Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

gozunda wrote: »
    Can I claim a prize :D ?

Maybe half a prize. ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,867 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

note to self never plan anything. Plan was to bring kids bowling and take our time coming home, had a lad to milk this evening. We where bowling and my dad rang he needed a hand with a suckler, ended up having to get vet to do a section- first ever section on sucklers in 26 years of having them-I said i would milk and the lad that was to milk would help the vet and my dad. Anyways live aa bull calf he was upside down and backwards. Going to have a glass of wine now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

It feels weird being finished at 6. First time since autumn I'd say since I've been finished with nothing to do. Won't be long lived with silage coming up.

What do you guys and gals do when your finished early :D

It feels weird being finished at 6. First time since autumn I'd say since I've been finished with nothing to do. Won't be long lived with silage coming up.

When you have kids, finishing early means you mess around with them for the evening. In your case. ..... give the GF a nudge

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭eddiek

what do ye guys use to heat the water for calf milk replacer? small set ups

When you have kids, finishing early means you mess around with them for the evening. In your case. ..... give the GF a nudge

Ah I'll give her a buzz later :)

you might need to give her more than a buzz

whelan2 wrote: »
    you might need to give her more than a buzz

Whaaaaa?? I'm clueless :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Wettest day iv seen in a long time, let cattle in to grass that was knee high in places they are ploughing it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

dharn wrote: »
    Wettest day iv seen in a long time, let cattle in to grass that was knee high in places they are ploughing it :(

Same as that , got the jeep stuck when I was putting down the fence , they did a run around some lovely grass and were putting clods flying after them :mad:

moy83 wrote: »
    Same as that , got the jeep stuck when I was putting down the fence , they did a run around some lovely grass and were putting clods flying after them :mad:

Same as that. Heifers ploughing some ground yesterday. Part of a shed got blown away today too......

Is this may? Or did I sleep through the summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Same as that. Heifers ploughing some ground yesterday. Part of a shed got blown away today too......

Is this may? Or did I sleep through the summer

Jaysus was it that windy ? June is only around the corner so hopefully the sun wont be far away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭tanko

moy83 wrote: »
    Jaysus was it that windy ? June is only around the corner so hopefully the sun wont be far away

A neighbour of mine reckons there's two seasons in Ireland, July and winter.

Father keeps repeating this to me...
    A wet and windy may fills the barns with hay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

same around here!

When was the last time cattle were fed hay for the winter?
    Times have moved on. Silage is cut in May. Rain stay the fcuk away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I hear that and the other one-

"If the oak before the ash, then we'll only have a splash, if the ash before the oak, then we'll surely have a soak"

Ash still isn't out here so hope to feck that's true :D

.Kovu. wrote: »
    I hear that and the other one-

"If the oak before the ash, then we'll only have a splash, if the ash before the oak, then we'll surely have a soak"

Ash still isn't out here so hope to feck that's true :D
    what was it like in 2012?

I don't remember! :(

Nearly cried for this lad. Couldn't imagine the feeling of having to see your cattlevshot and the badgers running around the spotTB Free England: Farmers' stories: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLfQQD6ZJA60ZkIEpbZqkBszW_JvTx6HCB

anyone watching eurovision was the austria contestant male oe female?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

That's bob , that's where he has been last while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭tanko

Didn't see them but I'm fairly sure the polish ones were females:)

tanko wrote: »
    Didn't see them but I'm fairly sure the polish ones were females:)

I had a hearty laugh when I realised the song following the Polish one was named 'Rise Up' :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Oak was out before the ash here :D

Oldtree wrote: »

I couldn't tell ya here. ....... all the trees were knock over the winter

@ baseprice hows the cow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭willfarmerman

Oldtree wrote: »

Unfortunately the local interpretation of that is a soak is more meaning the land will soak up meaning dry up. Ash was out well before oak here last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,359 ✭✭✭✭Base price

@ baseprice hows the cow?
    She is much better and back to herself. I am not in Longford today so OH is doing the work :P
    The quarter has returned to normal size but there is still watery stuff coming before milk.
    I will see her myself tomorrow and report back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Live camera stream from the ISS

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/iss-hdev-payload

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

note to self never plan anything. Plan was to bring kids bowling and take our time coming home, had a lad to milk this evening. We where bowling and my dad rang he needed a hand with a suckler, ended up having to get vet to do a section- first ever section on sucklers in 26 years of having them-I said i would milk and the lad that was to milk would help the vet and my dad. Anyways live aa bull calf he was upside down and backwards. Going to have a glass of wine now

Best go CH next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Only started milking at 6 tonight! Was out at an athletics event. Thats an exception though ha. I'd actually love if I could consistently finish up at 6pm every day, I'd actually make training on time then! Loads other things to do in the evenings also, I try make it to the cinema once or twice a month, head off to see the nephews one evening every week or so also. I'm trying to get in the habit of separating the farm from other work and any household choirs also, I largely try to do any farm paperwork during the day if I can, next step is to pin down say 2hrs on a mon morning to keep ontop of any paperwork or bills etc, instead of having to do them last minute at say 11pm ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bit of light work today

Reggie. wrote: »
    Bit of light work today

Bearing gone?

It was like opening pandoras box it was

eddiek wrote: »
    what do ye guys use to heat the water for calf milk replacer? small set ups
    My brother installed a small second hand water heater in the yard. It heats about 30 ltrs to whatever temp you set it at. You can have it boiling if you want.
    When we were feeding larger numbers of calves we used hot water from the house that was heated by the rayburn. OH put a tap (hot water) outside the back door that we filled into a 120 ltr barrel. I bought a digital timer in Aldi a few years ago, for the water heater in the yard so we did not have to wait for the water to heat.
    We are still using the water heater as the last batch of calves are on OAD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Bit of light work today

At least you have it clean to be working on anyway. Often seen yokes that you wouldn't be able to see a bolt with the s***e

visatorro wrote: »
    At least you have it clean to be working on anyway. Often seen yokes that you wouldn't be able to see a bolt with the s***e

Nothing worse I can tell ya but the loader can make it a little awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Nothing worse I can tell ya but the loader can make it a little awkward.

Is it tricky to take off?

Muckit wrote: »
    Is it tricky to take off?

Just too lazy to take it off. It's more the brackets than the loader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Just too lazy to take it off. It's more the brackets than the loader

A loader's woeful handy to jack up a tractor. Though you've a good way of jacking compared to me.

That's what it was used for aswell and then just slide the axle stand

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭eddiek

Base price wrote: »
    My brother installed a small second hand water heater in the yard. It heats about 30 ltrs to whatever temp you set it at. You can have it boiling if you want.
    When we were feeding larger numbers of calves we used hot water from the house that was heated by the rayburn. OH put a tap (hot water) outside the back door that we filled into a 120 ltr barrel. I bought a digital timer in Aldi a few years ago, for the water heater in the yard so we did not have to wait for the water to heat.
    We are still using the water heater as the last batch of calves are on OAD.

thanks.so its ok to use water from the hot tap in the house?

eddiek wrote: »
    thanks.so its ok to use water from the hot tap in the house?
    Yes, why would there be a problem using it. Once you have it a the correct temperature for mixing.

going to head over to see the giro d'italia:D

Bearing gone?

Nope hub seal. Might have made a booboo when putting it back it tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Base price wrote: »
    Yes, why would there be a problem using it. Once you have it a the correct temperature for mixing.

The oul fitted a hot tap outsde the back kitchen window exactly for that job. That was back in the 80's. Easiest solution is always the best. Why pay for electricity when you can heat with turf?

Off for a carvery dinner with the girlfriend. Should be nice. Back then for milking :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Off for a carvery dinner with the girlfriend. Should be nice. Back then for milking :(

trainee milker?

td5man wrote: »
    trainee milker?

I've tried. I don't have enough time for the amount of training required :D