Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tinder

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭quinnd6

I certainly wouldn't call it fun.
    It's been 4 days and I've had 0 matches so I'm not enjoying it.
    It feels just sad now really.
    I think it's probably time to drop it now.
    It clearly isn't going to work for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

quinnd6 wrote: »
    I certainly wouldn't call it fun.
    It's been 4 days and I've had 0 matches so I'm not enjoying it.
    It feels just sad now really.
    I think it's probably time to drop it now.
    It clearly isn't going to work for me.

are you swiping to the right much? just flitter through them man, you'll get a match eventually!

There's not many people living around me using it.
    The ones anywhere nearby are about 12 years younger than me so too young though I swiped right on them anyway haha.
    I imagine I've probably been rejected on this thing a ton already.
    Girls I wouldn't really fancy that I thought looked reasonably ok I swiped right on aswell.
    Going by my experience on this thing I'd have to lower my standards wayy down to the point where I'd have to go for girls Im not attracted to at all and when you find yourself doing that you might aswell give up altogether on it.
    I guess women just don't find me attractive.
    That's the sad lesson I've learnt from this disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

thecatspjs wrote: »
    It's good fun. I only started using it on Saturday. Once you don't take it too seriously and have a bit of a laugh with the people on it. Like LOADS of profiles, you don't have to talk to anyone, even if they like yours back.

Just goes to show, different people have different ideas of what is fun.
    Some female friends of mine where on it and "wanted to see the competition" so encouraged me to download it and set up a profile, which involved giving it my facebook login (!?!)... so then they took my phone and started flicking through the women to comment on them.
    I got the phone back, spent maybe 15 minutes (if even) flicking through it, found it viscerally disturbing and creepy so I deleted it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

There's not many people living around me using it.
    The ones anywhere nearby are about 12 years younger than me so too young though I swiped right on them anyway haha.
    I imagine I've probably been rejected on this thing a ton already.
    Girls I wouldn't really fancy that I thought looked reasonably ok I swiped right on aswell.
    Going by my experience on this thing I'd have to lower my standards wayy down to the point where I'd have to go for girls Im not attracted to at all and when you find yourself doing that you might aswell give up altogether on it.
    I guess women just don't find me attractive.
    That's the sad lesson I've learnt from this disaster.

have you got your radius set to the max? are you getting to the end and running out of people? dont be disheartened! its based on a few bloody photos, people are way more attractive face to face :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭agriman27

Did anyone else notice in general how similar women look on tinder,just kinda a general overview, loads of girls have the same haircut, style of clothes and they basically all have the same stupid pose. I thought there would be more women would have their own image and not just conform to some sort of thing where they all look the same :pac:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Jeasus this thread is depressing. It's not magic lads you can't just click a button and have the babes fall at your feet ffs. I was on it about 2 months before I got any proper traction but then like busses a load came along at once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭agriman27

Another thing I find is that its difficult to catch when your matches are online unless your feckin sitting lookin at it all the time:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,156 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Though it's made in Australia it pretty much sums up tinder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    So I joined tinder last night and have 50 matches already. Should I be impressed or does everyone just like every picture??

That's awesome. Are you EdenHazards sister?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

so if accidently pass on someone is there no way of going back and liking them

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

Oh my days this thread makes me feel so glad to be old, married and hairy.

This tinder sounds horrendous, a personal grooming quagmire and a conveyor belt of awkwardness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,600 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Oh my days this thread makes me feel so glad to be old, married and hairy.

This tinder sounds horrendous, a personal grooming quagmire and a conveyor belt of awkwardness.

I don't get where you're getting this from. You put up pictures of yourself, if someone finds you attractive they swipe right for you, if not they swipe left. It cuts out all the bull**** on other dating apps where anyone can message anyone else. It's so much easier when there's a mutual feeling of attraction. It has it's flaws and there are a share of attention seekers on it but there are loads of really interesting people on it.

Yep I've decided after a week and a day of nothing that I'm uninstalling.
    It's just useless for me.
    I got zero matches after a week and a day.
    I ticked a lot of girls on it and no-one ticked me.
    I think in life some guys get all the girls and then there's people like me who are left on their own with zero girls, no female attention just hoping some day to maybe meet the right girl and it never happens.
    I'm an alright looking fella in real life(about average I suppose) but I don't take a good photo anyway.
    I just thought I'd give it a shot to try and meet someone but unfortunately it didn't work out.
    I think I'll try just being happy with being single and forget about meeting a girl. I don't need a girlfriend anyway probably better off without one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Seems to be 99% for self validation and 1% for actual dating and hookup purposes..
    I think in life some guys get all the girls and then there's people like me who are left on their own with zero girls, no female attention just hoping some day to maybe meet the right girl and it never happens.
    I'm an alright looking fella in real life(about average I suppose) but I don't take a good photo anyway.
    I just thought I'd give it a shot to try and meet someone but unfortunately it didn't work out.
    I think I'll try just being happy with being single and forget about meeting a girl. I don't need a girlfriend anyway probably better off without one.

Well ya won't get one with that attitude anyway! So defeatist.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 sszz

And then you have to think that even if you do manage to get a girlfriend they would only be settling for you, what they would really want is one of those lads who get all the female attention

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I'm not sure if you're a WUM or not but your attitude stinks, you can't be that down on yourself because it comes across in everything you do and then your prediction of being single forever will come true. Lighten up and stop over analysing everything and everything will happen in its own time.

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

You just need to follow the 2 golden rules:

1. Be attractive
    2. Don't be unattractive

Seriously though, I've met a few girls already from this, it's very easy. Filter by age, block the txt speekerz and you're good to go. Also living in a city is probably a major advantage... just a word of encouragement to the lad above having no joy with it because he lives somewhere remote - maybe increase the range a bit and give it another lash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Is it just me or is every girl on tinder gorgeous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

etxp wrote: »
    Is it just me or is every girl on tinder gorgeous?

It's just you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

GenieOz wrote: »
    It's just you.

Thank god for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭BadCompany

I think Tinder is great! There's a fair share of jokers on there just looking for a confidence boost - no interest in chatting not to mind dating (well, no interest in chatting to me at least :mad:) - but there's also some nice genuine people on it. At worst it's a bit of harmless fun and at best it's actually a pretty good way of meeting new people. I'd be far from the luckiest with the ladies, and last night was my second time in the last few weeks meeting a girl through it, had a great night. Most of my single friends are on it now and having a decent level of success with it. If you're in two minds about it, I'd encourage you to give it a go, it mightn't be for everyone but what's the worst that could happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

BadCompany wrote: »
    what's the worst that could happen?

Syphilis.

stimpson wrote: »
    Syphilis.

Antibiotic resistant syphilis...
    and super herpes.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭TheHappyChappy

yep thats about it

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Yeah but at least you'd get a ride out of it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

kiffer wrote: »
    super herpes.

worst. superhero. ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I need to get involved in this Tinder business. Sounds like fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

It has it's pro's and con's.

Pro - as a female you don't get overwhelmed by messages as with other sites that allows anyone email you. Can concentrate on chatting only to the guys you like.

Con - there's only really room for a tag line discription about someone and no one really fills it out (including myself). If someone was ok looking, their profile would help me decide to contact them or not. And figure out if a guy was a bit of a dick. Don't have that luxury on tinder.

It does seem like every guy likes every females picture, haven't had a non match yet which is a little weird.

yeahimhere wrote: »

It does seem like every guy likes every females picture, haven't had a non match yet which is a little weird.

... Are they not meant to do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭FollatonWood

Tried to download it but it's saying my iphone needs to be upgraded or some ****.

Maybe it's secretly trying to put me off joining.

Some pretty hot looking men on there! Us girls could easily creep all night

kiffer wrote: »
    ... Are they not meant to do that?

Well I'd assume I'm not every mans type.

Ah sure, who am I kidding I must be :p

They should save time and build in an option to the app "accept all'.

Tilly wrote: »

Ah here, rub it in!

Just came across a really hot fireman with his top off. Wouldn't date him but DAMN he was hot hot hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Well I'd assume I'm not every mans type.

Ah sure, who am I kidding I must be :p

They should save time and build in an option to the app "accept all'.

I just like everybody before their picture even loads up. Turn on the app, swipe twenty times, turn it off again.

Just came across a really hot fireman with his top off. Wouldn't date him but DAMN he was hot hot hot.
    Yeah topless pics are good to look at but i'd never pick a guy that was that into himself.

Keep your clothes on lads if you want a date ;)

Yeah topless pics are good to look at but i'd never pick a guy that was that into himself.

Keep your clothes on lads if you want a date ;)

It kinda depends, like on a dating site you can tell by whether they've made an effort on their profile if they're saps or not - and sometimes you can let them off with the odd shirtless selfie. I mean, muscles don't come easy and I've a respect for hard work :cool:

Of course they dont come easy. But that's not what i look for. If you've got something funny to say then i'm sold. If you've got topless pics, i'm swiping left. Just not my thing. I can enjoy their hard work when i meet them ;)

Of course they dont come easy. But that's not what i look for. If you've got something funny to say then i'm sold. If you've got topless pics, i'm swiping left. Just not my thing.

If they have both - I'm sold :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Tried to download it but it's saying my iphone needs to be upgraded or some ****.

Maybe it's secretly trying to put me off joining.

Have you got the latest update to iOS7?

https://www.apple.com/ios/

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Have you got the latest update to iOS7?

https://www.apple.com/ios/

I'm trying that on the update settings yoke, but it's saying I don't have enough storage :mad:

Delete some porn ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Do women include anything other than Marilyn Monroe quotes in their "about me" section? I swear, if I see one more "I'm selfish, impatient, a complete and utter pain in the arse so if you don't want to put up me being a bunny boiler then you don't deserve me" quote. Grrrr......

Paully D wrote: »
    Do women include anything other than Marilyn Monroe quotes in their "about me" section? I swear, if I see one more "I'm selfish, impatient, a complete and utter pain in the arse so if you don't want to put up me being a bunny boiler then you don't deserve me" quote. Grrrr......
    Makes it easier for you to filter the gimps tho :)

I'd say it attracts them.

Paully D wrote: »

I'll match that with the short but sweet male equivalent "live is for living".

Well duh.

And it'll be accompanied purely by pics of sculling beer. Yeah. Living life alright...

I'd say it attracts them.

No sane minded man would message a girl with that message. Would they? Gimps the lot of them :p

I'm glad I left tinder now ,looking at these comments.
    Calling men you don't know saps and gimps.
    That's very charming alright.