Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Evolve - 4v1 from the makers of L4D (multi format)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭Benzino

Otacon wrote: »
    It is actually available now after a patch and is extended until Tuesday.

Was on last night for a few games.

Oh sweet, I must check it out tonight so.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,539 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Well the PS4 version being live now does me no good :'(

Beta in January right?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Benzino wrote: »
    Oh sweet, I must check it out tonight so.

Unfortunately, it has confirmed my fears for this game though. It relies heavily on teamwork. Playing with friends will be fine but just jumping into a random game was a lesson in frustration - not with the game but with the pillocks I was teamed with.

As soon as the rounds started, everyone scattered to the wind. I tried just following the trapper initially (I was the support) but our medic got himself/herself killed pretty quickly. By the time we found the monster, it was at level 3 already. I tried using the shield device on our assault but he kept running around a corner so we died pretty quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

Had two games last night one as the assasult class and the second as the goliath.

Successfully took out the monster about 2 mins left in the game , team stuck together and felt amazing.

Second game as the monster Was simply nail biting , was going a fantastic job killing creatures and gaining levels to evolve , the team got me in a corner and trapped me but managed to hold em off and get away without taking too much damage , went off and gain another level and evolved again , they caught up to me and trapped me once more and again managed to hold em off till the barrier shield broke and ran. Took out there power rely to half and had a epic 7 min fight taking out two and ran , ate few more creatures to rebuild my armour as I was on the brink of dying and decided to hide behind a rock.

Seen one of the troopers jump on the rock and then I attacked , took out the medic first so they could not heal , crushed there assault class and took out there trapper and ran back to the power rely , few more hits and I would of been dead , took out there power rely and won the game :D.

This game is amazing , much better than left 4 dead imo which was a fantastic game already. Turtle rock studios are a talented team , only thing that will hold this back is if you are paired with a team that are going off by themselves.
    With friends , it may be one of the best co op games .

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Feedback seems good overall thus far.

I'm not really one for Alphas, but i'll give the Beta a try in the new year :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

Alpha extended on all platforms btw, incase anyone wasn't aware!

This is amazing fun, I've joined on my own for all my games (about 20) and I'd day 95% of the time, the group I was with all co operated and stuck together.

Gone from not knowing anything about this game on Saturday to preordering last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭XVII

Managed to join in the middle of the game, and to take over Kraken. Good fun haha

• Registered Users Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

Played a few games over the weekend and has gone from a must buy to a maybe.
    It took ages to find a game.
    Then it took ages for the game to load.
    These two alone would be enough to stop me buying it but hopefully they can be fixed by release.
    What I'm not sure can be fixed is the game play.
    The first 10 mins of every game was hunters running after monster, no action, just running in loops of the map. Once monster got to stage 3 he'd destroy eeverything.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Does anyone have a PS4 code or know where I would get one? :o

• Registered Users Posts: 20,603 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

i'd also take a ps4 code if there are any floating about

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Paj

I'd love a ps4 code too if anyone has one :)

• Registered Users Posts: 421 ✭✭dan hibiki

Benzino wrote: »
    PS4 alpha was postponed.

Yeah but the servers were open last night. it couldnt generate the game world.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭Benzino

Doesn't look like I'll get to try this, can't get into the PS store :/ Redeemed it on the laptop, but when I go to download it just brought to a blank screen. Sigh.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

So far, the game has crashed both times while I've been searching in matchmaking.

Going to try a third time and leave it at that if it crashes again.

Edit: PS4 btw. Still searching this third time.. found players.. and literally as I type, crashes.

I'll try again tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭XVII

We had issues on PC too, initially.
    It's pretty normal for alpha version.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

I did manage to get into two games after. I was the trapper in both cases and had a load of fun with it.

At times Daisy is absolutely useless I find :P

Both times the monster got to level 3, beat us in one and lost connection in the other.

Hopefully it'll be better today and I'll get another few games in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

Played this for about half an hour last week. Managed to play just two games with each lasting only about 4 minutes. We kept coming up lads who were level 10 with the monster. We just got destroyed. The other 22 mins were spent trying to find players and waiting it to load.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Played this for about half an hour last week. Managed to play just two games with each lasting only about 4 minutes. We kept coming up lads who were level 10 with the monster. We just got destroyed. The other 22 mins were spent trying to find players and waiting it to load.

two games was all I managed to play, it was enough to realise It wasn't for me.
    something just feels "off" about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

way too much time spend on loading screens and selection queues etc.

unless they offer a few more game modes I don't think I would buy it. kind of thing you'd play for a few hours. does get quite repetitive.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 EdragonXX

Evolve is pretty simple game.

If you are hunter, then all your team need is good trapper. If you have good trpper then game will be over within 5-10 minutes.
    1. Shield
    2. Let sniper shoot monster little bit.
    3. Harpoons.
    4. And kill the monster.

If you are monster, then all you need is STUPID trapper in hunters team. :) And run away, until you will get level 3 and kill all these idiots!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

[/B]
    EdragonXX wrote: »
    Evolve is pretty simple game.

If you are hunter, then all your team need is good trapper. If you have good trpper then game will be over within 5-10 minutes.
    1. Shield
    2. Let sniper shoot monster little bit.
    3. Harpoons.
    4. And kill the monster.

If you are monster, then all you need is STUPID trapper in hunters team. :) And run away, until you will get level 3 and kill all these idiots!

Wow. You just figured out the whole game.
    You should make a guide on the internetz for that or alternatively develop tactics for specialised units. (Let sniper shoot monster little bit) Ahahaha :D:D

I guess I can apply this to every shooter game.
    - Get weapons - shoot other person a little bit - kill said person before they kill me.

The game will of course seem like a simple idea, premise and tactically very simple to you and everyone....because you've not had enough time at the game.

Ask anyone who played L4D2 for a few hours. The concept is simple, stick together...impossible to kill. But when people have played for 100's of hours...tactics emerge that won't fit into that little nutshell of wisdom you provided.

I would imagine that by the time it hits BETA and Release it will be even more tactical.

Maybe down the line they'll add 8v2 or something, allowing for Co-Op on the monster side. That would be brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 EdragonXX

SeantheMan wrote: »
    [/B]

specialised units. (Let sniper shoot monster little bit) Ahahaha :D:D

I guess I can apply this to every shooter game.
    - Get weapons - shoot other person a little bit - kill said person before they kill me.

Already played this game? I guess not. Because if you are.. You should know that Sniper must shoot monster before you harpoon him.

And of course they can change game. Who said that they can't? But will they? :) And how mush and which way?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

Final Monster revealed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭McSasquatch II

Still really looking forward to this, despite my lack of
    • a PC that can run it
    • money to buy it
    • online buddies to play it with.

Can't wait. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

new game mode explained.

http://kotaku.com/evolve-is-finally-starting-to-feel-like-a-full-sized-ga-1673095762

yeah..... that has my interest level rising. Starting to get off the fence and move into day 1 purchase for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

I still think if they had gone against the 4 v 1 PvP and made a L4D in space it would have been a cracking game. Old tried and tested formula I know but what they have pitched and from what I have played of the Alpha it's not for me. I'll give the beta a go but it will be difficult to approach it with an open mind for me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Conriocht

Minimum/recommended specs released. I may just be able to play this!

evolvegame dot com/news/evolve-pc-specs-revealed

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS:

INTEL CPU: Core 2 Duo E6600
    AMD CPU: Athlon 64 X2 6400
    SYSTEM RAM: 4GB
    NVIDIA VIDEO CARD: GeForce GTX 560
    ATI VIDEO CARD: Radeon HD 5770
    VIDEO MEMORY: 1GB
    HARD DRIVE: 50GB

RECOMMENDED REQUIREMENTS:

INTEL CPU: Core i7-920
    AMD CPU: A8-3870K
    SYSTEM RAM: 6GB
    NVIDIA VIDEO CARD: GeForce GTX 670 or GTX 760
    ATI VIDEO CARD: Radeon R9 280
    VIDEO MEMORY: 2GB

There'll be no SLI support out of the box, but they will have 4K support.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 xProGamingx

Conriocht wrote: »
    Minimum/recommended specs released. I may just be able to play this!

evolvegame dot com/news/evolve-pc-specs-revealed

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS:

INTEL CPU: Core 2 Duo E6600
    AMD CPU: Athlon 64 X2 6400
    SYSTEM RAM: 4GB
    NVIDIA VIDEO CARD: GeForce GTX 560
    ATI VIDEO CARD: Radeon HD 5770
    VIDEO MEMORY: 1GB

RECOMMENDED REQUIREMENTS:

INTEL CPU: Core i7-920
    AMD CPU: A8-3870K
    SYSTEM RAM: 6GB
    NVIDIA VIDEO CARD: GeForce GTX 670 or GTX 760
    ATI VIDEO CARD: Radeon R9 280
    VIDEO MEMORY: 2GB

There'll be no SLI support out of the box, but they will have 4K support.

Looks like this is out of the question for me then.. Shame, looked like it could have kept me interested for a couple of hours at least. Just have to go back and play more retro titles I suppose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Conriocht

Fourth monster "revealed" (I can't post proper links because of my post count).

evolvegame dot com/news/evolve-fourth-monster-behemoth

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Conriocht wrote: »
    Fourth monster "revealed" (I can't post proper links because of my post count).

evolvegame dot com/news/evolve-fourth-monster-behemoth