Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Today is St. Swithins Day. Cub of a lad from year 950 or thereabouts.(not sure, he'd finished school when I started). According to legend about his burial

If on swithins day it does rain
    For 40 days it will remain
    If on swithins day it does be fair
    For 40 days it will rain no more

Or something like that. Absolutely infallible. Who needs Evelyn Cusack or yon Ken Ring when ya hear that.

Bty the way grand day here in Cavan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,861 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

moy83 wrote: »
    Cheno Unction - a quare name but great stuff !
    That was a saying doing the rounds in the village here a few years ago :D
    thats when ads where real ads, remember triple a golden maverick ad aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Reggie. wrote: »
    No real differance in weight there. I'd go quality with the prodig

Leaning that way I think. Thanks for help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Today is St. Swithins Day. Cub of a lad from year 950 or thereabouts.(not sure, he'd finished school when I started). According to legend about his burial

Or something like that. Absolutely infallible. Who needs Evelyn Cusack or yon Ken Ring when ya hear that.

Yea nice alright, but looks dark now, so could be a shower yet, how would that leave us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Yeah, great job of a Saturday night, ramble home with a few pints of stout on board, wake herself up, hell for leather for 3 or 4 mins, roll off, sleep.
    Great job! :-)

Rodger and out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Had a bullock with Brown snout, only coming round now after a course of antibiotics, had door to pen & of coarse he only saw it this evening when I was injecting, bit of a job getting him sorted.
    Then moving fence & once cows noticed current was off they all turned into prize jumpers, doesn't rain but it pours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

whelan2 wrote: »
    thats when ads where real ads, remember triple a golden maverick ad aswell

What about "the neighbor who doesn't give a damn"

And

"Where's grandad"

Farrell wrote: »
    Yea nice alright, but looks dark now, so could be a shower yet, how would that leave us?

Probably 37 dry days then 3 wet ones:)

it rained on st swithins day 2012 and didnt stop for fecking months:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

And

"Where's grandad"

The ad on the radio-

''DADDY, You won't believe it. The bull calf is standing up again!''

And

"Where's grandad"

Tom did ya put out the cat

And

"Where's grandad"

Or
    "Who's taking the horse to France"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

What about all the adds for kids drowning or being scalded in the bath !!
    I had five sisters, never a bloody drop of hot water in the house so I just couldn't understand it !

_Brian wrote: »
    What about all the adds for kids drowning or being scalded in the bath !!
    I had five sisters, never a bloody drop of hot water in the house so I just couldn't understand it !

So how many times did you fall asleep and have your toenails painted? :D

.Kovu. wrote: »
    The ad on the radio-

''DADDY, You won't believe it. The bull calf is standing up again!''

.Kovu., the chat about adverts just make me wonder
    'If a man you never met before suddenly gave you flowers"
    or if some lad dressed in black ever leapt through the window with a box of milk tray????:D

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Or
    "Who's taking the horse to France"

Is Trevor ever getting up! Was the bisto ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Fell asleep on the couch. Woke up to the giggling of my 3 year old an the OH. The 3 year had painted my toe nails and the OH videoed it on her phone. 2 little bitches.

Ok where are the pics darragh :D

Is Trevor ever getting up! Was the bisto ad

Never in a month of sundays!

.Kovu. wrote: »
    So how many times did you fall asleep and have your toenails painted? :D

Ahh no.
    It would be hard to find a suitable shade for me.

The kids talked me into having my foot painted so they could make footprint photos. Oh god it was an awful feeling and with my flat feet it took a lot of paint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ok where are the pics darragh :D

I can't figure out to get a still frame off a video on the OH's iPhone.... I still have red outlines on my toes as I can't get all the varnish off. Kids, you have to love 'em.... coz your not allowed chain them to the bed

Chains + bed....MUST RESIST THE COMMENT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

C0N0R wrote: »
    Still waiting on a price for a McHale one and couldn't get through to the fleming guy

Got quoted 1100 for the Mchale in spring including vat. Cashel one is 1050. The prodig arms aren't made with box iron like the rest so it's meant to be stronger.

Don't rate the Fleming as it seems light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Trying to study all evening for an exam tomorrow afternoon and getting distracted with what is going on in F&F.
    Reckon JDI is on the mark - I am a decade or two younger than even I thought :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Clear herd test and finished our first flushing program.

11 eggs, 7 of which produced viable embryos. Pretty happy with that!

Part?

I instantly thought about breeding hens. Back to bed Kovu until you wake up :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

A good day all round. What breeding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Base price wrote: »
    Trying to study all evening for an exam tomorrow afternoon and getting distracted with what is going on in F&F.
    Reckon JDI is on the mark - I am a decade or two younger than even I thought :)

Fancy sharing what your studying? No problem if you want to keep it private.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

Lies I tell ya.
    Lovely here in Wexford yesterday and you'd swear someone was throwing water over me with a bucket this morning. Lashing altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

just do it wrote: »
    A good

day all round. What breeding?

Cow is a French cow I bought. The only AI bull in her pedigree is OIX a few generations back

The embryos are sired by A Ta Sante

Forrest gump was released 20 years ago this month :eek:.......I'm feeling old :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Lies I tell ya.
    Lovely here in Wexford yesterday and you'd swear someone was throwing water over me with a bucket this morning. Lashing altogether.

Can you hold onto it please, ive 30 acres that im contemplating mowing for bales!

C0N0R wrote: »
    Can you hold onto it please, ive 30 acres that im contemplating mowing for bales!

That never works for me

just do it wrote: »
    Fancy sharing what your studying? No problem if you want to keep it private.
    Over the years I have done some consultancy work for SME's on Quality Management Systems in particular ISO 9001:2008. I would set up their systems, procedures, document processes etc operational and ready for official NSAI (National Standard Authority of Ireland) auditor.
    Basically I am upskilling and sitting exams to become an auditor.
    With the way beef prices are I need to supplement income by returning to work.

Base price hows biddy?

Brought the kids body-boarding on Inch beach today. Great crack, turned out 20degrees and sunny.
    What a stunning beach with a fab backdrop.

Base price hows biddy?
    OH got a cream for her today in Oldcastle - he cannot remember the name.
    She is eating some nuts and nipping at hay. She will only drink water if there is glucose in it, but at lease she is taking on fluids. Other than that there is very little change and the quarter is still blown up.

Over the years I have done some consultancy work for SME's on Quality Management Systems in particular ISO 9001:2008. I would set up their systems, procedures, document processes etc operational and ready for official NSAI (National Standard Authority of Ireland) auditor.

Sounds heavy stuff. Hope all goes well and good luck and fair play to ya and with rest of your exams.

is this ettg a repeat or a new one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭ABlur

Used to do a bit of that myself in a former life, could never go back to it though!

Just in from a run. Drowned in sweat. Jaysus it's warm out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

anyone watchin ear to the ground

GY A1 wrote: »
    anyone watchin ear to the ground
    ye its a repeat

Repeat last week was defo one

ah ok just put it on there few minutes ago and caught the bit about the man that had the farm accident, things can change in a split second

yup lucky man, read of a 2 year old boy that died in limerick on a farm... worst nightmare

Is that the one where the bucket fell off

he's a tough man aswell, up and out shortly after,
    jaysus thats awful the young boy,

he's a tough man aswell, up and out shortly after,
    jaysus thats awful the young boy,
    a farm is a very dangerous place. I dread anything happening to the kids on the farm.