Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Stage 1a(2) - The Aptitude Test Results thread

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭pugsnotdrugs13

Does anyone reckon they're going to take certain percentages male & female just as they will with Irish speakers? And age wise Aswel? Younger an older applicants?

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭OscarWhiskey

we were told mid-March but they tend to be released slightly earlier...

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

When you think of it, only 40 percent of those that passed progressed to stage 2... Could this percentage be repeated again ??

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭pugsnotdrugs13

I reckon it's likely :( hopefully we made the cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

we were told mid-March but they tend to be released slightly earlier...

My money is on next week

Sorry, I must revise the figures above that I mentioned.

Say approx 25,000 applied = 100%

12,000 Failed = 50%

12,000 Passed = 50%

Of the approx 25,000 that applied only 20% progressed to stage 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭El_Triboy

Ya there'll be alot of heartbreak next week/week after. I'm being told by everyone I come in contact with, both guards (especially) and friends, that I'm mad to go into the guards. I get the whole 'its not the job it used to be' and 'morale and conditions are bad'...

From where I'm standing I can see that there's a lot of guards that want out, but are tied by mortgage's etc. I question my ambition to be a guard regularly and am wondering am I arrogantly not taking the advice being given to me.

Same as that, not one Guard Ive met has encouraged me, ''morale and working conditions'' etc. I do wonder about my choice but i always think that i have to make up my own mind and take my chances.

A possible regurgitated question here, but anyway: Will those who pass stage two be put into bands do ye reckon, like stage 1? Or do ye think it will be a case of whoever passes goes forward all under the same blanket?

What happened at stage 1!? Hard to see them changing from that process again !?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Pretty sure it's bands again according to a quote made last week, on the phone but someone else might be able to dig it out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

El_Triboy wrote: »
    Same as that, not one Guard Ive met has encouraged me, ''morale and working conditions'' etc. I do wonder about my choice but i always think that i have to make up my own mind and take my chances.

I have been listening to that as a reserve for years

dont mind them

its what you personally make of it

although morale is through the floor

mycro89 wrote: »
    What happened at stage 1!? Hard to see them changing from that process again !?

There were bands in Stage 1 and yes, it seems they will stick with that process

WilcoOut wrote: »
    I have been listening to that as a reserve for years

dont mind them

its what you personally make of it

although morale is through the floor

What is the reason for this in your opinion? Pay and hours cut, working conditions, recent revelations regarding MoJ?

Morale will be uplifted with new faces in stations too I reckon. I suppose members who got in during the boom are seeing very little promotion prospects due to the moratorium, which slowed it all down.

Low morale due to: lack of promotion prospects, increase in accountability, paper work, decrease in resources (cars, members), lack of OT, intro of GSOC, no new recruitment (which opens up doors for existing members to transfer between stations easier)

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Low morale due to: lack of promotion prospects, increase in accountability, paper work, decrease in resources (cars, members), lack of OT, intro of GSOC, no new recruitment (which opens up doors for existing members to transfer between stations easier)

ill never understand low morale due to paperwork - its the job. i dont think thats the reason OscarWhiskey

but your other points are spot on

lack of promotion - not just rank - but to specialised units. guys who were moving up the ladder in terms of drugs, task force etc are being put back onto the regular to fill gaps. so alot see their careers as being in reverse

new recruitment will help - a new lease of life into the organisation will work wonders

its the finances of it i think hits members the worst - lots of em young men/women in massive debts due to repeated wage cuts etc. they signed up to certain terms and had mortgages and loans based on these terms only to find their wages slashed and slashed . plenty of young officers out there earned more as probationers than they do now with 6 and 7 years experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Shifty13

Scouser wrote: »
    ill never understand low morale due to paperwork - its the job. i dont think thats the reason OscarWhiskey

but your other points are spot on

lack of promotion - not just rank - but to specialised units. guys who were moving up the ladder in terms of drugs, task force etc are being put back onto the regular to fill gaps. so alot see their careers as being in reverse

new recruitment will help - a new lease of life into the organisation will work wonders

its the finances of it i think hits members the worst - lots of em young men/women in massive debts due to repeated wage cuts etc. they signed up to certain terms and had mortgages and loans based on these terms only to find their wages slashed and slashed . plenty of young officers out there earned more as probationers than they do now with 6 and 7 years experience

And all of us here want to join the organisation, we must be mad!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Shifty13 wrote: »
    And all of us here want to join the organisation, we must be mad!!! :D

well we'll be starting off when its at rock bottom in terms of money etc

so it can only get better :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Shifty13

Scouser wrote: »
    well we'll be starting off when its at rock bottom in terms of money etc

so it can only get better :D

just-when-you-think-it-cant-get-any-worse.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Padraigog

What part of the country would you like to be stationed lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Padraigog wrote: »

Couldn't care - just want in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Dublin city centre

• Registered Users Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

Totally off topic but, should i be lucky enough to ever get my two feet in the door, either Letterkenny or Dublin city centre !

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Leml123

I'd say they will cut a serious amount of numbers from stage 2. I can only see 1,500 to 2,000 max going through to stage 3 and the rest will all be out of the competition... they won't interview more than 1, 000 people for 300 positions.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Padraigog

Lads, just to clarify is it 250-300 recruits for the entire drive (3 years) or 250-300 per year?

I was under the illusion that it was 900 recruits for this drive, as in 300 a year? So the 5000 in stage 2 awaiting results might be in with a half decent shot??..

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

I was under the illusion that it was 900 recruits for this drive, as in 300 a year? So the 5000 in stage 2 awaiting results might be in with a half decent shot??..

Give the high competition element my opinion is they will harvest the 300 from band one and have another 300 on standby from the same band . It will be a miracle if they go to band 2 or3. But then again why have 3 bands ?. Perhaps like in other campaigns they will offer prison officer placements to those in all three bands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Raider190 wrote: »
    Give the high competition element my opinion is they will harvest the 300 from band one and have another 300 on standby from the same band . It will be a miracle if they go to band 2 or3. But then again why have 3 bands ?. Perhaps like in other campaigns they will offer prison officer placements to those in all three bands

What's this about prison officer placements

D Trent wrote: »

It's all in the post it has happened in the past .

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Andrea345

I don't know, sometimes I think they are in with a chance considering that on this board alone, there has been many people stating that they don't have educational requirements or don't want to continue and then you have next stages, background checks etc. But then I think there is still a huge number of people. Will PAS have a certain standard overall and even though they would have to go to the trouble of another round of stage two tests, they will only take the best of the best at interview stage? If so then it all depends of the quality of the individuals in band one. We can't estimate how many of them are going to pass all stages. There should be enough but whose to say all those people are good at interviews, fit etc.

Lads, just to clarify is it 250-300 recruits for the entire drive (3 years) or 250-300 per year?

Don't get your hopes up. It is politicians like shatter and howlin who are making decisions . Don't think they realise how serious the crime landscape has now become. Perhaps when you are a governmental minister you are so far removed from normal life that the pain and suffering that is inflicted upon normal ordinary decent people by criminal scum is ignored in order to make their financial budgets work.

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭thestar

What you talkin about Willis? I know a guy who was asked during the interview if he would have any interest in being a prison officer.. What was the link between the gardai and prison service can anybody tell me?

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

I never heard of that happening. Well, that's something to think about so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

I actually have never come across a more unreasonable individual than yourself

I think he was being defensive, but I'm sure like me, you've never heard of that happening. I never have. I never knew that they did that.

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭thestar

poor raider gets an awful doing around here. I wouldn't mind but I think he is spot on with everything he says

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Chem Lord

I really hope the way some people interact online isn't the way they interact in person, otherwise a lot of people should reconsider whether this is the right career for them or not.

Andrea345 wrote: »
    I don't know, sometimes I think they are in with a chance considering that on this board alone, there has been many people stating that they don't have educational requirements or don't want to continue and then you have next stages, background checks etc. But then I think there is still a huge number of people. Will PAS have a certain standard overall and even though they would have to go to the trouble of another round of stage two tests, they will only take the best of the best at interview stage? If so then it all depends of the quality of the individuals in band one. We can't estimate how many of them are going to pass all stages. There should be enough but whose to say all those people are good at interviews, fit etc.

Bands 2 and 3 haven't failed, still in the running people ;)

You can get complete chancers who will walk the interview and unfortunately be accepted. For example, the HR manager in my place (well experienced) told me that some of the persons she hires completely blow her away at interview, say all the right answers etc. but then once in the door they can turn out to be absolute wasters. More often than not she says it is usually the quieter ones who don't necessarily say everything your looking to hear that end up being the better employee. It is probably the same everywhere.

I have done group interviews and listened to some serious BS from others and witnessed them people succeeding. Some HR people are far too gullible from my own experience. Only safeguard is that in our place they have a 3 month probation for all new hires.

redout wrote: »
    You can get complete chancers who will walk the interview and unfortunately be accepted. For example, the HR manager in my place (well experienced) told me that some of the persons she hires completely blow her away at interview, say all the right answers etc. but then once in the door they can turn out to be absolute wasters. More often than not she says it is usually the quieter ones who don't necessarily say everything your looking to hear that end up being the better employee. It is probably the same everywhere.

I have done group interviews and listened to some serious BS from others and witnessed them people succeeding. Some HR people are far too gullible from my own experience. Only safeguard is that in our place they have a 3 month probation for all new hires.
    So, how do you think the interview panel will be formed. Will it be a guard (retired or still serving) and maybe a HR specialist. I think it might be like that, but really haven't any clue.

Archer3083 wrote: »
    So, how do you think the interview panel will be formed. Will it be a guard (retired or still serving) and maybe a HR specialist. I think it might be like that, but really haven't any clue.

The notes for applicants state AGS don't come onboard until stage V. Interview is stage IV so yes I would definitely imagine an ex-garda will be on the panel. I agree and reckon it will be just 2 persons. One from PAS and an ex-garda. One will do the bulk of the talking whilst the other will take notes.

redout wrote: »
    The notes for applicants state AGS don't come onboard until stage V. Interview is stage IV so yes I would definitely imagine an ex-garda will be on the panel. I agree and reckon it will be just 2 persons. One from PAS and an ex-garda. One will do the bulk of the talking whilst the other will take notes.
    You'd definitely expect an ex member of the AGS. It would make more sense. And at least you'd be happy enough with one of them interviewing, at least they know the job. But the other one from PAS could be very hit and miss. Lots of HR bull I'm guessing i.e. What's your biggest weakness? My biggest weakness is that I care too much! LOL

Archer3083 wrote: »
    What's your biggest weakness?

Ah, the aul weakness question. It can either trip you up or seal the deal.

PAS: What's your biggest weakness?

You: "Honesty."

PAS: "I don't think honesty is a weakness."

You: "I don't give a **** what you think."

thestar wrote: »
    What you talkin about Willis? I know a guy who was asked during the interview if he would have any interest in being a prison officer.. What was the link between the gardai and prison service can anybody tell me?

Within the PAS they seem to think that the skill base is the same .i don't know why ?..... I don't think they are

thestar wrote: »
    poor raider gets an awful doing around here. I wouldn't mind but I think he is spot on with everything he says

Thanks ,it's an informed opinion just like yours perhaps. Maybe coming from a family of Gardai both junior and senior ranks does give me some additional insight. Been a GR helps with the practical and hands on knowledge and I do try to help but some posters are very brave behind a keyboard . Would it be the same in a face to face debate perhaps not. My main motivation is to help not to hinder , not to abuse , not to dampen enthusiasm , to encourage and to impart the experience I have had in order to help others

You don't know me I gave you a perfectly polite answer and this is your response . Let stay on topic shall we and leave the personal insults to one side

Raider, As the saying goes, Sometimes you just need to quit !

Probably best to keep your knowledge to yourself, as it will give you an advantage and stop the thread being de-railed from people picking at it !

Raider, As the saying goes, Sometimes you just need to quit !

Probably best to keep your knowledge to yourself, as it will give you an advantage and stop the thread being de-railed from people picking at it !

Can't subscribe to that opinion. We should be here to help each other along. Surely the pursuit of a career within AGS the primary motivation is to have a job which allows us to help people . If we can't display that attribute here then is a career within AGS the correct choice .

You could be right I don't think any of us really know what the future stores

Can't subscribe to that opinion. We should be here to help each other along. Surely the pursuit of a career within AGS the primary motivation is to have a job which allows us to help people . If we can't display that attribute here then is a career within AGS the correct choice .

Normally it would be fantastic ! However, any advice you give seems to end up in people having handbag arguments/personal digs at each other !