Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CL- Manchester City v FC Barcelona - 19:45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Disgraceful refereeing and not for the first time, balance favouring Barca. Eagerly awaiting Bayern tearing these cheats apart.

They (Barca) had a stonewall penalty turned down AND a legitimate goal ruled out for offside.

Hardly the balance favouring Barca.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I was thinking he had sent off Zabaleta and Kompany. Quality broadcasting from RTE

Not just RTE, that graphic was put on by the host broadcaster. It appeared on my Fox Sports coverage as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Rezident

Headshot wrote: »
    Lads when will the powers that be wake up and see how these refs are destroying the sport?

So true, that clown last night gave robben a penalty for diving even after telling robben to get up for diving.

I think refs should only be ex-players, ok so they might not be able to keep up (picture jan molby) but at least they wouldn't get everything wrong. Some of these refs they don't seem to be aware of many of the intricacies of the game, it's like they don't watch football or have never kicked a ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Against who.....oh ya. ;)

don't forget the disgraceful sending off of some dutch guy who used to play for the gunners.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Propane Nightmare

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Disgraceful refereeing and not for the first time, balance favouring Barca. Eagerly awaiting Bayern tearing these cheats apart.
    9lEeT3wm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Its hard enough playing barca but when youre playing against the ref too its near impossible.

Some of his home free kick decisions against toure and zabaleta earlier were baffling.

Hes just not a good ref at the end of the day.

Digitalism wrote: »
    Have you ever played a competitive football game yourself?

I've played some cup matches with the local team, and have gotten riled up by wrong decisions against me by refs, so I can imagine how fuming I would be if I was in Zabaletas shoes. It shows some passion to me.

Not since I was a young man, but it's still pointless. Some players have the sense to know how not to talk themselves into a booking, like Kompany, and some don't. Passion is good, talking yourself into getting sent off in the Champions League is not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

CL quality of refereeing is abysmal of late. Last year with United and Real comes to mind. Barca in just about every CL game ever since the dawn of time. Quality of refereeing in the sport as a whole is actually quite poor yaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

Stone wall penalty what a numpty of a ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭token56

Certainly hasn't been City's night. To be fair the ref has made some terrible decisions against both sides and has certainly ruined what has otherwise been a very exciting and quality game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

This ref will now overshadow Barca's complete and utter domination of City throughout the whole 90 mins. Shame.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Clearly offside.

EDIT: or maybe not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Looked offside.

Edit....no it was not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Rezident

Yes ref no way that was offside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I was thinking he had sent off Zabaleta and Kompany. Quality broadcasting from RTE

All the feeds had that caption, nothing to do with RTE AFAIK

Edit; already posted twice I see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Same with Michael Oliver at the weekend. Terrible refereeing decisions against both sides. Not many decent referees around.

KOMPANYYY!!

Go on Vinny! Glad we didn't end the tie without scoring a goal. Mile off, but I don't care even a little :D

Would love City to beat these cheats. Wait till ye see now the amount of diving and time wasting.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Kompany onside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Barcelona players incredulous at not getting a decision in their favour. I'd be surprised if I was in their shoes too - stunned even!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭frisbeeface

Looked onside to me and the first good decision tonight!

They might draw on the night respectable result.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Rezident wrote: »
    Yes ref no way that was offside.

It wasn't !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Barcelona players incredulous at not getting a decision in their favour. I'd be surprised if I was in their shoes too - stunned even!

Even more embarrassing when replays prove he was onside.

4+ Subs 2 goals 1 sending off = 2mins added time.... Righhhhttttt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

2mins injury time! Jaysus, subtlety is lost on this guy!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Ronnie saying it's a legit goal :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Good man Danni

Cant even manage that. Agg scoreline flatters barca tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Bow down to Iniesta

Ah wel. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

Red Crow wrote: »
    Same with Michael Oliver at the weekend. Terrible refereeing decisions against both sides. Not many decent referees around.

Apart from that call from Oliver he's one of the best in the BPL.

Barcelona don't really care if they embarrass themselves. They have Barca DNA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Magnificent composure from Iniesta.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Where is Andersonisgod?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

More than a club indeed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭token56

City dont deserve that imo

Red Crow wrote: »
    Barcelona don't really care if they embarrass themselves. They have Barca DNA.

More than a club.

Apart from that call from Oliver he's one of the best in the BPL.

Oh I think he's a shockingly poor referee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

City didn't deserve to win this match but if that wasn't one of the absolute worst referring performances i've seen in many a year watching football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I though Alves was going to start cupping his ear like the Hulkster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,652 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

PerrinV2 wrote: »
    Where is Andersonisgod?

ran out of tissues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I must say, I was hoping to hear from AIG during the thread. Like him not, he always brings great colour and language to these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Tell you what, Lescott might have been up against great players but he looked so out of place out there. Definitely the weak link in the City defence.

If i was the city players i wouldnt risk any cards and just walk off the decisions and result stand. Ref cant do nothing now to change that.

Has eamo had work done on his eyes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

PerrinV2 wrote: »
    Where is Andersonisgod?

He has masturbated himself into a puddle of sweat, semen and hyperbole. ;)

If i was the city players i wouldnt risk any cards and just walk off the decisions and result stand. Ref cant do nothing now to change that.

Ah tbf. If you were in their position you would certainly want to give the Ref a piece of your mind RE: how **** he was. In the heat of the moment nothing is straightforward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

One thing is clear, Barca will miss Victor Valdes.

That was a world class save from Dzeko. If City had scored that...

keith16 wrote: »
    I must say, I was hoping to hear from AIG during the thread. Like him not, he always brings great colour and language to these threads.

He can't bare the thought of the abuse the mighty Catalan men have suffered tonight from the blue wall from Manchester. These brave boys from Barcelona have premiered another master class.... Etc etc