Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan2 wrote: »
    what are ya training, when you showing her?

Commercial heifer, first show she'll be in is tomorrow. After that just a couple more locally. Prob bring her to Carrick on Shannon fatstock too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,859 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Commercial heifer, first show she'll be in is tomorrow. After that just a couple more locally. Prob bring her to Carrick on Shannon fatstock too.
    what age is she, is she walking?

Born the last days of March, so just over 4 months. She's walking ok, hates the nose tongs though so we've stopped using them. Has a habit of putting her head down and rolling her shoulder so I fall on top of her.

nose tongs are only for punishment , too many people use them to lead them. Is it not hard on your leg leading her? Do you have someone walking behind her too?

Dad will be behind her, ah to be fair, it's a lot less hardship on my leg walking her now than it was 2 weeks ago when we started!:pac:

good luck with it, its alot of hard work....

I know but it's addictive! Been a few years since I was in the ring.

why where-hope i spelt that right- you boxing or wrestling before?

:pac::pac::D You know what I mean! In the ring with an animal at a show. Well, one that wasn't a horse anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Damo810 wrote: »
    I was up in Galway City last night, and I think I may have found Moys hideout, as there was a crowd handing out these! :D

Oh god I wouldnt go into a spot like that :D
    Did you indulge yourself ?

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

moy83 wrote: »
    Oh god I wouldnt go into a spot like that :D
    Did you indulge yourself ?

Oh lord no! I was following other leads! There was bound to be women with land in Galway last night with all them horses up there! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Oh lord no! I was following other leads! There was bound to be women with land in Galway last night with all them horses up there! :D

Be doing well to find one of them I'd say . Where did you go ? The hole in the wall is usually a good pub for horsey crowd during race week

Every place was packed! Spent a good bit of time in the kings head. Was talking to people from all over though, Sligo, Donegal, Armagh and Meaaaath. They breed them feckers big up that country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Why do they crawl before they walk?

td5man wrote: »
    Why do they crawl before they walk?
    no mine just bum shuffled:)

Mine did the same😉

• Registered Users Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Every place was packed! Spent a good bit of time in the kings head. Was talking to people from all over though, Sligo, Donegal, Armagh and Meaaaath. They breed them feckers big up that country!
    Was up for 2 days myself spent a small fortune and still feel hung-over 2 days later great crack tho:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

As the brother used to say...They were polishing the floor

Just walked through the calves paddocks and the amount of grass that grew in the past week is great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The Oh isn't from a farming background and can't get over how farmers seem to have inbuilt night vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I was up in Galway City last night, and I think I may have found Moys hideout, as there was a crowd handing out these! :D

carefulnow.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Reggie. wrote: »
    Fair play to him. I know lads who couldn't reverse a trailer in the yard :D

Did he make it ?

Muckit wrote: »
    The Oh isn't from a farming background and can't get over how farmers seem to have inbuilt night vision.

My mother is the same. Can't see anything without a torch. Dries me nut as I can usually see better without a torch blinding me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Thought coyotes would be more your thing DH.
    OH came back from a hen, mad to tell me loads of girls were mad for the bull (Rodeo that is)

Army / Batman style here

gozunda wrote: »
    Did he make it ?

Looks that way

Farrell wrote: »
    Army / Batman style here
    Leopard crawling that's known as

OH came back from a hen, mad to tell me loads of girls were mad for the bull (Rodeo that is)

Charlie....what were you upto

So tempted to eat them all before the show tomorrow.....:P
    OSg4Rw3m.jpg

So tempted to eat them all before the show tomorrow.....:P
    OSg4Rw3m.jpg

Wouldn't be fair to the heifer, send them this way, we'll eat them for you

I second that

As long as the heifer doesn't eat them I'm happy!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

About 30 mils of rain forecast for Tullamore next Sun on Yrno. :eek:

As long as the heifer doesn't eat them I'm happy!

But we can't have you off your game, don't forget it's a team & your only as good as your weakest link.
    We're not greedy, we'd only take 1, Reggie the other & sure the third for you after you get home from Creegans

About 30 mils of rain forecast for Tullamore next Sun on Yrno. :eek:

Ah that might change

Or....OR. I could eat them all now.

But we can't have you off your game, don't forget it's a team & your only as good as your weakest link.
    We're not greedy, we'd only take 1, Reggie the other & sure the third for you after you get home from Creegans

I want the big cake :)

Ah that might change

Hopefully

A hen in Galway, I was talking to a pair from a hen in Galway last night haha! pair of women in their early forties! From Kildare?!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Dusting off the knapsack sprayer 15litre capacity to use Roundup bio active to kill off grass where the OH eventually wants flowers set,would 200 ml in 15 litre be effective enough dose rate?...thanks for any quick replies.

I'd put in 300 ml just to be sure as I've noticed that weeds are harder killed this year

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Did things go well today? What colour rosette did ya bring home?

was going to ask the same, wonder is there any cake left

Well she better have saved me a piece...whatever about the rest of ye

just read there a 5 year old boy died on a farm in Offaly.......r.i.p little man

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Remember being told by a woman that years ago, at local show, her about 6 year old son was sticking his hand through 'barrier' of the display and picking bits of one cake and eating it. Judging had taken place but this cute lad was eating the winner's cake cos there red rosette on it and red was his favourite colour as same colour as his daddy's tractor.
    Commitee not see what went on and there big row from other exhibitors when cake that looked it had been attacked by crows had won first prize.
    Must mention it to his best man if this lad ever getting married and hoping he not have done same to wedding cake.:D

Bold Daisy. Bold Daisy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

just read there a 5 year old boy died on a farm in Offaly.......r.i.p little man

awful tradgedy again

GY A1 wrote: »
    awful tradgedy again
    as i said before it would be my worst nightmare. All we can do is make 100% sure we know where they are at all times, we are lucky that we have a secure garden that kids cant get to yard unless we let them. Have a 6 year old with zero sense and you would need eyes in the back of your head for him:cool:

Well she better have saved me a piece...whatever about the rest of ye

Ah now no need to be greedy

No word, must be in the pub celebrating