Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why you're happy to be single Valentines Day/How much are you spending if you''re not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Hell get a nice card, giftbag of valentines stuff, a game he really wants, a day for him and myself ;), homemade dinner made, steamy romantic bubble bath, champagne, choc covered strawberries, a day/night out together!

His birthday was last weekend so that was another big deal done by me as best as I can, so whatever I can afford for him this Valentines Ill do :)

Hoping to get back a nice pressy/card, day of sex and be brought out too though :D

Ill never understand this feministic style hatred towards Valentines day tbh!!!! I mean if your broken hearted and sad etc etc then I understand why youd hate the day and lead up with all the stuff in shops etc so Im not holding that against anybody tbh, but other than that its just a nice day to either spoil/be spoiled in all ways by your bf/gf or if single spoil yourself completely, whats wrong with that?!

Every year since I was 16 (before that I dont actually remember even seeing the significance of the day tbh being a child, preteen, early teen) Ive celebrated this day either as single (mostly :p) or in a couple and Ive always had fun, enjoyed and made the most of it as best as I could!

Why not, whatever way your relationship statused its just a day to spoil someone, get spoiled by someone or spoil yourself completely, sounds good to me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Which fooking eejits are spending over €350?? Madness..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Get off my lawn!

I put Valentine's Day price-gouging on par with DeBeers (with their stupid "Two months last a lifetime campaigns" for engagement rings), and the rest of the wedding-industrial complex. It's not particularly romantic, it's consumption-driven emotional blackmail designed to separate you from your money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Get off my lawn!

shrewdness wrote: »
    Which fooking eejits are spending over €350?? Madness..

Probably planning a Valentine's Day weekend holiday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 countryfan

You're absolutely right winter swimmer - she's a lucky lady and I'm sure she'll be delighted
    ive arranged for flowers and a card to be delivered to her place of work , she may not like it , were not going out that long but if a woman is annoyed by a romantic gesture , their not a " keeper " IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I spent 50 on flowers. We'll probably head out to dinner and the cinema or something as well. It's going to be an expensive month, both our 30ths are this month too. Valentine's Day is sandwiched in the middle of the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭JumpShivers

I think what annoys me most about Valentines Day, is the amount of people who announce they've just gotten engaged... Come up with a more original day!

Back on the topic... Zero euro. In theory, Valentines Day is a lovely idea, in practice, a Hallmark holiday. The one day when cinemas are packed, hotel prices go up and you're squished beside another table in a restaurant... For the sake of one day. Could've spent any of the other 364 days of the year doing the events above for half the price, and also the uniqueness. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

ElecKtrA wrote: »
    affection can be expressed in the simplest uncomplicated ways :-)

For yore diary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

He's getting an engraved zippo, a ps4 game, I'm baking him a cake and I've booked a hotel for Sunday because we're both busy with work til then. Costing me the guts of 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Tomorrow I'm sneakily getting up a bit early to make heart shaped deviled eggs. I think she will love that :)

Auldloon wrote: »
    Tomorrow I'm sneakily getting up a bit early to make heart shaped deviled eggs. I think she will love that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Me & the wife don't need to spend money on valentines day to show we love each other,we show it every day

delw wrote: »
    Me & the wife don't need to spend money on valentines day to show we love each other,we show it every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Hubby will get a card and a pack of Maltesers (his fav). I might get a Creme egg. We are going away for the weekend but it's actually our christmas present to each other. This just happened to be the first weekend that he is off the whole weekend. Don't really rate valentines day, restaurants always packed and any flowers you may buy at that time never last. Much prefer a little unexpected treat like the bunch of flowers or your favourite bar of chocolate that he picks up on his way home from work on a regular day just because he's thinking of you - that's real love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,658 ✭✭✭ronjo

gg2 wrote: »
    I've always been a bit on the fence when it comes to Valentines..... Like to mark it in some way, but its the one night I don't like to go out for dinner... Its too fake or something...
    I got himself a voucher for a hot towel shave and a haircut and I'll make him a wee hamper with his fave munchies, a DVD, a bottle of beer, just something small and silly. I'll either cook dinner on Friday or get a take out just depending on if I have to work or not... I think I might make him a cake tomorrow if I'm off.... I also got one of those massage candles and some nice lingerie but that's as much for me as for him.
    If he bought me flowers of any type I'd be annoyed at him, I know he can't afford it and I wouldn't appreciate it the way some people would, if I had my own place I reckon I'd appreciate them more. If I get a nice card and something with a bit of thought behind it I'd be delighted no matter the cost.

You are on the fence and have done all that???

What would you do if you ever got into it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

My OH and I don't do that Valentines sh1te, so I'll be spending no money and that's the best gift of all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

We both have Monday off so we're heading out for the day together.
    She'll get a card and a Rose and some chocolate tomorrow and that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Don't acknowledge the day. And she hates it. So tomorrow is just a Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I've told the OH not to buy me flowers or chocolates or anything.
    I don't buy into this Valentine's Day lark; forking out huge amounts for one silly day.

I buy my OH presents now and again and he does the same for me. We're in a committed relationship that doesn't rely on the frippery of a materialistic day and we're quite happy to sit in, watch a film and have a drink or two.
    I think people who spend loads in fancy restaurants are idiots.

Surely you're not that shallow?
    Why not go the next night?!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

To hell with that. It's just another card scam.

I'm single and I'm staying in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

fussyonion wrote: »
    I've told the OH not to buy me flowers or chocolates or anything.
    I don't buy into this Valentine's Day lark; forking out huge amounts for one silly day.

I buy my OH presents now and again and he does the same for me. We're in a committed relationship that doesn't rely on the frippery of a materialistic day and we're quite happy to sit in, watch a film and have a drink or two.
    I think people who spend loads in fancy restaurants are idiots.

Surely you're not that shallow?
    Why not go the next night?!

I totally agree. We've been together for more years than I care to admit but I still love our coffee dates and the occasional surprise bunch of flowers. Valentines day is just another excuse to play on people's insecurities and to make them spend money to show their "love".

Almost 100 singletons on the thread.

The orgy begins in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

ronjo wrote: »
    You are on the fence and have done all that???

What would you do if you ever got into it??

Probably go away for the weekend, spend a hundred quid on a gift, go out to a backed restaurant for dinner, expect a dozen red roses delivered to my work place. Not knocking anybody by the way who does this - whatever makes you happy:o

I don't think its that much at all! I would have got the voucher regardless as it was on offer.When I said on the fence I just meant how I actually feel about the day, I have friends who absolutely must go for dinner and expect the dozen red roses and a big present! I think it would be stupid for me to say I don't buy into it in one regard but I do in another hence being on the fence! Suppose its just different for everyone:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

In different countries to each other this year but usually stay in and have sex and steak. Then more sex.

This year I'll be shopping online for shoes instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Valentines Day is for saps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Dont believe in this bull**** valentines rubbish, was grand when a teenager but it soon wears thin,im married though so maybe that explains it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

We're together 4 years on the 21st. We can't do much for either anyway because Im working everyday until sometime at the end of March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I just added up all the junk there, €65! Feck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Isn't that true of all holidays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Gonna get her a watch and go for a meal.. Complete balls though, I'm on crutches so can't get it myself. Even buying flowers isn't worth the effort.

And this time of year is too hectic.. Christmas, her birthday, then New Year, then Lunar New year for her family and then Valentines Day. Can't wait for it to all be over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

then Lunar New year for her family

Are they werewolves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

order a Chinese and spend the evening riding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 carrig4life

€ 6 tesco flowers

€ 2 store card with a monkey on it.

Her face when she sees this, priceless

mauzo! wrote: »
    Are they werewolves?

The secret's out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭ferretone

My hubby and I have been together for 19 years, got together in first year in college during rag week, just happened to be on the night of Feb 13th, but after midnight, not that either of us noticed this at the time It also happens that neither of us has ever had any time for Vally-tines day. We are so unromantic that we didn't even get married til 3 years ago, as it suited for tax purposes at the time.

Just happens though, that I've been feeding my dog raw food for the past year, and supply has been more difficult recently. So last weekend we got a new, big freezer for our shed to store more supply, so I don't have to drive to get the stuff so often. I'd ordered some to collect early this week, not as much as if I'd been sure of getting the new freezer, but a decent load of duck necks and hearts, just the same.

After I came in from bagging the stuff up and putting it in the new freezer though, hubby informed me I'd just gotten a spectacular Valentine gift: a freezer with a thousand little hearts in it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

You asked so I'll answer. I don't mark valentines day. I've never had someone to spend it with. But because you asked I'll tell you that I'm envious of all those people who have a Chinese and a ride, or a dozen roses, fancy restaurant and a proposal. Be thankful that you have someone in your life to love you to your fullest. Not because tomorrow is a special day, but because every day they make you feel loved and fulfilled and some times they even make you smile.

Maybe tomorrow isn't about cards and flowers. Maybe tomorrow is about manufactured love. Some days you feel tired and alone, tomorrow look at your loved one and if you can't say you'd smile into their eyes for a few minutes and hold them a few minutes longer then join me in wishing you did have that person. If you don't feel loved tomorrow, or over the next few days then let's sit and be envious of those who do.

The bollixes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

It's not celebrated here really except among young people. Massive resistance against it from the over 27s (they'd see it as very commercial and just an imported American holiday). We haven't celebrated it at all in the 3 years we've been together and I think I only celebrated it once with one ex. I've always gone for those kinds of fellas who'd scoff at this kind of stuff but the older I get, the less cynical I am about it, particularly for young, new couples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Not long after I started going out with the missus I made the mistake of getting her a 'bunch' of flowers from Dunnes that cost about 3 pounds at the time.
    I say bunch but it was more like a couple of sorry looking pansies wrapped in newspaper.

She wasn't too impressed and let me know about it in no uncertain terms. Nothing, would have been better. Ever since it's been a proper bunch of flowers.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

What is so romantic about spending €20 on flowers and then watching them die? Silly fad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    $$$ saved.

Not having to Google "How much are a dozen red roses?" and getting a shock.

Not having to pay silly money in a resteraunt that have added so many tables the patrons will be 2 inches away from a mass orgy.

What reasons are you happy to be single on Valentines Day?

How much are you spending on your partner if you''re not?

I'm spending nothing, either is my OH. We will be together 3 years next week. :) Never celebrate Valentines day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

cournioni wrote: »
    What is so romantic about spending €20 on flowers and then watching them die? Silly fad.

My thoughts exactly!! I love plants because I can keep them alive but I hate getting flowers because I know they'll be dead after a few days. Such a waste. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

cournioni wrote: »

Flowers are awesome, no matter the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭missierex

Myself and my OH are going to Kilkenny for two nights on Sunday, so we decided to spend only about €15 on each other, then the balance can go on enjoying ourselves on our break away!