Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

_Brian wrote: »
    Oh I think in the scale of what teachers hear that's fairly harmless.

My mam used to say that teachers only had the news in the morning so they could hear all the scandals and goings on in everyone's house.
    yup there are no secrets where young kids are concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Not a bad start to the day, deal done for 10 cows already now off to shake out some grass, good day for it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

whelan2 wrote: »
    Well know fact, Noddy and Big Ears is the code here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Anybody know what time the Clare v Cork match is starting?

Making big squares of hay and I'd like to know quitting time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ain't that the truth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Should have got air con in the tractor :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Our 7 year old daughter made oh a card . Priceless, she had to describe her daddy and why he is special. When asked what she likes doing wit him she answers bringing in the cows, and what he likes doing she answers-feeding calves. Teaches must think we're odd!

So no problem with the "daddy or chips question"

Should have got air con in the tractor :(

Ha I have air con

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ha I have air con

Very kind of you to offer GG your tractor, fair play, and driving it down all the way to him and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

sheebadog wrote: »
    Anybody know what time the Clare v Cork match is starting?

Making big squares of hay and I'd like to know quitting time.

4pm start I think.

Ha I have air con

Really? I have the blowers but no cold air

Very kind of you to offer GG your tractor, fair play, and driving it down all the way to him and all.

Never offered nothing :D have air conditioning but just need to fill it with gas :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

That happened to my oh last year she was very lucky it didn't cause serious problems.

Really? I have the blowers but no cold air

Yeah it's a big box on top of the cab adds about 4 inches to the overall height. It can make the difference sometimes when entering sheds

Feck. Wish it was on ours. Gets awful hot in the cab with all the glass and she's full of dust now from having windows open

Like when I'm drawing turf home. Bloody dust destroys the cab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

simx wrote: »
    Not a bad start to the day, deal done for 10 cows already now off to shake out some grass, good day for it anyway

Ah you'll have no luck making deals on the Sabbath day:-)

ellewood wrote: »

:D what about making silage

I'd rather not but if I didn't go look at them someone else might have them gone, got my bad luck and got a puncture on haybob, mended it and just finished turning

Like when I'm drawing turf home. Bloody dust destroys the cab

All plastic inside though so just blowvher out with air and get a damp cloth then

Ah yeah but the fact you have to do it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Have you the blackout blinds in the bedroom. A godsend for fine mornings

No blinds at all. I used to rent a place and the curtains got pulled down. Never fixed them so used to it now. My room in that place was south facing. Used to wake up in a ball of sweat!!

visatorro wrote: »
    No blinds at all. I used to rent a place and the curtains got pulled down. Never fixed them so used to it now. My room in that place was south facing. Used to wake up in a ball of sweat!!

Same as my house hence why the blackout blinds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I think if money doesn't actually change hands you might escape the wrath of god :D
    We are getting punished for working on Sunday , got a flat wheel on the wagon and the brother took it away to be fixed . That was two hours ago and not a sign of him since , possibly gone in the beer with the tyre man :rolleyes:
    I wouldn't mind but I'd have liked to gone to the county show today but didnt bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

moy83 wrote: »
    I think if money doesn't actually change hands you might escape the wrath of god :D
    We are getting punished for working on Sunday , got a flat wheel on the wagon and the brother took it away to be fixed . That was two hours ago and not a sign of him since , possibly gone in the beer with the tyre man :rolleyes:
    I wouldn't mind but I'd have liked to gone to the county show today but didnt bother

A spare wheel would be useful, used to have a trailer with a similar wheel but sold it must see if i can get a spare for the wagon. Tyres aint cheap for them.

td5man wrote: »
    A spare wheel would be useful, used to have a trailer with a similar wheel but sold it must see if i can get a spare for the wagon. Tyres aint cheap for them.

Always handy to have a spare super single wheel. Both trailers use them and ya can't beat common parts

td5man wrote: »

Are they the sam as whats on balers I wonder . He returned with it patched up anyhow so we can motor on for another hour or two

Absolutely dying. Thank god the father said he'd milk. Have a bad dose of the runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

Absolutely dying. Thank god the father said he'd milk. Have a bad dose of the runs

bad beer

GY A1 wrote: »
    bad beer

Bad chipper food. Wasn't out last night

Nasty, drink plenty of water

Yes, had similar a few weeks ago, you won't start to feel better until properly re hydrated so 4-5 litres of water.

Trying too. I'm living on the toilet today. Don't fancy wrapping silage tomorrow like this

I know how you feel, it's some dose alright. Take it handy.

Was going to let cattle into new grass here and remembered that I sprayed under part of the wire around it on Wednesday with roundup, can I chance letting them in or is it 7 days and that's it to be safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

not good like

have you any bimastat?

simx wrote: »
    Was going to let cattle into new grass here and remembered that I sprayed under part of the wire around it on Wednesday with roundup, can I chance letting them in or is it 7 days and that's it to be safe?
    is there any ragworth in it?

Nope

have you any bimastat?

I do. Think its food poisoning. Got sick 4 or 5 times

make sure to tell the place you bought the food from, or notify hse

Think I will. Its one if those trailers all kitted out. The chef if ye could call him that doesn't look the cleanest doesn't wear gloves or and apron.
    Wears a pair of fat mans that are barely on him

Think I will. Its one if those trailers all kitted out. The chef if ye could call him that doesn't look the cleanest doesn't wear gloves or and apron.
    Wears a pair of fat mans that are barely on him
    if a pregnant woman or an elderly person got the dose you have it could be very bad for them.

I put my money on gastroenteritis.

I'm not giving medical advice, I'm gambling.

I put my money on gastroenteritis.

I'm not giving medical advice, I'm gambling.

What's that?

Living on the toilet + throwing up.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gastroenteritis

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

I had that last weekend, well I'm blaming the food anyways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

:mad:Ah b@llocks. Just another typical broken ankle! :p

.Kovu. wrote: »
    :mad:Ah b@llocks. Just another typical broken ankle! :p

Pain in the ass Kovu , what happened to the toe on the other side ? When will you be able to hobble around out of the hospital ?