Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    My own self has just returned from hospital with one very near miss by a lake wth a seizure.
    I always passed off my seizures as very hit & miss but dear god, if those lads near me weren't there today I'd be face down with my lifejacket.

Lucky there missus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Reggie. wrote: »
    Lucky there missus

very much so. no kayaking again for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

My own self has just returned from hospital with one very near miss by a lake wth a seizure.
    I always passed off my seizures as very hit & miss but dear god, if those lads near me weren't there today I'd be face down with my lifejacket.
    not being smart but maybe a lake isnt the best place to be until meds are sorted out also driving should be stopped too

very much so. no kayaking again for me!

Another sport crossed off

driving stopped since i was on meds for it. Apologies for grammar, am on phone. .

takes along long time to get the meds just right. Write down every episode to show to docs so they know what they are dealing with. Nephew now has no fits-thank god- just absences, he could be talking away and would stop mid sentence

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

:eek::eek::eek:
    You one lucky .Kovu.
    Was beginning to wonder about why there were no posts from you recently. Hope you feeling a bit better and are back to 'normal' soon.
    Take care of yourself anyway

:eek::eek::eek:
    You one lucky .Kovu.
    Was beginning to wonder about why there were no posts from you recently. Hope you feeling a bit better and are back to 'normal' soon.
    Take care of yourself anyway

Well as normal as Kovu can get ;):D

I chose my words carefully:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Feckin hell , look after yourself Kovu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Wow, ya got a warning there girl. Be careful !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭mayota

You poor thing, hope your feeling better now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

You are a very lucky girl.

You need to stay in company until you get the meds sorted.

Happened my dad a few years back he would go walking after lunch collapsed on the side of the road 2 lorries passed and never seen him. A neighbour found him and came to the door but OH was working and I was out on the farm so she called an ambulance. I had left him in the house as I thought he looked tired and could do with a snooze. Some fright when I got back.

Just on another note the young lads were cycling to the pitch last night and had an accident with a car. First time I ever seen a 12 yr old kill a car, he has done at least 1k of damage to the front of it.

dzer2 wrote: »

Happened my dad a few years back he would go walking after lunch collapsed on the side of the road 2 lorries passed and never seen him. A neighbour found him and came to the door but OH was working and I was out on the farm so she called an ambulance. I had left him in the house as I thought he looked tired and could do with a snooze. Some fright when I got back.

Just on another note the young lads were cycling to the pitch last night and had an accident with a car. First time I ever seen a 12 yr old kill a car, he has done at least 1k of damage to the front of it.

Is he alright

Fine not even a graze:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Fine not even a graze:eek:

Is his name Clark by any chance?

munkus wrote: »
    Is his name Clark by any chance?

No but its like living with the incredables around here

What he do. Kick the car

No was cycling to pitch and the road is twisty enough the car came around the bend and braked a stopped in the middle of the road one lad went by on the left side and he had to go around the passenger side but misjudged it and struck the bumper on at the lights flying up onto the bonnet. He broke the bumper, light and put a massive dent in the bonnet and cracked the windscreen. Not a scratch on him and the bike is fine only the handle bars are mis aligned. Could have being killed on the spot so what do you say to him.

Jaysus very lucky lad

Same lad that tried to stop a bale of silage rolling down a hill 2 yrs ago:o

Ya may get him a crash helmet for gods sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Mind yourself kove, back in hospital today my self with the eye. It's not pink eye now it's sum other mad name. They were doing pressure tests on my eye (not nice atall) they say I may loose sum vision in it and it may take months to get right. It may be connected to my bad back they said!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Came home last night and decided it might be best bring in cattle for the night anyway as the field I out them in yesterday am had a nice cover and would be the wettest field here so I was thinking of the marking the field and walking grass into the ground, glad I did now, any other field would take last nights and today's rain just this one needs more tlc

Mind yourself kove, back in hospital today my self with the eye. It's not pink eye now it's sum other mad name. They were doing pressure tests on my eye (not nice atall) they say I may loose sum vision in it and it may take months to get right. It may be connected to my bad back they said!!

Connected to your back. That's mad

Hope all goes well for ya

Cheers ya twill be grand. Ya she said it's getting more commen for the eyes getting like this with certain back trouble. I never herd of it before ider!

simx wrote: »
    Came home last night and decided it might be best bring in cattle for the night anyway as the field I out them in yesterday am had a nice cover and would be the wettest field here so I was thinking of the marking the field and walking grass into the ground, glad I did now, any other field would take last nights and today's rain just this one needs more tlc

Few acres of old bog here that's the same. Grows good grass but sum tlc needed at times to. Kind off afraid to drain it to much as it's very peetey soil and it might do more harm than good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Few acres of old bog here that's the same. Grows good grass but sum tlc needed at times to. Kind off afraid to drain it to much as it's very peetey soil and it might do more harm than good.

Not giving such fields tlc in such conditions is how some land is in such bad condition IMO

I'm ok, just seems to have been triggered by low blood sugar. Have a blood sugar testing kit thingy now to do every so often. I always have had low blood pressure but doc was concerned by me drinking 3-4 litres of water every day, which I always have done as I would feel faint otherwise.

But anyway....yea sports, I'm allowed cycle/bike ride...my bike is a mountain bike! Mountain biking? Close enough to a safe sport:pac::D
    For those that know it was a grand mal seizure followed by a petit mal.
    Every single muscle in my body hurts today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Low sugars, eat more chocolate eating-chocolate-bunny.gif:D

I rue the day I taught you those animated smileys work :P:P
    And don't really like chocolate. I'm fecked!

Oldtree wrote: »
    Low sugars, eat more chocolate eating-chocolate-bunny.gif:D
    lucozade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

I'm ok, just seems to have been triggered by low blood sugar. Have a blood sugar testing kit thingy now to do every so often. I always have had low blood pressure but doc was concerned by me drinking 3-4 litres of water every day, which I always have done as I would feel faint otherwise.

But anyway....yea sports, I'm allowed cycle/bike ride...my bike is a mountain bike! Mountain biking? Close enough to a safe sport:pac::D
    For those that know it was a grand mal seizure followed by a petit mal.
    Every single muscle in my body hurts today.

would low blood sugar not mean diabetes?

naughto wrote: »

No I was blood tested for everything last time in hospital, low blood pressure & sugar. Just one of those people that seems to have odd bloods.

Possible hemochromatosis (spelling) so give more blood though.
    And no fizzy drinks for me bar coke whelan, lucozade makes me burrrrrrrp:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

naughto wrote: »
    No. High blood sugar. In diabetes the body processes the food and releases it into the blood but the body doesn't produce enough insulin to move the sugars into the cells to fuel them. So they top up their insulin produced with an injection of more to get the sugar into the cells.

But if too much insulin is given then the blood sugar drops and the diabetic gets a 'hypo' where the brain more or less starts to shut down leading into a possible coma, which is the situation where most people come across diabetics.

Connected to your back. That's mad

I'm sorry Reggie but I seen this post and I can't help myself
    Reggie considers himself a bit of a specialist when it comes to my arse. The courts have failed to protect me from this man.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90776874&postcount=26

I'm sorry Reggie but I seen this post and I can't help myself

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90776874&postcount=26

Was looking at that post thinking "when did I say that". Apology not accepted :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

whelan2 wrote: »
    lucozade

I'm on a course of flat 7up for severe man flu. 😩

td5man wrote: »

Get that man an ambulance.

Only really reading back now, that's exactly how I go beforehand. Almost drunk acting/like a stroke. I normally get tunnel vision too and go far whiter than usual.. My meds are varied, was on 25mg, then 50mg, now on 200. Can't even look at cattle by rghts but if that stops I'll feckng die! I have to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

All the complaints on here today I think yours is the most serious :-) I'll light a candle for you , hopefully it'll help you pull through ....

moy83 wrote: »
    All the complaints on here today I think yours is the most serious :-) I'll light a candle for you , hopefully it'll help you pull through ....
    i hope its not the " no one has Ever been this sick before" strain , thats just awful.

moy83 wrote: »

As an atheist it won't be much help to me, it might keep me warm though.

whelan2 wrote: »
    i hope its not the " no one has Ever been this sick before" strain , thats just awful.

Well they haven't.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

a big feed of drink, followed by some serious tlc followed by a big breakfast and a lie in, works wonders

if the wife gets it, pack her and the kids off to her sisters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Piece on sustainable farming on Sean O' Rourke this morning

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_seanorourke.xml

a big feed of drink, followed by some serious tlc followed by a big breakfast and a lie in, works wonders

if the wife gets it, pack her and the kids off to her sisters

Or mothers

Well they haven't.
    the other strain i have witnessed is "my head is rolling down the street " strain, thats fairly severe too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

Or mothers
    its great when they head off to the mothers for the day even better when you get a text to say come over for the dinner