Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General chat thread... Links, pictures, banter etc

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

A friend of mine has a CBR600RR and he's coming off his two year restriction soon. He bought the bike restricted, allegedly factory restricted but he's not sure- he was told it was by the seller but he thinks it might be aftermarket. He tells me there is a throttle stop. He doesn't want to part with the bike and wants to de-restrict it. Any idea where to start with this? How big a deal is it to de-restrict it if it's an all singing all dancing factory restrictor?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Bikerguy

cantdecide wrote: »
    A friend of mine has a CBR600RR and he's coming off his two year restriction soon. He bought the bike restricted, allegedly factory restricted but he's not sure- he was told it was by the seller but he thinks it might be aftermarket. He tells me there is a throttle stop. He doesn't want to part with the bike and wants to de-restrict it. Any idea where to start with this? How big a deal is it to de-restrict it if it's an all singing all dancing factory restrictor?

If its throtle restriction its 10 second job.. google is your friend.. "how to remove throtle restriction" easy as cakr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

142 bike, oooooh don't mind if I do :pac:

Bikerguy wrote: »
    If its throtle restriction its 10 second job.. google is your friend.. "how to remove throtle restriction" easy as cakr

Well I had a kit that was a throttle stop as well as washers but I know that the washers are no big deal either. The question really is if there's any chance the bike maybe also has a factory restricted ECU and is there any way of finding out before we start bolting his bike apart?

KTRIC wrote: »
    142 bike, oooooh don't mind if I do :pac:

What the fudge? Another new bike??? Spill.... again!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭Wossack

Well I had a kit that was a throttle stop as well as washers but I know that the washers are no big deal either. The question really is if there's any chance the bike maybe also has a factory restricted ECU and is there any way of finding out before we start bolting his bike apart?

its unlikely to be an ecu restriction, and a throttle stop.. but guess anything is possible (see how nsr125's are restricted for example, exhaust restriction, throttle stop, intake restriction, and in some cases, CDI speed restricted)

sometimes the numbers on the ecu can let you know if its a 'restricted ecu', but you'd need specialist knowledge to know what to look for - could check cbr forums etc

What the fudge? Another new bike??? Spill.... again!

I was feeling the Rocket Roadster was a bit inadequate so decided to swap it for a Boss Hoss BHC-3 LS445 :D

Should be taking delivery next month if all goes well.

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭blu3r0ri0n

I was feeling the Rocket Roadster was a bit inadequate so decided to swap it for a Boss Hoss BHC-3 LS445 :D

The size of that bike!, frigging V8!!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: Best of luck with it dude and hopefully you wont have any problems with it!
    Boss_Hoss_BHC-3_LS_445_Picture_01.JPGBoss_Hoss_BHC-3_LS_445_Picture_04.JPGimg-15.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Holy lantern of sweet baby jaysus is that the thing he is getting.......surely a truck license is need for that and it comes with reverse cameras as standard. More chrome on that then a rappers teeth!!! Actually looks like KTRIC riding it in them pics too!!!

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Holy lantern of sweet baby jaysus is that the thing he is getting.......surely a truck license is need for that and it comes with reverse cameras as standard. More chrome on that then a rappers teeth!!! Actually looks like KTRIC riding it in them pics too!!!

Look at the specs, lol

http://www.bosshoss.com/view_bike.asp?x=BHC3LS445

Jaysis lads, me cock isn't that small :pac:

Can you not spot a wind up ?? :rolleyes:

I'm getting a new Speed Triple 1050, better option for me at the moment over the Rocket.

LOL I honestly thought you were serious :o, well done sir, well done!

Always liked speed triple's well wear!

You are so "out there man" with bikes that I would not put it past you. The triple is a cracker of a bike and the 1050 engine is very addictive the gurgle on roll off is pure sex.

Fair play look forward to seeing it in the flesh. You getting it new new 141 or 2nd hand...? Did you take a spin on the Tiger 1050 Sport it would suit you well also.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Brand new speed triple? Nice! What extras are available, and what are you going for?

Cienciano wrote: »
    Brand new speed triple? Nice! What extras are available, and what are you going for?

I want a 2015 model so have to wait until they start production next month. There's an offer of free Arrow cans, a gell seat and some other gubbins being thrown in as well.

Getting it in sparkly white :D

Ya jammy bastard....Its gonna be a looooooooooooooooooooooooooong wait that one I tells ya.

I want a 2015 model so have to wait until they start production next month. There's an offer of free Arrow cans, a gell seat and some other gubbins being thrown in as well.

Getting it in sparkly white :D

Much of a difference with the 2015 model?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

In all fairness, who could spot that as a wind up? Knowing your form with the more, how do I put this politely? , agricultural bike. When you pulled into midway, I thought I heard a fúcked up tractor approaching :D

I believed it too! Was looking up prices and everything.

Thats what I mean.....he does have a certain "taste" in bikes. So this Triumph Speed Triple could be the wind up. He really is getting a Honda Goldwing :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Cienciano wrote: »
    I believed it too! Was looking up prices and everything.
    I've a mate in Offaly who can sell you a fúcked up tractor, if you're still interested?

If it has just 3 cylinders I'd be interested

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭goodlad

Where is the best place to go for a remap?

My two brothers exhausts will be here next week and i want to get the bike mapped to them. There is also a few flat spots at low rev's that are doing my nut in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Bikerguy

goodlad wrote: »
    Where is the best place to go for a remap?

My two brothers exhausts will be here next week and i want to get the bike mapped to them. There is also a few flat spots at low rev's that are doing my nut in.

I can put all my money down for RPM - Drogheda. You can even wait for that just call in advance.

I would not let anybody else touch my bike.

Yeah RPM is a nice shop to deal with no bull**** and Ronan is sound. Gary if you want I can bring you over I know exactly where it is can meet you in Trim or Kilcock and leave you at the place.....let me know.

That would be great man. Sure its still a week away until the exhausts get here and i will get the local lad to fit them for me and will give you a shout then about heading up.

No bother m8, would hate to see you lost over this side of the woods getting nose bleeds and polluting the nice Meath air with them exhausts :D

haha! The only pollution these exhausts will give off is some incredible noise pollution :D

As they came straight from the US they have no hole for the lambda sensor so will have to figure that out when they are getting out onto the bike. Possible need to drill a hole somewhere to get it sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭nerrad1983

haha! The only pollution these exhausts will give off is some incredible noise pollution :D

As they came straight from the US they have no hole for the lambda sensor so will have to figure that out when they are getting out onto the bike. Possible need to drill a hole somewhere to get it sorted.

I had the same problem when i got the system for mine

I left it up to a lad called Gizmo in Citywest and he added a threaded bit so i could put the lambda sensor in it, first class job and a sound bloke aswell

Give Mick a shout for his number as iv lost it

nerrad1983 wrote: »
    I had the same problem when i got the system for mine

I left it up to a lad called Gizmo in Citywest and he added a threaded bit so i could put the lambda sensor in it, first class job and a sound bloke aswell

Give Mick a shout for his number as iv lost it

Yeah man I seen some stuff online about it. I will give him a shout if I'm stuck.

I have a feeling I will be ok though as its only slip one and I think the sensor is at the headers.