Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General chat thread... Links, pictures, banter etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

Had a look at a cb500x today, think i'll buy one as a commuter. Nice tidy little bike. Anyone any thoughts on them?

(Buying one of these also means I can keep my hayabusa. sweet. )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

lennymc wrote: »
    Had a look at a cb500x today, think i'll buy one as a commuter. Nice tidy little bike. Anyone any thoughts on them?

(Buying one of these also means I can keep my hayabusa. sweet. )

A mate of mine took his on a tour through Europe and into Africa, swore by it.

And as you can see you can pack it like a mule and it'll go anywhere, here it is in Morocco.

438571.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,382 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I went all over France, and into Italy and Germany a bit on a GS500E. It's about 12hp down on a CB500 at the best of times, but this one was California emissions spec and even further down on power. Tent and loads of gear strapped onto it. It was grand.

438578.jpg

Scrap the cap!

I heard about that trip makikomi, I know who you are talking about. Didn't get a chance to talk to him directly.

You always had a fondness for the gs500 iirc hotblack :)

I heard about that trip makikomi, I know who you are talking about. Didn't get a chance to talk to him directly.

You always had a fondness for the gs500 iirc hotblack :)

He's on a adventure in Vietnam at the moment.

He doesn't have the CB500x with him, but he began his journey on a little Honda 125 stepthru, then bought a new Honda CRF125 (I think its the CRF, or CFR ~ something like that) and proving you don't need a 1200GS for adventure riding.

438699.jpg

And the latest bike;

438700.jpg

Peter is an old army buddy of mine. If you want to follow his adventures his facebook page is on public

Peter Bookey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,252 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Jaysus it was bloody freezing on the way home tonight.

Half 5 on the dot, sleet and snow starts pouring from the clouds and the city nearly came to a standstill.

Did the smart thing and took the city route home, even though it takes about an hour compared to a 15 minute drive down the motorway.

Drive safe out there lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭Wossack

yea was cat :( visibility was terrible, with the visor catching all the sleet :o
    bit slippy this morning in the estate, but grand for the most part after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

D3V!L wrote: »
    Second time actually driving my new 1200GSA and first time I seen it in day light.

I'm not sure if I mentioned it in another thread but the bike I waited 3 and a half months for was plonked onto the shop floor for everyone to sit on when it arrived in the dealer. There was several scuffs to the tank and some hazing.

I told them I wasn't happy with it and asked them to fix it. Turns out their efforts weren't as good as I thought and the when the brief sunlight hit it today everything showed up.

Maybe the big shop in Finglas hasn't had that turn around that we thought.

Well my replacement plastics didn't turn out as well as expected. I can't say too much about the big shop in Finglas that sells Bavarian motor vehicles because I believe there's some sort of gagging order in place. Needless to say the bike was left there and I'll be suing them for the cost of the bike as they won't refund the purchase price after their awful attempt at repair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

Well my replacement plastics didn't turn out as well as expected. I can't say too much about the big shop in Finglas that sells Bavarian motor vehicles because I believe there's some sort of gagging order in place. Needless to say the bike was left there and I'll be suing them for the cost of the bike as they won't refund the purchase price after their awful attempt at repair.

Thanks for the update D3V!L. Gutted for you that they did not do the right thing and replace the plastics. Please keep us updated.

Riva10 wrote: »
    Thanks for the update D3V!L. Gutted for you that they did not do the right thing and replace the plastics. Please keep us updated.

Oh they did and then made sh!t of them with a dry cloth / sand paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

ffs best of luck getting every cent back.

they can sell the bike as a demo bike now, which it is

I was in a shop in finglas today looking at some bikes, thanks for the update D3V!l and hope you get sorted

I was up there this morning looking at a GS, taking it for a test on Tuesday

I was there about 11ish

Must have just missed me so.

I was there about 11ish
    Must have just missed me so.

I was there right bang on 11 trying an older GS for size ('cause I don't have lotsa money).

So if you seen someone in a trackie, with a Tyskie hangover head on him 'twas myself

It fits me;

439526.jpg

I was there right bang on 11 trying an older GS for size ('cause I don't have lotsa money).

So if you seen someone in a trackie, with a Tyskie hangover head on him 'twas myself

It fits me;

439526.jpg

oooh suits you sir :D I was actually eyeing up that one myself. The missus wants a GS as well.

I'm taking it for a test ride tomorrow, if you and herself are around.

Loads of Touratech goodies on it, plus an Ohlins rear shock but the rear tyre is torn up pretty bad (not worn from highway use) so I suspect its been leading a rugged life.

I'm not looking at it with a serious view to buying, but I will eventually get a GS I think.

The Z1000 is a superb bike, but I'm not the biker I used to be (must be age) and someone should be enjoying it more than I ~ my wheelie, knee dragging days are behind me I'm afraid :o

Just in a different direction for a moment.

Going through my hard drive (had to get rid of the porn someday I guess, so why not this morning lol) and found this brilliant photo.

I'm sure most people here don't knee an introduction but here's the late, and great Doctor John Hinds (RIP), Aidan Lynam (RIP) and my brother.

439528.jpg

Fvcking legends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,011 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Great pic Mak. RIP lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Hey, I had a problem with Joe Duffy before. I posted it up before. Prepare for a long winded rant:
    Bought a brand new 1200GSA off them in 2006. Agreed a price with 4 or 5 extras included like heated grips, panniers etc. Wanted it in red with the TKC80 off road tyres which were options that didn't cost any extra.
    Was about a 4 month wait because the 1200adv was new and had big demand. Agreed a price, gave them the €1000 deposit, happy days. After the excitement the next day I realised they never gave a receipt. Rang asking for one and was told they'd send it out. I confirmed the colour I wanted and he said it was fine, it's written down.
    Got the call a few months later when the bike was ready. First new bike I ever bought, obviously excited about picking it up. First off all, the bike was black, not red. Now, the colour isn't a big deal on that GS, it's only a couple of bits, but I specifically rang them TWICE afterwards to confirm the colour (and ask for a receipt which they never send out). Then the wrong tyres were on it. Road tyres were on it. I could wait till they got the right ones in, but really wanted the bike that day so took it. They really know how to **** up the excitement of getting a new bike. :mad:

So, after 1000km (I think) it needed it's first service. This wasn't included and cost about €250 :rolleyes:. Also panniers had arrived (there was a delay in getting them which I knew about and they wouldn't be on the bike when I first picked it up). The sales guy insisted the panniers weren't included in the price I agreed. This was about a grand. Now who agrees the price of a bike with all the extras except one extra which they'll pay for later? Not me. In fact, no one. I didn't have a receipt for what extras were agreed on even though I specifically rang and asked twice. With 2 sales guys insisting I'm wrong, I eventually (I was an idiot) and paid for the panniers.
    Was talking to a lad in Scut Fagans a couple of months later. He had a similar problem of the 2 sales guys insisting some extras weren't included in the price of a bike and he thought the were and they tried to charge him later. Sounds familiar. He told me to ring either BMW Ireland or BMW Motorrad Ireland (can't remember exactly) and complain and they'll sort it. I took his advice and I shít you not, the sales guy rang me up about 3 days later and told me he "found" the original receipt with what we agreed on and the panniers were included. He's sorry and will refund the €1000 back onto my card. :rolleyes:
    The guy I dealt with in sales isn't there anymore btw. But definitely took the shine off buying what will probably be my only brand new bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I got out on the bike today for the second time in 2018. was nice to be out

I'm at the risk of looking like a mad man the amount of ranting I do about bike dealers in Dublin. Strangely never had any problems with ones on the other side of the border.

I'm going to write a tell all biography at some stage :pac:

Got out today on The Super Tenere. Went up around Mitchelstown, Crossed to Clogheen and on to Clonmel and Carrick on Suir , then on to Thomastown and Bunmahon, Dungarvan and Aglish and back home. Just over 300k. Magic day.
    :D:D

It fits me;

439526.jpg

I was the other side of the shop hopping between an xr and a gs rallye... I remember thinking you looked dodgy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,087 ✭✭✭✭listermint

What's the rough guide on a 2011 like that in fk ?

Finally have my new GSA back in my garage. 90% there with the shop and hopefully it'll all be resolved soon enough. If anyone finds a bit of a tongue around the north road in Finglas let me know. I did a lot of biting of mine this evening.

Hopefully this Brexit thing doesn't mess up NI imports my next one is coming from Belfast.

Finally have my new GSA back in my garage. 90% there with the shop and hopefully it'll all be resolved soon enough. If anyone finds a bit of a tongue around the north road in Finglas let me know. I did a lot of biting of mine this evening.

Hopefully this Brexit thing doesn't mess up NI imports my next one is coming from Belfast.
    Their attitude and lack of customer service would not encourage a visit.

I'm sorry to report that after meeting you I collected my sons bike, was assured the alarm was re programmed and working ~ stupidly I didn't check, its not working.

So that's another day's (or half day) annual leave to get my son to work, his bike back into the workshops, their mechanics don't work on Saturdays apparently.

Pain in the arse to know their after sales service still isn't up to scratch, doesn't inspire confidence in me buying secondhand off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭DaveD

their mechanics don't work on Saturdays apparently.

Interesting. My bike is due a service and work is mental at the min so struggling to get it in during the week. Was told they do servicing on Saturdays. Wonder who’ll be servicing my bike so :confused: