Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When is a puppy old enough to sleep outdoors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

OP, I'm really worried about you and this gorgeous little puppy :( While you said in another post that a 'neighbour' has a Mal and therefore you know about them, your posts indicate otherwise. If you think a 9 week old pup is big, then you are in for one massive shock.

However to answer your question,

With my Mal that I had in Australia, she slept outside from day 3 after I got her. However, I had a large (10m x 10m) undercover area and then she had a specially built kennel in the undercover area. The kennel that was a perfect fit for her trampoline bed. It really was her den.

With Cooper, my almost 11mth old Mal that I have here in Ireland, he has not spent a single night outside and never will. He sleeps on his mat in the hallway and I don't hear a peep out of him all night.

Malamutes are one of the few breeds that will cope with the cold being outside at night. However as other posters have mentioned the pup needs to be part of your life, very well socialised and trained or I can see this dog looking for a new home in less than 2 yrs. The other risk of leaving your pup outside at night is theft and that's not a risk I'm prepared to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Agree with above poster

You could argue and debate whether or not a specific dog or breed of dog would prefer to be or benefit from being outside at night.

But what you cant debate or argue is that, in this day and age, all outside dogs are a target for theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Hooked

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    Agree with above poster

You could argue and debate whether or not a specific dog or breed of dog would prefer to be or benefit from being outside at night.

But what you cant debate or argue is that, in this day and age, all outside dogs are a target for theft.

...and complaints from Neighbours (I forgot to mention above) about the noise.

Hooked wrote: »
    ...and complaints from Neighbours (I forgot to mention above) about the noise.

Rottie next door to us has been howling like a maniac in this weather. ISPCA won't do a thing because he is fed and has a shed to sleep in. But the howling is soul torturing! All because the owner doesn't want him inside.

The other thing to think about OP is what sort of fencing do you have. If you are determined that your dog is going to sleep & spend most of it's time outside you need to make sure you have 100% secure fencing that is at least 6ft high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

Rottie next door to us has been howling like a maniac in this weather. ISPCA won't do a thing because he is fed and has a shed to sleep in. But the howling is soul torturing! All because the owner doesn't want him inside.
    Are you saying the dog is howling because he's outside in the cold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Hooked

mel.b wrote: »
    The other thing to think about OP is what sort of fencing do you have. If you are determined that your dog is going to sleep & spend most of it's time outside you need to make sure you have 100% secure fencing that is at least 6ft high.

And a foot underground... ;P

Hooked wrote: »
    And a foot underground... ;P

LOL, too true :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

Would you not need far higher fencing than 6ft realistically? My Yorkie can get over 4.5ft no hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭lubie76

The family in the house behind me have 2 dogs constantly out the back in their small fenced back garden and the poor little things spend the whole day looking in the kitchen window at them.

I only ever see them come out to feed them. It breaks my heart to see them constantly waiting for some contact from them. They probably thought they would get 2 to keep each other company but I never see them interact just look in at the family :(

Sorry OP I know you meant you were leaving your dog out at night only but do you really know he wants to be out there by himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Superdedupity

We have 8 ft, concreted under, and I still wouldn't trust my husky.

They are a social creature. Ours is 7 now, and I've seen more of them than I can count on my fingers and toes come and go in this area.

They have to be part of the family, or you'll end up with one very destructive dog. Two have ended up being shot around here since last Summer. Beautiful dogs, just not getting the attention and exercise they need. Both times I've honestly felt like shooting the owners

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭boardbrowser

Your biggest issue as i see it with this dog like any young puppy/newly adopted dog is to build a bond between you and your dog .
    If you would like your dog to be social to family and guests, house trained, learn house manners, not become destructive(digging or chewing in the house /back garden ) or prone to nuisance barking, settle down on his /her bed and respond to basic obedience requests ( sit/down/leave it /come when called etc) then you might never acheive that goal if you raise your dog outside away from you.
    Dogs being social creatures crave our social contact and if a dog is denied that social contact then you you can expect either over enthuasiastic out of control greeting rituals everytime you approach your outside dog ( jumping/play biting/ lack of basic impulse control) or a dog that does his own thing and doesn't give a hoot about listening to you when you most need it ( socially appropriate interactions to people /on lead control/ reliable off lead recall).

I understand that some dog owners have accquired a dog in order to protect the house. A dog that remains outdoors( or worse yet in a locked pen outside) is useless if god forbid someone is breaking into your house. I get that too which is why my dog will always remain indoors and 12 years on even in her golden years she will hit the front door like a bullet and bark if anyone calls to the door or she hears and unfamiliar car pull into the yard. Best alarm system and deterent i ever need.
    She also has the off switch when she understands that there is no threat'(quiet' on cue) and wagging tail and happy to approach anyone she meets outside. This comes with training ,socialisation and building trust between you and your dog and that means getting to know your puppy and spending quality time training him/her so that you can build that bond.
    There is so much that your pup can learn to make it the perfect member of your family if you set a good foundation now for training.
    Best of luck , they are a fabulous breed and great fun to train.

I can not understand the op...why do people get animals they don't actually want????

The lad can barely spell and he's looking to put his "big" 9 month dog outside. **** me, people are idiots...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

the dog will be happier in the house than outside,in the country working dogs are kept outside all year,pets are kept ndoors

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

I can not understand the op...why do people get animals they don't actually want????

The lad can barely spell and he's looking to put his "big" 9 month dog outside. **** me, people are idiots...

Give the ugly, judgmental posts a rest, please. I'm pretty sure there is no correlation between spelling skills and correct animal husbandry.
    Do not post in this thread again.
    Thanks,
    DBB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Not everyone who get's a dog wants it to be a member of the family. There is a vast gulf between dogs and humans. However if the keeping of the dog outside would be cruel then don't do it, if it would not be cruel and just be a "preference" issue, do. Probably best to ask a vet their view on it to see. There will of course be precautions to be made such as adequate water, fencing, kennel etc. as long as circumstances when the animal should be brought indoors (flooding, halloween, freezing/super hot conditions etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

enda1 wrote: »
    Not everyone who get's a dog wants it to be a member of the family. There is a vast gulf between dogs and humans. However if the keeping of the dog outside would be cruel then don't do it, if it would not be cruel and just be a "preference" issue, do. Probably best to ask a vet their view on it to see. There will of course be precautions to be made such as adequate water, fencing, kennel etc. as long as circumstances when the animal should be brought indoors (flooding, halloween, freezing/super hot conditions etc.)

Unless its a working dog, these people are infact selfish and should not get a dog. A dog is not a garden decoartion or pretty view from the living room window....

When will people educate themselves that dogs a social animals and dont do well living a life outside, alone and unsocilaised... its is cruel... fact.

Just beacuse we are humans and we "can" have dogs and other aniamls doesnt mean we should - simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

My dogs have always been indoor pets however I know of many people that keep their dogs outdoors and i'm not going to judge anyone for that. Dogs are not people, as much as some people may wish them to be. As long as they're loved, well fed, warm, dry, given plenty of exercise and have a reasonable amount of contact with their human owners then I don't see what business it is of mine or anyone else to have a say in how they handle this or any other aspect of their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Swanner wrote: »
    My dogs have always been indoor pets however I know of many people that keep their dogs outdoors and i'm not going to judge anyone for that. Dogs are not people, as much as some people may wish them to be. As long as they're loved, well fed, warm, dry, given plenty of exercise and have a reasonable amount of contact with their human owners then I don't see what business it is of mine or anyone else to have a say in how they handle this or any other aspect of their lives.

This is the problem. A 'reasonable amount of time' differs in everybodys opinion.

If the OP posted that they were starting training classes as soon as the pup finished it's vaccinations or that he had a schedule in place that the dog got a fairly good amount of socialisation and interaction with it's family then this wouldn't be much of an issue.

But between the first thread where he wasn't even convinced he got a pure bred malamute and thought it might be a sibe, to 'it's too big for the house' at 9 weeks old, sounds like somebody who got a dog on a whim and isn't going to put the training in. The breed in question is certainly hardy enough for outdoor living but needs a HUGE amount of stimulation, human interaction, training and exercise to stave off boredom and destruction. So a 'reasonable' amount of time won't cut the mustard with this type of dog.

I think youve misread my post.... I dont have a problem with dogs sleeping outside although mine will always be indoor dogs what i do have a problem with is that MANY dogs who are what people called "outside" dogs are dumped in a garden, 24/7 with little or no interaction.. thats the difference. Dogs dont need tp sleep indoors to be part of the family, but proper interaction, stimualtion with their family.... thats whats makes them a family member.

one hour a day with the family, or being allowed in the kitchen for 30 mins at 10pm. is not proper interaction etc.... would you like to be alone for say 23 hours a day with no interaction? thought not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Cause he's an animal and generally animals are happier outside.

cocker5 wrote: »
    I think youve misread my post.... I dont have a problem with dogs sleeping outside although mine will always be indoor dogs what i do have a problem with is that MANY dogs who are what people called "outside" dogs are dumped in a garden, 24/7 with little or no interaction.. thats the difference. Dogs dont need tp sleep indoors to be part of the family, but proper interaction, stimualtion with their family.... thats whats makes them a family member.

one hour a day with the family, or being allowed in the kitchen for 30 mins at 10pm. is not proper interaction etc.... would you like to be alone for say 23 hours a day with no interaction? thought not.

Our neighbours do exactly this. They keep their dog chained most of the time. They wont let her off because "she's too wild when we do" - it's a viscious circle. She's not "wild", she's just so overjoyed when she actually has more than 6ft of space to enjoy that she cant contain herself. I take her out and she might be a bit hyper for the first few minutes, but after that she's fine. She's so happy to get out and have a spin in the car and a run around and a bit of physical affection. She is remarkably well behaved with me. It annoys me when people dont treat their animals right and then blame the animals for how they react to that treatment. They let her into the kitchen for an hour every other morning. Their last dog (that we nursed in his final weeks) died after suffering a stroke having been chained up in hot weather. If I hadn't taken him, they might not have even noticed - how could they when they are in the house and he's chained in the yard? Owners of the fuucking year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Quite often, yes I do prefer to be left alone alone but that's another matter ;)

What you and some others here are describing is neglect, plain and simple. The vast majority of us can agree on that.

There is however a general inference on this thread that dogs must sleep indoors to be part of the family. You alluded to it yourself here...
    Personally I dont see the point of having a dog unless it is part of the family and IMO that emans sleeping inside - but thats just me.

I'm just saying that it's very easy for us to put our principals on everyone else and judge accordingly but it comes across as a little intolerant. It's clear from this forum that people are very emotive about their dogs and that's understandable given the bond we form with them. But we really should be more open to other people's views. It's no different to parenting in many ways. We all have different ideas about what's right, some better some worse, but as long as there's no neglect or illtreatment involved, we really should try and resist judegment of others.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Our neighbours do exactly this. They keep their dog chained most of the time. They wont let her off because "she's too wild when we do" - it's a viscious circle. She's not "wild", she's just so overjoyed when she actually has more than 6ft of space to enjoy that she cant contain herself. I take her out and she might be a bit hyper for the first few minutes, but after that she's fine. She's so happy to get out and have a spin in the car and a run around and a bit of physical affection. She is remarkably well behaved with me. It annoys me when people dont treat their animals right and then blame the animals for how they react to that treatment. They let her into the kitchen for an hour every other morning. Their last dog (that we nursed in his final weeks) died after suffering a stroke having been chained up in hot weather. If I hadn't taken him, they might not have even noticed - how could they when they are in the house and he's chained in the yard? Owners of the fuucking year.

I have friends who got a golden cocker when my guys was 2... they had two small children, i begged and pleaded with them not to... told them dont get a golden cocker (the can be hand shy with kids sometimes)... also dont get a male, infact i said dont get anything...

they did .... a male golden cocker :rolleyes:

so 15 months later after the poor fecker was stuck 24 hours a day in a small garden surrounded by ****e, he's too hyper, knocking over the kids etc... I told them all this well before they got the dog... he wasnt house trained etc... they dumped him in the WSPCA... i called WSPCA 4 weeks later pretending to be one of my mates and guess what the dog was deeply distressed, extremely hand shy so the kindest thing for the dog was to be PTS... oh and my mates answers was he was a mad b*stard.. they couldnt have him in.... eh training????

so saw him over the weekend and guess what......... they are thinking about getting another dog... well i hit the f*cking roof... told him if he did our friendship would be over... then he said, if your ever thinking of getiing "rid" of you cocker, he's a lovely dog we'll take him - WTF

my answer was.... eh ever heard the words exercise and training??

BTW that was the 2nd dog the "got rid" of...

I'm just saying that it's very easy for us to put our principals on everyone else and judge accordingly but it comes across as a little intolerant. It's clear from this forum that people are very emotive about their dogs and that's understandable given the bond we form with them. But we really should be more open to other people's views. It's no different to parenting in many ways. We all have different ideas about what's right, some better some worse, but as long as there's no neglect or illtreatment involved, we really should try and resist judegment of others

No its not... but what i view as neglect and what you do are two totally different things.

If i saw a parents slap a child i would see this a abuse.. some parents wouldnt... but i will be judgemental and say they are a bad parent if they have to resort to hurting their child.

same way a dog dumped in a pen 24/7 who get his food once a day, walked once a week other than that is alone... again i will be judgemental and say neglectfull owners - they shouldnt have a dog.

Animals do not have voice and rely on humans (the ones who give a ****e) to look out for them and if that means being judgemental etc then so be it..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭sillysmiles

We all have different ideas about what's right, some better some worse, but as long as there's no neglect or illtreatment involved, we really should try and resist judegment of others.

TBH I don't think that OP is neglectfully, certainly not intentionally. But between this post and his previous post about this pup it is clear that he has done very little research on the dog in question and the requirements of a very active social animal. Personally, at 9 weeks, in the middle of winter, it is too early to put a pup sleeping outside alone and will only lead to destructive behaviour in the animal.

IF the OP wants the animal to eventually sleep outside, when he is trained and socialised and relaxed and when the weather improves is the time to do that. But the OP has not demonstrated that they have planned for the amount of time and effort and stimulation an energetic pup requires. This would lead people to believe that while the OP may not intentionally neglect the animal that without taking into consideration the animals social requirements that all that will happen is in 10-18 months the dog will be gotten rid of because its "mad" and "tears stuff up" "wrecks everything" and "can't be kept anywhere".
    People posting are trying to show the OP that with the right training and interaction now, that this can be avoided and one more animal will not end up in a rescue center.

Though, I am beginning to wonder if the OP is a troll. 2 posts demostrating little knowledge or research on a breed that is rife in every rescue across the country and then little or no interaction on the thread after the initial OP.

I have friends who got a golden cocker when my guys was 2... they had two small children, i begged and pleaded with them not to... told them dont get a golden cocker (the can be hand shy with kids sometimes)... also dont get a male, infact i said dont get anything...

they did .... a male golden cocker :rolleyes:

so 15 months later after the poor fecker was stuck 24 hours a day in a small garden surrounded by ****e, he's too hyper, knocking over the kids etc... I told them all this well before they got the dog... he wasnt house trained etc... they dumped him in the WSPCA... i called WSPCA 4 weeks later pretending to be one of my mates and guess what the dog was deeply distressed, extremely hand shy so the kindest thing for the dog was to be PTS... oh and my mates answers was he was a mad b*stard.. they couldnt have him in.... eh training????

so saw him over the weekend and guess what......... they are thinking about getting another dog... well i hit the f*cking roof... told him if he did our friendship would be over... then he said, if your ever thinking of getiing "rid" of you cocker, he's a lovely dog we'll take him - WTF

my answer was.... eh ever heard the words exercise and training??

BTW that was the 2nd dog the "got rid" of...

Classic example of the dog paying the price for the owner's inadequacies :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

There's nothing wrong with a dog sleeping outside provided the setup is correct and his coat will handle it, which this dog's will. Having a dog sleep outside doesn't mean it's not 'part of the family'; if it goes out when OP goes to bed and comes in when OP gets up then it's no more excluded than a dog that sleeps in the living room.

kylith wrote: »
    There's nothing wrong with a dog sleeping outside provided the setup is correct and his coat will handle it, which this dog's will. Having a dog sleep outside doesn't mean it's not 'part of the family'; if it goes out when OP goes to bed and comes in when OP gets up then it's no more excluded than a dog that sleeps in the living room.

We all agree there, however the OP has said that his 9 week old puppy is too big for the house, so it is reasonable to assume the pup won't be let in.

Especially since he's not likely to get smaller....