Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Damo810 wrote: »
    Don't be silly, I've never been caught yet! :D
    YET!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Heard today about a bunch of lads heading to Galway for a stag night. One fellow said he would travel under his own steam because he had a load to pick up with the truck the next day in Galway somewhere.
    Disappeared about midnight, and didn't reappear till near 3am, covered in dirt.
    Next morning, the lads saw he had a load of sheep in the truck :eek:

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Heard today about a bunch of lads heading to Galway for a stag night. One fellow said he would travel under his own steam because he had a load to pick up with the truck the next day in Galway somewhere.
    Disappeared about midnight, and didn't reappear till near 3am, covered in dirt.
    Next morning, the lads saw he had a load of sheep in the truck :eek:

Bit of skull duggery going on :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Reminds me of the time last year when about 6 lads heading back from the local. A few lads well on it and usual messing. Squad car pulls up and yer driving goes the usual 'where are ye from lads?'. Young Ban Garda in the passenger seat and as soon as the lads spot her all over to the window. She was just laughing away.:D

Was it the handcuffs, the uniform or what attracted yous to the Ban garda.

If you had been arrested would she of been able to make it stand up in court:D

Was it the handcuffs, the uniform or what attracted yous to the Ban garda.

If you had been arrested would she of been able to make it stand up in court:D

DAISY!!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Don't know how to answer that one!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Boys boys, If you had the proper protection policy you probably would of been fully covered:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

any of ye lads ever get waxed for charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Went looking at cattle today on rented ground, calf missing, found down under a bush with pneumonia, had to go home and get jeep and box to realise the insurance is out two days on jeep, so 12ft I for on the car and away, (my poor clutch) :/ , then had to put calf in wheelbarrow and pull him up a nice bit of a brow to flat part where car parked, home now and exhausted, I think I deserve pints tonight

whelan2 wrote: »
    any of ye lads ever get waxed for charity?

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Oldtree wrote: »
    That drift is a bugger, I always use some cardboard to catch a bit of the drift, jic

Had a closer look and where I thought from the distance was leaves yellowing.... Is sawfly lave stripping the leaves... holy crap they can devour leaves.. I sprayed today for them but some of the bushes have near no leaves left..

_Brian wrote: »
    Had a closer look and where I thought from the distance was leaves yellowing.... Is sawfly lave stripping the leaves... holy crap they can devour leaves.. I sprayed today for them but some of the bushes have near no leaves left..

Panic over so

• Registered Users Posts: 21 yourmanthere

lads any farm building forums ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

insecticide not herbicide :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

lads any farm building forums ?

[MOD]

yourmanthere, please dont go asking the same question within the same forum.

[/MOD]

alright apologies. new here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

alright apologies. new here

Don't lose any sleep over it, ur just finding ur feet here. Give it a while and I'm sure you'll find all the info u want and more!!

ok thanks for that

Welcome aboard

went to waxing night for an hour, great cause- for a local kid with cancer- and great lads getting waxed, looked very painful:D:D

Oh yeah...laugh at their pain :)

and i thought grazing my knuckles on the tank while washing it was sore. should really get the self washing aspect of the tank fixed

Reggie. wrote: »
    Oh yeah...laugh at their pain :)
    yup ,one lad got his chest and back done, was good crack and fair play, 15 of them getting waxed. Never saw the pub as busy

Men abuse and just before fathers day too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Anyone using a 2wd tractor and front loader for round bales. Thinking of getting one for putting bales out in a winterage. Some lads are telling me that the 2wd will break my heart with front bearings going etc. Tks.

happy fathers day to all the daddys, hope ye have a great day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Anyone using a 2wd tractor and front loader for round bales. Thinking of getting one for putting bales out in a winterage. Some lads are telling me that the 2wd will break my heart with front bearings going etc. Tks.

Yep done it for years, we use the bale handler all winter now just as easy and easier on the tractor to.

happy fathers day to all the daddys, hope ye have a great day

I hope the OH got breakfast in bed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

It's nearly a shame to be going to bed on such nice morning!!

visatorro wrote: »

Only home are ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Were you on the beer all night of do you work nights ?

That's it. I should really get a few hours after a duty but I always get the second wind by the time I get home and can't even entertain the bed on a fine day like today. Will die a death later on tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Nights. The girlfriend is rambling round the place here I'm still half awake.

Have you the blackout blinds in the bedroom. A godsend for fine mornings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Cat weather to be working nights in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Mac Taylor wrote: »

Its grand on concrete or dry level ground but if you start sinking and start hitting rocks you will pop out the wheel fairly quick.

And always on a sunday morning at the most akward spot to fix.

If there is a roadway of some sort you will be ok but 3/4t at the end of the loader will put a lot of pressure on the front wheels on uneven ground.

I hope the OH got breakfast in bed :)
    cooking it now;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

Got sent to give breakfast to the youngest while OH has a lie in.

Brought the youngest down the yard to do jobs. All I got when I came back in was "Why didnt you wake me"

Answer I would like to see another fathers day:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Lads at silage here. Has a brand new class. Ye could be standing beside here going down the road and not hear a thing. She's a big yoke too

cooking it now;)

Well for some. Didn't even get wished a happy fathers day yet

:eek::eek: and it your first one. I am sure you will be spolit later on

Father's Day:
    Homemade card - check
    New socks - check
    Book - check
    Breakfast in bed - check

Happy out - check

Sitting back in the bed with a cuppa watching wind turbines across the valley.

Father's Day:
    Homemade card - check
    New socks - check
    Book - check
    Breakfast in bed - check

Happy out - check

Ah I must be doing something wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Got home at 4 in an absolute mess. Father's day is painful atm

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Father's Day:
    Homemade card - check
    New socks - check
    Book - check
    Breakfast in bed - check

Happy out - check

Our 7 year old daughter made oh a card . Priceless, she had to describe her daddy and why he is special. When asked what she likes doing wit him she answers bringing in the cows, and what he likes doing she answers-feeding calves. Teaches must think we're odd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭willfarmerman

That's a hell of a day. The livin is is easy. Sunshine and ice lollipops!

Our 7 year old daughter made oh a card . Priceless, she had to describe her daddy and why he is special. When asked what she likes doing wit him she answers bringing in the cows, and what he likes doing she answers-feeding calves. Teaches must think we're odd!

Oh I think in the scale of what teachers hear that's fairly harmless.

My mam used to say that teachers only had the news in the morning so they could hear all the scandals and goings on in everyone's house.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

That's a hell of a day. The livin is is easy. Sunshine and ice lollipops!

Thinking of dusting off the barbecue, and some new potatoes wit butter n salt. Yum

Nights are gank.
    Worked 7-7's nights every other month for 13 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭willfarmerman

Thinking of dusting off the barbecue, and some new potatoes wit butter n salt. Yum

Begad you hav me salivating! I'm going lookin now for a few carne potatoes! A few steaks and box of bud.