Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 Mod warning post#7005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

careca wrote: »
    Missed post match interviews, did Rodgers say anything about Webb?

Said he's a WWE referee masquerading as a football ref and that he needs to man up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I know Allen took a bad tackle early on but one thing I got from this match our midfield without Henderson really misses him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

A good performance and it leaves no reason to be worried (other than if that absolute coward is refereeing any more of our games).

We do need Suarez to get back on track. He hasn't been bad by any stretch but his finishing has been a bit weak lately.
    All players have peaks and troughs. We need him to peak again to maintain this top 4 push we've put together.

A pity we're not going to win anything (except the league, obviously) but as far as the plan to make us stop being **** has gone, we're well ahead of schedule.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

did arsenal really do a lap of honour?

jaysus that 5-1 defeat must have stung them badly - we are improving but we are not Brazil 1970; however, will take it as a complement, hope they win it now after Mourinho's disgraceful comments about Wenger

two little incidents that have been glossed over in all the furore about Webb and our glut of missed chances

1. very poor from brad jones for the podolski goal, ball went right through him

2. the agger miss at the end; some (icnluding Martin Keown) suggest that was a blatant penalty too, poor from Agger who should have scored anyway and again our two experienced centre-backs were pretty uncertain even against a rookie

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Turtyturd wrote: »
    All the crying from Arsenal fans about Liverpool fans being bad winners is really coming round to bite them in the hole today. :D

Knowing a couple of them IRL, let me tell you that their hatred for Liverpool probably out trumps that of most United fans. Use anything to get a dig in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

People are being way too harsh on Agger. Today was his first game back in quite a while. M
    For me he is still our best defender and unless I'm mistaken our goals conceded stats in games he has started confirms that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Mod Post: Tone down the little digs at one another, folk.

I know Allen took a bad tackle early on but one thing I got from this match our midfield without Henderson really misses him

Allen wasn't bad. And Henderson wasn't great when he came on.

It wasn't really a game in which they were going to shine.

Gerrard was keeping things ticking over by himself and nobody else in midfield made a huge impact.

NukaCola wrote: »
    I dont think its fair when a poster makes a post and gets abuse for posting. Especially a good poster who has contributed to this thread thousands of times.

Agree but would also say it's wrong to bring up how a poster is posting as it's irrelevant most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Said he's a WWE referee masquerading as a football ref and that he needs to man up.

If only, then Sterling's touch would have taken him out for a bit while Henderson came on and scored before making it back onto the bench just as he came to.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

The guy lacks bottle, simple as that. Always say to any striker that plays a lone role even at club level - take a look at the centre halves for the first 15mins, decide which one is the weakest and stick to him all game. Pick on him. There is always 1 centre half more vulnerable than the other. Sanogo never once went near Skrtel for an aerial duel - very clever. Agger is just a very average centre half when it comes to aerial duels. Needs to man up bigtime. Well suited to Barca.

Yup. Been criticised for sometime for saying I'd be open to selling him a few years ago when City were supposedly interested. Really missed the boat if an offer was on the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Gbear wrote: »

Gerrard was keeping things ticking over by himself and nobody else in midfield made a huge impact.

Its not that either were good or bad. Just Henderson seems to have more of a presence in the midfield when it come to the phsyical side of the game.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    People are being way too harsh on Agger. Today was his first game back in quite a while. M
    For me he is still our best defender and unless I'm mistaken our goals conceded stats in games he has started confirms that.

I don't think he's played enough games for those stats to matter.

He certainly hasn't been worth his wages this season.

At times he's been excellent for us over the course of his time here but we can do better for less.

Seriously, you seem to post nothing but very bitter digs at other clubs, gives us non bitter fans a bad name.

'The turd does us all prove, an excellent poster. I wish him well'
    Craig Bellamy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Wouldn't be bothered if Agger never played for us again.

Heart is in the right place but he's just not that good. Good 3rd choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    It's all quite weird, because I remember him locking down Drogba a couple of times against Chelsea. Was outstanding in both games (one in the CL and league or FA Cup?). Ever since then he's never really put in a similar performance and shy's away from it.

Hopefully Barca are still interested in him come the summer, and hopefully Sakho is back ASAP.

I remember them games because previously he was destroyed by Drogba and I was fearing the worst. The last year or two he seems to be looking to the ref to help him out way too much.
    Love seeing Sakho in the team, he might get dragged towards the ball but he will rarely lose a fight for the ball. And you have a lot more confidence when a cross comes into the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

I don't think he's played enough games for those stats to matter.

He certainly hasn't been worth his wages this season.

At times he's been excellent for us over the course of his time here but we can do better for less.

Would imagine that Alan is referring to Agger's long term stats on that score as well as any shorter term ones from this season. Our goal's conceded figures for games in which Agger started have been pretty good for years now.

Having said that, I would be one who would play a fully fit Sakho over a fully fit Agger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Okey dokey:

Feb 23 Liverpool v Swansea City
    Mar 1 Southampton v Liverpool
    Mar 10 Liverpool v Sunderland
    Mar 16 Manchester United v Liverpool
    Mar 22 Cardiff City v Liverpool
    Mar 30 Liverpool v Tottenham Hotspur
    Apr 5 West Ham United v Liverpool
    Apr 12 Liverpool v Manchester City
    Apr 19 Norwich City v Liverpool
    Apr 26 Liverpool v Chelsea
    May 3 Crystal Palace v Liverpool
    May 11 Liverpool v Newcastle United

No midweek games
    No competitive conflicts
    No more than one game per week

We may never get a better run at this thing, that's all I'm saying.

This!! I'm not going to pretend I'm happy losing today. But we have and we now have only league games left. Go for the title. It's an outside chance but go for it. If we fall up short, then hopefully it's in second or third position.

Flamini made a big difference today. He freed up Areta from the deeper role he played last week. That meant the likes of Allen and Countinho didn't have time on the ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

I don't get how some Arsenal fans see this as revenge? The game that really mattered they got spanked 5-1!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Slattsy wrote: »
    Wouldn't be bothered if Agger never played for us again.

Heart is in the right place but he's just not that good. Good 3rd choice.

Behind who though? Skrt and Sakho first choice?

We haven't really settled on a first choice CB pairing. I would be very interested in seeing Sakho and Agger given a proper run in the first team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Arsenal fans really are looking for a reaction out of us. I'm quiet content after that. I mean it's not going happen every week up front and the emirates is a tough place to go.

aramush wrote: »
    I don't get how Arsenal fans see this as revenge? The game that really mattered they got spanked 5-1!!

The game that really matters is the game you get to gloat about at this very minute :D

niallo27 wrote: »
    Arsenal fans really are looking for a reaction out of us. I'm quiet content after that. I mean it's not going happen every week up front and the emirates is a tough place to go.

The match thread is a disaster.....some unintentionally funny posts in there

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Flamini made a big difference today. He freed up Areta from the deeper role he played last week. That meant the likes of Allen and Countinho didn't have time on the ball.

They didn't have all bloody day like last week but they still had plenty of time.

Not giving 20 yards of room to our midfielders every time they got the ball isn't Arsenal working miracles - it's the absolute least they should've been doing.

It still wasn't good enough to be consistently winning games against teams as good as us or better and if they're that average against Bayern they'll get mangled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Thought Allen was not up to the game again. Missing Lucas in this game or even Henderson to run around like crazy and get the blocks in, close the opposition down quickly and get some decent starting platforms from which to launch attacks. we did look better when Hendo came on I think although Cissokho is not playing his way into a permanent contract like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

The game that really matters is the game you get to gloat about at this very minute :D

Haha, too true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

It's a lot easier to lose to Arsenal, compared to Chelsea, Spurs or United, in terms of my general mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,297 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

I don't get how some Arsenal fans see this as revenge? The game that really mattered they got spanked 5-1!!

You know its bad when they have fans who dont post for a week and wait until the game is over to post in the match thread

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

4 games now without Suarez scoring.

tis a disater i tell yis, a disaster!

They are desperate for a trophy...most likely going out of the CL in this round, and unlikely to fall below 4th. This was still a big game for them.

I know its an Arsenal thing but Arsene really showed up Mourinho with his reply to "being a specialist in failure"

"I do not want to go into that - those were silly, disrespectful remarks. I never spoke about him in my press conference. I know one thing, it is more embarrassing for Chelsea than it is for me."

Well said

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Webb is some bottler.

I know its an Arsenal thing but Arsene really showed up Mourinho with his reply to "being a specialist in failure"

"I do not want to go into that - those were silly, disrespectful remarks. I never spoke about him in my press conference. I know one thing, it is more embarrassing for Chelsea than it is for me."

Well said

It's hard not to come off classy against Mourinho.

I hope these comments are ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

apart from the missed chances and bad refereeeing the big thing I take from the game is the fact, for the first time in a long time I expected us to boss a game against a top four side away from home, we did and in all honesty we should have mullered them again - so it's an upward curve lads and I would feel a hell of a lot worse if that was a league games

2 things we should take from the game

1. we're a match for anyone, home or way, teams are scared to death of us - we are growing in confidence with each passing day

2. let's do everything possible to ensure webb doesn't influence our season any more, we should really publically slam him at this stage

They didn't have all bloody day like last week but they still had plenty of time.

Not giving 20 yards of room to our midfielders every time they got the ball isn't Arsenal working miracles - it's the absolute least they should've been doing.

It still wasn't good enough to be consistently winning games against teams as good as us or better and if they're that average against Bayern they'll get mangled.

I have no doubt Bayern will prove to be a much sterner test for their Midfield. Our midfield needed strengthening in Jan and I don't think Hendo would have made much difference from the start. Just trying to stand up for our little Allen, seems to get harsh criticism that most of the time isn't warranted.

billy2012 wrote: »
    Webb is some bottler.

terrible referee whos' rep is only built from being Mr Nice Guy.

every industry has them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

They are desperate for a trophy...most likely going out of the CL in this round, and unlikely to fall below 4th. This was still a big game for them.

Yee not desperate for a trophy no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

The guy lacks bottle, simple as that. Always say to any striker that plays a lone role even at club level - take a look at the centre halves for the first 15mins, decide which one is the weakest and stick to him all game. Pick on him. There is always 1 centre half more vulnerable than the other. Sanogo never once went near Skrtel for an aerial duel - very clever. Agger is just a very average centre half when it comes to aerial duels. Needs to man up bigtime. Well suited to Barca.

Exactly as I posted in the game thread, he needs to man the fcuk Up! Even for the 2nd goal he was brushed off by ox and turned around to whine at Webb as he was chasing him. Don't know how he can be thought of as a great player by anyone when he is so easily pushed around.

Well said

Saw that interview. Mourinho is incapable of doing what Wenger has done at Arsenal. He's overseen a major transition in building their own stadium that I think they have now fully paid for(??) whilst bringing in the revenue of Champions League football every year. He'll only fully be truly appreciated for what he's done years from now when people look back in hindsight

Sorry for going off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Exactly as I posted in the game thread, he needs to man the fcuk Up! Even for the 2nd goal he was brushed off by ox and turned around to whine at Webb as he was chasing him. Don't know how he can be thought of as a great player by anyone when he is so easily pushed around.

For someone covered in tattoos he certainly doesn't play like a hard man. Sanogo was basically a French Grant Holt and any time the two of them jumped for the ball, Agger came away holding his head or his arm looking for a free-kick. Less complaining and give him some back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Last person in the world to want to defend Howard Webb but he does have a horrible view of the penalty incident.

irMVhlpuQdoq.gif

Opr

Yee not desperate for a trophy no?

Have you not heard? It's our year, we didn't want the double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

opr wrote: »
    Last person in the world to want to defend Howard Webb but he does have a horrible view of the penalty incident.

irMVhlpuQdoq.gif

Opr

PENALTY
    oh wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

irMVhlpuQdoq.gif

Opr

He is blocking the vital moment there though. You can't see the kick.

Said it in the match thread but very few refs would have given 2 penos that close together no matter how stonewall the were. His inconsistent booking was worse. Monreal could have done some damage to Allen, and Podolski seemed to have permission to foul as many times as he wanted.

billy2012 wrote: »
    Webb is some bottler.
    Said it in the match thread but very few refs would have given 2 penos that close together no matter how stonewall the were. His inconsistent booking was worse. Monreal could have done some damage to Allen, and Podolski seemed to have permission to foul as many times as he wanted.

yes but the disappointment is compounded when you think of the other critical cockup from him in the Chelsea game when it also was Suarez getting clobbered by Eto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

niallo27 wrote: »
    He is blocking the vital moment there though. You can't see the kick.

I know, I'm saying from his angle it isn't as clear cut as when you see it from other angles. The barge just doesn't seem as pronounced (looks like more shoulder to shoulder) with the kick obscured and it looks awful theatrical from Suarez. When you see the other angle, no question it's a penalty but I can see how he doesn't give it from his position.

76bb93337b7f1cb7bc8fe1d50792eb5f.gif?1392572555

Opr

Agueroooo wrote: »
    yes but the disappointment is compounded when you think of the other critical cockup from him in the Chelsea game when it also was Suarez getting clobbered by Eto.

That Chelsea one was worse. Shockingly bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

irMVhlpuQdoq.gif

Opr
    this is a joke :confused: