Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breakfast Republic on 2fm thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Also the description of the show is annoying to me. It goes Bernard, jenn, and the other guy. I mean Keith to me is the guy who is keeping things together as he knows what the **** he is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

Baby4 wrote: »

Great news, haven't listened to 2FM since Will Leahy's last show back in February, will be tuning in next week though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 36 D Weasel

Great news, haven't listened to 2FM since Will Leahy's last show back in February, will be tuning in next week though!

He could be a long term replacement to the 3 stooges?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

D Weasel wrote: »
    He could be a long term replacement to the 3 stooges?

I doubt it. He's a practising solicitor as well so I'd imagine working mornings wouldn't be ideal.

Maybe he needs to choose one career over the other if he wants to get anywhere in broadcasting!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

I doubt it. He's a practising solicitor as well so I'd imagine working mornings wouldn't be ideal.

Maybe he needs to choose one career over the other if he wants to get anywhere in broadcasting!
    Considering how secure his job on 2fm is I'd be sticking with the Law.

I wonder will he be broadcasting from Limerick or Dublin?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

limerick i would say, he is ok as he has the family practice to fall back on, but i definitely think as was said above that he would be a great breakfast host

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 stephenireland

Welcome back to Will Leahy - in this office we are back to 2FM......why did they not tell us he is back?
    well done to those in control - it is good to recognise that even in the high towers of Montrose - they listen to the people - and if they get it wrong they admit it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Welcome back to Will Leahy - in this office we are back to 2FM......why did they not tell us he is back?
    well done to those in control - it is good to recognise that even in the high towers of Montrose - they listen to the people - and if they get it wrong they admit it...

Calm down there Stephen! Will is just in covering holidays, this is not a permanent replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Radio5

How long have the trio been on air? And they're on the hols already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,612 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Calm down there Stephen! Will is just in covering holidays, this is not a permanent replacement.
    there's three of them ....was it impossible to stagger the holidays...odd

Radio5 wrote: »
    How long have the trio been on air? And they're on the hols already?

If they're working as per Joe Duffy's "entitlements" they can take holidays every 3 weeks or so.....:D:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Certainly seems odd that the 3 of them are on leave this week. Surely they could stagger the breaks or is this going to be a permanent holiday for them?

gazzer wrote: »
    Certainly seems odd that the 3 of them are on leave this week. Surely they could stagger the breaks or is this going to be a permanent holiday for them?

Wouldn't see it as unusual that the team take holidays together.

The unusual part is that there's a team of 3 for radio - it's not the best/easiest way to do this. 2 is the norm for a radio team for many reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,581 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Considering the moans on other threads when one member (usually the "lead" which'd be, erm, Keith here probably?) of a multi-person presenter team goes on holidays alone; it seems there's no actual best practice for this.

it's gas. the best thing RTE could do is not have them come back....but tell nobody just carry on with out them, as if it never happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

The shows only been on the air a couple of months and they're taking holidays, seems a bit soon to me.

it isa bit soon for hilidays, you would imagine they would be trying to build an audience and yet they take a week off? it is normal practice for people to check out other radio shows when their regular presenter(s) are off, maybe 2fm are looking to try will leahy out and if it goes well they will take him on in that role full time

i think we all agree something is up!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 36 D Weasel

All on holidays in may??? Hmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭greengirl31

Wouldn't it be great if they were gone for good ... !!! I haven't been able to listen to them but did they say on Friday that they were off this week ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

I think there's alot of wishful thinking here lads and lassies, it's perfectly in line for 2fm to do the antithesis of the logical thing to do, hence holidays for the breakfast crew after 8 weeks on air is perfectly normal for rte.

I'd also say despite their starting several months into the year they will still receive their full compliment of annual leave, again because it's rte, sure look at Colm Hayes, he's had loads of time off and it's not even June .

No, if will leahy was going to option for radio over his legal career I'd say he'd have done it by now. I think the lads are just on holiday and will be back after the week.

Part of me wants them to stay on as they are contributing to the destruction of the state broadcaster in what resembles a slow motion car crash. Montrose and the 2fm bosses deserve everything coming their way, the waste of money, both government funded and private as revenue and the waste of resources in Donnybrook has been nothing short of a scandal.

Folks, you can kill your conspiracy theories right now. The presenters are on holidays. There is nothing sinister at play and they're absolutely not admitting anything is wrong with the format or the presenters - this is RTE after all. It will take years (not months) of ineptitude, medicocrity and falling ratings for the show to be even put under a forensic lens with a view to doing something different. Stop kidding yourselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

It was a nice change to be able to listen to a full show this morning without wanting to rip off my ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

shockwave wrote: »
    The shows only been on the air a couple of months and they're taking holidays, seems a bit soon to me.

In fairness they could have had this planned already, they do have lives aside from the show. I remember Ray Foley taking holidays a few weeks after starting on 98.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Just heard will now. 2fm back on in my car for first time in ages in morning!

no awkwardness today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Bringing Back The Breakfast 3!!!

soc160 wrote: »
    In fairness they could have had this planned already, they do have lives aside from the show. I remember Ray Foley taking holidays a few weeks after starting on 98.

All 3 with the same plans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Bringing Back The Breakfast 3!!!

The show has gone from All Bran to Crunchy Nut over the weekend.

i'd say the 3 stooges are gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

enjoyed Will today. much more professional than the other 3, but alas its only a temporary 1 week relief. Next week I will be back to not listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

enjoyed Will today. much more professional than the other 3, but alas its only a temporary 1 week relief. Next week I will be back to not listening.

you and everyone else....:rolleyes:

the boss really hasn't done himself any favours this time!! Didn't he say he put his reputation on this??

then again does anything these people say mean anything anymore...i got into the car last night and 2fm was still on the radio.....it was just as bad, it's as if they are setting out to appeal to those annoying teenagers with the OMG american accents and alienating every one else

jezzer wrote: »
    i'd say the 3 stooges are gone

Like Gerry Adams once said about the provos "they haven't gone away you know".

Spoke to someone who works in RTE this morning about this and they confirmed it's just a holiday. They were shocked I was even asking such a stupid question........

Like Gerry Adams once said about the provos "they haven't gone away you know".

Spoke to someone who works in RTE this morning about this and they confirmed it's just a holiday. They were shocked I was even asking such a stupid question........
    you must shock them a lot!!

They should have got some nobody dj or researcher to fill in this week instead of Will because it just makes you realise how terrible the show actually is with the 3. It would have been like Fergie taking over from Moyes last season for a month cause he wanted a holiday.

you must shock them a lot!!

Stating the obvious generally does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭vamos!

Tend to flick among a few stations in the morning. Can only listen to 2fm mornings if there is music and no blabbering. I liked Hector and really can't stand the 3. Keith could be great with someone else though. Love Will and have been staying on 2fm when he's on. Also like Alan Swan.

vamos aka hector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭vamos!

jezzer wrote: »
    vamos aka hector

Nope sadly not!! Found him a bit irritating at times but rarely flicked the station and 2FM rarely on my radio since the 3 stooges took over. I fail to see any form of appeal.

Yours,
    Not Hector!

i know they are bad, terrible in fact but not as "assholish" as hector....rahoo rahoo rahoo!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Will was great this week. Back too Ian Dempsey from Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

yep probably just lost another few thousand that had tuned into will again.

yes will is a class operator

Farwell again Will, your welcome back to mornings anytime you fancy taking over from those 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭deise man

Does anyone have anything good to say about breakfast Republic. I'd say that it's one of the worst shows ever to be put on the radio. Wonder if dan Healy will admit his mistake and give them the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭The_Wanderer

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Will was great this week. Back too Ian Dempsey from Monday

Likewise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 Mr Steak

Great to have the lads back

i had to listen to a few mins of Ronan Keating this morning in case i missed a joke ....wasn't sure what was happening....it was a ronan keating song with bernard talking in the background.....apparently in his jocks...and i can log into 2fm website today if i want to see pictures of same....

Raising the bar again I see.