Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Muckit wrote: »
    Bob was the beef equivalent of frazzledhome. Said it as he seen it.
    Is Bob around under a different name, thought so for a while, but not so sure now?
    Heard through the grapevine that he packed it all in and is now living in a 3 bed semi in Dublin driving a taxi.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I thought he was the original Benwhiskin Bull, but I've been wrong before!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Take a visit to our new Beekeeping forum if you like lads & lassies.
    Plenty of input needed to help us get it started!

0RRdP.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Muckit wrote: »
    Bob was the beef equivalent of frazzledhome. Said it as he seen it.

ah bob was only a bollox from limerick;):D

abandoned us in our hour of need:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

how much land do i need for a herd number lads??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Very little, an acre or two would do, relation of mine has one on less than two acres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Isn't 1Ha the minimum ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

_Brian wrote: »
    Isn't 1Ha the minimum ??

Nope. You don't even have to own land just can be renting it. I got my herd number on a half acre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Reggie. wrote: »
    Nope. You don't even have to own land just can be renting it. I got my herd number on a half acre

+1 it's more the crush/pen and shed for sick animal that they look at more

Isn't 1Ha the minimum ??

Indeed..
    Something else I'm thinking of, 1HA is minimum to make a SFP claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Indeed..

A neighbour has got a few hens and a poultry no. so that he can tax his van commercial since he lost his job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

timmaay is on the missing list too

whelan2 wrote: »
    timmaay is on the missing list too

Ah he's flat out at silage or cooking burgers I bet

just burnt my thumb off the kettle on the aga, fook its sore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

Indeed..

Now this has caught my interest,I thought it would be a lot more than that.don't you also need three units or 3cattle to make a claim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Watching The Green Mile on tv3, Jaysus it's some movie, catches me everytime no matter how often I've seen it.

naughto wrote: »
    Now this has caught my interest,I thought it would be a lot more than that.don't you also need three units or 3cattle to make a claim

I'm not sure about that.
    But I know cases where lads with no entitlements make SFP applications.

Odelay wrote: »
    Watching The Green Mile on tv3, Jaysus it's some movie, catches me everytime no matter how often I've seen it.
    Please boss, don't put that thing over my face, don't put me in the dark. I's afraid of the dark.

That line gets me every single time :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

TE=whelan2;90932655]just burnt my thumb off the kettle on the aga, fook its sore[/QUOTE]

That aga seems to bring a fair bit of grief to you and the family.:(
    Repays by drying out phones I suppose:)

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

sad story here in west cork tonite ,good friend of mine also a butcher fell in to slurry tank while he was at slurry ,has left wife and two small kiddys behind.be safe out there for god sake. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

sad story here in west cork tonite ,good friend of mine also a butcher fell in to slurry tank while he was at slurry ,has left wife and two small kiddys behind.be safe out there for god sake. RIP.

So sad, may he rest in peace.

Awful stuff.
    Poor family.

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Terrible! God rest him and sympathies to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,359 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just back to my home place and catching up on posts.
    I wish everyone a happy and peaceful Solstice.

My sympathies to the family in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Base price wrote: »

If the solstice sunset tonight (11.51) is anything like yesterday's it will be well worth taking a little time to watch - the sky turned an incredible shade of vermilion.

I wonder does anyone still celebrate Bonfire Night around the 23rd (St. John’s Eve) anymore? My grandfather talked of cattle driven through the ashes of bonfires and then later the ashes being spread on the fields to ensure protection of crops and animals.

gozunda wrote: »
    If the solstice sunset tonight (11.51) is anything like yesterday's it will be well worth taking a little time to watch - the sky turned an incredible shade of vermilion.

I wonder does anyone still celebrate Bonfire Night around the 23rd (St. John’s Eve) anymore? My grandfather talked of cattle driven through the ashes of bonfires and then later the ashes being spread on the fields to ensure protection of crops and animals.

Knowing my luck the cattle would catch on fire on me

• Registered Users Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Yes. Used to do it when we were young. Now it's an excuse to burn rubbish.

off on my holidays later:D:D have alot to do before i go. Cant wait

These tragedies put a lot of what we might regard as problems into perspective. Such a sad passing and a stark reminder of the need for safety everywhere. Deepest sympathies to wife, family and friends. R.I.P.

Base price wrote: »

My sympathies to the family in Cork.

Bit of a druid are we B.P.? Will you be dancing around field at sunset.:)
    Hard to think days be getting shorter from now on:(

And think I found out how to quote two posts in one of mine. Over 230 posts. I blame phone. Hate it

Hope you and family enjoy. And if you see anywhere that needs power washing ......... relax:D

But what will the cows do without ya

Great stuff.
    Seven more sleeps here.

Any last minute power washing to be done ??

But what will the cows do without ya

Ye you're right maybe i shouldnt go ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Ye you're right you should let me go instead :);)

Who are ya bringing the toy boy or the husband

Enjoy it which ever one you bring, twill all still be there when you get home

Still see bonfires around here, not as much as before but, pity it was a great tradition

Didn't ellewood mention something before about naked virgins dancing around fires and howling at the moon, maybe that's just in Kilkenny

Cake

Cake

Someone was clearly counting the cows that day, 30th, 50th, 60th, 80th!
    I wouldn't be able to cut that, it's too nice!

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Someone was clearly counting the cows that day, 30th, 50th, 60th, 80th!
    I wouldn't be able to cut that, it's too nice!

We have birthdays in our family this year of 0,10,20,30,40,50,60,70&80 my sister ordered this cake and we had it this morning. Sponge on top and choc biscuit cake on bottom. Off to airport now.

And which year are you? :confused:

Kovu, I see you've moved

And which year are you? :confused:

Kovu, I see you've moved

Whelan is 20 of course!

Am I on your GPS or something? I'll have to change it every day for you now:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Just got the jeep back from the mechanics. 2 new shocks, 2 stabiliser arms, 2 new rear brake callipers including discs and pads, 2 D rubbers, 4 wishbone bushings, a ball joint, a cv boot, a new thermostat and a full service. Now to pick out a cow to wave goodbye to!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Just got the jeep back from the mechanics. 2 new shocks, 2 stabiliser arms, 2 new rear brake callipers including discs and pads, 2 D rubbers, 4 wishbone bushings, a ball joint, a cv boot, a new thermostat and a full service. Now to pick out a cow to wave goodbye to!!

Pick a very good one...

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Whelan is 20 of course!

Am I on your GPS or something? I'll have to change it every day for you now:p

My aunt asked was i 50!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Stop rock climbing with it!

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Cute Caaaavan hures!

BqqaoPfCIAAVtCx.jpg:large

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

5live wrote: »
    Pick a very good one...

I was thinking as much myself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'll wave to ya if I see ya. Heading home early tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Tell me you put no bags in the hold. Sil insisted she had to. We had to turn the aircon on in the cars and there was still no sign of her a good three quarters of an hour after we cleared passport control. The kicker is they're part owners of the apartment they were staying in and have a secure garage to store gear in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Was flicking through a few different things on Wikipedia a while ago and I came across this page, his story would make for a great film I reckon.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Lee_McNair