Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - 2013/14 Mod Warning: Post #7871

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Our 18 year old savior is 19 today. Happy Birthday Januzaj.

CR7's birthday today also. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,381 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

No
    GSPfan wrote: »
    Yeah I don't think they need cash but I'd imagine they are gonna have to pay close to £25 million for Lukaku (A lot, I know), and maybe 7 to 10 for Barry. That could be North of £30 million plus they really need another Striker.

I think it may be the only scenario I see them selling Coleman. But also still very unlikely we'd get Coleman for anything less than £20 million. His price has shot up again this season.

I actually can imagine Arsenal going for Coleman.

Would be surprised if they kept Lukaku, and isn't Barry out of contract in the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Dunno if it was mentioned already. RVP and Rooney passed to eachother a total of 3 times on saturday. Them 3 passes came from kick offs.

WHat the f**k is going on at Utd ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

No
    Dunno if it was mentioned already. RVP and Rooney passed to eachother a total of 3 times on saturday. Them 3 passes came from kick offs.

Thats what happens when the ball is dropping out of the sky like a missile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

No

how long have you got?

too many problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

No
    Carlos Tevez'zs burthday today too. Just sayin aswell. :)

No
    and Neymar

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

Fulham were a shambles last night against Sheff United. We must give them a hiding on Sunday. Cant remember the last time we hit 5 or 6 passed a team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Fulham were a shambles last night against Sheff United. We must give them a hiding on Sunday. Cant remember the last time we hit 5 or 6 passed a team?

Leverkusen 5-0. That was an anomily,normal service has since been resumed.

No
    I don't think I could be confident of beating any team by more then 2 goals at moment

No
    Would be surprised if they kept Lukaku, and isn't Barry out of contract in the summer.

A quick google says you are right. Barry is apparently out of contract. Wonder why they let him go on loan? That seems bad business. They could have off loaded him for a few million surely.

I don't see Lukaku back at Chelsea and unless Arsenal wanted to make a bid I think Everton would be the best club in for him. Chelsea are starting to show signs of financial fair play aswell so they may never get a better price for him.

Who knows ay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

I don't think I could be confident of beating any team by more then 2 goals at moment

You're optomistic Kew..i'd not even be confident of beating a team by more than 1....

We don't like wingers in here anymore. :). Antonio Valencia has single handedly turned us all against them.

Serious q, does any other team other their play with rigid wingers these days....
    The day of flying wingers is over lads???

A few of my workmates are heading to OT at the weekend,we were discussing the game and how we played for 25 minutes or so away to Fulham.Everyone was still annoyed over that game despite our win.
    We played great football for a while then completely stopped playing,it was as if the team were told to stop having fun.Sadly I can see this weeks game being similar.

No
    brinty wrote: »
    Serious q, does any other team other their play with rigid wingers these days....
    The day of flying wingers is over lads???

We probably have the most rigid wingers in the history of football. Rigid is actually a great description. Ha.

Don't Dortmund play with wingers in 442? Or 4411?

No
    zerks wrote: »
    A few of my workmates are heading to OT at the weekend,we were discussing the game and how we played for 25 minutes or so away to Fulham.Everyone was still annoyed over that game despite our win.
    We played great football for a while then completely stopped playing,it was as if the team were told to stop having fun.Sadly I can see this weeks game being similar.

I'd take that scoreline right now.

Anybody hear of the story about Clev & Wellbeck on the lash in Newcastle the other night,2 of our poorest performers against Stoke and they decide to go on the tear after it.....we need Keano back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,381 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

No
    Anybody hear of the story about Clev & Wellbeck on the lash in Newcastle the other night,2 of our poorest performers against Stoke and they decide to go on the tear after it.....we need Keano back.

Two young lads on the lash on a Tuesday night, 5/6 days before a game?

WELL, I NEVER!

SACK THE TWO OF THEM.

Seriously, this is the very definition of a 'non-story' imo. They have to be closeted until we win games consistently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Somewhat agree with Mitch. Need to let off some steam every now and again. Can't be sitting at home building intensity until your bollox explodes.

And if I was Cleverly with the stick he is getting I'm not surprised he's necking bottles.

That's if there is any truth in the matter, seems to be just some meh rumour that hasn't really had pictures come about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Is RVP in the process of doing a RVN behind the scenes?

Two young lads on the lash on a Tuesday night, 5/6 days before a game?

WELL, I NEVER!

SACK THE TWO OF THEM.

Seriously, this is the very definition of a 'non-story' imo. They have to be closeted until we win games consistently?

They have to be locked into Carrington until they discover how to play properly:pac: Maybe they were getting to know the locals seeing as they could well be playing for them next season.

Speaking of rumours:

There's a lot of talk out of Italy that Vidic is heading to Inter in the Summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Delboy5

Speaking of rumours:

There's a lot of talk out of Italy that Vidic is heading to Inter in the Summer.

Do they pick him up for free in the summer??

Out of all our defenders i think i'd prefer if he was kept on for another year..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Professional footballers shouldn't go out on the lash. Simple as that. Its not a normal job and they have training during the week and if they're hungover they won't be in shape to train at a high enough standard. Sports science has come a long way since the time that carry on like that was acceptable. Why do i doubt you'd see Ronaldo out "on the lash" at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    Professional footballers shouldn't go out on the lash. Simple as that. Its not a normal job and they have training during the week and if they're hungover they won't be in shape to train at a high enough standard. Sports science has come a long way since the time that carry on like that was acceptable. Why do i doubt you'd see Ronaldo out "on the lash" at all.

here here. they have a fairly cushy life for the most part so from the months between august and early may they should be off the booze. they will make enough money playing at a PL club that they can go out and party from the mid 30s on but shouldnt be doing it now. it makes you sluggish and will set you back a few days in training

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

No
    how long have you got?

too many problems.

We got 99 problems but the pitch ain't one.

Young lads whether they be pro footballers or not are entitled to live their lives first and foremost over anything. Not allowing youngs lads a few beers? Thats just wrong, they would go stir crazy sitting at home 7 nights a week.

With the amount of cardio they do a few beers are meaningless. One night every couple of weeks is nothing.

I do a lot of cardio and gym work during the week and 80k+ on the bike over the weekend and this is outside of my work hours. I get out once a week and drink sensibly. I suffer in no way the next day. If I didn't have one night to let off some steam I would crack up.

You can't deny someone the right to fun with their mates and use their jobs as the reason why. Its still their youth and the time where they need fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

We probably have the most rigid wingers in the history of football. Rigid is actually a great description. Ha.

Don't Dortmund play with wingers in 442? Or 4411?
    Dortmund generally play a 42121 to the best off my knowledge

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

No
    After Hughes and Ole the 3rd ex Utd staffer in a row is up this weekend. Fulham shoud be the easiest game left this season I guess. They don't seem to have any fight in them. We need to knock in a few goals to try to build some confidence and I have a feeling that we have a rubbish goal difference compared to the 4-6 place teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

No
    You can't deny someone the right to fun with their mates and use their jobs as the reason why. Its still their youth and the time where they need fun.
    If only there was something else fun to do for young lads with more cash than they can spend other than drink, alas there is not, someone should really invent more stuff to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Young lads whether they be pro footballers or not are entitled to live their lives first and foremost over anything. Not allowing youngs lads a few beers? Thats just wrong, they would go stir crazy sitting at home 7 nights a week.

With the amount of cardio they do a few beers are meaningless. One night every couple of weeks is nothing.

I do a lot of cardio and gym work during the week and 80k+ on the bike over the weekend and this is outside of my work hours. I get out once a week and drink sensibly. I suffer in no way the next day. If I didn't have one night to let off some steam I would crack up.

Its such and Irish/British attitude to have tbh. Going out drinking during the season should be 100% frowned upon. Proper top class athletes these days understand the effect that consuming alcohol has on the body. Its not about whether you can get away with it, its about maximising your athletic potential. To do this requires discipline.

Now i don't know the ins and outs of whether these claims about Welbeck and Cleverly are even true or not but it's something i feel quite strongly about.

You won't see the top athletes in the world out on the p*ss during their season. Calvin Johnson, Lebron, Bolt, Ronaldo etc would never be caught out "on the lash".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

No
    Carlos Tevez'zs burthday today too. Just sayin aswell. :)

and Gheorghe Hagi , just saying :D

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2273823/Neymar-Cristiano-Ronaldo-Carlos-Tevez-Maldini--February-5-special-day-football.html

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

No
    If only there was something else fun to do for young lads with more cash than they can spend other than drink, alas there is not, someone should really invent more stuff to do.

Sure, don't ya know unless you're getting hammered, then your a dry arse auld ****! ;)

No seriously, there's so much more people with their finances could be doing for "fun" that doesn't also inform taking in a substance that can play havoc with their bodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

No
    I actually can imagine Arsenal going for Coleman.

Is Coleman really that good?
    I know he has started this season well, but 20+ million seems a lot.

Wouldn't be worth it for United, I'd rate Rafael higher and joking aside, Smalling is a decent right-back option, as is Jones if stuck.

If 20 million is going on a full back, let it be a specialist left back
    Shaw, Cointreau, Baines, Ashley Cole(!) all better options I'd say

Its such and Irish/British attitude to have tbh. Going out drinking during the season should be 100% frowned upon. Proper top class athletes these days understand the effect that consuming alcohol has on the body. Its not about whether you can get away with it, its about maximising your athletic potential. To do this requires discipline.

Now i don't know the ins and outs of whether these claims about Welbeck and Cleverly are even true or not but it's something i feel quite strongly about.

You won't see the top athletes in the world out on the p*ss during their season. Calvin Johnson, Lebron, Bolt, Ronaldo etc would never be caught out "on the lash".

Those are individual choices by those players. I have seen Giggs in bars in Manchester many times over the years. It never effected his longevity or ability to become world class. Gerrard is another

After days of training and the physical impact it will have along with matches plus the pressure, stress and anxiety your under at the top level from getting stick from fans and the press I would say its very important for your own mental health to get out and see your friends and have some fun.

Sure there are other things you can do but for adults the bar scene is where people meet up to see friends, listen to some music and have a drink. Yes you can go bowling or to the cinema but you'll be surrounded by kids a lot.

To say its a British/Irish thing is not correct. Its worldwide. Young adults like to go to bars the world over.

No
    Is Coleman really that good?
    I know he has started this season well, but 20+ million seems a lot.

Wouldn't be worth it for United, I'd rate Rafael higher and joking aside, Smalling is a decent right-back option, as is Jones if stuck.

If 20 million is going on a full back, let it be a specialist left back
    Shaw, Cointreau, Baines, Ashley Cole(!) all better options I'd say

Sagna is out of contract in Summer and 31 years old. Arsenal could be in the market for a right back and Coleman is definitely a very good defender.

Just to clarify - this always gets confused when transfer fees are discussed, the fee of £20 million is what I reckon it would take to get Everton to sell. Is he worth £20 million? Probably not. But worth is relative. If someone is willing to pay it then that is your value.

No
    Kinda agree with everyones view of drinking to an extent but I know from experience that when I was training for a sporting event I would have rathered put anything into my body other than alcohol. It is poison for the body and mind.

In saying that, if the club haven't banned it and they are allowed do it then there is no harm no foul. Neither player suffer physically on the pitch so it isn't obvious in that sense. If it was Anderson I'd be of a different opinion!

jaykay74 wrote: »
    We got 99 problems but the pitch ain't one.

Hahahaha was reading this and what popped up on my Iphone tunes only
    99 red balloons???? waaahheeeeeyyyyyyy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,843 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

No
    brinty wrote: »
    Hahahaha was reading this and what popped up on my Iphone tunes only
    99 red balloons???? waaahheeeeeyyyyyyy

Wrong song :P

Trilla wrote: »
    Wrong song :P

I know
    tis more appropriate for the YNWA brigade playing at Sunderland.....:eek:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

No
    1281351891588.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Re the drinking, I've nothing against it and it's their personal choice and I imagine the club has rules around it, but if you were a pro footballer with the money and luxury they have would you really be bothered with the pub?

With that cash you could have your house kitted out to the nth degree, you'd have flash cars and you could have so much Totti hanging off you that pints of Heineken would be the last thing on your mind... at least one would have thought

jaykay74 wrote: »
    After Hughes and Ole the 3rd ex Utd staffer in a row is up this weekend. Fulham shoud be the easiest game left this season I guess. They don't seem to have any fight in them. We need to knock in a few goals to try to build some confidence and I have a feeling that we have a rubbish goal difference compared to the 4-6 place teams.

thats if rene makes it to the weekend. talk today that his job is already in question

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

No

That was probably Tom Cleverley's best 25 minutes of the season so far as well,then he went off injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

No
    This weekend could decide who get's sacked. Moyes or Rene. If we lose to fulham Moyes needs to be sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

BloodBath wrote: »
    This weekend could decide who get's sacked. Moyes or Rene. If we lose to fulham Moyes needs to be sacked.
    Rene could be sacked but there is no way Moyes will be sacked no matter what the result at the weekend.

moyes is not gonna get sacked any time soon

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

No
    There is no way we lose to Fulham. I know I am solidly on the Anti-Moyes train, but no, there is no way we lose to Fulham ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

No
    I hope you're right. I've said the same thing about a lot of games this season.

Let's hope Arsenal take Liverpool down a peg and an Everton-Spurs draw.

I hope you're right. I've said the same thing about a lot of games this season.

Let's hope Arsenal take Liverpool down a peg and an Everton-Spurs draw.

hopefully arsenal play their best 11 get it to something like 4 or 5 nil and then ozil and mertsaker get reds in the 90 minute meaning they miss the game this day next week

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

Moyes could lose 3-0 at home this weekend and wouldnt be sacked. Hes our manager ling term so we might as well get used to it