Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

France vs Italy, Sunday 9 Feb 3pm Irish time; RTE/BBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

stephen_n wrote: »
    Who is the ref?

Jaco Payper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,837 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I enjoyed that! I'm clearly weird.

Kanrith wrote: »
    There was no knock on by Italy there. The French guy just kept smacking the ball.

This. French hands all over the ball. There was no knock on there at all. And Italy in possession inside the French 22 that's a particularly big mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

OldRio wrote: »
    40 mins of my life wasted.
    Muck.

Olympic figure skating is on BBC2 if you're looking for a bit of excitement.

The guys on BBC are as bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

It wasn't a great game but it was entertaining imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Kanrith

I wonder what France have doing in training, there is no structure and they are just waiting for gifts from Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 SnotserAhYeah

hard to decide which game is worse this one or eng v scot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭trackguy

Looking at this game, it would appear that Ireland & England are the best coached teams in the tournament. France are incredibly dull given their talent. England are fairly dull too but at least they appear to be organised.

Hopefully, Schmidt will produce another tactical masterclass in 2 weeks time and then we're in business.

The possibility of a grand slam game in Paris is mouth-watering.

Not that I'm getting ahead of myself or anything....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Some really good, inventive rugby being played..

On setanta at the moment between Belvedere and Clongowes that is

Wow... complete turnaround in the scrum, serious power from France that time.

Looked like a try to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Try.

• Administrators Posts: 54,619 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

That's that then.

Ah... come on Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Super try from Fofana.

Magic from Wesley

Superb try- Fofana is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 SnotserAhYeah

that was weak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Hopefully France don't run up a serious score here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Lads, who is Nugents co-commentator here?

Swiwi. wrote: »

Bernard Jackman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

YES! Had Picamoles and Forfana in my fantasy team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Journeyman_1

Bernard jackman

Hopefully Italy fight back... last thing we want is France getting really confident.

• Administrators Posts: 54,619 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

YES! Had Picamoles and Forfana in my fantasy team

Same. :D

Not convinced by Plisson yet.

The last 5 minutes have shown what will happen to any team against France if they get quick ball. On yesterday's evidence we can slow them down though.

Is Benvenuti injured or dropped?

Shít

Jebus.

France have come alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

jaysus

quality

Cracking try there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Poor Italy but sensational from Fofana and Huget!

Scoreline so flattering for France. Ireland should have nothing to fear. Could turn into a cricket score though...and France might hit top of the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Ugggggghhhhh
    Great try but need keep scoreboard down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

awec wrote: »
    Same. :D

I was screaming for Forfana to go himself there :P

Scoreline so flattering for France. Ireland should have nothing to fear. Could turn into a cricket score though...and France might hit top of the table.

The more I see of Forfana, the less I'm inclined to agree with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

All three tries have come from bad Italian errors. Well finished mind you, but errors none the less.

Let them paper over the cracks.....for now.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭fitz

Totally agree. Couple of moments of magic putting France well ahead, but they've never really looked like they're in control of the game to the extent the scoreline suggests.
    Would really be confident that Joe can come up with a plan to crack them.

Lapin wrote: »
    The more I see of Forfana, the less I'm inclined to agree with that.

Ah, we all know Fofana is good. But Schmidt can work out a way to nullify him. They just look poorly poorly coached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Azzurri
    Very frustrating watching Italy, can only imagine what it's like for their fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yeah. At times Italy have been the better team, but Jesus all they need to do is hang onto the ball and it'd only be a six point game or there abouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,676 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

stephen_n wrote: »
    Very frustrating watching Italy, can only imagine what it's like for their fans.

Honestly at least they have passion in their play, couldn't be as bad as being a Scot yesterday really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Couple of consolation tries would be wonderful for us.

P_1 wrote: »
    Bernard Jackman

Well he's tremenjus. Adds to the commentary IMO.

Try, I think.

Edit: Actually no, don't think so.

Kanrith wrote: »
    Try, I think.

Not grounded IMO

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Unless he had his own hand holding that up then its a try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Held up by himself, well played...

That rather sums up the Italian perfoemance

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Hmm...don't think it could be given on the basis of the video but I'd be surprised if the base of the ball wasn't grounded tbh.