Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CL- Manchester City v FC Barcelona - 19:45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

Hmm 2 footed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Rezident wrote: »
    The ref did well to spot toure's foul just there, everyone else seemed to miss it.

Yeah that one was fair enough really, but it seems like there's been a lot of other soft ones to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Whisper it but.....this is a bit boring isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,568 ✭✭✭✭CSF

double GG wrote: »
    Hmm 2 footed....
    No way is that a red. The challenge wasn't 2 footed his feet came together after the challenge.

Morzadec wrote: »
    Maybe il have to watch it again, looked a cynical block to me on first and second viewing

It was, Messi clipped the ball past him and Vinny checked him.

Demichelis :eek:

Was sure he'd give a peno

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

This is every Barcelona game, not good to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

It's ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Negredo would want to be careful

Now THAT seemed harsh.

I'm finding it exciting but only cause i'm following city. Wouldn't enjoy it much otherwise

This is every Barcelona game, not good to watch.
    If people thought this would be an end to end game they picked the wrong Spanish team against City. Barca don't play that way.

CSF wrote: »
    No way is that a red. The challenge wasn't 2 footed his feet came together after the challenge.

I didn't think it was a red either upon second viewing but it was pretty reckless, and could easily have been interpreted as a red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Messi doesn't look like breaking his Premier League duck anytime soon. A bit more adventure from City in the second half and this game is there for them.

CSF wrote: »
    If people thought this would be an end to end game they picked the wrong Spanish team against City. Barca don't play that way.

I know that. Tomorrow's game should make up for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Now THAT seemed harsh.

I'm finding it exciting but only cause i'm following city. Wouldn't enjoy it much otherwise

I'm finding it pretty interesting tbh as a neutral.

Classic first leg CL, both teams feeling each other out, there's been some good football on display.

It's a 180 minute tie, give it time

double GG wrote: »
    I didn't think it was a red either upon second viewing but it was pretty reckless, and could easily have been interpreted as a red.
    It wasn't a good tackle, but a red would have been ludicrous.

Aww chance :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

At least AIG is quiet.

Anyone got some updated stats about how brilliantly Barcelona are playing?

I know that. Tomorrow's game should make up for it.
    Surely has every danger of going the exact same way, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Boring us to death again.

Happy to be going in level. To be honest I thought we would've looked a bit better going forward, but getting possession even harder than I thought. Would settle for 0-0 at the end of this leg.

Negredo should be doing better with a couple of those headers. Has been a quiet 1st half. Gonna miss the 2nd half but I see an early Barca goal ffollowed by a Dzeko goal.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Ibra is going for his hat trick if anyone wants to watch some entertaining football. His second was a beaut.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Barcelona's experience is obvious to all here, controlling the game except for a nervy 10 minute period. The interplay between the front 6 has been scintillating at times, as has the adventurous running of Fabregas and Iniesta. Valdes knows the aerial threat of City and has been proactive in commanding his area. Pique and Mascherano have also been impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Ref loves his whistle. Can't bring myself to enjoy the way Barca play, really does bore me.

Barcelona's experience is obvious to all here, controlling the game except for a nervy 10 minute period. The interplay between the front 6 has been scintillating at times, as has the adventurous running of Fabregas and Iniesta. Valdes knows the aerial threat of City and has been proactive in commanding his area. Pique and Mascherano have also been impressive.

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Ah here...

elefant wrote: »
    Ah here...

A couple times he has come for the ball when normally he wouldn't. It's based on the City threat from set pieces and the Barcelona weakness. He's attempted to equalise that by being proactive.

Command the area he did not. Completely flapping for 2 balls in one half is not acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Schwiiing wrote: »
    What?

Proactive he said.

Not effective.

Hes 100% correct in what he said.

Proactive doesnt mean hes doing it well.

Yeah, hes a Barca fan but give him a break lads!!!

Proactive is flapping aimlessly at the ball for those confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Are you watching the same game as the rest of us?

Proactive he said.

Not effective.

Hes 100% correct in what he said.

Proactive doesnt mean hes doing it well.

Yeah, hes a Barca fan but give him a break lads!!!

Some people see what they want to see.

Twice he had a flap at the ball and got nowhere close. If the second had gone in after he got pwned by Kompany he'd be all over the ref looking for a foul.

fishing.gif

Be reelin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I had to remind myself that Man Utd were still in the CL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

This is a game of chess so far. Needs a goal. Preferably for Barca, if you're a neutral. Otherwise city will keep it clamped. And rightly so. They're approach is excellent.

demichelis has been great so far, keeping Messi in check. Good opps for City, should see more in 2nd

MCFC just retweeted this. I can't believe I just read that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Some people see what they want to see.

The irony is coming through the screen here!!!!!!

Well played sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Barr

Barca are there for the taking if City go less cautious.

Barr wrote: »
    Barca are there for the taking if City go less cautious.

I fancy Dzeko to get a goal if he comes on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Rezident

Great play by messi, fabregas should have been in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Tinfoil hat time.

Lols.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

One weak link in the City team costs them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

And there she is... Man City down to 10... Penalty...

Order is restored to the galaxy.

Was a definite penalty... but the tinfoilers will have craic with it...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Only takes a moment

Demichelis heh. I'm shocked.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Rezident

Stupid tackle he was never going to get that ball.

Outside the box. Idiotic stuff though.