Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 Mod warning post#7005

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

klose wrote: »
    Probably the last we'll see of kelly so

with a bit of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

mike65 wrote: »
    Best news all week for me. Flanno looks out of his depth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭jamaamaj

For all this debate about Rodgers and Rafa.

I'm really looking forward to meeting Napoli in the champions league next season ;).

But it will be the only time i'll be happy to see Rafa lose.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

jamaamaj wrote: »
    For all this debate about Rodgers and Rafa.

I'm really looking forward to meeting Napoli in the champions league next season ;).

But it will be the only time i'll be happy to see Rafa lose.

Really? I wanted him to lose every week at Chelsea.

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭internelligent

Slattsy wrote: »
    Rafa didnt have to contend with money bags City and to an extent Chelsea, and also Spurs were useless back then.

Makes what Rodgers is doing serious form.

Rodgers doesn't have to compete with Man Utd. Rafa did. :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Actually wanted him to win every game as Chelsea boss (only time ever) so he could ram it down the throats of the fans who wanted him out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Really? I think Flanno's been grand. Improving all the time.

Is this going to be another case of a player getting better the longer he's out injured cos Johnson has been absolutely shite all season and probably the second half of last season too...

Not sure I believe the 'injured all season' line either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,890 ✭✭✭✭klose

Johnson's been awful for around a year now, flanno isn't a world beater but he's been doing a better job then Johnson since hes came in imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

K-9 wrote: »
    I look at Kono and think Suarez, Sturridge and Coutinho, yes please!

Then I get out of FIFA/CM mode and wonder why the manager doesn't see DM as a priority.

Suppose it's similar to why we had N'Gog as back up to Torres. Benitez had his priotities, Rodgers his. It's philosophies, football managers can have such high flaluting terms!

Mignolet
    ---Skrtel---Agger---Sakho
    Gerrard-Lucas
    Coutinho
    Sterling---Suarez--Konoplyanka
    Sturridge

Looks fine to me! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Mignolet
    Gerrard-Lucas
    Coutinho
    Sturridge

Too defensive for my liking

So when Chelsea were playing United..you wanted Rafa chelsea to lose?

Really.??

Really.??

Almost every week :)

Mignolet
    Gerrard-Lucas
    Coutinho
    Sturridge

Not enough running from the knees...

Actually wanted him to win every game as Chelsea boss (only time ever) so he could ram it down the throats of the fans who wanted him out

I can understand that POF but fcuk them tbh.

They didn't deserve him. I didn't need him to be successful there to know how good he is.

The fact he was successful there dealing with that poison shows what type of manager he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Mignolet
    Lucas
    Hendo
    Coutinho
    Sturridge

Not enough running from the knees...

Fixed! Sorry Stevie

Almost every week :)

hehe sir slour nearly at the door hangballouie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Mignolet
    Gerrard-Lucas
    Coutinho
    Sturridge

Front 5 cost £55 Million, not much more than a single player like an Ozil or a Mata!

Coutinho , what a player, the most through balls in this PL season, I love a through ball me, Platini and Brady were pretty decent at them.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Front 5 cost £55 Million, not much more than a single player like an Ozil or a Mata!

Cost 55, worth an awful lot more at this stage

Here's a controversial/hipster opinion for you, I'd have taken Platini any day over Maradonna.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Suarez 80m Struridge 45m Sterling 20m...? mmm maybe more?

Here's a controversial/hipster opinion for you, I'd have taken Platini any day over Maradonna.

I'd have Maradona over Pele....just Me.

Platini was a great player, but better than Maradonna. Not a chance, Maradonna dragged a team to a world cup single-handedly and almost got a second 4 years later, not to mention what he did at Napoli

Platini had the benefit of some decent enough players around him, but no way Platini could drag that 82 squad in the way Maradonna did

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Here is a controversial/hipster opinion for you, Platini wasn't even the best ever French player, either was Zidane.

It was this guy.

5FC1z7V.gif

No Sky HD back then so for those that don't remember the goal it is Papin.

Platini was a great player, but better than Maradonna. Not a chance, Maradonna dragged a team to a world cup single-handedly and almost got a second 4 years later, not to mention what he did at Napoli

Platini had the benefit of some decent enough players around him, but no way Platini could drag that 82 squad in the way Maradonna did

Platini single handely won France a European Championship, they'd never won anything before, unlike Argentina.

I posted a video of Platini in 84 a few years ago, football porn!

Here is a controversial/hipster opinion for you, Platini wasn't even the best ever French player, either was Zidane.

It was this guy.s

Zidane, Platini......... Papin.

Great goalscorer and one of the best, but i would have Fontaine a head of him.

It was this guy.

[IMG][/img]http://i.imgur.com/5FC1z7V.gif

Problem is you met a papin fan, Platini was just a class above.

It was this guy.s

Zidane, Platini......... Papin.

Great goalscorer and one of the best, but i would have Fontaine a head of him.

I can't have a player ahead of another if there is little or no evidence of how they played apart from their record.

Papin was the man for me growing up.

Problem is you met a papin fan, Platini was just a class above.

Nah he was a nothing player. Sure Dunphy said it, so it must be true ;)

I can't have a player ahead of another if there is little or no evidence of how they played apart from their record.

Papin was the man for me growing up.

Not much but - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=svVA7JiHUFQ

Maybe somebody can find video footage of Fontaine ?

People think 86 means Maradonna, Platini owned 84, I don't think we'll ever see a player dominate a major championship like Platini did, I mean totaly own it.

People think 86 means Maradonna, Platini owned 84, I don't think we'll ewver see a player dominate a major championship like Platini did.

Ok, i'll take them two my Liverpool team,

Maybe play them two flouting with Luis, and Danny uptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Bg7x_Tpe_CYAAlob_L.jpg

The one on the right looks a bit like Harry Redknapp.

monkey9 wrote: »
    The one on the right looks a bit like Harry Redknapp.

As long as nowt look like the chosen one moyes we be OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

It was this guy.

5FC1z7V.gif

Papin wasn't even in the same galaxy as the other two.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I love how random this thread is. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    I love how random this thread is. That is all.

You're random.

nuR4V.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Is this still the Liverpool thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Is this still the Liverpool thread?

Think it might be the Newcastle one now :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I thought it was the Schizophrenia helpline

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭Swarlez

klose wrote: »
    Johnson's been awful for around a year now, flanno isn't a world beater but he's been doing a better job then Johnson since hes came in imo.

Thought Johnson started very well this season but around the end of November, his form started to Dip and then nosedived over Christmas. Having a fully fit Johnson back is always a plus imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Swarlez wrote: »
    Thought Johnson started very well this season but around the end of November, his form started to Dip and then nosedived over Christmas. Having a fully fit Johnson back is always a plus imo.

I agree with this. Poor lately but I still rate him as a player overall and happy for him to be fit and playing again.

Papin wasn't even in the same galaxy as the other two.

To say he wasn't in the same galaxy is defo wrong. He was top european cup goal scorer for 3 years straight, not many have done that.

He has a 1 in 2 record.

I can see the reason why people say the other two are better and tbh they are probably right. I am just saying for me, Papin was the one I enjoyed watching the most so he was the better player imo.

Anyway back on topic,

We are gonna win the league lads aren't we?

This is on its way.

q386i.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Coutinho , what a player, the most through balls in this PL season, I love a through ball me, Platini and Brady were pretty decent at them.

Danny Murphy! Him and Stevie had so much fun pushing balls through for Owen to run onto...

Sign everyone and we'll worry about formations later.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Suarez loves everything and is staying forever.

“We are very strong at home and we must keep going like this. As the manager said we are a chihuahua! We must just focus on every game. In football you never know what can happen.

“To be in the Champions League is what we all want. This is our objective – to play in it next season.

“We know we have a small squad. When our best 11 players start we have shown we can do well against any team. But if we have one or two injuries it can become difficult for the manager.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fc-luis-suarez-can-6729718

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

gafferino wrote: »

“We are very strong at home and we must keep going like this. As the manager said we are a chihuahua! We must just focus on every game. In football you never know what can happen.

“To be in the Champions League is what we all want. This is our objective – to play in it next season.

“We know we have a small squad. When our best 11 players start we have shown we can do well against any team. But if we have one or two injuries it can become difficult for the manager.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fc-luis-suarez-can-6729718

i hope Suarez doesn't bite a player again:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

gafferino wrote: »

hmmm a bit dismissive of our back-up options there - of course the majority of us agree with him, not sure if it's wise to state it publically, then again he's probably as pissed off as anybody with lack of reinforcements in January - never mind the fear of missing out on CL, could a lack of investment ultimately cost is a title? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Really.??

I certainly did. As much as I hate united, there's a decency abut the club that's entirely lacking in Chelsea and their national front fan base

donfers wrote: »
    hmmm a bit dismissive of our back-up options there - of course the majority of us agree with him, not sure if it's wise to state it publically, then again he's probably as pissed off as anybody with lack of reinforcements in January - never mind the fear of missing out on CL, could a lack of investment ultimately cost is a title? :eek:
    Don't think he's being dismissive when he talks about the small squad tbh.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

You're random.

nuR4V.gif

:(

You're a 3rd hole at Los Santos GC!

(I'm so stealing that gif btw : p)