Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boots

• 10-02-2014 12:41pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The only part of my gear I have yet to replace is my boots, need some new ones now. I want a good all rounder, decent protection but also comfy - I don't want an out and out race boot. Also I'd like something waterproof just in case. I know some people spend mad money but I want to keep the price down as much as I possibly can. So looking for the best value boots I can find...

So far I've looked around and the ones I like are the TCX S-Sportout Waterproof for about €125. RevZilla Review here.

What do you guys think or can you recommend any others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭goodlad

I got Richa Ratchet boots last November.
    They are super comfortable. In fact they are more comfortable than my touring boots.

http://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/70403

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

I have the RST Slice trousers that are waterproof, but only to a certain amount. In heavy persistent rain I will get soaked right through.

I have a goretex HG jacket and not once in all the pissing rain has it ever leaked.

Guessed where this is leading?

Seeing as you use the bike to commute you'd be better off trying to get a goretex boot. I have the TCX Competizione S Gore-Tex Boots for the last 5 years and they are still dry to use. Pricey Yes, but they do keep my feet dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

I've had my eye on these for a while now, mainly becuase of the 98 reviews. But the options you selected and good lads suggestion are in the same price range and probably as good if not better.

http://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/54392http://

@Goodlad - Did I spot you on the N7/ M50 this morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

I've had 2 pairs of TCX boots and the only reason I replaced the first pair was because they got damaged in a crash. They are the best bike boot I've ever owned. My 2 pairs have been from the urban range (the x-cube waterproof and x-square sport waterproof) and no complaints, 100% waterproof, comfortable, great protection and certainly not the most expensive boots on the market for the quality of them.

My husband also wears TCX boots (the S-R1 goretex ones) and again, no complaints at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Robbknoll

I cant praise the TCX Cube enough since i got them last year. Been in crazy rain with them and no leaks, and they are comfortable off the bike.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/TCX-Boots-X-Cube-Waterproof-WP-Motorcycle-Riding-Boot-Black-/121216034218?pt=Apparel_Merchandise&var=&hash=item1c3909e5aa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭goodlad

zubair wrote: »
    I've had my eye on these for a while now, mainly becuase of the 98 reviews. But the options you selected and good lads suggestion are in the same price range and probably as good if not better.

http://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/54392http://

@Goodlad - Did I spot you on the N7/ M50 this morning?

Most likely. I was running late and driving like a spa... :rolleyes:

Ive previously worn tcx race boots but found them very narrow and ive a wide foot.
    I also have tcx x five touring boots. Comfortable and completely waterproof but again i find them too narrow for my foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I have a pair of Spada Waves. Fine boot, quite smart-looking and great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

goodlad wrote: »
    ....but found them very narrow and ive a wide foot.
    I also have tcx x five touring boots. Comfortable and completely waterproof but again i find them too narrow for my foot.

^^^^^ this is what I find about most boots.

BMW branded boots tend to be wider imho, and aren't outrageously priced. I have a perfect pair but can't wear them since a foot injury means they're now too tight. €170 iirc in Joe Duffy M50.

Would love to see what the Altberg ones are like......esp vis-à-vis sizing. http://www.altberg.co.uk/fitting/motorcycle-boot-fitting/

I also find too many boots are styled like Transformers boots.....would prefer something.......simpler / plainer.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

galwaytt wrote: »
    ^^^^^ this is what I find about most boots....

In general, I find a full-size motorcycle boot should be one size up from your normal footwear size.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 mattieb

CJhaughey wrote: »

Excellent boot, I've had these 3 years now and as a regular commuter they've had plenty of wear. Never leaked on me and I hope to get a bit more out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,453 ✭✭✭✭blade1

What about these?
    I don't know anything about them but they seem to get decent reviews.
    Not too expensive either
    http://www.ghostbikes.com/categorylist/GhostBikes.com-Brands-Black-Boots/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I have the alpinestars SMX goretex and I can tell you they are unreal. So comfortable its scary, can wear them driving to a road race. Then stand around all day in them and ride home PERFECT!

Never ever leaked in the monsoon conditions I have been out in. Pricey but well worth it, I am gonna get the non goretex version for the summer.

http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/alpinestars-smx-plus-gore-tex-boots

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Chalk up another point for TCX, OP. I have TCX Airtech gore tex boots.

Can't praise 'em enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭lmpulse

i bought me a pair of these and loving them so far, don't know if its water proof tho o.o
    http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/icon-1000-truant-boots
    icon1000_truant_boots_detail.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

lmpulse wrote: »
    i bought me a pair of these and loving them so far, don't know if its water proof tho o.o
    http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/icon-1000-truant-boots
    icon1000_truant_boots_detail.jpg

Nice but very little protection, personally would not dream of wearing them out for a good spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

I'm looking for a more casual pair of boots for town riding myself, anyone know anywhere that might stock these or something similar? I'd like to try before I buy if possible.

I'm not 100% on what size I should get in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

dceire wrote: »
    I'm looking for a more casual pair of boots for town riding myself, anyone know anywhere that might stock these or something similar? I'd like to try before I buy if possible.

I'm not 100% on what size I should get in them

Bike world and cotters both stoch them kind of boots. Bike world especially had a big collection. They didnt look great to be honest.

Picked up a pair of these myself today, very comfy so far

http://m.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/app/prod/95732

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I saw those Ricah ones in Cotters and they looked lovely. However someone on another thread here told me to stay away as the build quality is not great. Thoughts?

They look and feel pretty well put together to me. Ill only be using them weekends and summer evenings so I hope to get a long time out of them anyway

aaakev wrote: »
    Bike world and cotters both stoch them kind of boots. Bike world especially had a big collection. They didnt look great to be honest.

What do you mean by they didn't look great?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭sean61

Zascar wrote: »
    I saw those Ricah ones in Cotters and they looked lovely. However someone on another thread here told me to stay away as the build quality is not great. Thoughts?

That could have been me. I have the richa ratchet. Bought them when I was going to do the track day training last autumn in mondello. Grand for the price but the toe sliders are crap. I've knocked them off several times while pushing the bike through the narrow door on my shed. I'd get something better for track but they're fine for road use

dceire wrote: »
    What do you mean by they didn't look great?

Apart from the ankle pads you may as well be wearing a pair of runners

sean61 wrote: »
    That could have been me. I have the richa ratchet. Bought them when I was going to do the track day training last autumn in mondello. Grand for the price but the toe sliders are crap. I've knocked them off several times while pushing the bike through the narrow door on my shed. I'd get something better for track but they're fine for road use

Screws coming loose? If so a bit of thread lock would solve that easy enough

aaakev wrote: »
    Apart from the ankle pads you may as well be wearing a pair of runners

Well, I have a pair of boots with good protection already. I am just looking for a decent pair of waterproof casual looking boots for popping in and out of town on and will look well with my new bull-it jeans :P Wouldn't really be heading out on any big spins with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭Wossack

are your jeans waterproof? else I smell a rat! :p

Wossack wrote: »
    are your jeans waterproof? else I smell a rat! :p

My jeans aren't but the waterproofs I put on over my jeans are; at least that's what the guy in the store said :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

I have a pair of the RST Raptor 2's, lovely comfy boot, look extremely sexy and you could wear them all day, they look casual and dont hurt to walk too much in.

Completely waterproof and fully protected also. Nice and warm on the inside but also breathable.

They cost me €115 at Christmas but I don't regret buying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I have a pair of these the last 3+ years, cannot fault them...you get what you pay for ;)

http://www.brixworkwear.com/brand/haix/work-boots/haix-climber.html

MonstaMash wrote: »
    I have a pair of these the last 3+ years, cannot fault them...you get what you pay for ;)

http://www.brixworkwear.com/brand/haix/work-boots/haix-climber.html
    Iv a pair of meindl army pro I wear hunting but I wouldnt wear them on the bike just incase I wrecked them! Its true tho you really do get what ya pay for!

http://www.meindl.co.uk/products/Military/79/Army-Pro-GTX-