Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Band 2 what do we do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Faith and Justice

tod1577 wrote: »
    Its not 5000 for 300 jobs,its to form a panel for the next 3 years.

So you don't think anybody is going to fail any of the future stages? A panel of 5,000?

That's unrealistic. If they cut the first test by 50% then they're more then likely going to do the same now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

So you don't think anybody is going to fail any of the future stages? A panel of 5,000?

That's unrealistic. If they cut the first test by 50% then they're more then likely going to do the same now

He/she didn't say that. Someone mentioned its 5,000 candidates for 300 jobs but that isn't true. It's approximately 5,000 for approximately 900 jobs over 3 years. Now that 900 figure may go down but it may also rise depending on retirements, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭tod1577

Exactly kersplat thats what i was trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Yeah I rang up because I'm fluent in Irish but didn't tick the box but no can do it's too late.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    He/she didn't say that. Someone mentioned its 5,000 candidates for 300 jobs but that isn't true. It's approximately 5,000 for approximately 900 jobs over 3 years. Now that 900 figure may go down but it may also rise depending on retirements, etc.

It is not just 5,000 in fact 12,000 are still in the running but just in bands....

• Registered Users Posts: 40 buckinit

Is it the case that band 1 will be used for the majority of employment over the next three years?

If so, I have no complaints. That's now a 1 in 5 chance of getting called to training!

buckinit wrote: »
    Is it the case that band 1 will be used for the majority of employment over the next three years?

If so, I have no complaints. That's now a 1 in 5 chance of getting called to training!

12,000 people passed stage one. After the results for stage 2 are out there will be thousands of people removed from the competition, and 3 more stages left to pass.

I wouldn't be getting to excited

• Registered Users Posts: 48 stargazer9

lukesmom wrote: »
    Yeah I rang up because I'm fluent in Irish but didn't tick the box but no can do it's too late.

I'm so sorry to hear that, what a terrible shame. I wish they would have given you the chance to sit the tests. It sounds like they are low on Irish speakers.
    However I strongly believe they will go into band 2 for this campaign. I don't see them limiting themselves to the first 5000 people. They can be as choosy as they like as they've had so many applicants.
    There are going to be a lot of people from band 1 who would be totally unsuited to the job. There will be the nerds who scored great but have zero people skills. There will be people who fail the medical. There will be slobs and fatties who fail the physical competency & fitness component. Others will fail the background check. And then a massive chunk will just not impress at interview stage. So I think people in band 2 have an excellent chance of being called.
    PS: just in case anyone thinks I'm a bitch for saying the above, I scored high in band 1, and will probably fail the physical due to fatness, and the interview due to nerdiness/poor people skills etc

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭ann.lewis

Thats a fair enough post I think and everything is bang on. I got through in band 1, waiting on stage 2 results. I would expect to pass the fitness cause im very fit..id expect to pass the medical cause im medically ok and im not worried about my weight but I could completely flop at the interview or I may not have even passed stage 2 so I think people should sit tight and don't give up.

Keep practising the aptitude tests like on the link we got for stage one. Keep fit and prepare. All is not lost yet folks :) stay positive cause you just don't know who will be lost as we progress through each stage.

Im not being big headed with the above, im just saying. I've been through the process from start to finish previously and each stage is an achievement in its self. Plough on :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Padraigog

On what grounds would a young man in his twenties fail his medical though?

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭thestar

Any of the following examples of medical conditions may be a bar to passing the medical
    examination:

1. Obesity (applicants must comply with the relevant height/weight guidelines)
    2. Defective Vision (the vision standard required of a Garda Trainee is not less than 6/18,
    6/18 (correctable to 6/9, 6/12) unaided by glasses or contact lenses, with normal colour
    vision)
    3. Varicose veins
    4. Albumenuria
    5. Dental Caries
    6. Defective Hearing
    7. Hypertension, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭ann.lewis

Hearing test... wha ?
    Lung capacity....could be anything really.

Better to be safe than kicking yourself afterwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

ann.lewis wrote: »
    Hearing test... wha ?
    Lung capacity....could be anything really.

Better to be safe than kicking yourself afterwards

Lung capacity is only one thing

blow into a tube that looks like a kazoo and it gives a reading

There are a whole host of physical and mental health problems that will cause people to fail the medical. I have asthma amongst other problems. I was at the GP the other day and he checked my peak flow and it was terrible. I'm starting a course of steroids for it now. Previously I wasn't overly concerned about the asthma (if I get as far as the medical) but now I'm a little worried.
    My cousin failed the medical a few years ago cos his feet are a mess. He grew up wearing too small shoes and his toes are all scrunched up. It had never given him any problems other than cosmetic issues but he was failed as he was deemed unsuited to a job where he would potentially spend all day on his feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

stargazer9 wrote: »
    There are a whole host of physical and mental health problems that will cause people to fail the medical. I have asthma amongst other problems. I was at the GP the other day and he checked my peak flow and it was terrible. I'm starting a course of steroids for it now. Previously I wasn't overly concerned about the asthma (if I get as far as the medical) but now I'm a little worried.
    My cousin failed the medical a few years ago cos his feet are a mess. He grew up wearing too small shoes and his toes are all scrunched up. It had never given him any problems other than cosmetic issues but he was failed as he was deemed unsuited to a job where he would potentially spend all day on his feet.

That's a very sad story

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

There are a number of yoga breathing exercises which you can do to increase your lung capacity. Have come across many members who use a ventolin inhaler ,one in particular is a member of the most specialised unit in the force so don't be worried about it .research the yoga exercises

Thanks I will look into that yoga.
    I'm glad to hear about the guard on the ventolin. I had wondered if it would be acceptable to have to carry one with me. Someone told me its a bar when applying to the army.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

So, what are you going to do during the medical? Are you going to tell the doctor that you have asthma but that it's very mild or do you lie and say you have no asthma. Cos after the steroid treatment you should be pretty good for a while. I'm just asking cos I'm honestly curious.

Thanks I will look into that yoga.
    I'm glad to hear about the guard on the ventolin. I had wondered if it would be acceptable to have to carry one with me. Someone told me its a bar when applying to the army.

Have seen members carry their inhalers doesn't appear to be a problem

Raider190 wrote: »
    Have seen members carry their inhalers doesn't appear to be a problem

Maybe unofficially

Do you think a member can be dismissed if they have or develope asthma. Not the case . Just because you have this illness does not mean you can't do the job. Never seen any regs that says anything about inhalers

Don't be so defensive. I never said any of that.

Just because you haven't seen anything about inhalers, it doesn't mean you know the answer.

You said it doesn't appear to be a problem. As I said maybe unofficially

Don't be so defensive. I never said any of that.

Just because you haven't seen anything about inhalers, it doesn't mean you know the answer.

You said it doesn't appear to be a problem. As I said maybe unofficially

Not be defensive just giving my opinion have never heard of any who have had a problem with inhalers officially or un officially . Out of 13000 there are a high percentage with health issues far more serious than using an inhaler

A high percentage? What kind of health conditions?

Have they occurred naturally ? Or because of the job?

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Have you ever heard of anybody with human werewolf syndrome having a problem officially or un officially?

Just because you haven't doesn't mean it's not...

A high percentage? What kind of health conditions?

Have they occurred naturally ? Or because of the job?

Both naturally and due to stress , long hours , little sleep , bad diet , heavy drinking the list goes on

mfergus wrote: »
    Have you ever heard of anybody with human werewolf syndrome having a problem officially or un officially?

Just because you haven't doesn't mean it's not...

Have seen some hairy Gardai both male and female but no were wolfs not to date anyway

Once you are in the job your health issues are your own. As I stated before I know a number of members who use them and no senior officer has ever pulled them up for using an inhaler. So let's just move on

So, what are you going to do during the medical? Are you going to tell the doctor that you have asthma but that it's very mild or do you lie and say you have no asthma. Cos after the steroid treatment you should be pretty good for a while. I'm just asking cos I'm honestly curious.
    (No idea how to quote this properly on my phone)

I'm going to fess up. I considered telling a few fibs at the medical, but I think it's probably just best to be honest. I don't want to get caught out in any lies.

(No idea how to quote this properly on my phone)

I'm going to fess up. I considered telling a few fibs at the medical, but I think it's probably just best to be honest. I don't want to get caught out in any lies.
    The only way they'd catch you out is if medical exmainer corresponds with your own gp. I'm in a similar position. I don't know what I'll do.

Let them tell you what they find, act dumb

thestar wrote: »
    Let them tell you what they find, act dumb
    They won't find anything in a medical with me unless they correspond with my gp. So, I'm thinking of playing dumb.

I asked my GP about it. He said they will contact your current GP and possibly even previous ones if you're not with your current GP a long time and get full medical history. Apparently it's standard procedure for them to get you to sign a form allowing this at the medical. If you've seen any specialists they will contact them too.

I guess I have to fully disclose everything. I know my gp very well, but they're not going to lie for you if they're contacted. So, may as well come clean. In my case, it's high blood pressure, but it's hereditary, never bothered me but have to be medicated. Cardiologist just said it was bad luck for me to present with it. That's life.

In the information it says that hypertension may prevent you from joining AGS, so I suppose the door is half open anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

You are going to be asked either on paper or by the doctor to disclose any medical conditions. Probably both. Lying is madness. If you fail to disclose a medical condition when asked not only will you be in ****e but potentially also leave your employer up **** creek if something happened. That's my take.

Ye spent long enough arguing earlier but I cant see how in the name of John Gilligan they are gonna put a halt to your application if you use an inhaler

redout wrote: »
    You are going to be asked either on paper or by the doctor to disclose any medical conditions. Probably both. Lying is madness. If you fail to disclose a medical condition when asked not only will you be in ****e but potentially also leave your employer up **** creek if something happened. That's my take.
    There's no need to worry about the employer. Neither Asthma has ever stopped stargazer of doing work and I can assure you hypertension has never stopped me of working or doing anything else for that matter. It's just one of those things that can possibly hinder our chances of the AGS this time.

There is a list of illnesses that they say will fail one at a medical, i posted them only today on an earlier thread, they are on the garda website. Nothing about asthma there

Yeah I had this before when doing a medical. Had a medical carried out by their GP and they contacted my GP to get a full medical history as well.

Ye spent long enough arguing earlier but I cant see how in the name of John Gilligan they are gonna put a halt to your application if you use an inhaler
    I don't think it will matter about the asthma as long as he's medicated and the condition is being controlled. It's the same with me and hypertension. I'm being medicated and monitored. I wouldn't even know about my condition if the doctor never checked it when I visit. I had no symptoms, still don't, and not being affected in any way. But maybe AGS will take a dim view, and rule of out of joining AGS. There's loads of competition. AGS can be very selective, and pick 300 perfect candidates.

Archer3083 wrote: »
    I don't think it will matter about the asthma as long as he's medicated and the condition is being controlled. It's the same with me and hypertension. I'm being medicated and monitored. I wouldn't even know about my condition if the doctor never checked it when I visit. I had no symptoms, still don't, and not being affected in any way.

Plenty more hoops to jump through before that but I'm sure you will cross that bridge when you come to it..

It's the one thing that's worried from the start. But like you say, plenty of hoops to jump. I'm skeptical that I'll make it past Stage 2 anyway. So, it may never come to the medical anyway.

There's no need to worry about the employer. Neither Asthma has ever stopped stargazer of doing work and I can assure you hypertension has never stopped me of working or doing anything else for that matter. It's just one of those things that can possibly hinder our chances of the AGS this time.

I'd imagine failing to disclose a preexisting condition on a medical declaration is an offence. Just the same as it is to fail to disclose a preexisting condition to a healthcare provider. I would imagine that whomever provides the cover would advise AGS that they will not cover the costs as a fraud has been perpetrated. Also considering your employer would be AGS I don't think that would go down to well.

I guess I have to fully disclose everything. I know my gp very well, but they're not going to lie for you if they're contacted. So, may as well come clean. In my case, it's high blood pressure, but it's hereditary, never bothered me but have to be medicated. Cardiologist just said it was bad luck for me to present with it. That's life.

In the information it says that hypertension may prevent you from joining AGS, so I suppose the door is half open anyway.

I doubt that having any kind of hypertension at all means they will exclude you. I'm guessing it will depend on how severe it is, if it is adequately controlled by medication, and if you have any side effects. Some people with high blood pressure can't work at all because its so bad. Others are fine once they take their medication. It runs in my family too. Luckily I've dodged that bullet so far but I see the differing effects it has had on others.

I'd imagine failing to disclose a preexisting condition on a medical declaration is an offence. Just the same as it is to fail to disclose a preexisting condition to a healthcare provider. I would imagine that whomever provides the cover would advise AGS that they will not cover the costs as a fraud has been perpetrated. Also considering your employer would be AGS I don't think that would go down to well.
    Ok redout advise taken. It's stated that those conditions may affect your application. It does not say that they definitely will. I'm sure it's taken on a case by case basis. Honesty is probably the best policy. So, I'll stick to that now.

I doubt that having any kind of hypertension at all means they will exclude you. I'm guessing it will depend on how severe it is, if it is adequately controlled by medication, and if you have any side effects. Some people with high blood pressure can't work at all because its so bad. Others are fine once they take their medication. It runs in my family too. Luckily I've dodged that bullet so far but I see the differing effects it has had on others.
    I'm sure you're right, but everyone worries about these things..

Ok redout advise taken. It's stated that those conditions may affect your application. It does not say that they definitely will. I'm sure it's taken on a case by case basis. Honesty is probably the best policy. So, I'll stick to that now.

Honesty is always the best policy. I have seen it first hand with the army. Lads failed to disclose medical conditions and criminal convictions because they didn't think anyone would bother to check and it came back to bite them in the arse. A couple of lads were tossed for what I presume must have been serious conditions/offences but most were just given a telling off.

Can't see a doctor letting someone with hypertension pass a medical.
    Also I doubt it's a case by case judgement...
    Having an inhaler be probably grand tho.

Hate to be negative but that's my opinion.

Can't see a doctor letting someone with hypertension pass a medical.
    Also I doubt it's a case by case judgement...
    Having an inhaler be probably grand tho.

Hate to be negative but that's my opinion.

I can find anything specific:
    (3) Notwithstanding any other provision of these Regulations, the Commissioner
    shall not appoint and enrol a person as a member unless he or she is
    satisfied that—
    (a) the person is certified by a registered medical practitioner nominated
    by the Commissioner to be in good health, of sound constitution and
    suited physically and mentally to perform the duties of a member, and
    (b) the person is generally suitable for appointment.

Good info here:

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/blood-pressure-(high)/pages/introduction.aspx

apparently hypertension is a quite common condition so perhaps that will be taken into account.

I can find anything specific:

Good info here:

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/blood-pressure-(high)/pages/introduction.aspx

apparently hypertension is a quite common condition so perhaps that will be taken into account.

Subsection a... be of good health.
    Ie. Not have high blood pressure.

hypertension is not a small issue....

Subsection a... be of good health.
    Ie. Not have high blood pressure.

hypertension is not a small issue....

Aye, but the document to applicants states:
    may be a bar

So I take that to mean it will be up to a doctor to make a decision after they have reviewed your history. The NHS video in that link says that it has to be "persistent". Fair enough the above poster mentioned that he was medicated but according to the treatment options in the NHS link not all cases are i.e. if your blood pressure is only slightly above normal. It appears that only moderately high and very high pressure is medicated. Fcuk it, I am not a doctor so don't take my word for it. I am just stating what was in the NHS video and text trying to not be completely dismissive.