Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists - lowlife criminals of the worst kind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

chopper6 wrote: »
    Why are you constantly going on about motorists in a thread about cyclists?

Constantly trying to deflect from shockingly bad practices by cyclists

Look, there's a sizable minority of road users in all modes of transport that have a complete lack of respect for the road and the law that governs it.

It's pointless posting videos up ad infinitum - what's the point of that? You'll just have to accept that there a lot of d!cks on bikes, as well as cars. Just watch out for them, and stay safe on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

seamus wrote: »

No, it's not a thread about drivers, it's a thread about how there are lots of idiots on the road

I thought it was a thread about how a Sinn Féin councillor thinks there should be no increase in investment in cycling :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

aaaaand again with the deflecting.

Where did you get the idea i was a motorist btw?

Where did I say you were a motorist?

But really, the main deflector here is your good self. You keep the blinkers on, and you ignore the killing of hundreds and maiming of thousands of road users by motorists.

What actual problem are you trying to fix here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    So, what's the story with the Cycle-tracks along the side of the main road through the Phoenix park, big huge painted symbol's on the paths showing "No walking" yet plenty of people walking two or three abreast on those paths.. and when you politely say "excuse me" to try get past you usually get a look like you have 3 heads or just asked them for a loan of €50!?
    It's usually better to just cycle along the road there...
    Turtyturd wrote: »
    Surely as long as they are walking in a safe manner it should be acceptable?
    It is in no way safe or acceptable to walk in the cycle lane, not any more than it is safe or acceptable to walk down the middle of the road; you are purposefully putting yourself in the way of people who are travelling faster than you and are on contraptions that can injure you. A bike is unlikely to kill you but it can hurt both yourself and the rider.

If it is acceptable to walk in a cycle path then people may as well give up complaining about cyclists on footpaths because what would be the difference between them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

RainyDay wrote: »
    Where did I say you were a motorist?

But really, the main deflector here is your good self. You keep the blinkers on, and you ignore the killing of hundreds and maiming of thousands of road users by motorists.

What actual problem are you trying to fix here?

There ya go yet again.

My issue isn't to do with motorists,its to do with cyclists breaking red lights at pedestrian crossings and cycling on the pavement...i can only deduce from your refusal to aknowledge that they do this that you must do it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Why are you constantly going on about motorists in a thread about cyclists?

Constantly trying to deflect from shockingly bad practices by cyclists

Fairly sure that you don't get to define the limits/parameters of the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Everyone's a ****. There, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

kylith wrote: »
    It is in no way safe or acceptable to walk in the cycle lane, not any more than it is safe or acceptable to walk down the middle of the road; you are purposefully putting yourself in the way of people who are travelling faster than you and are on contraptions that can injure you. A bike is unlikely to kill you but it can hurt both yourself and the rider.

If it is acceptable to walk in a cycle path then people may as well give up complaining about cyclists on footpaths because what would be the difference between them?

You got the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    You misread my point - verbally abusing other road users is not on. I don't carry on like that anyway whether in my car, on a bike or walking.

No I didn't , I don't agree with you. I believe what she said is completely unacceptable in any situation other than being attacked which she clearly wasn't nor felt threatened in the way she acted.
    I find it unbelievable that you would not react verbally to some other commuter doing something that made you fear for your life due to their stupidity. If a car nearly hit me through their fault the driver can expect to be verbally abused. You are claiming you wouldn't say anything, that is unbelievable to me.

Sorry, as a cyclist I've reported 2 incidents with dangerous driving that almost injured me on my bike. The guards did take both seriously and followed up with both drivers.
    Completely different experience to me on more than one occasion I was told they couldn't do anything. I believe my experience, maybe your station behave better but I can only tell you the reality I have experienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,158 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

If that had been a bloke that idiot on the bike would be on his arse with his legs in the air.

He had no business shouting,swearing and being abusive to that woman.

A coward with a chip on his shoulder.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056950802

This video.. and most all of the points on this thread have been covered many many times in other boards.ie threads, and it's the same s h 1 t every time which goes around in circles, this is yet another one of them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056950802

This video.. and most all of the points on this thread have been covered many many times in other boards.ie threads, and it's the same s h 1 t every time which goes around in circles, this is yet another one of them..
    Indeed. It's been done to death every couple of weeks.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    No I didn't , I don't agree with you. I believe what she said is completely unacceptable in any situation other than being attacked which she clearly wasn't nor felt threatened in the way she acted.
    I find it unbelievable that you would not react verbally to some other commuter doing something that made you fear for your life due to their stupidity. If a car nearly hit me through their fault the driver can expect to be verbally abused. You are claiming you wouldn't say anything, that is unbelievable to me.

Completely different experience to me on more than one occasion I was told they couldn't do anything. I believe my experience, maybe your station behave better but I can only tell you the reality I have experienced.

Horses for courses I guess if you're going around verbally abusing eople. Personally, I don't allow incidents raise my blood pressure. This evening I didn't verbally abuse the person who stepped onto the cycle lane in Lucan while I was tipping along at 40 km/hr. "Hey watch the road" yes, but verbally abuse no.

Try reporting any transgressions you have in future to traffic watch. On both occasions they logged the call with the local station and I had follow up. If you're not getting the response, follow it up with them. They do genuinely take it seriously.

No Pants wrote: »
    Indeed. It's been done to death every couple of weeks.

If you entered these arguments into a spread sheet, you'd get a 'circular reference' error.

Yes, amazing how such a tiny minority of road users can strike up the "George Hook" in people... Until attitudes and cycling infrastructure improve then cycling will stay in the realm of the Brave and daring man...

/close

Until the next thread...with the same points...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

seamus wrote: »
    Because the cyclists are actually in a cycle lane, the law is a grey area there.

The ROTR would dictate that because the car intends on turning across a lane, he is required to yield to all traffic in that lane before performing the maneuver.

That doesn't mean that these cyclists weren't completely stupid, but they weren't legally in the wrong.

I like how you ignore the fact that the car turning left illegally drove down a bus lane though...

No, it's not a thread about drivers, it's a thread about how there are lots of idiots on the road, no one mode has a monopoly on idiocy. Except taxis.

Point 1 Read SI 332/2012 Nothing grey in that
    (b) A pedal cyclist may overtake on the left where vehicles to the pedal cyclist’s right are stationary or are moving more slowly than the overtaking pedal cycle, except where the vehicle to be overtaken—

(i) has signalled an intention to turn to the left and there is a reasonable expectation that the vehicle in which the driver has signalled an intention to turn to the left will execute a movement to the left before the cycle overtakes the vehicle,

(ii) is stationary for the purposes of permitting a passenger or passengers to alight or board the vehicle, or

(iii) is stationary for the purposes of loading or unloading.”,

Point 2 That isn't a 24 hour buslane you have insufficent information to determine the time of day, unless you can spot a clock or two in the video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Plasid

Stop feeding the troll...

Yes, amazing how such a tiny minority of road users can strike up the "George Hook" in people... Until attitudes and cycling infrastructure improve then cycling will stay in the realm of the Brave and daring man...
    A tad dramatic, no? It's not unusual to see teenagers (mostly boys unfortunately) or older people or middle aged ladies on their bikes. Indeed, it was a middle aged lady on her bike that I had words with after she flew through two red lights yesterday.
    Fairly sure that you don't get to define the limits/parameters of the thread.
    Sshhhh, he'll get narky now.
    There ya go yet again.

My issue isn't to do with motorists,its to do with cyclists breaking red lights at pedestrian crossings and cycling on the pavement...i can only deduce from your refusal to aknowledge that they do this that you must do it yourself.

I'm very clear on what your issue is. You don't need to keep repeating it. I'm also very clear that any focus by Gardai on cyclists takes the focus by Gardai away from motorists - the group that tend to kill or maim people. If there was a serious diversion of resources towards cyclists, there will be blood on the hands of those who propose this.

I've no difficulty recognising that some cyclists break red lights and cycle on the pavement. I've no difficulty with confirming that I occasionaly do these things myself, though I make sure of my own safety and the safety of other road users first.

It is yourself that seems to have difficulty seeing the big picture - the major road safety problem on our roads is the killing and maiming of large numbers of people by motorists.

A tad dramatic, no? It's not unusual to see teenagers (mostly boys unfortunately) or older people or middle aged ladies on their bikes. Indeed, it was a middle aged lady on her bike that I had words with after she flew through two red lights yesterday.

Sshhhh, he'll get narky now.

I'm very clear on what your issue is. You don't need to keep repeating it. I'm also very clear that any focus by Gardai on cyclists takes the focus by Gardai away from motorists - the group that tend to kill or maim people. If there was a serious diversion of resources towards cyclists, there will be blood on the hands of those who propose this.

I've no difficulty recognising that some cyclists break red lights and cycle on the pavement. I've no difficulty with confirming that I occasionaly do these things myself, though I make sure of my own safety and the safety of other road users first.

It is yourself that seems to have difficulty seeing the big picture - the major road safety problem on our roads is the killing and maiming of large numbers of people by motorists.

You've no right to do it....you're breaking the law and endangering people's safety...how can you make out that other people's safety is a priority when you flout the rules?

An once again the larger part of your rant is directed against motorists who you seem to think are roaming the highways destroying people by the hundred...in ten years of driving i've never ran a red light or mounted teh pavememt...what give you the right to do so?

Anyway, getting back to the original post. Let's hope this guy has no influence on deflecting from the development of cycling infrastructure. The benefits of this will be far in excess of the motorists who feel cyclists are lawless, paying no 'motor tax' or cycling on their roads.

In an ideal world, we would have separate infrastructures, examples of which can be found in Holland and Germany. It's a long way away, but maybe some day we can aspire to that - it's safer for cyclists in the long run.

Anyway, getting back to the original post. Let's hope this guy has no influence on deflecting from the development of cycling infrastructure. The benefits of this will be far in excess of the motorists who feel cyclists are lawless, paying no 'motor tax' or cycling on their roads.

In an ideal world, we would have separate infrastructures, examples of which can be found in Holland and Germany. It's a long way away, but maybe some day we can aspire to that - it's safer for cyclists in the long run.

Who's going to pay for this extra "infastructure"?

Are cyclists going to be contributing towards it or is it muggins the taxpayer as usual?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭com1

You've no right to do it....you're breaking the law and endangering people's safety...how can you make out that other people's safety is a priority when you flout the rules?

An once again the larger part of your rant is directed against motorists who you seem to think are roaming the highways destroying people by the hundred...in ten years of driving i've never ran a red light or mounted teh pavememt...what give you the right to do so?

You have never mounted the pavement in 10 years of driving. I find that hard to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Are cyclists going to be contributing towards it or is it muggins the taxpayer as usual?

Yes, which of these two distinct groups, cyclists or taxpapers, will be paying for this?

The taxpayers I suppose, the same ones who pay for the roads. A lot of cyclists drive and (believe it or not) pay tax as well. So should pedestrians pay towards the paths they use (oooops, feel that 'circular reference error' coming on again).

Look, if the motor tax, excise, VRT and other monies extracted from motorists went toward our roads, we've have roads that are the envy of the world. But they don't. They go into a black hole to keep the country afloat.

You're correct - I don't have any right to break the law. But I do it. Sometimes. Carefully.

Can I just clarify if you have ever, ever broken a speed limit - maybe in an urban area? Or ever failed to indicate? Or driven with a back bulb blown? Have you once perhaps slipped over the 50 kmph limit? Because unless you are a very, very unusual driver, you break the law too when it suits you.

Eh cyclists pay tax. Research from other countries suggests that cyclists have higher average incomes than motorists, and so pay more income tax and more VAT on average.
    Look, if the motor tax, excise, VRT and other monies extracted from motorists went toward our roads, we've have roads that are the envy of the world. But they don't.

Source please? My understanding is that it is the other way round - that the money collected from motorists comes nowhere near the costs of paying for our road and motorway infrastructure. The costs are subsidised by ALL taxpayers (including cyclists).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

What i love about the majority of Cyclists is how the rules of the road just dont apply to them. It must be a very liberating way of life, being a Cyclist. Seeing that red light in front of you and having the carefree attitude of "shure **** it, the lights dont apply to me, IM A CYCLIST" and jsut ploughing headfirst through it without stopping. Not having to wear any high visibility clothing in the dark of a winter evening, or giving any indication of where youre turning, freewheeling through pedestrian crossings while people are trying to cross without a care in the world, not paying any road tax despite being an absolute menace to all other road users....ah to be a cyclist.

Jesus Wept! Take it into private messaging lads ffs, it's the same old arguments Ad nauseam!

Blah blah, rule number SI 332/2012 says this, blah blah cyclists are not taxpayers, blah blah "Road" Tax... cr ap ...sweeping general statements.... :(

What i love about the majority of Cyclists is how the rules of the road just dont apply to them. It must be a very liberating way of life, being a Cyclist. Seeing that red light in front of you and having the carefree attitude of "shure **** it, the lights dont apply to me, IM A CYCLIST" and jsut ploughing headfirst through it without stopping. Not having to wear any high visibility clothing in the dark of a winter evening, or giving any indication of where youre turning, freewheeling through pedestrian crossings while people are trying to cross without a care in the world, not paying any road tax despite being an absolute menace to all other road users....ah to be a cyclist.

Thanks for your contribution. It's a unique viewpoint and hasn't been raised before in the previous pages. Now, what do you think about cycling infrastructure being curtailed (the crux of the OP?).

1) There is no 'rule of the road' about hi-vis clothing
    2) Do you break any of the rules of the road yourself? Ever break a speed limit? Ever take a call while driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Why don't you get yourself a bike then if it's that great?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭tusk

I am a cyclist, and absolutely loathe others who break hard and fast rules, along with those unwritten common sense rules. It sickens me to watch people break reds and create unnecessary dangers. Things which I'm happy to say, I myself don't do. Cycling is booming and uptake increasing, and yes there are dickheads (not only cyclists) that make the road a dangerous place, but how could more, defined and safer infrastructure be a bad thing? We ALL pay taxes, and those taxes, whether used in the our eyes correctly or incorrectly, are paid to make our country better in some way or another. Infrastructure for something a growing number of people are involved in, simply can't be a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

There is no road tax...this has been done to death.

I've never seen a motorist driving frantically away from a menacing cyclist. It would actually be funny to watch them flee from someone on two wheels.

If I based my opinion of motorists by anecdotal observations. I would say they all speed, drive recklessly through junctions, fail to indicate, fail to yield at roundabouts, fail to stop at stop signs, fail to maintain their cars, have bald tyres, rarely taxed, drive without due care and consideration, misuse the outside lane in motorways, fail to have functioning headlights, fail to realise the trick when to use foglights is secretly hidden in their name, fail to understand that double yellow lines mean no parking, fail to keep yellow boxes clear, fail to turn on their headlights, tailgate, intimidate other road users, fail to keep progress and become a hinderance to other users, fail to display their road tax, haven't insurance, run stop signs.

I realise all of the above is an unfair generalisation and based on my anecdotal experience and it is unfair to brand the majority with the brush of the stupid few.

I've seen my fair share of red light jumpers both cyclists and cars. I find personally cars tend to accelerate and speed through red lights which in itself is more dangerous. Not condoning cyclist behaviour but it would be interesting to see how many cars jump red lights at junctions vs cyclists.

1) There is no 'rule of the road' about hi-vis clothing
    2) Do you break any of the rules of the road yourself? Ever break a speed limit? Ever take a call while driving?

Personally I would take lights and reflective clothing over "hi-vis"... its pretty useless in the pitch black.

Can I just clarify if you have ever, ever broken a speed limit - maybe in an urban area? Or ever failed to indicate? Or driven with a back bulb blown? Have you once perhaps slipped over the 50 kmph limit? Because unless you are a very, very unusual driver, you break the law too when it suits you.

Whats all this?

You ADMIT to breaking the law when it suits you now you're trying to fit me up with a whole bunch of offenses that you assume i must have cimmited,why?

What do you know about me as a driver?

Absolutely nothing...but you must deflect,deflect,deflect from your own apalling behaviour as a cyclist...either blaming motorists en masse as murderers or assuming they too freely break law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I've got a huge refund coming? Woohoo, I'm gonna be RICH!

TonyStark wrote: »

If I based my opinion of motorists by anecdotal observations. I would say they all speed, drive recklessly through junctions, fail to indicate, fail to yield at roundabouts, fail to stop at stop signs, fail to maintain their cars, have bald tyres, rarely taxed, drive without due care and consideration, misuse the outside lane in motorways, fail to have functioning headlights, fail to realise the trick when to use foglights is secretly hidden in their name, fail to understand that double yellow lines mean no parking, fail to keep yellow boxes clear, fail to turn on their headlights, tailgate, intimidate other road users, fail to keep progress and become a hinderance to other users, fail to display their road tax, haven't insurance, run stop signs.

This is just a made up list of imaginary complaints...a lot of these offenses will end a motorist up in jail...anything else you forgot to say in your defelecting away from bad behaviour of cyclists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Yes, you can have a great life as a cyclist alright. If you really value the liberation afforded to you by the gardai who selectively enforce laws in a sensible manner then you should get off your bike and try being a pedestrian, they get away with a hell of a lot more, you would love it. So ditch that bike or car of yours. 100% of pedestrians also get away without paying road tax, being that's its a mutually exclusive club just like cyclists.
    Why I hate pedestrians

You know what I hate? Pedestrians. That self-satisfied, striding, boot-bedecked bunch of scum. Is it just me, or does the country suddenly seem to be full of them? I've never tried walking anywhere myself -- why would I? I'm a successful adult -- but it seems I can hardly travel down the street these days without one of them stepping off the pavement in front of me without looking, their face set in a holier-than-thou expression as they jump out of the way of my car in a burst of expletives. Something clearly needs to be done, and it's good that the government are starting to realise this.

The thing is, it's not just that pedestrians are all smug and annoying when they bang on about "health" and "pollution". That's sickening enough, but if their smugness was the only problem I could just ignore them - after all, they and their silly 'shoes' flash past quick enough when I get going, and their smugness can't penetrate my car's tinted windows. But the thing is there's more to it than that, because have you noticed that even though pedestrians walk millions of miles on our road system every single day, they contribute nothing at all to the cost of that road system? They have thousands and thousands of miles of dedicated pedestrian-only travel routes -- pavements, they're called, or sidewalks if you're that way inclined -- which they don't pay a penny for! Whilst honest motorists are taxed left, right and centre, they don't pay anything at all for all these facilities they enjoy. It beggars belief.

And recently, of course, it's got worse. As I'm driving up the street I constantly come across pedestrians walking across my part of the road to get from one of these pavements to another. I mean, what the hell...? Do they want the shirt off my back as well? They've been given vast tracts of pedestrian-only routes, where I'm certainly not allowed to drive, but apparently this isn't enough for them. Oh no, they want to keep encroaching into my space as well. Sure, we've all heard these walking zealots who say that it's because the 'pavements' don't form a joined-up network, meaning they can't walk to where they want to go without having to step onto the road from time to time. Aw, bless their little hearts. To pedestrians I say this: get off my part of the road. If you walk there when I'm coming along then I'll happily run you down, that's all.

In the long term there's clearly only one solution to all this. If pedestrians want to walk on our streets, which we pay for with all our driving taxes, then they need to pay their share and take their part of the responsibility. Anybody who walks anywhere should undergo training, should have to pay an annual tax towards the facilities they enjoy, should display a license plate so they can be identified, and should each be made to carry insurance in case they are ever involved in any accidents. Until then, they can sod off back to Shoeville or wherever it is they go when they aren't freeloading off the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It seems to me that the reason for much of the perceived aberrant behaviour from cyclists is that they're distracted by their exposure - to noise, the weather, etc. - and the physical effort of mere perambulation. I suggest better equipment, along the lines of armoured, weather proof jackets and trousers, more weathertight helmets, that sort of thing. A comfortable driver is a safer driver, methinks.

I don't begrudge them the odd hop up on the pavement either, particularly during these foul Winter evenings with the traffic going mental on the carriageway. I would require the fitting and use of a bell or hooter, though - if there's one thing that drives me nucken futs it's a bicycle clattering past me on the pavement totally without warning! :D

As an aside, my favourite (from an amusement point of view) breed of the Pedalling-Bicyclist is the fifty-plus fitness freak and his hideous scrawny lava-complexioned missus, chafing along on about two grand worth of bicycle/gear each, high on lactic acid and righteousness. You often see all the childer hauled out as well, for "family fun", pedalling along behind like baby ducks. I can nearly always telepathically hear the husband say "Be Jaysis, what I wouldn't do fer a pint an' a rasher sammitch!!". :pac::pac::pac:
    Whats all this?...

If you don't mind my saying Ted, you seem to go a bit too mad over the Pedalling-Bicyclists. :D

We need to look out for each other and ourselves out there, engine or no engine. None of it is worth anyone getting crunched over. Not even Mrs. Lava-Face! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

rubadub wrote: »
    Yes, you can have a great life as a cyclist alright. If you really value the liberation afforded to you by the gardai who selectively enforce laws in a sensible manner then you should get off your bike and try being a pedestrian, they get away with a hell of a lot more, you would love it. So ditch that bike or car of yours. 100% of pedestrians also get away without paying road tax, being that's its a mutually exclusive club just like cyclists.

Aye, them Peds are another shower that could do with about four batin's! :cool:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Just a few points based on topics brought up in the course of the discussion:
    • Cyclists aren’t some kind of hive mind, collectively responsible for the transgressions of individuals.
    • Driving and cycling aren’t mutually exclusive skills. Of the hundreds of cyclists I know, the vast majority also drive.
    • Few, if any, people cycle to “save the planet” or to feel smug about being environmentally friendly. They do it because they like cycling and/or it’s quicker than other forms of transport.
    • It’s probably fair to say that more cyclists break road traffic laws than motorists.
    • Having said that, the number of motorists pulling stunts like breaking red lights appears to be on the rise, most likely down to lower enforcement, due to cutbacks.
    • I’d say the reasoning behind cyclist and motorist lawbreaking is similar. People figure they’re doing no harm and have a low likelihood of getting caught.
    • It’s a rule of thumb that the more virulently anti-cyclist someone is, the more prone they are to clichéd generalisations and straw men arguments; and the less informed they are about what road traffic law relating to cyclists is.
    • This rule transfers to the road. You can bet your bottom dollar that the guy who screams at you or tries to run you off the road is the one who thinks you should be cycling on the footpath / not cycling in a bus lane / or something equally as daft.
    • While law breaking cyclists may think they’re doing no harm, they’re really providing more fuel to the psychos. Every time some numpty breaks the lights, you can bet there’s a mouth breather sitting there watching, saving it up for the next time they launch a tirade at an unfortunate cyclist.

Just a few points based on topics brought up in the course of the discussion:
    • Cyclists aren’t some kind of hive mind, collectively responsible for the transgressions of individuals.
    • Driving and cycling aren’t mutually exclusive skills. Of the hundreds of cyclists I know, the vast majority also drive.
    • Few, if any, people cycle to “save the planet” or to feel smug about being environmentally friendly. They do it because they like cycling and/or it’s quicker than other forms of transport.
    • It’s probably fair to say that more cyclists break road traffic laws than motorists.
    • Having said that, the number of motorists pulling stunts like breaking red lights appears to be on the rise, most likely down to lower enforcement, due to cutbacks.
    • I’d say the reasoning behind cyclist and motorist lawbreaking is similar. People figure they’re doing no harm and have a low likelihood of getting caught.
    • It’s a rule of thumb that the more virulently anti-cyclist someone is, the more prone they are to clichéd generalisations and straw men arguments; and the less informed they are about what road traffic law relating to cyclists is.
    • This rule transfers to the road. You can bet your bottom dollar that the guy who screams at you or tries to run you off the road is the one who thinks you should be cycling on the footpath / not cycling in a bus lane / or something equally as daft.
    • While law breaking cyclists may think they’re doing no harm, they’re really providing more fuel to the psychos. Every time some numpty breaks the lights, you can bet there’s a mouth breather sitting there watching, saving it up for the next time they launch a tirade at an unfortunate cyclist.

And, if it all gets too much, try this on the dial. http://www.rte.ie/lyricfm/

I find Marty Whelan's voice particularly soothing.:pac:

Whats all this?

You ADMIT to breaking the law when it suits you now you're trying to fit me up with a whole bunch of offenses that you assume i must have cimmited,why?

What do you know about me as a driver?

Absolutely nothing...but you must deflect,deflect,deflect from your own apalling behaviour as a cyclist...either blaming motorists en masse as murderers or assuming they too freely break law.

It is quite appropriate that you post includes 'deflect, deflect, deflect' given your own hypocrisy. You attack others for largely minor transgressions which largely harm no-one - while pretending to the world that you've never done the same yourself. You can kid yourself, but you're not kidding me. Denial is not a river in Egypt.

I'll leave it there, thanks - see you on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Jesus Wept! Take it into private messaging lads ffs, it's the same old arguments Ad nauseam!

Blah blah, rule number SI 332/2012 says this, blah blah cyclists are not taxpayers, blah blah "Road" Tax... cr ap ...sweeping general statements.... :(

Excuse me but SI 332/2012 is the only FACTUAL post I've seen on here, or are you saying that cyclists should ignore rules made for their safety?

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Excuse me but SI 332/2012 is the only FACTUAL post I've seen on here, or are you saying that cyclists should ignore rules made for their safety?

Well it's all a bit "Handbags at Dawn" here still I see! :rolleyes:

This is just a made up list of imaginary complaints...a lot of these offenses will end a motorist up in jail...anything else you forgot to say in your defelecting away from bad behaviour of cyclists?

Actually FYI a lot of those offences if the car driver is caught he will probably not end up in jail....as you dramatically put it. It depends on the severity of the offence and whether the offence goes before the courts. Nice try tho..

At no point in any of your arguments have you proposed that running red lights would put cyclists themselves in danger. At that point you might have won the debate...

It is quite appropriate that you post includes 'deflect, deflect, deflect' given your own hypocrisy. You attack others for largely minor transgressions which largely harm no-one -
    Who are YOU to say whats minor and whether it harms anybody?
    I once saw a guy getting his two front teeth knocked out of his head by a cyclist who picked himself up and vanished as fast as he could...this was on the path at westmoreland st and the cyclist had been flying along weaving between pedestrians til he eventually whacked into this bloke.

Two front teeth is gonna cost at least 2 thousand euro to put right...no chance of claiming either as the cyclist wasnt insured.
    while pretending to the world that you've never done the same yourself. You can kid yourself, but you're not kidding me. Denial is not a river in Egypt.

What are you talking about? I've never even picked up a penalty point in my life...red lights mean you STOP and i have NEVER driven on the pavement.

Maybe you can provide some proof of my transgressions before defaming me on a public message board.

Get a room you two! :D

edit: Or at least meet up for a coffee and a chat Man 2 Man! ;)

Maybe you can provide some proof of my transgressions before defaming me on a public message board.

Sure, no problem. Answer a straight question - have you ever broken a speed limit?

No.

Have you ever hit a pedestrian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

No.
    Do you drive? EDIT, never mind I've now seen the post where you say you've driven for 10 years.
    Have you ever hit a pedestrian?

Personally I cycle daily, and no I haven't.

I've hit a car once where I would consider myself to be at fault. Luckily no damage was done to either me or the car.
    I've been hit by cars and a truck where it was unequivocally the drivers time many times. I've been side swiped, rear ended (ironically considering the topic, while waiting at a traffic light), had people suddenly pull out in front of me (again ironically for the topic as the driver at the time had a red light).

As a cyclist it is the bad behaviour of the motorists I'm exposed to simply because I interact with far more motorists who are moving at a different speed, so the occasional bad behaviour is far more visible, and vice versa when I'm a motorist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

In ten years of driving you have never ever broken a speed limit? Wow.