Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The best compliment you ever received from a member of the opposite sex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

bridget84 wrote: »
    A random stranger came up to me and my ex boyfriend in a restaurant and said to my ex "You're punching way above your weight". I was extremely flattered but felt sorry for my ex.

Haha yeah flattered are you...how would you feel if some young wan came up and said the same about your bloke....You would go MAD. Especially if he seemed flattered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

i cant think of the best one i can think of 2 creepy ones that happened years ago.

"You've a lovely arse.....can i have a go of it?" - creepy auld lad in his 50s when i was 17....and no he didnt have a go of it.

This one was after a ons a few years back. "Jaysus....you're fanny is beautiful"....i awkwardly said thanks and told him his cock was lovely then i left and never saw him again. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

bridget84 wrote: »
    A random stranger came up to me and my ex boyfriend in a restaurant and said to my ex "You're punching way above your weight". I was extremely flattered but felt sorry for my ex.

I always find it interesting how it's grand to say that to a fella, but saying something similar to a woman would be nothing short of assault.

Imagine it like: "jaysus where'd you pull him out of? He's miles out of your league, the state of ya" Blue murder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭skafish

I love boobs too, but not fannies. Awful looking things.

But tasty.

Very very tasty:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

skafish wrote: »
    But tasty.

Are you a chick? :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭skafish

Aphex wrote: »
    Are you a chick? :eek::D

No. But I can breathe through my ears and have a 14 inch tongue:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

No. But I can breathe through my ears and have a 14 inch tongue:p

There goes your inbox limit in 3,2,.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I like your car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

But tasty.

I dunno I've seen some scarey looking ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

In an interview Pavarotti said the best compliment he ever got was when he walking down the street in Milan and a woman bumped into him and "Oh sorry - I didn't see you".

Pav said he was well happy with that one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Wanna Come Down

manutd83 wrote: »
    One night in the old local at the bar a girl came up to me and said,iv heard u ride like a jockey,fancy mounting me
    You must have been around so.. if she knew that about you!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Wanna Come Down

A girl once said to me (while she thought I was hitting on another girl), 'you could do way better than her', but yet I didn't get the impression that she wanted me either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

While it's not the best, it's definitely the most baffling "compliment" (= wtf moments)

"You've got the eyes that just know." From a complete stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Well I've heard it from a few guys... And they still say it years later.

Myself and Hatton dated for a brief period a few years ago.

Can confirm. Best blowjobs ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

For me:

In September 2006, she said "Yes"

In June 2008, she said "I do"

No bigger compliment than those!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Was sitting having a few pints in the local. Sat in beside a crowd at the next table. After a while the girl I was sitting beside turns to me and says "You don't work for *obscure name*??"..who she mentioned were some french clothing company..I replied "No.. dont know who they are". She said "oh its just youre the image of one of their male models".. I was well chuffed with that until she continued .."not one of the good looking ones though!".

Best back handed compliment I ever got. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

used to work on sites in the big smoke and would order a dinner in the local deli on the way back to my digs,usually very manky looking with concrete etc. headed down home on the weekends,anyway one weekend I stayed in the city to visit a few places and when I went in to get my usual dinner the girl behind the counter did a double take and said "jasus-you scrub up real good".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

A guy once told me I was very sexy, then he leaned back, looked at me appraisingly and added "in your own way, of course".

From hero to zero in one fell swoop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

sam34 wrote: »
    A guy once told me I was very sexy, then he leaned back, looked at me appraisingly and added "in your own way, of course".

From hero to zero in one fell swoop!

That's an old trick. Think it was first mentioned in some book that one of the rolling stones wrote, or some other such rubbish that the like of Russell Brand subscribe to. It's basically to give a compliment, then dilute it so it makes you feel insecure and plants the seed that you have obvious flaws, but the guy still fancies you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Giving a presentation in the UK to colleagues a few years ago, from across the organisation I worked for.

Got to the end of the presentation and asked if there were any questions.....

.....a very attractive lady at the front says "you have the most amazing green eyes, are you wearing contacts?"

Cue......everyone staring at me to look at my eyes.

On reflection it was a very nice compliment, but the time all I remember is being stared at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

My friend recently told me I had very soft skin , this was while on a training course from work in a room full of people.

It was one of those "wha ....? " moments , completely random and unexpected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I've been told by numerous ladies that I'm very good at giving multiple full body orgasms with my fingers.

I've had one or two that have orgasmed so much that they can barely speak afterwards. I know that this sounds like typical male hyperbole but I promise you that it's the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

I have been told I look like either Brad Pitt or Josh Hartnett..

Was a few years ago now mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I've gotten plenty of deadly compliments over the years on looks/thing's that I'm good at it but I'm not going to bother typing them out.

Biggest one is my GF putting up with me for 11 years! I can be a right twat at times!

MrVestek wrote: »
    I've been told by numerous ladies that I'm very good at giving multiple full body orgasms with my fingers.

I've had one or two that have orgasmed so much that they can barely speak afterwards. I know that this sounds like typical male hyperbole but I promise you that it's the truth.

Then it's got to be true :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

"You're an arrogant prick and yet I still going to end up back at your place.":D:D

MrVestek wrote: »

Obviously true then. Anyone else I wldnt believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I can feel it in my fuking chest.

That line is going to stay in my **** bank til the day I die!!

"You're an arrogant prick and yet I still going to end up back at your place.":D:D

Ah yes I see you must be fishing with asshole syndrome sufferers, luckily these are generally very good looking girls with the following mentality..

'I really wish I could just find a nice guy to go out with, someone who'll respect me and treat me well'

=

' I'm bored by nice guys and am only turned on by assholes who have only one interest in me '

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Ah yes I see you must be fishing with asshole syndrome sufferers, luckily these are generally very good looking girls with the following mentality..

'I really wish I could just find a nice guy to go out with, someone who'll respect me and treat me well'

=

' I'm bored by nice guys and am only turned on by assholes who have only one interest in me '
    The girls that friend zone lads who actually treat them well! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Some lady outside the Front lounge one night said to me....

'If you weren't gay I'd totally sit on your face!'

Haha, didnt know what to say but I was pleased with myself :D

The girls that friend zone lads who actually treat them well! :D

Yep, there usually the lads who get stuck listening to this crap while screaming 'I'm a nice guy...what about me?' they end having to put it in the **** bank where it will forever remain..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

"Do you have to strap it to your knee to stop it getting in the way?"

(In real life - "You're actually quite muscular, aren't you." While shirts off and a face full of boobies.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

An older woman (milf/possibly gilf) said I must have loads of girlfriends at work recently.

I haven't kissed a girl in nearly a year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

My OH sitting in the crowd of one of my gigs (I'm a drummer) overheard a woman seated next to her saying to her friend "I'd let that drummer f**k me in the a$$".

OH wasn't too impressed.

Irishcrx wrote: »

=

Can I get a virtual frat boy high five over here.....hell yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

BizzyC wrote: »
    My OH sitting in the crowd of one of my gigs (I'm a drummer) overheard a woman seated next to her saying to her friend "I'd let that drummer f**k me in the a$$".

OH wasn't too impressed.

That reminds me.......working the UK again and the wife called by to pick me up from a pub. We'd had one of those corporate away stupid days and following a meal we'd gone on to have a few beers.

Anyway, herself arrives in, my boss (a very nice guy) sees her and immediately hands her a drink and insists she stays for a bit. From there she kind of fell in with a bunch of the girls from the office where I worked who, like everyone was a bit pi$$ed - the topic of discussion was the men in the office.

It became apparent none of them realised she was not with the company so she decided to be a bit mischievous and ask what's the Irish guy like.....

......at which point one of the girls pipes "Ooooooh, that accent! I practically cream my knickers every time he speaks to me!" followed by nods of agreement from a few of the others......

........it made for a quiet drive home.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Your very wide
    Another said "you fat Cnut"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I have been told I look like either Brad Pitt or Josh Hartnett..

Was a few years ago now mind!

I've been told that, but I, and anyone else who has ever set eyes on me, can confirm it to be complete and utter bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

"Jesus but you've some tongue on ya!"

She used me and then went off and married her ****ing boyfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭sleepytrees

Best compliment ever was a guy saying "I'd poke you even if I was sober"

Eh thanks I think..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭mauraf

A guy I was seeing for only a short while said...." you are very easy to fall in love with".....I wasnt that into him so I think I made sure that was the last night I saw him :-( Bit nasty of me really in hindsight.....

kowloon wrote: »
    I've been told that, but I, and anyone else who has ever set eyes on me, can confirm it to be complete and utter bollocks.

Hate that..

Totally true in my case. :cool:

I wish!

"Your eyes are the same colour as your hair, it's weird!" - we're friends to this day :D

"I can't stop looking at ya, I'd be the happiest man if I had girlfriend like you. You're amazing, I love you. I always liked pirates." - very drunk fella on a night out, it was Halloween. Needless to say I did not share his feelings. But he didn't get hurt, I'd say he remembered feck all from that night. I, on the other hand, got an awful lot of slagging for weeks from my friends, who witnessed it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭winter soldier

I don't think I have ever received any compliments from members of the opposite sex. Plenty of verbal abuse and rudeness though from girls whether they were drunk or sober. Lots of bad looks that seem to say "Don't approach me, don't even look my way".

I just remembered a recent one:

"I know trouble when I see it :D." The cheek of him... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

That was so good you dont even have to pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Jesus, that's the bestest small dick I've ever had in me!

Apparently I have unusually well shaped eyebrows..

Several women have even accused me of having them plucked! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

"Most people are either beautiful or sexy, you manage to be both at the same time and I can see myself falling for you".

That one still makes me smile when I remember it.