Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

mini wav goes on tour

• 31-01-2014 5:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭

You all know the story by now.One of the lads who is a type 1 diabetic got the chance last yr to attend their training camp in the states,and as a follow up got to ride the junior tours of both Ireland and Wales with them.The education re his illness was brilliant,putting it together with his sport.
    Now as a follow up,he has signed a contract to ride with the Novo Nordisk Devo team for 2014.He was in the states again just before christmas in Santa Barbera California for the team launch and camp.He's doing his leaving cert in June and will go directly to the team then for the 2nd half of the season.What a lifetime experience.We're all chuffed here for him.
    A huge thanks to all the boardsies who took an interest in this tale as it unfolded over the past 8 months or so.To all in the cycling fraternity who supported him financially to get there in the first place.To Killallener for the famous skin suit auction,and to 2 boarsies who bought them.You know and we know who ye are.Lots just walked up to him and helped out jist off the cuff.Still a boardsie helping him out at present as theres medical stuff to be sorted for him.He will be riding the first half of the season here in the team colours.To each and everyone who helped him get here THANKS THANKS THANKS.To himself for improving beyond recognition in the past year,well done.You've made a has been cyclist very happy.
    ''Sometimes good things happen to the nice guy''

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

So that on twitter and figured it was your lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Brilliant to hear Wav1.
    Hope everything goes well for him.

Should have kept that Ribble it could be worth money in the future ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

bcmf wrote: »
    Brilliant to hear Wav1.
    Hope everything goes well for him.

Should have kept that Ribble it could be worth money in the future ;)
    tough bcmf.ribble comes from the wrong twin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Great spread in this week's Drogheda Independent.
    Well done and best of luck to the young 'un

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Great spread in this week's Drogheda Independent.
    Well done and best of luck to the young 'un
    Thanks Eamonnater.Yes great spread and highlights the sport as well.My memory tells me you were one of the very first to give him a dig out when he went stateside for the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Fantastic news delighted for him and yourself and rest of the family .

do you have any photos of him in his new team.

cheers
    anto.

There's a great photo of Jun wav1 in the Drogheda Independent.
    Unfortunately, there's another photo on the same page of some rather shady
    Characters. Least said about them, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Deadly news, couldn't happen a more decent chap.

Eamonnator, there was a photo, taken last year, of a very infamous local couple, just prior to a charity spin, in the Drogheda Leader last week!!

Touche.
    I walked myself into that.o

Fantastic news delighted for him and yourself and rest of the family .

do you have any photos of him in his new team.

cheers
    anto.
    Anto www.teamnovonordisk.com click in to team and scroll to Devo team and some nice shots there of the international line up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

direct link available here

lennymc wrote: »
    direct link available here
    Now you know why your our IT man Lenny.

UPDATE.OK Leaving cert done,upgrade achieved last week,now its time at last to bid adieu to mini wav as he flies out to Georgia to link up with his new team mates.Leaves on June 30th for the remainder of the season.Has been really consistent all season and now its time for him to take the step up.He's real healthy,in good form,and raring to go.Thanks to all on here who helped him in every way up to now.His time has come.

One less points stealer in A3 to worry about :)

best of luck to him

lennymc wrote: »
    One less points stealer in A3 to worry about :)

best of luck to him
    He wouldn't even have a licence without ya.

wav1 wrote: »
    He wouldn't even have a licence without ya.

haha. All part of the lennymc IT support package.

Super news from a proud dad.mini wav today in his first outing in the states won stage 1 of the Pisgah omn in North Carolina for team novo nordisk.Got in to a 3 man move with 15 miles to go and won the gallop.Have photo of him on top step of podium and will try to get it up later if I can.Cant believe it TBH.

Mini wav on the top step of the podium. Well done!!

313504.jpg

He did it again.final crit stage and overall victory.team thrilled and so are we.was a long night waiting on results.call came at 2am.settling in very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

I remember racing last year along with young campell up in meath and while we were surfing the bunch going into little holes to stay up front and awl fella gave him an earful saying he was robbing his gap that he was going to go into and that he has raced more time than young campell had hot dinners,I couldn't stop laughing at him,and all the young man did was smile and coasted away from him.

I wonder what he would think of this result he after getting stateside.
    Chapau young fella,I love seeing youngfellas have no fear and actually racing.

http://www.stickybottle.com/races-results/daragh-campbell-picked-for-novo-nordisk-pro-feeder-squad-after-first-victory-in-us/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,189 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

MOD VOICE: Merged threads as they are one in the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

CramCycle wrote: »
    MOD VOICE: Merged threads as they are one in the same person.

Thanks man,didn't know there was another,great news and riding by young wav

Just looking at the report there:
    The team’s stated ambition is to have a team of diabetics ride the Tour de France in 2022, the 10th anniversary of the invention of diabetes changing drug insulin.

It would also put young Wav in the average age of tour de france winners for the past twenty years, just saying , no pressure ;)

00-08: 29.9
    90-99: 29.4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭WillyFXP

CramCycle wrote: »
    Just looking at the report there:

"The team’s stated ambition is to have a team of diabetics ride the Tour de France in 2022, the 10th anniversary of the invention of diabetes changing drug insulin."

It would also put young Wav in the average age of tour de france winners for the past twenty years, just saying , no pressure ;)

00-08: 29.9
    90-99: 29.4

Surely that should read 100th anniversary?

WillyFXP wrote: »
    Surely that should read 100th anniversary?
    Yes it should, silly copy and paste without proof reading

Thought i'd bring this up from the archives as tonight it was announced that Team Novo Nordisk Devo team are coming for the an Post Ras in two weeks and yes mini wav has been included in the team.Whole story has come a long way since we spoke here about him going to the first camp in 2013.Ironically it was on the ras that year that my colleagues and friends made a collection to help send him on his way.Looks like the story has come the full cycle.We're all proud as punch in club and family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

And it going through Drogheda too! Cool.