Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Up in Ballyshannon for the Rory Gallagher festival.Great music , but some seriously hardy looking chaws around. And that's just the women.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Up in Ballyshannon for the Rory Gallagher festival.Great music , but some seriously hardy looking chaws around. And that's just the women.....:)

Some hardy chaws in dublin too real eye opener

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

whelan2 wrote: »

Ya must be gettin warmed up by now?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

How ya getting on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Any breeding bulls or nice heifers fit for service up there:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Any breeding bulls or nice heifers fit for service up there:)

Preferably ones that aren't like the travelling bulls:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Fookin dying,home at half 5 got up at dinner time ,starting to milk now and then round 2 later on.feel like taking the pledge!!!!great night.how did ur night of fine dinning go Sheba ??

You're alive!!
    Grub was fine but no menu. Nine course "tasting" menu so you've no choice, not even the wine!
    For €200 per head I'd like to choose my own food.
    Good friends over and he's very high up in one of the largest Co-op's. Wouldn't want people to know that he's a "Bon viveur".
    Baling that grass today and it will be hay tomorrow. They call that haylage don't they? Plenty plastic on bales I suppose.
    Almost out of grass. Cows in next week unless we've a major rain event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Baling that grass today and it will be hay tomorrow. They call that haylage don't they? Plenty plastic on bales I suppose.
    Almost out of grass. Cows in next week unless we've a major rain event.[/quote]

If you can make really good haylage the horse boys over there will pay $50 a bale! The old boss man was well in with sum of the top stables and ch breeders and he youst to export it to France!

Almost out of grass. Cows in next week unless we've a major rain event.

If you can make really good haylage the horse boys over there will pay $50 a bale! The old boss man was well in with sum of the top stables and ch breeders and he youst to export it to France![/quote]

Yes it's ryegrass haylage so it should be top class.
    I export quite a bit of horse hay to Newmarket.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Preferably ones that aren't like the travelling bulls:P

There are a few 'travelling heifers' around these parts:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

There are a few 'travelling heifers' around these parts:o

Grand easy going girls

moy83 wrote: »
    Grand easy going girls

Can't beat them :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Can't beat them :D

You can beat the wife but you can't beat the craic !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Suckler cows and calves stolen from Meelick in East Clare Friday night.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Suckler cows and calves stolen from Meelick in East Clare Friday night.:mad:

Thieving cnuts

Had a great night and a lie on this morning

A lie in? So you didn't get up until a quarter past six?

Spoilt so ya were.... Was there karaoke involved :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Told you. One you get out it Uiu always have a great night. It's just the hassle and thoughts of getting everything arranged. We all need a good piss up and day away from the farm every so often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

See the gardi after putting up a photo on twitter where they pulled over a 16yr old driving a new Holland and mower. Seized and proceedings in progress. Seems excessiv. I was driving the roads here at that age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

See the gardi after putting up a photo on twitter where they pulled over a 16yr old driving a new Holland and mower. Seized and proceedings in progress. Seems excessiv. I was driving the roads here at that age

Shur are you not allowed at that age? I was drawing corn at 16 anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

May have had no licience, and if so no insurance. Along with that may have had no road tax.

They said he had licence. It was a contractors machine so I'd say more than likely had tax and insurance

This us what it said

Has there been a change with learner permits and tractors??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

This us what it said

Is this because of the new permit thing? I was driving at that age to but I think they want you to have the full licence now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Need a full licence for to drive that monster.

Can't expect rules to be different for someone who can't even legally drive a car till 17.

Haven't driven a tractor in years.

10 or 11 was 1st time in a David brown couldn't see over the front:-D

Can't expect rules to be different for someone who can't even legally drive a car till 17.

Well I got tractor license when I was 16. So yeah the rules are different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

It's still 16 years old for the 'W' Learner Permit, but according to the Garda twitter feed, this particular person was "carrying a passenger (not a qualified Driver,) no tax no insurance."
    https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/473372972720615424/photo/1

went to this place last night http://www.chaiyo.ie/ really good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

can you show me where that is stated ?

all my gang drove from 16 years on

none of the tractors had a passenger seat ;);)

Rovi wrote: »
    It's still 16 years old for the 'W' Learner Permit, but according to the Garda twitter feed, this particular person was "carrying a passenger (not a qualified Driver,) no tax no insurance."
    https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/473372972720615424/photo/1

Everyone asking them what's the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Everyone asking them what's the problem.

I'd say someone isn't thrilled about the donegal posting and is trying to make a nuisance of himself using the tried and tested overzealous tactic, kinda like work to rule only not. I'm sure his boss hasn't had any calls from irate farmers or contractors today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

the torture of doing silage with a mother of al hangovers, gonna be a long time til quiting time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

This us what it said

If they think thats a monster if hate to see what they'd make of a set of triple mowers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Lads.

What kind of "weed" is this? Have a field that has loads of it growing out flat amongst the grass, hasn't been reseeded in a lifetime. Is there anything that would kill it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Pit covered, shower got and cleaned up, throwing tyres is a big downside to pit :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

royaler83 wrote: »
    Lads.

What kind of "weed" is this? Have a field that has loads of it growing out flat amongst the grass, hasn't been reseeded in a lifetime. Is there anything that would kill it off

Its a plantain by the looks of it. picture of plant would help and its flowering spike.

royaler83 wrote: »
    Lads.

Plantain. Only ever had bother with it in the lawn. I'd be going with glyphosate before reseeding and ph of 6.5 to 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

still just a pic of the leaf :D but its plantain alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

MCPA controls it so its easy controlled in pasture

Oldtree wrote: »
    Its a plantain by the looks of it. picture of plant would help and its flowering spike.

Here it is in the ground

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/227756/309443.jpg

Would that be what we call traaneens around here ?

Don't know what you're talking about :p

Got proper one posted there

Banks are selling a neighbours field, this sign went up during the week but someone tore in half .

theres always two sides to every story

Ah yeah I know. I won't say to much about it but he's in a right mess!

rangler1 wrote: »
    MCPA controls it so its easy controlled in pasture

Was hoping mcpa would sort it :D