Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

ABlur wrote: »
    Is it the Ifa?

The article me and Con are talking about? Most definitely not!
    Cubic zirconia more like :pac:

Our 9 year old asked me the last day when I was going to grow up, so.......

Better to be a big child than to grow up too soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

.Kovu. wrote: »
    The article me and Con are talking about? Most definitely not!

Better to be a big child than to grow up too soon!

Oh, oh, oh, want to say something witty, can't think of anything.......... :o

Very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,380 ✭✭✭✭Base price

simx wrote: »
    Anyone able to tell me off hand what acreage is required to get a herd no.?
    I presume you are referring to a BTE herd number.
    As far as I remember you need to own or lease at least one acre. You also need facilities such as a crush, housing, proper effluent facilities and lots of other conditions.
    Here is a link to the Dept website for applying/registering plus conditions for a herd number.
    https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/animalhealthwelfare/animalwelfare/registrationofpremisesanimals/
    If you have any more questions then just ask here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

had a morning where i should have stayed in bed:mad: cross wing was off scraper, took a while to get it back on. Turned on scraper and had to stand on it with the amount of shi%e there. Bolts went in bar, i had none spare as had used them on a different scraper yesterday:mad: rang scraper man and he met me in local village with bolts. Then had hand scrape muck away and reline up the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭naughto

biddy2013 wrote: »
    had a morning where i should have stayed in bed:mad: cross wing was off scraper, took a while to get it back on. Turned on scraper and had to stand on it with the amount of shi%e there. Bolts went in bar, i had none spare as had used them on a different scraper yesterday:mad: rang scraper man and he met me in local village with bolts. Then had hand scrape muck away and reline up the bar.

U seem to have a man for every occasion biddy,milkman,tractor man,man who fixes crap for u,man in bed room.that's a lot of men to keep happy

naughto wrote: »
    U seem to have a man for every occasion biddy,milkman,tractor man,man who fixes crap for u,man in bed room.that's a lot of men to keep happy
    :D yup its a difficult job alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Muckit wrote: »
    Did bob get blown in the storm?

fixed it, he must have got something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Bob is in Vegas spending all the money that he's made from store bullocks. No doubt, he has found the love of his life over there and has got hitched in the little white chapel. The extended honeymoon is delaying his return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Bob is in Vegas spending all the money that he's made from store bullocks. No doubt, he has found the love of his life over there and has got hitched in the little white chapel. The extended honeymoon is delaying his return.

I can imagine bob looking somewhat like Elvis on his wedding day

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Been there, done that. Limit switches going pi** me off. Scraper goes for about 15 seconds then stops. But usually there is build up of dung by time noticed. So means switching scraper on and off if got in time or switching on then going to stand on scraper to get to shift dung.
    Out of curiosity anyone, how often do you have scrapers working per passage per day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭naughto

I can imagine bob looking somewhat like Elvis on his wedding day

Does he not look like Elvis as it is

Been there, done that. Limit switches going pi** me off. Scraper goes for about 15 seconds then stops. But usually there is build up of dung by time noticed. So means switching scraper on and off if got in time or switching on then going to stand on scraper to get to shift dung.
    Out of curiosity anyone, how often do you have scrapers working per passage per day
    they run every 4 hours, now they all mightnt get across but they are all done right at milking times. I can fix most things on them now but there is a great relief when cows go out and i dont have to do the scrapers

simx wrote: »
    €750-€800
    sold for a little bit more there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

hugo29 wrote: »
    fixed it, he must have got something

Hopefully it took his mind off his wowes :D

Seriously though, have in laws in limerick and they got some battering. Said never experienced winds like it. Hopefully he wasn't too badly affected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭ABlur

Hopefully it took his mind off his wowes :D

Seriously though, have in laws in limerick and they got some battering. Said never experienced winds like it. Hopefully he wasn't too badly affected

T'internet badly affected here in Limerick still not working in some areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

so i kept the head down for a few weeks here,

so who is who now :D

i was just thinking about you this morning, was saying you hadnt been on here in a while, welcome back

up is down, left is right and someone is on twitter.:D
    We think it's bob gone off to model for a living.

up is down, left is right and someone is on twitter.:D
    We think it's bob gone off to model for a living.

and moy has no friends and is now walking around the house naked,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

and moy has no friends and is now walking around the house naked,

I wish you would stop looking in my window hugo , I dont want a friend in that way !

Spotted a funny sticker on the back door of a caddy van l was behind at lunchtime.

Pity l was driving or l would have snapped it.... can't remember first line

I'm a farmer bred,
    I'm good in my field
    But better in the bed :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

About time for ya. Where were you hiding?

Spotted a funny sticker on the back door of a caddy van l was behind at lunchtime.

Pity l was driving or l would have snapped it.... can't remember first line

Farmer born
    farmer bred,
    good in the field
    But better in the bed :-)
    That's it I think

Fair play think your right lad. Had a right chuckle when seen it :)

moy83 wrote: »
    I wish you would stop looking in my window hugo , I dont want a friend in that way !

its not you im looking at;)

All the F's arrived today, feed, fencing, and fertilizer.

That's you kept out of trouble for a while.

That's alright, I hear from reliable sources all will be revealed in print form soon enough for the luddites amongst us ;)

ah con, i seen what you were alluding too, and the afore mentioned piece does have some artistic merit,

and what about the calf sucking on the ear lobe

Now you just need good weather

That comes under the fourth f, f*cked :D

ah con, i seen what you were alluding too, and the afore mentioned piece does have some artistic merit,

and what about the calf sucking on the ear lobe

I am glad someone was paying attention, I was beginning to lose faith :D

I hear it is legal in that part of the world :confused:

I am glad someone was paying attention, I was beginning to lose faith :D

I hear it is legal in that part of the world :confused:

But only on bank holidays and weekends:pac:

Anything goes in them parts, their wild people, it's lucky that's all the calf is sucking on

Just ordered the sheep tunnel there, hope now I get the weather to put the cover on before the 20th March.

No time like the last minute to get things done.

was outside there, was missing a calf born this evening, found him asleep between the axles of oh's curtainsider:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Just ordered the sheep tunnel there, hope now I get the weather to put the cover on before the 20th March.

No time like the last minute to get things done.

Need a good calm day & lots of help.
    Rolling from a raised loader reversing slowly seemed to help

was outside there, was missing a calf born this evening, found him asleep between the axles of oh's curtainsider:cool:

I found two calves today in the dairy.
    Don't know how they got in because the doors were closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I found two calves today in the dairy.
    Don't know how they got in because the doors were closed

Them JeX would slip sideways under the door:D

They were bulls so I didn't mind when they went missing :D

Farrell wrote: »
    Need a good calm day & lots of help.
    Rolling from a raised loader reversing slowly seemed to help

Yer man I ordered it from says two lads are plenty, too many cooks spoil the broth ;) He has videos up on YouTube putting it together.

Won't have a loader either :D Not sure how that will work but will figure something, necessity is the mother of invention in these here parts :o

Digger man sort of booked for next week. The day before yesterday would have been better but apparently there are other people in the world too :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Yer man I ordered it from says two lads are plenty, too many cooks spoil the broth ;) He has videos up on YouTube putting it together.

Won't have a loader either :D Not sure how that will work but will figure something, necessity is the mother of invention in these here parts :o

Digger man sort of booked for next week. The day before yesterday would have been better but apparently there are other people in the world too :o
    Tell him there are other diggers in the world too, ha ha
    Good luck with the tunnel and happy lambing in it , should make life alot easier for yourself and the lambs

moy83 wrote: »
    Tell him there are other diggers in the world too, ha ha
    Good luck with the tunnel and happy lambing in it , should make life alot easier for yourself and the lambs

I did at the end, diplomatically, but I know I'll get the best rate from him ;)

Thanks, I have to get the feckin thing up first though, got fencing and bush cutting and a bazillion other jobs to be doing for myself and the ould fella. Time is going to be very tight. I can see the sheep being penned inside while the cover is going on yet :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,380 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I did at the end, diplomatically, but I know I'll get the best rate from him ;)

Thanks, I have to get the feckin thing up first though, got fencing and bush cutting and a bazillion other jobs to be doing for myself and the ould fella. Time is going to be very tight. I can see the sheep being penned inside while the cover is going on yet :pac:
    You can get them some of these:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I'd say there is a good few cheap second hand poly tunnels around this week, only problem is you have to supply your own poly:pac:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I'd say there is a good few cheap second hand poly tunnels around this week, only problem is you have to supply your own poly:pac:

There's a few new outdoor cubicle set ups too ;)

About time for ya. Where were you hiding?

just had some real life issues :(

i was just thinking about you this morning, was saying you hadnt been on here in a while, welcome back

And who are you bibby2013 ;)

i am biddy not bibby:D

She vandalises trucks and gets stuck in straw in her spare time, watch out ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Biddy is farming boards poster girl:D:D:D (pun intended)