Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal vs Manchester United *No Stream Requests Allowed*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I can see Arsenal winning 2-0 with 10 mins to go, before Moyes pulls a tactical masterstroke by bringing on the sub-keeper to play up front and he scores a 10 min hattrick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,023 ✭✭✭✭adox

3-1 to Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭blingrhino

we just cant beat utd unfortunely (5 years since we did).
    a draw and we will be doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

blingrhino wrote: »

It's not that long ago is it? The 1- 0 win when Ramsey scored ?

5 years would have been the time before with Nasri's brace unless time really is flying!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,625 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Cant see United losing this, given Arsenals recent record against them & the added pressure heaped on after their spanking at the weekend i expect Arsenal to do what Arsenal do best, crumble.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Draw fo sho.

Rosicky is so past it now though, if he starts it's advantage united.

Perhaps the most ridiculous comment I have ever read on this forum and Ive read some bad ones!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I see AP McCoy in on the way to the Emirates shouting for the Gunners .

We all know who wins when he gets his head in front .!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭cson

Last time we beat United was that Ramsey game at the tail end of the 2010/2011 season.

Over the past 5 years;

League P9 (Up to tonight) | United (7) Draw (1) Arsenal (1)

You can add an FA Cup win for United in that 5 year period too.

Go back another year and you've two further CL losses, a draw in the League and that Nasri game we won.

So out of 14 games in the last 6 years;

Manchester United 72%
    Arsenal 14%
    Draw 14%

Adjust for Arsenal being at home

13/14 TBD
    12/13 Draw
    11/12 Manchester United
    10/11 Arsenal
    09/10 Manchester United

You still get 50% vs 25% & 25% for United.

They just have a thing over us the same way the Drogba version of Chelsea did. This is arguably even more of a thing but it goes unnoticed for some reason.

The last time we won in Old Trafford was a 1-0 in 2006 when Adebayor scored. Yes; full on 8 years ago this September.

Leaving the stats aside; we've been on the end of some absolute shoeings from United; that infamous 8-2 and the away game last season should have been a similar scoreline.

The stats are all against Arsenal tonight. The smart money would be on United notwithstanding Moyes ineptitude. Certain players just seem to be able to raise their games when they see an Arsenal shirt; Park was always one, Fletcher another, Rooney always. I've no doubt RVP will be fired up. Evra too. There's something intangible there that I can't put my finger on other than something about Arsenal fires these players to up their performance levels.

You're welcome all the United supporters I've made feel better/more confident about tonight; and to our lads... sorry! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,470 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

blingrhino wrote: »

1 Arsenal win in last 13 games against United apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭ronjo

I think United fans in general are far too depressed to have this make them more confident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

1 Arsenal win in last 13 games against United apparently.

Shocking stat.

Arsenal have waited long enough

Shocking stat.

Arsenal have waited long enough

Yes Arsenal had a very good record against Liverpool until pretty recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

cson wrote: »
    Last time we beat United was that Ramsey game at the tail end of the 2010/2011 season.

Over the past 5 years;

League P9 (Up to tonight) | United (7) Draw (1) Arsenal (1)

You can add an FA Cup win for United in that 5 year period too.

Go back another year and you've two further CL losses, a draw in the League and that Nasri game we won.

So out of 14 games in the last 6 years;

Manchester United 72%
    Arsenal 14%
    Draw 14%

Adjust for Arsenal being at home

13/14 TBD
    12/13 Draw
    11/12 Manchester United
    10/11 Arsenal
    09/10 Manchester United

You still get 50% vs 25% & 25% for United.

They just have a thing over us the same way the Drogba version of Chelsea did. This is arguably even more of a thing but it goes unnoticed for some reason.

The last time we won in Old Trafford was a 1-0 in 2006 when Adebayor scored. Yes; full on 8 years ago this September.

Leaving the stats aside; we've been on the end of some absolute shoeings from United; that infamous 8-2 and the away game last season should have been a similar scoreline.

The stats are all against Arsenal tonight. The smart money would be on United notwithstanding Moyes ineptitude. Certain players just seem to be able to raise their games when they see an Arsenal shirt; Park was always one, Fletcher another, Rooney always. I've no doubt RVP will be fired up. Evra too. There's something intangible there that I can't put my finger on other than something about Arsenal fires these players to up their performance levels.

You're welcome all the United supporters I've made feel better/more confident about tonight; and to our lads... sorry! :(

Stats are all well and good but you missed out the most important point, Sir Alex Ferguson or may be David Moyes.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Not to gone on stats favouring United when you look at how many "records" are being broken this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

If I wasn't a United fan, I'd be remortgaging the house to back Arsenal at 5/6.

Just can't see us winning tonight unless we see a massive upsurge in form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

I'm really nervous about this game. Even though Arsenal's team is far superior to United's this season, i can easily see one of the following happening

1) Rooney scoring a screamer early on and United playing as deep as possible to grind out a 1-0 win
    2) Arsenal gifting van Persie a goal early on and United playing as deep as possible to grind out a 1-0 win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Can't remember a match thread where both fans were so pessimistic.
    So, I'm going for 1-1 to Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,436 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If I wasn't a United fan, I'd be remortgaging the house to back Arsenal at 5/6.

Just can't see us winning tonight unless we see a massive upsurge in form.

You can get 5/4 on Arsenal!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Bokie must be a Gooner.

keano_afc wrote: »
    Bokie must be a Gooner.

Actually PP and StanJames now 13/10.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Worst thing that could have happened Arsenal for this game was the Fulham against Utd the other night.

Better again. Hadn't checked the odds since Sunday and must've remembered the wrong game odds!

That's the best 13/10 shot I've seen in a while.

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Worst thing that could have happened Man Utd for this game was the Liverpool against Arsenal the other day.

FYP.

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Worst thing that could have happened Arsenal for this game was the Fulham against Utd the other night.

I'm sure Fulham were saying 'the worst thing that could've happened us was that Stoke game last week'.

Better again. Hadn't checked the odds since Sunday and must've remembered the wrong game odds!

That's the best 13/10 shot I've seen in a while.

Sadly I agree.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Presume this is on TV?

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

BT Sports.

Nerves starting to kick in now.

I just hope the players live up to their tweets and media interviews.

COYG!!!!

• I have lost so much money on my Paddy Power account this season because I keep betting with my heart and not my head.
    4th time in a row to place Mata for 1st goalscorer :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Draw fo sho.

Rosicky is so past it now though, if he starts it's advantage united.

I love posts that make it painfully obvious someone doesn't actually watch football or know what he's watching.

• Moneymaker wrote: »
    I love posts that make it painfully obvious someone doesn't actually watch football or know what he's watching.
    His name is Chancer :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

How's the wind in London? Might ruin are expansive crossing game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

I've no great record in calling exact results, but I think this has 0-0 written all over it.
    Two teams not in form who will be nervy all the way through, both happy not to be beaten by the other.

For what it's worth I'm a United fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭gugsy

I reackon Arsenel will win well tonight 3-1. After there hammering from my beloved liverpool at the weekend they'll come out guns blazing. Man u for me are too weak atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I really hope Michael Owen is not commentating on this game, but I fear my hope is in vain. I literally can't watch a game with him talking nonsense, i had to turn off the merseyside derby after 5 mins and missed a great game, and I can't watch a game on mute. I wish BT offered an option of just crowd noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

1-2 to United. It's that sort of season.

Would like to see this lineup: De Gea, Rafael, Jones, Vidic, Evra :(, Fellaini, Carrick, Mata, Rooney, Januzaj, RVP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Barr

Arsenal win for me 3-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭RayCon

Honestly haven't a clue how this will go ... anything is possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭BigBabyTaylor

Can't see past an arsenal win unfortunately. I'll go for 3-1 arsenal.
    Regardless of Arsenals result at the weekend they can be nowhere near as low on confidence/ momentum as united are at the minute.

I will be interested to see how much the team will/wont change. Its likely Fletcher probably wont feature again so soon and with Fellani in the squad he could possibly be a surprise start (as happened with RVP a couple weeks ago).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

hoping for a utd win but just dont see it happening,draw is good too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,747 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

barone wrote: »
    hoping for a utd win but just dont see it happening,draw is good too

In my opinion a draw is no good to either.
    Both have to prove themselves after recent disasters.
    Feck the one point option I want a win and nothing less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Arsenal might be more wounded by recent results and come out attacking aggressively. Will be interesting to see how Ozil plays? Will he have a point to prove and can Arsenal find runners for him to play in or use as decoys. Defensively with big mert in there Arsenal look well set up to cope with united's late 80s style "whip it in" game.

Moyes might surprise us all though and keep it on the deck in the final 3rd and try and play through the middle. I definitely think we'll see Utd pressing hard, Liverpool showed you can knock Arsenal off the ball and take away their passing options if you close them down quickly enough. Force Ozil back deeper to pick up the ball and have your fullbacks close down any width on offer.

I'm saying 2-1 Arsenal.

I really hope Michael Owen is not commentating on this game, but I fear my hope is in vain. I literally can't watch a game with him talking nonsense, i had to turn off the merseyside derby after 5 mins and missed a great game, and I can't watch a game on mute. I wish BT offered an option of just crowd noise.
    Just think of him as an annoying member of the crowd who you happen to be sitting next to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,747 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

greendom wrote: »
    Just think of him as an annoying member of the crowd who you happen to be sitting next to.

Don't you might boot the bloody television.

Jaysus me black bin is after flying past the window :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,793 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

You'd swear Michael Owen was sacrificing children every 5 minutes during his commentary with the way people go on about him

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

Fancy United to win 3-0, €5 on it at 33/1. Arsenal there for the taking if United decide to show up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Fancy United to win 3-0, €5 on it at 33/1. Arsenal there for the taking if United decide to show up

Can't see that score but it would not surprise me to see Arsenal huffing and puffing only for United to sneak a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Bore draw I reckon, off form teams and crap conditions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Need a win big time but which arsenal will show up?
    COYG

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

I expect it'll be the usual. United having the best of the possession for the first half hour but creating nothing clear cut allowing Arsenal to take the lead before half time. Second half will see us do the same again and manage an equaliser before the Arse pull away near the end.

3-1 Arsenal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

saw that for 40/1 on paddypower