were ****ing awful though.

That's pretty normal in Canada though. To be fair, they tell you it is the leftovers and they are only sold towards the end of the night. They don't try and pass it off as another product like the soup people have mentioned. It does taste awful though but hard to turn down when they put the pitcher in front of you when you're already steamed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭spodoinkle

Just remembered this from around 1995.

Started going out with a lassie, we were about 16, was with her for a week and met her one Friday and she goes me and my mates have bought a score are you coming! i goes deadly and we head off to a field somewhere. They start skinning up and smoking and pass the joints over me! "You didnt put any money in so you dont get any"

I broke up with her the week after, mean dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

spodoinkle wrote: »
    Just remembered this from around 1995.

Started going out with a lassie, we were about 16, was with her for a week and met her one Friday and she goes me and my mates have bought a score are you coming! i goes deadly and we head off to a field somewhere. They start skinning up and smoking and pass the joints over me! "You didnt put any money in so you dont get any"

I broke up with her the week after, mean dog.

Now I'm not on my weed etiquette (weediquette if you will) but I don't see what's wrong with that, I was always advised to wait and see if it was passed to you by those who have it, if you haven't contributed to the getting of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭bolopapa

Make you pay for their cab fare after they tagged along with you for lunch were you previously payed for their soda with your change.
    Am i your mother b1t(h?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

razorblunt wrote: »
    Now I'm not on my weed etiquette (weediquette if you will) but I don't see what's wrong with that, I was always advised to wait and see if it was passed to you by those who have it, if you haven't contributed to the getting of it.

"Weed etiquette" my bollix, if you're smoking a couple of doobies amongst a few people and purposely passing one person over because they didn't pay, that is stinginess of the highest order! It's not gonna kill you to give them a few tokes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,796 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Weed etiquette" my bollix, if you're smoking a couple of doobies amongst a few people and purposely passing one person over because they didn't pay, that is stinginess of the highest order! It's not gonna kill you to give them a few tokes :rolleyes:

Since the missed-out invitee was actually invited in, it's sheer fecking pig-ignorance of the highest order. Different if the invitee had established a rep as being a non-contributor and free-loader and somebody decided to make a point.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭spodoinkle

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Since the missed-out invitee was actually invited in, it's sheer fecking pig-ignorance of the highest order. Different if the invitee had established a rep as being a non-contributor and free-loader and somebody decided to make a point.

im also just after remembering I set up the deal for them!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

This motion has been rebutted by the Committee of Weediquettes.
    Let the record show, the man should toke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

lizzyman wrote: »
    a) Ireland doesn't really have a 'class' system
    b) Would you like some more tar for your brush?

He is right but, the stingiest people I know are all posh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Juan8 wrote: »
    He is right but, the stingiest people I know are all posh

I agree with you except..... They Think that they are posh, as my mother would say , they have notions about themselves !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

Shelflife wrote: »
    I agree with you except..... They Think that they are posh, as my mother would say , they have notions about themselves !

Yeah that I agree with, the only reason they are "posh" is cause they've cut back so much in actual living that they can afford a big house and nice car, All about appearance to them, Hope they're happy anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

eternal wrote: »
    About a month later she approached me looking for the knives back. I said obviously considering I had been using them that this wasn't going to be possible. She said 'I want the knives but I won't be giving you back the 75 euros!!!!!!' I told her where to go with that idea.

Fairplay for resisting the urge to return one of the knives to her, repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,557 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Think I've found the youngest stinges in Ireland.......

When I take my two kids to swimming lessons, I also take my neighbours two kids as well. Every week I buy four bags of crisps for them to share on the drive home afterwards.

One day my daughter said that we shouldn't give them any more crisps because they never share their food. As they are sitting in the back seat, it's the first I'd known that their mum was sending them to swimming lessons with treats which they ate after the crisps.
    The next week I listened in and sure enough one looked in her swim bag and said 'Oh yum, four rice cakes'. Her sister then says 'oh goody, two each!.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

'Oh yum, four rice cakes'. Her sister then says 'oh goody, two each!.'

I'd probably be buying double he crisps for everyone, absolutely poor darlings having to eat rice cakes, never mind considering them a treat

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭ticklebelly7

Well while we're on the subject of young shysters ...

... brought my grandson (13) to Ireland as I do every year, along with my cousin's kid (14).
    First day out, grandson goes up to the shop and brings back ice-cream and crisps for him and Cousin's Kid
    Next day, Cousin's Kid goes to shop and comes back with sweets, crisps, drinks - which he eats all by himself.
    That cured Grandson of sharing - which is a pity.

Next, we're in town looking to have dinner. Cousin's Kid doesn't offer to pay anything - I didn't expect him to.
    We're in town another day. Cousin's Kid sez: Oh Good! They do steaks here, clearly expecting that I'll pay for the most expensive thing he can find to eat. I steer him into a cheaper place.
    Things go on like this for two weeks with me paying for everything, Cousin's Kid taking everything and never sharing or offering anything back to anyone. I asked him for a sweet one day - he took one out of the bag, broke off a corner and gave that to me!

In the meantime he'd also started studying form with the horsies. Asked me to go to the bookies for him - he'd done a forecast. Dunno how he managed it but he won 300 Euros! I took him to the races at the Curragh. He won 120 Euros there.
    Still his hand stayed resolutely in his pocket.

Grandson had to shame him into getting presents for his Ma and Da on the way home. It was as if he didn't understand the concepts of kindness or gratitude. When I finally handed him back to his father, Da asked if he'd been good and had he given me the 200 Euro he'd been given on top of his pocket money to pay for his outings, food etc!!!

Yes, I am an eejit. No, I'll never bring that tight-arsed self-centred little bollix anywhere ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Am from a village, same guy owns the only pub and local shop
    One day I was in the shop and owner comes in and goes to guy at till "need some lettuce for the sandwiches" as a crowd of Hill Walker's popped into bar for some grub

Instead of grabbing a head of lettuce to use in pub- he goes around to each head and pulls about 3 leaves of each o_0

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,215 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I've just come back from a trip to Prague with a group of friends and a stingy clinger who was accidentally invited. We'll call him "John".

John insisted on taking the mantle of group leader early on and did his best to ensure that we only visited the cheapest places in a city where paying €3 for a pint is extravagant. He didn't pay for his own flights having gotten them on "loan" from a friend. He would ask us to keep walking in case we could save 20c a pint if we walked down the road a bit. On the last night, he found us a restaurant, after we'd eaten with €1 pints, led us inside and asked one of us to buy his. As we were leaving Prague, he even attempted to steal a portion of our accommodation deposits.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users Posts: 26 NotPayin4Water

Not paying for water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

I know someone who whenever they finish a carton of milk, they hang it upside down to collect the drops of milk.
    They usually have enough for their tea in morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭yellow hen

I know someone who whenever they finish a carton of milk, they hang it upside down to collect the drops of milk.

Now that's just funny!

My mate's Dad did that with all his cans of engine oil - kept his workshop oil can topped up with it, too.
    Waste not, want not as he used to say - or would have, but in German, as he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Was in the Ilac with my son last week and he wanted to get on the peppa pig merry go round thing outside where golden discs used to be. There was only seat left, the rest were taken up by other kids with their parents standing there beside them.
    So on gets my lad (Ive already twigged the situation) and each of the other kids parents start staring at me. I left my son there for a minute and then took him off. One of the parents even had the cheek to ask me in broken english 'Are you not going to pay for the ride', expecting me to pay for all the kids when my child was on one seat out of four
    Off we went and my lad had a grand ride on the Thomas and friends one seater outside dunnes.

Im not being stingy here, they were deliberately waiting for some silly sod to come along and pay for one child so 3 others could et a ride

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭redbel05

Was helping clean up a friends house. Shes been off the cigarettes for a while now and on the nicorette gum. Found a packet of gum that had already been chewed, but the gum put back in the packet. Went to throw it away and she wouldnt let me. 'Sure I only chewed them a couple of times, they have a few chews left in them yet' she said. Not just stingy, but disgusting too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭chewed

I knew a guy, when we were teenagers, and all his family smoked (brothers, sisters, parents). At the end of the night when everyone had gone to bed, he'd go around all the ashtrays collecting the unfinished butts, and then use these to roll his own ciggies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,625 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I'd say there students who put together there money and the end of a night out and share the one pint

Stealing someone's leftover pints is also stingy went on a bus to acdc with guys who did this and the worst thing is they had jobs too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

A friend forgot/lost his wallet 3 weekends ago in a restaurant and insisted that I go to his house some day so he and his wife could repay me and cook me a meal. So I turn up to the house after a lot of arm-twisting. Soup. I had 2 full weeks of the wife and himself going on about what amazing cooks they were. Soup. I even looked through the Here's what I had for dinner thread here which is basically food porn. I had soup. Not even good soup. More vegetables in water and no blending.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,187 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-33606908
    Mr Wilson - who is also a minister for civil society - claimed £174,000 in expenses for the 2013-14 financial year
    MPs are to receive a 10% pay increase to £74,000, backdated to 8 May.
    Fair enough snout in trough, nothing new there.

Now for the stinge.
    An MP has defended claiming 9p on expenses for a 352-yard car journey to a constituency event.

Now for the stinge.
    An MP has defended claiming 9p on expenses for a 352-yard car journey to a constituency event.
    Actually, I could understand that - suppose he was on his way somewhere else but had to stop off to do some constituency business - quite right to claim for the distance involved.
    Pennies make pounds, ye ken.

And 60p for his bicycle wear and tear.
    Mony a mickle maks a muckle.