Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Marathon/Half/6 mile/relay May 4th

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

Ye deleted me, ye feckers!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Username|Full/half/6|PB|Predicted time|Actual Time
    RayCun|Full|3:29:12|2:56:00|2:59:06
    ecoli|Full|3:00:06|2:59:40 (Pacer)|
    drquirky|Full|2:50|3:14:30|(Pacer)|
    viperlogic|Full|3:28:13|3:05:00|
    Bulmers74|half|1:33:08|1:37:00| 1:38:30|
    ger664|Full|3:21:21|4:29:30(Pacer)|
    Toffeeboy|Full|3.47.03|3.44.30|
    snailsong|Full|3:13:14|3:13:00|3:12:32
    JohnnyCrash|Full|3:31:20|3:29:59|
    Irish_rat|Half|1:50:19|1:39:00
    Mr Freeze|Full|n/a|3:45:00|3:50:11|
    ChavezyChavez|Full|3:29:10|3:25:00|3:28:09|
    belcarra|Half|1:32:49|1:50:00 (Pacer)|
    Cabaal|Full|3:33:33|5:00:00 (Pacer)|
    Aimman|Full|3:43:xx|4:29:30 (Pacer)|
    opus|Full|2:54:xx|3:14:xx|
    RAL3|Half|1:27:06|2:00:00 (Pacer)|
    Limerick 91|Half|1:49:17|1:49:59|
    Calvin Johnson|Full|4:16:08|3:29:59|
    AKW|Half|01:35:17|01:50:00 (Pacer)|
    Kerrylad1|Full|03:19:03|03:15:00|3:12:48
    JohnDozer|Half|01:40:40|01:48:30|1:46:33|
    Luckyharry|Full|None|3:27:00|

Had a very enjoyable day out. Met Dr Q, The bitter Lemon, RayCun and a few others at the start. Once we were underway I met Marthastew and TbL mentioned she had a similar straregy to me.
    Felt very comfortable for the first half and enjoyed the chat. The miles passed quickly. Mrs Stew and myself decided we'd push on at 17 miles when the course headed north so we could take advantage of some downhill and a tailwind. Got a reserved blessing from Q for this plan. One or two others followed us and we were joined by someone training for the comrades marathon (possibly opus, I'm not sure).
    Looking at the splits, it seems any gains we made were on the section between mile 17 and 20. We counted everyone we passed from m17 to the finish, both passing 18 people in all. The last few miles were a bit hillier than anticipated so it was a challenge just to hold on to the gains and not slip back into the clutches of Dr Q and the posse. Mrs S was great company all the way and Mr Stew deserves a special medal for cheerleading, he was everywhere. I tried to pick it up a bit further in the last couple of miles but MS was still right behind me at the finish. Both delighted with sub 3.13 as planned.

It was a great experience to run (slightly) negative splits and to be passing people on the run in. I've had the opposite experience a few times.

Thanks to Dr Q and the other pacer. The splits were right on the money throughout and the humour in the group was good throughout.

The massage was welcome at the end, legs are surprisingly good today and I can even do stairs. Met RayCun after his massage. Well done on the sub 3. How could anyone possibly think you're over 50?, you're obviously a young lad like myself. (someone asked me the same think recently, the cheek):)

It was good to meet some more boardsies in The Locke and put faces to the names. Who's young lad is that Ecoli? Wasn't he up late for a school night?
    I didnt hang around long as we had to meet some more friends in the old person's pub up town. We didn't even last until closing time, no stamina.

Onwards now to hopefully a good sub 3.10 in DCM 14. I'll see you all there if not before.

@ Kerrylad.
    Looking at the table you must have had a similar race. were you with the 3:15 pace group, if so when did you split off?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Congrats and well done SS, looks like you executed your race strategy perfectly. Not bad for an auld lad :)

Nice to meet you at the start.

What's up next?

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

snailsong wrote: »
    @ Kerrylad.
    Looking at the table you must have had a similar race. were you with the 3:15 pace group, if so when did you split off?
    Ya I was in the 3:15 pace group.I just followed yerselves when ye left the group coming out of industrial estate,round 17 miles I think.Id a black cap,shorts and my old lucky man utd soccer socks:)on.Enjoyed the race,nice to get a pb.My head was sorer than the legs yesterday;)after the session we had afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 978 ✭✭✭JohnnyCrash

snailsong|Full|3:13:14|3:13:00|
    JohnnyCrash|Full|3:31:20|3:29:59|3:31:50
    opus|Full|2:54:xx|3:14:xx|
    JohnDozer|Half|01:40:40|01:48:30|

Congrats and well done SS, looks like you executed your race strategy perfectly. Not bad for an auld lad :)

Nice to meet you at the start.

What's up next?

TbL

Well done to you too. Great to nail the 3:10 and put Seville behind you.

Next I'd like to do a bit of cycling. I'll be racing again soon though. There's a marathon here in Westport on August 21 so I might see if I can fit it in, even as a LSR. I'd like to do a good half, maybe Athlone. Then the main goal this year is probably DCM.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

snailsong wrote: »
    Well done to you too. Great to nail the 3:10 and put Seville behind you.

Next I'd like to do a bit of cycling. I'll be racing again soon though. There's a marathon here in Westport on August 21 so I might see if I can fit it in, even as a LSR. I'd like to do a good half, maybe Athlone. Then the main goal this year is probably DCM.

Hey Snailsong, what's the story with that marathon in Westport?
    Is that not the same weekend as the Achill Half/Full/Ultra?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭opus

snailsong|Full|3:13:14|3:13:00|
    opus|Full|2:54:xx|3:14:xx|3:12:54

Was a little apprehensive about this as I'd run the Bandon half-marathon on Sat, it seemed like a good idea when I entered a few months ago :) Thankfully all went ok, Andy & Paul did a great job driving the 3:15 pace bus. I noticed Marthastew pushing off the front in the latter stages & seeing as she was so kind as to collect my race number on Sat figured it would be rude of me not to go along.

Ran the rest of the race with herself & snailsong (as I now know from reading above). Mind you she dropped the hammer once the finish line came into sight & left me behind!

For sure Mr Stew was worth a whole gaggle of cheer-leaders for the amount of support he gave along the way!

It's a grand race, wish they'd ease back on the cones a bit as you had to have your wits around you in places to avoid tripping on them.

A 27k hike from Drimoleague to Kealkill in West Cork with a few friends completed my long weekend yesterday so am a bit on the tried side today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Congrats to all who ran on Sunday, I hope the recovery is going well.
    Special thanks to the 3.15 pacers drQuirky and Paul, it was a really super group and I thoroughly enjoyed the chats along the way. I was fortunate enough to finish in good company with snailsong just up ahead of opus, kerrylad and I (there's a great photo of us with about 400M to go on the ilovelimerick website), Tbl left us all for dust ;-).
    I'm currently in the process of cutting and pasting tbl's and snailsong's reports to come up with my own longwinded version of the day.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

ger664 wrote: »
    menoscemo wrote: »
    Marthastew 3:12 for 5th place

And winner in her category.

Does Ms Curley not count?

There was a Westbury Harrier over running Limerick as well, and claimed the 2nd/ 3rd spot in that category (depending on how you do the counting).

belcarra wrote: »
    Hey Snailsong, what's the story with that marathon in Westport?
    Is that not the same weekend as the Achill Half/Full/Ultra?

It's part of an event called 'endurance challenge 2068km'. I'd post a link except my phone is smarter than me.

I don't know much about it. It's the first of a series of 4 marathons in Westport, Monaghan, Cork and Dublin in 4 days. A looped course, possibly not yet finalised. From the website it's not even clear if it's on the 20th or 21st. I think our mutual friend Pat is involved in the organisation so I'll quiz him if I see him at the weekend.

Sorry I missed you in Limerick, were you at The Locke?

robinph wrote: »
    Does Ms Curley not count?

There was a Westbury Harrier over running Limerick as well, and claimed the 2nd/ 3rd spot in that category (depending on how you do the counting).

Ms Curley does indeed count but since she picked up a podium prize I was lucky enough to get the category prize... everyone's a winner :-)

snailsong|Full|3:13:14|3:13:00|3:12:32
    opus|Full|2:54:xx|3:14:xx|3:12:54

Putting my time back in the table.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Marthastew wrote: »
    Ms Curley does indeed count but since she picked up a podium prize I was lucky enough to get the category prize... everyone's a winner :-)

Well done, great result. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭frankeee

Congratulations! Did you work this out yourself or have they been in touch? By that I'm hopeful that put's me as first O35 as the two lads in front of me were 2nd and 3rd? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Trig1

Hi lads, I'm just wondering did anyone get an accurate distance for the 6mile, I was using a strava app on my android mobile and it had the distance at just over 10km...spoke to another few people and they also had the distance at 9.9km. Just wondering did anyone else find the distance for the 6mile a bit long or was it infact 10km....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭viperlogic

Trig1 wrote: »
    Hi lads, I'm just wondering did anyone get an accurate distance for the 6mile, I was using a strava app on my android mobile and it had the distance at just over 10km...spoke to another few people and they also had the distance at 9.9km. Just wondering did anyone else find the distance for the 6mile a bit long or was it infact 10km....

Few friends ran it and got 9.7K on their Garmin watches. 6 miles is 9.656 KM's

frankeee wrote: »
    Congratulations! Did you work this out yourself or have they been in touch? By that I'm hopeful that put's me as first O35 as the two lads in front of me were 2nd and 3rd? :confused:

If you go to the GLR results page and look up the category results, it should tell you.... I just checked Male O35 and for some reason the have GO'H down as first in your age group.... If I were you I'd email GLR as the prize rules http://www.greatlimerickrun.com/about/fmarathon state the following....

6) The Great Limerick Run operates a 'one person, one prize' policy.

I haven't actually heard from GLR yet although I am listed as first in my age group. I hope I get the prize.... I'm pretty sure I spent all of the prize money on drink in The Locke :-) :-)

Congratulations on a fantastic run btw, impressive stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 27 tommykb

Quick thanks to the lads Brendan & the other pacer whose name I cannot remember (if you know him please pass on my thanks). I was the one in the bright green top and shades, kept with you until mile 19 and moved on from there. Agree on the mile markers, it threw me off a few times missing the splits, was planning to go at mile 18 but missed it! Bollards were a bit of a hazard when running in the group also.

Was targeting 3:39.59 but couldn't up it sufficiently over the last 7 miles. Thrilled though with 3:41.58 - a pb for me with previous best in '09 of 3:43.45 - took a long time to beat it.

Never made it to Lockes - fell into bad company in the Glen Tavern!

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭frankeee

If you go to the GLR results page and look up the category results, it should tell you.... I just checked Male O35 and for some reason the have GO'H down as first in your age group.... If I were you I'd email GLR as the prize rules http://www.greatlimerickrun.com/about/fmarathon state the following....

6) The Great Limerick Run operates a 'one person, one prize' policy.

I haven't actually heard from GLR yet although I am listed as first in my age group. I hope I get the prize.... I'm pretty sure I spent all of the prize money on drink in The Locke :-) :-)

Congratulations on a fantastic run btw, impressive stuff!

Thanks a million! I'll lash them an email there. I only passed a lad just before coming over the bridge so if I get it, it makes it all the sweeter as he was O35 aswell :D
    Unfortunately I couldn't make the Locke but I have spent the equivalent on Junk food!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

frankeee wrote: »
    Thanks a million! I'll lash them an email there. I only passed a lad just before coming over the bridge so if I get it, it makes it all the sweeter as he was O35 aswell :D
    Unfortunately I couldn't make the Locke but I have spent the equivalent on Junk food!!

Thats a savage time.

Well done.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Congrats to all who ran on Sunday, I hope the recovery is going well.
    Special thanks to the 3.15 pacers drQuirky and Paul, it was a really super group and I thoroughly enjoyed the chats along the way. I was fortunate enough to finish in good company with snailsong just up ahead of opus, kerrylad and I (there's a great photo of us with about 400M to go on the ilovelimerick website), Tbl left us all for dust ;-).
    I'm currently in the process of cutting and pasting tbl's and snailsong's reports to come up with my own longwinded version of the day.

Ya a friend tagged that photo to my wife yesterday,The state of the head on me:eek:,Big congrates on being the 5th lady home overall,and winning :D your age cat,you must be over the moon.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭kchsligo

Was MrStew the tall lad with the plain orange top and black (I think) tracksuit bottoms? He was everywhere and very vocal. Seemed to know just what to say, especially as I was in pain struggling not to lose it completely at about 25miles. Managed a pb with under 3.18 so a good day overall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

kchsligo wrote: »
    Was MrStew the tall lad with the plain orange top and black (I think) tracksuit bottoms? He was everywhere and very vocal. Seemed to know just what to say, especially as I was in pain struggling not to lose it completely at about 25miles. Managed a pb with under 3.18 so a good day overall.

Thats the one.

Pretty sure had he laced up a chip at the start of the day he would have earned a finishers medal, he was everywhere (pretty sure I saw him in no less than 6 different spots throughout the race. Never seen such great support from one man in a race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

ecoli wrote: »
    Thats the one.

Pretty sure had he laced up a chip at the start of the day he would have earned a finishers medal, he was everywhere (pretty sure I saw him in no less than 6 different spots throughout the race. Never seen such great support from one man in a race

Pity he didn't stick around and keep tabs on you Sunday night ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Feeder

Just wondering if anyone would have the gpx file for the Half Marathon so I can add it as a route on MMR ?

I used the create route tool and it comes up as 21.32km so not sure how accurate that is, if I'm close to what people got i will just leave it.

*edit: Sorted now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

Race report from Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 28 jmccann

I hate to put dampener on what a lot of runners found an enjoyable experience but for me this years Great Limerick Run won't go down as one I enjoyed for various reasons:

Myself and my running partner did go out too fast which is always going to bring trouble but a lot of things out of our control did make it tougher and less enjoyable!

1. Cones on the road were a hazard and I nearly fell over them on numerous occasions./
    2. I felt road closures were non-existent - a metre along the road to run on - on one occasion we were instructed to get on to the footpath asap!! At another occasion, whilst admitedly in trouble - I was told to get on to the footpath and make way for marathon runners!!! by a friendly member of an Garda Siochana (have to admit though - he was huge motivation for me!!)
    3. The amount of times we seemed to loop around the same places was mind boggling!
    4. Atmosphere in places was a bit flat.
    5. The turn after Thomond Park was mentally a disaster - and then being a mile from home running through some housing estate with no sign of fininsh line!
    6. The ridiculous lap of industrial estate we did to obviously to make up mileage!

Not to be too negative - we still came in just over 4hrs which we were both happy with it!
    The atmosphere in city centre was great and I got to run over the line with my 3 yr old very excited daughter which is a memory I will cherish forever!

I have done GLR previously and did enjoy it but just thought I'd share both negative and positive views on this years run!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

jmccann wrote: »
    I hate to put dampener on what a lot of runners found an enjoyable experience but for me this years Great Limerick Run won't go down as one I enjoyed for various reasons:

Myself and my running partner did go out too fast which is always going to bring trouble but a lot of things out of our control did make it tougher and less enjoyable!

1. Cones on the road were a hazard and I nearly fell over them on numerous occasions./
    2. I felt road closures were non-existent - a metre along the road to run on - on one occasion we were instructed to get on to the footpath asap!! At another occasion, whilst admitedly in trouble - I was told to get on to the footpath and make way for marathon runners!!! by a friendly member of an Garda Siochana (have to admit though - he was huge motivation for me!!)
    3. The amount of times we seemed to loop around the same places was mind boggling!
    4. Atmosphere in places was a bit flat.
    5. The turn after Thomond Park was mentally a disaster - and then being a mile from home running through some housing estate with no sign of fininsh line!
    6. The ridiculous lap of industrial estate we did to obviously to make up mileage!

Not to be too negative - we still came in just over 4hrs which we were both happy with it!
    The atmosphere in city centre was great and I got to run over the line with my 3 yr old very excited daughter which is a memory I will cherish forever!

I have done GLR previously and did enjoy it but just thought I'd share both negative and positive views on this years run!
    so what were the bad parts..:rolleyes: