Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

whelan2 wrote: »
    wehave a football under the seat of our tractor

good to see ye are making some use of them in the wee county :D

sorry couldn't resist :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭C0N0R

moy83 wrote: »
    Im usually the one out of the hundred that things go tits up for though :D

Same as!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Base price wrote: »
    Just back in from putting out boxfulls of dung on part of a field that the hill is too steep for the muck spreader. My bones are shaken out of me cause I am not heavy enough for the suspension seat on the tractor and the mechanism that adjusts it is broken. It was bong, bong, bong down the hill, even my arse is sore ;)

Too much bong bong can leave you with a sore arse surely

Change position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

O/H sometimes helps out with outings for underprivileged children

she bought a group here last week and we had a few little side shows arranged
    including some lambs reared as pets and a few very timid ewes

Jill our oldest dog really comes into her own on these occasions & is a real charmer

any how got a thank card in the post to day :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Slight bother with ragwort here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Anybody here quality assured?
    I believe the requirements are the same as youd hav to meet for a dep inspection but is there much rigmarole in getting QA in the first place.? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    I believe the requirements are the same as youd hav to meet for a dep inspection but is there much rigmarole in getting QA in the first place.? Cheers

Straight forward enough. Paperwork, paperwork, paperwork. Pay attention to remedies/medicines in particular withdrawal periods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Reggie. wrote: »
    Slight bother with ragwort here

Sell it to an American as a field full of traditional plantation that's becoming scarce in Ireland because of modernisation and pesticides .........

Bonus if you can find a few of those Cinnabar Moth caterpillars in there too.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Sell it to an American as a field full of traditional plantation that's becoming scarce in Ireland because of modernisation and pesticides .........

Bonus if you can find a few of those Cinnabar Moth caterpillars in there too.:pac:

Or pull out a double chop, or a single chop harvester, tie a sheet of plastic over the tail board of a silage trailer to stop the bits going out through the mesh, and cut the lot at about 8 or 9 inches high before they go to seed. Leaves the grass behind..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Safety Statement.
    Map of yard with rat poison positions marked out.
    Medicine section of register - up to date and prescriptions to match.
    Meal shed rodent proof - within reason.
    Keep meal receipts in a file of some description if you can.
    Medicine cabinet - locked
    If you have a dog include worm dosing in the medicine register.
    Lots of previous posts if you put in QA in the search bar above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Safety Statement.
    Map of yard with rat poison positions marked out.
    Medicine section of register - up to date and prescriptions to match.
    Meal shed rodent proof - within reason.
    Keep meal receipts in a file of some description if you can.
    Medicine cabinet - locked
    If you have a dog include worm dosing in the medicine register.
    Lots of previous posts if you put in QA in the search bar above.
    knackery dockets, sharps container. farm safety sign.................

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Or pull out a double chop, or a single chop harvester, tie a sheet of plastic over the tail board of a silage trailer to stop the bits going out through the mesh, and cut the lot at about 8 or 9 inches high before they go to seed. Leaves the grass behind..........

Not mine thank god just noticed it while out walking this evening

Are those them orange and black lads. There decimating the ragworth here.

That's them. And they hatch into a very attractive black and red moth.

Your man there needs a few lorry loads of them :D

I'll have attractive moths coming out my arse shortly so. They make some job of the ragworth in fairness to them.

_Brian wrote: »
    Just back in from watching the ISS passing by.. Sky cleared enough to see it and the ATV supply vehicle passing us all by at 17,000mph.

Took about 4 minutes to track across the sky..

We got our eldest daughter up out of bed to see it and it was very exciting to watch..

Beaut of a moon out there too..

Finally seen it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Finally seen it :D
    Me too. I missed the earlier one after 9ish.
    Saw it two years ago when I was out on the bog. Seemed surreal at time - the past and the future :cool:

Me too. I missed the earlier one after 9ish.
    Saw it two years ago when I was out on the bog. Seemed surreal at time - the past and the future :cool:

What in the name of God were you doing on the bog at that hour :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

What in the name of God were you doing on the bog at that hour :D

its a great time if the midges aren't out. I often drew turf till 1 or 2am in the morning

Yeah right. Was told ya wouldn't work with batteries during the day never mind drawing turf till 1am :p

come on I only got lazy since I got a pen pushing licence. in JUne I drew bales till 330am for a client

and going Saturday to draw pit silage for another lad.

come on I only got lazy since I got a pen pushing licence. in JUne I drew bales till 330am for a client

Farming simulator doesn't count :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Ha I must ask my accountant next time I see him will he draw in 100 bales for me!!!

First thing ill have to do is put a football under the seat like Whelan to keep his fat arse up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Anyone got any tips for the fantas football?

Is Robin Williams dead?

Conflicting reports online :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Apparently it's legitimate.... :(

mike_ie wrote: »
    Apparently it's legitimate.... :(

Well bugger, always liked him :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭tanko

Is Robin Williams dead?

Yeah, he's dead alrite. Looks like suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,704 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Is Robin Williams dead?

Afraid so. He was depressed recently, sorry to see him go.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

naughto wrote: »

Holy sh1t. Poor auld devil. He was a likeable kinda fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Do you want to backup silage on Thursday and Friday. ;-)

Well bugger, always liked him :(

No matter what role he played, I only ever saw him as Mork. Thinking back now to Mork & Mindy, wasn't it a strange enough kids program. Hatching out of an egg and the reporting back to Orsun. I watched it as a child and have fond memories of it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

R.I.P. Robin Williams.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

No matter what role he played, I only ever saw him as Mork. Thinking back now to Mork & Mindy, wasn't it a strange enough kids program. Hatching out of an egg and the reporting back to Orsun. I watched it as a child and have fond memories of it.

Don't remember much about him in that program, just the bodywarmer. Remember Mindy though!
    Watched Good Morning Vietnam in a cinema in Utrech, a bunch of us laughed our asses off, the locals must have thought we were deranged (or English), subtitles didn't translate the jokes, it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

greysides wrote: »
    R.I.P. Robin Williams.

Many people on here wouldn't have a clue of the struggle, what a great kind man.very unfortunate. Always looked after his own. RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Got stuck in traffic today while out on the bike :D
    Buyt5BqCEAIquHE.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

Damo810 wrote: »
    Got stuck in traffic today while out on the bike :D
    Buyt5BqCEAIquHE.jpg

No overtaking there

td5man wrote: »
    Do you want to backup silage on Thursday and Friday. ;-)

I believe i offered before and was shoot down :rolleyes:

Would you be capable :D

I backed up a few times . Mostly with a JCB 412 & 414s and a few times with a matbro artic loader and a new holland 7740 with loader

Reggie has a small field with a few ragworth in it,if ya had a spare hour or so to pull them;)

Not mine but I'm sure the owner wouldn't say no :D

He has plenty of time himself :pac:. Sure he is never off here.

Many a field i cleared by hand. first 2 years are the worst after than you can notice a big improvement

I noticed a lot of new roads, there is alot of ragworth on the verges. Wount kill the council to stray them. :rolleyes:

He has plenty of time himself :pac:. Sure he is never off here.

Many a field i cleared by hand. first 2 years are the worst after than you can notice a big improvement

I noticed a lot of new roads, there is alot of ragworth on the verges. Wount kill the council to stray them. :rolleyes:

New stretch of road from mullingar to delvin is a disgrace with ragworth on the verges

Not mine but I'm sure the owner wouldn't say no :D
    ye ye we believe ya :rolleyes:

:p

Get back into your milking parlour missus :)

:p

Get back into your milking parlour missus :)
    off powerwashing now...

Grand job that