Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Not sure if it is as it seems. Ireland is not unique in consumers buying cars at start of year.So car makers have to stockpile. all year long until Jan1st. Only now would the stockpile be reduced down. Google maps is not real time so you cannot check at present.
    True, but they have been pulling prodn the last few qtrs.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Damo810 wrote: »
    Yes. Was looking at a giant defy 4 and a specialised bike too. Will have a right look today. The defy http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/giant-defy-for-sale/6960204

The one bike would di me as I could also do up the mountain bike I have. Or upgrade the road bike as time goes on :D

Hmmm I think you could get a better bike to be honest. It is a grand entry level machine, but it has a Sora group set, I would get something with Tiagra+ if I were you. Good tyres though. That's the entry level Giant road bike too, and it's a couple of years old. You can do better for €500 IMO, but it is a great starter bike, should be reliable. But you will want to upgrade.

And the correct number of bikes is n+1, n being the number of bikes you already own, the minimum being 3. It's a slippery slope! I don't think I will ever have enough bikes. Well ones that work. Only 1 is operational at the moment, I keep canibalising the other ones for parts that are essential to their rolling abilities. :rolleyes:
    The Rules:
    http://www.velominati.com/the-rules/

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

I'm hoping to divide a field into two paddocks, Paced it out today and measured 206 paces. So I'm thinkling 206 metres. Measured it there on Google Earth and got 208 metres. Should have saved myself the long walk. :D

I've used this in the past, is it as accurate as google earth?

http://www.acme.com/planimeter/

Damo 810, if I had €500 to spend I would be after this (once I'd changed the bars):
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057211987

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

gadetra wrote: »
    Damo 810, if I had €500 to spend I would be after this (once I'd changed the bars):
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057211987

Mullingar is a bit away from me (Based in Mayo) but i'l look into it tomorrow!

Donedeal returned the following that would be closer to me..

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/road-bike-for-sale/6740266

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/cube-peloton/6620987

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/trek-alpha-1-2/6673038

http://www.donedeal.ie/bicycles-for-sale/bicycle-for-sale/5809968

54cm bike would suit be better than a 58cm so 2 of the above might be out already! I'l fire up a thread on the cycling forum tomorrow!

I love the look of that carbon trek, and good wheel and group set. However, I would wonder how old it is (carbon can get flexi as it ages), has it ever been races/crashed etc.
    If a 54cm is your size I would be very wary of getting a 58, unless you put a tiny stem on it and have the saddle right up along the rails it may be uncomfy. I am not gone on number two, I wouldn't buy a Cube having heard about cracks on frames etc. but some people love them and have no bother with them so to each their own. The last two are 58cm so maybe out.
    Fire up a thread in cycling, you will get a whole raft of helpful replies way more knowledgeable than me. Oh I wish I was bike shopping. *sigh*.
    I'd have the Ridley, it's a great set up for the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

whelan2 wrote: »
    They would tell me if they notice anything strange when cutting her up

That's a pity after bringig her on to bulling age.

We lost one two years ago like that.
    After a PM turned out it was White Muscle disease from a selenium diffeciency. Were in a low selenium and high molibdium area here. Her heart wasn't well enough developed and once she got to a certain weight her heart couldn't manage and she died from heart failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

So l could be right!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Muckit wrote: »
    So l could be right!! :D
    will let ya know when i know:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Feckin sick again this morning, Mayo doesn't agree with me!

Mayo doesn't like having ye foreigners about!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Get the shakes when ya cross the border

Gods way of punishing me for leaving the promised land...... Gods such a b...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

_Brian wrote: »
    That's a pity after bringig her on to bulling age.

We lost one two years ago like that.
    After a PM turned out it was White Muscle disease from a selenium diffeciency. Were in a low selenium and high molibdium area here. Her heart wasn't well enough developed and once she got to a certain weight her heart couldn't manage and she died from heart failure.

Interesting, iv never came across White Muscle disease I must look it up.

when i was calving a cow the other day-calf was massive- there was a pop. Did anyone ever hear this before, would it have been her hip? She is standing but she isnt putting weight on one side.

10256123_709286555777183_7634445827209746622_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

10256123_709286555777183_7634445827209746622_n.jpg

no wonder you get asked for ID

g[/IMG]
    <snip>

So true. Class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,355 ✭✭✭naughto

when i was calving a cow the other day-calf was massive- there was a pop. Did anyone ever hear this before, would it have been her hip? She is standing but she isnt putting weight on one side.
    its not your own hip by any chance

Interesting, iv never came across White Muscle disease I must look it up.

Indeed..
    The other thing the vet thought it could have been was blackleg around the heart. I've never heard of that either but the vet said it can be the cause of unexplained sudden deaths in otherwise healthy animals..

When I checked the maps we are indeed in a low Selenium area, combined with a high molybdenum area... I see some weanlings that went out in the spring are already showing copper diffeciency on their coats.. Just waiting on All Trace bolus for them at the moment but gave some a copper shot Saturday anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Indeed..
    The other thing the vet thought it could have been was blackleg around the heart. I've never heard of that either but the vet said it can be the cause of unexplained sudden deaths in otherwise healthy animals..

When I checked the maps we are indeed in a low Selenium area, combined with a high molybdenum area... I see some weanlings that went out in the spring are already showing copper diffeciency on their coats.. Just waiting on All Trace bolus for them at the moment but gave some a copper shot Saturday anyway.

where would a man go to get a look at them there maps you refer to Brian

I was looking for this before when lads were on about paying themselves a wages from the farms profits, but couldn't find it until now!

Paddy McCoy, an elderly Irish farmer, received a letter from the Department for Work & Pensions stating that they suspected he was not paying his employees the statutory minimum wage and they would send an inspector to interview them.
    On the appointed day, the inspector turned up.
    "Tell me about your staff," he asked Paddy.
    "Well," said Paddy, "there's the farm hand, I pay him €240 a week, and he has a free cottage.
    Then there's the housekeeper. She gets £190 a week, along with free board and lodging.
    There's also the half-wit. He works a 16 hour day, does 90% of the work, earns about £25 a week along with a bottle of whisky and, as a special treat, occasionally gets to sleep with my wife."

"That's disgraceful" said the inspector, "I need to interview the half-wit."

"That'll be me then," said Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Paddy must be near the border cause, he's paying the farm hand in €'s and the housekeeper in £'s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

It's gone very quiet in here....are ye planning on an uprising of some sort:D:pac:

.Kovu. wrote: »
    It's gone very quiet in here....are ye planning on an uprising of some sort:D:pac:

Ye mods need to watch your backs, thats all I'm aloud to say.. :pac:

Damo810 wrote: »
    Ye mods need to watch your backs, thats all I'm aloud to say.. :pac:

My back? Unless you're under my leaba I think I'm safe til morning :D

.Kovu. wrote: »
    My back? Unless you're under my leaba I think I'm safe ti:Dl morning

Crouching tiger hidden Damo810 :eek:

Just back from co louth. Collecting machinery with a mate. My god they are a different breed of people up there hey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Reggie. wrote: »
    Just back from co louth. Collecting machinery with a mate. My god they are a different breed of people up there hey :D

Boy you are gonna get bitch slapped.:D

yup we are very nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

You got owned reggie

Never seen anyone argue over €10 as fiercely......well maybe that Cavan crowd :p

You got owned reggie

Never

Never seen anyone argue over €10 as fiercely......well maybe that Cavan crowd :p

Ye must have been arguing as fiercely back.......

I was a spectator.

But that's a weeks wage for a farmer here in Cavan. Who wouldn't argue over a weeks wage ;)

where would a man go to get a look at them there maps you refer to Brian

When I'm back at the laptop I'll post a link to the article I was using.

Know a Cork farmers wife who's worse, argued over one euro!

Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

iv a fecking headache this morning, nothing to do with the few pints last night id say! cows had broken wire and were across two paddocks this morning aswell. the joys!

Farming is full of funny folk.
    Farm I pass regularly still has ~ 30 weanlings housed feeding silage. He'll keep them in for another few weeks till he cuts silage. He cuts whole farm (small) in the first cut and then turns stock out after the cut. Then cuts half or so In a second cut.
    Sells them in back end and then buys in fresh stock. So they are housed for 8 months of the year.

It just seems so inefficient and he's on a decent dry farm too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Farming is full of funny folk.
    Farm I pass regularly still has ~ 30 weanlings housed feeding silage. He'll keep them in for another few weeks till he cuts silage. He cuts whole farm (small) in the first cut and then turns stock out after the cut. Then cuts half or so In a second cut.
    Sells them in back end and then buys in fresh stock. So they are housed for 8 months of the year.

It just seems so inefficient and he's on a decent dry farm too.
    Not quite as bad in this area but most beef/suckler lads never let anything out till April/may.
    They graze whole place in a week then and wonder why they have no grass then.
    All the suckler lads around me this year started using the strip wire. But they never fenced off the last piece they graze when they move the fence on. None of them understand about putting out fert early and about grazing regrowth

Not quite as bad in this area but most beef/suckler lads never let anything out till April/may.
    All the suckler lads around me this year started using the strip wire. But they never fenced off the last piece they graze when they move the fence on. None of them understand about putting out fert early and about grazing regrowth

I would definitely include myself in saying most/many beef lads are behind the curve on grass management. But you do see lads changing practices and managing grass better.

Were landlocked by a number if older bachelors and they are all old school. Sucklers allowed to roam the whole grazing block, no grass management , no forward creep grazing calves, weanlings bulling cows. In our area I see the problem as being related to the older age profile who are farming as they always did. They have only themselves to support, have decent land blocks and SFP so there is no need to change, some are drawing the pension too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

That's all right if ya have fcuk all else to be at I work off farm so when I get home it's great to know which area cattle are in instead of traipsing around like a knob.will have extra bales here this year with better management of grass .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

It is not rocket science placing a water trough in the middle of the field is an answer to a lot of these issue, but most drystock and older farmers would have a hearth attack. Put a few posts beside it and fence to them this allows a field to become 4 paddocks.

Most dairy farmers forget that they supplement early and late in the season so it is a factor on turnout date. The biggest factor I see is resistance to reseeding by drystock farmers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Wasn't my wife anyway. Apparently it grows on trees around here.

What if you have your ground planted ;)

It wasn't my wife either. ..... We are living in sin

Ye'll all be invited when I do get married

Better be a free bar

Her husband was buying ewes off me at the time, I wouldn't have minded so much except the price of blackface sheep was on the floor the same year and they were quality stock.

That was the year I was forced to sell out sheep by the dept, had a quota for 30 and had 55 ewes (90 hectares!). Looked for extra quote and was reduced down to 22 :rolleyes: To say I was disillusioned that day is an understatement.

It was a fair while ago now, if it happened today she'd have been told in short order where to go.