Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying to return to eduction from Oz, Need Help!

Options
  • 05-02-2014 12:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 27

Here are the facts -
    • I am Irish born and have completed my leaving cert in 2006.
    • I attended an I.T. in '06 but failed my first year exams.
    • I have been working since 2008, until i left for Australia in Oct 2010.
    • I returned to Ireland in June 2012 and signed on for social welfare for 6 weeks to 2 months while home. After this period my partner and i decided to return to Australia.
    • I am currently in Australia and have been in total, 3 years and 3 months.
    I have been researching and applied for full time courses through the CAO and hoped to start in Sept 2014. But with the current rules on BTEA and grants, I believe I am to late and going to need a miracle to fund my fee's and living costs in Dublin where i aim to study. As an unskilled worker i have been surviving here in Oz but am in no way able to support myself in full time education.

If i returned as soon as possible to Ireland -

Will i qualify for welfare, any grants or rent allowance in either full time or part time study?

Thanks for you time.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 27 arms_n_legs

Anybody any info?

• Registered Users Posts: 41,065 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

The problem is in order to be eligible for fees or grants you have to be residentbin Ireland for three of the last 5 years.