Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal vs Bayern Munich, 7:45, RTE2

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Nuri.

ath Madrid game ;)

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

ronjo wrote: »
    Kos going forward for that free cost us.

All well and good the crowd cheering his enthusiam but when you're down to 10 with a few minutes to go and trying not to lose by more do you really want your centre half bombing up the pitch?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Oat23 wrote: »
    Such a shame Pizarro chose to finish up as a bench warmer at Bayern. Still a 34 game a season starter even at 35. Fantastic player.

Theres worse ways to end a career

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Koscielny and Flamini have been epic, Ozil and Wilshire have been anything but.

Gotze is Munichs expensive waste of space tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

3 - 0 would have been harsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

That was lovely stuff from Kroos.

I love them. Just stepped into it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I still wouldn't concede the tie hard yes but over far from it and same goes for City to write off a team from a 2-0 deficit is crazy.

Bayern's goals conceded in the league this year is in single figures. I'd be massively surprised if Arsenal managed to score 3 against them in Munich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Worth saying again.
    Moneymaker wrote: »
    Kroos just excudes class. Superb player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,644 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Koselny shouldn't be acting the bollix with few mind left charging up the field and then not being able to do his no1 job when required. Cue more bleating from a manager about a ref after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

The number of quality midfielders Munich have is too damn high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Good enough performance.
    A man down against Bayern with 50 minutes left and only lost 2 nil.
    Tie over I feel so we can get on with the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

klose wrote: »

They are still lacking in that 'Cleverley' type player.

Only thing they're missing is another top quality striker, who is on his way in the summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Koselny shouldn't be acting the bollix with few mind left charging up the field and then not being able to do his no1 job when required. Cue more bleating from a manager about a ref after this.

Why is Rogers being interviewed after this

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Nuri.

ath Madrid game ;)

At least Bayern -1 came in. Dirty money is dirty :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,539 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Been half watching this all night. Its looked like a training match in the 2nd half and its a shame arse conceded a second so late. Although they have won 2-0 before munich...
    Pizarro is still playing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Not as convincing a scoreline as I expected but wont get much more comfortable than that for Bayern.

Quality.

The bench is massive too, they really are a quality side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Bayern's goals conceded in the league this year is in single figures. I'd be massively surprised if Arsenal managed to score 3 against them in Munich.

I know it will be hard but I certainly wouldn't say its impossible we bet them there last year and City have done it, it can be done.

I do think City have a better chance of turning it around when they get going they can score for fun.

Either way neither tie is over, if a Liverpool team can be 3-0 down with 45 mins gone in a Champions League final Arsenal and City have a decent chance of turning it around over 90 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

mike65 wrote: »

I find it hard to have any respect for someone like Götze. Product of Dortmunds academy moving to their main rivals.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Hate agreeing with Dunphy but Ozil completely lacks convinction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Das Bayern !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Done and done.

Tis fairly boring watching the ball being played around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

If I was honest before the game I expected us to get beaten 2-0.

Given they had over 50 minutes against us with ten men and only managed to score two says that we do stand a chance in Munich. We need all our players to put in the performance of the season but last year over there showed that we can lift ourselves for games like this and they are beatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Haha bill

That was a ridiculous decision!
    Isn't he just there to ask the questions? What would that langer know!?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Soups123 wrote: »
    Why is Rogers being interviewed after this

hahahahahahahaahahahahahahaahahahahahahahaha

football bantz

corny wrote: »
    Hate agreeing with Dunphy but Ozil completely lacks convinction.

Serious character flaw.

If he wouldnt do it for Real Madrid, is he really going to fight for Arsenal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Can't really argue with that. Deserved win for Bayern. Immense effort from the majority of that Arsenal team through.

That was lost in 3 parts: (I) Not trying to win in Naples, (ii) Ozil missing the pen and (iii) Gibbs going off injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

"Sanogo shouldn't have played"
    - Ray 'Captain Hindsight' Houghton, 2014

"Szczęsny should have not touched Robben"

"Arsenal should have scored more goals in order to win the game"

sp_1411_clip02.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Soups123 wrote: »
    Quality.

The bench is massive too, they really are a quality side.

We did very well to hold them for 88 mins at 0-1 with ten men. Credit to Arsenal. We still have a chance going to the next leg at 0-2 down, IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Tie over

Not necessarily.

Robben will be banned for the second leg.

Will Ribery be back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Neeson wrote: »
    Haha bill

That was a ridiculous decision!
    Isn't he just there to ask the questions? What would that langer know!?

You don't need to be an expert to know that picking Sanogo was weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

roanoke wrote: »
    "Sanogo shouldn't have played"

"Szczęsny should have not touched Robben"

"Arsenal should have scored more goals in order to win the game"

sp_1411_clip02.jpg

Hahahaha i only watch em for the laugh these days, like being down at the pub listening to a few locals rambling at the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Same old story from Arsenal. They are tactically so poor. Too many similar players who want to play nice football. Wenger might not be around after the summer.
    Man city the same last night.
    Sending teams out without being properly set up.
    Benitez and Mourinho understood this and were always competitive.
    Wasnt overly impressed with Bayern. Robben is still his same old self. Selfish as ever.
    Be interesting to see who wins it out. Ive Madrid backed at 9/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

mike65 wrote: »

Wilshere played well all things considered.

Expected result, quite happy with the performance actually.

Godge wrote: »
    Not necessarily.

Robben will be banned for the second leg.

Will Ribery be back?

He wont be, even if he was, it wouldnt matter. Didnt even notice Ribery wasnt playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

Houghton sitting silently in between his bickering parents here on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Same old story from Arsenal. They are tactically so poor. Too many similar players who want to play nice football. Wenger might not be around after the summer.
    Wasnt overly impressed with Bayern. Robben is still his same old self. Selfish as ever.
    Da fuq?

It was 0-0 until the sending off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Wenger's out of ideas and is holding Arsenal back at this stage.

Love the bits of North Landan coming through in Per's accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Terrible post. Tactically so poor? It took a red card for Bayern to look good they really didnt impress me that much tonight or give me reason to really think they are far superior.

Yep his decision to have Chez sent off was a bad one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Ughhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,375 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

BdKDro_IUAAmhAC.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Really!!! LOL did you actually watch the game. Before the sending off we were causing Bayern problems and shading the match.

You cannot quantify for your goalkeeper getting sent off. We played the so-called "best club team in the world" with ten men for over a half of a game and they only managed 2 goals against us.

Cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,117 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Posts like this are the reason why this thread should be given a wide berth for the next day or so, to give people spout their shíte and vent and calm down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What an absolute lunatic assessment!! Hahaha, ludicrous.

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

gandalf wrote: »
    Really!!! LOL did you actually watch the game. Before the sending off we were causing Bayern problems and shading the match.

You cannot quantify for your goalkeeper getting sent off. We played the so-called "best club team in the world" with ten men for over a half of a game and they only managed 2 goals against us.

Cop on!

You caused Bayern problems for the first 10 minutes but they were in control of the majority of this game including a large portion of it before the red card.

The red card and Bayern penalty hardly came against the run of play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Houghton's not gettin a word in here edgewise

Eh? They're a point off the top of the league.

Its not exactly Blackburn last year, that's the European champions they've lost to having played 50mins a man down.

Love Ballack on Sky, 100% right there - players have to know if you take out a player and are last man, you're off.