Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General chat thread... Links, pictures, banter etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

Cardo packtalk slim. Didn't go the JBL route but it's an option.

Edit: now that I think of it, I'm pretty sure it's designed for all HJC lids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭enrique66_35

I have the cardo freecom and a HJC i70 and was a bit fiddly to install but fits fine just behind the sun visor slider. Standard speakers are grand with earplugs in and can hear music no problem. Tempted to spend the 90 quid to upgrade to the JBL speakers but not convinced it would be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,085 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Is the sound on the native speakers not great? Need to buy a new system as the cardo I haves battery life is degrading. Only really use it to listen to music on my phone. The cardo is fine but would like to get an upgrade on the sound from the speakers

It's not that they are not good. I just find of I'm listening to podcast or radio the conversation gets missing in parts. And near pointless listening to that stuff unless your doing 70 KPH or below.

So the shures eliminated that. Plus also have the ear protection in one as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭goblin59

Finally got Dad to agree to the next project.
    A 1981 R100rs he has that needs a rebuild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

goblin59 wrote: »
    Finally got Dad to agree to the next project.
    A 1981 R100rs he has that needs a rebuild

Please don't ruin such a classic with a "cafe racer" project.

ah no!
    He wouldn't let me near it if he thought i was doing that.
    I'll be updating the electronics though, that would be the most drastic change.
    No cutting the frame or any of that.
    If the engine can be turned manually then I'll be pulling it out to clean and service.

I plan to upgrade the suspension and seat (same style, just more a more comfortable one).
    Then swap all the lights and indicators to LED.
    depending on the controls, might swap them to Momentary switches like I did on the DR.

I will install an M-unit blue into the bike as well and might swap the instrument cluster over to a digital set up as well.
    But I plan to keep it look as original as possible as it was a bike I grew up with Dad always having

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,085 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I would. Would get used more that way. :)

blade1 wrote: »
    Film about father and son team in the Baja 1000 for anyone looking for something to watch

Just watched this. Really good, cheers.

listermint wrote: »
    I would. Would get used more that way. :)

haha a cafe racer would be the easiest way to rebuild it and then claim its custom if i just left bits off it xD

at most it will be a Naked bike.
    Dad wants to put the S faring back, but we both agree its pretty ugly. he just doesn't want to have the S faring taking up space in the lockup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,331 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Probably no lid for a while ffs.
    Wonder can I go back driving for work soon or what.
    They probably wouldn't care if I dropped dead but might not leave me drive in case I run into someone else :o

At this rate your work will be insisting you put a lid on before you enter the premises :pac:

How's the head?

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭blade1

At this rate your work will be insisting you put a lid on before you enter the premises :pac:

How's the head?

Getting staples out Thursday.
    Getting better every day.
    Was getting a bit of confusion for the first few days but seem to be coming back to normal in that sense.
    Head tender still.
    I get tired easily and head starts hurting if i don't take it easy.

Anytime something enters my peripheral visional for a split second I think it's going to hit me.
    When I walk from one room to another I think I'm going to hit my head of the door frame.
    Its like my brain is telling me watch out.
    That kinda stuff is annoying me.

Hospital gave me a leaflet that I just read yesterday which says not wise to drive for 4 weeks.
    Work doctor will have to clear me for work anyway and as far as I know I won't be allowed do full days for a week or two when I do go back.

Screenshot-20210413-193333.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Bangs on the head like that need time and rest... I have quite a bit of experience when it comes to getting knocks on the head and have a nasty scar myself!

Just take it easy, plenty of water, stay off the beer and mind yourself. Also seek lots of sympathy at home

Bangs on the head like that need time and rest... I have quite a bit of experience when it comes to getting knocks on the head and have a nasty scar myself!

Just take it easy, plenty of water, stay off the beer and mind yourself. Also seek lots of sympathy at home

Yeah my second time getting head split.
    Got bottled into the back of the head long long ago.

Getting fed better than ever. I'd say I've nearly a stone put on already :pac:

Yeah my second time getting head split.
    Got bottled into the back of the head long long ago.

Getting fed better than ever. I'd say I've nearly a stone put on already :pac:

Make you wish you split your head open more often. XD

zubair wrote: »
    Make you wish you split your head open more often. XD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Screenshot-20210413-193333.jpg

giphy.gif

Sorry man :D

giphy.gif

Sorry man :D

Stay tuned for Thursday's instalment when that patch is removed :pac:

Nooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,121 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Looking forward to seeing some gash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Finally says you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

Anyone done the bike2bike training in Mondello? Any use?

Edit: just searched and read a thread from a few years back. Sounds good! Hit me with fresh opinions if anyone has done it recently.

Nooooooooooooo

Are you not entertained??:pac:
    Finally says you

I think I'm going to make it a subscription service...... No cashy....no gashy!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Are you not entertained??:pac:

I think I'm going to make it a subscription service...... No cashy....no gashy!! :D

Only on Onlyfans

Blade gets 'em (the staples) out....

Finally says you

Sorry to disappoint ye lads but today's gore fest is to be rescheduled.
    Standing outside the doctors for 2 hrs waiting.
    Got sick of it so I f**ked off home.

On top of that, before entering the place I was told I'd have to pay for treatment/cert for work/prescription etc. out of my pocket.

I'm supposed to have a free doctor from work but apparently these aren't covered.
    What's the point in money coming out of my wages for medical every week so?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Really is cash for gash!.

So stripped the DR starter down and looks like the Commutator on the Armature is fried.
    Gave it a good clean up and still shorting out.
    So I think something else has gone inside as well, possibly the insulation on the copper winding is melted

Sorry to disappoint ye lads but today's gore fest is to be rescheduled.
    Standing outside the doctors for 2 hrs waiting.
    Got sick of it so I f**ked off home.

On top of that, before entering the place I was told I'd have to pay for treatment/cert for work/prescription etc. out of my pocket.

I'm supposed to have a free doctor from work but apparently these aren't covered.
    What's the point in money coming out of my wages for medical every week so?
    Dude, if you're okay for it just pay it and document everything, you'll get it back one way or the other, its a pain in the hoop though. Make an appointment in the morning and go back, stop being a dick :D You need to get your arse back down there dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,121 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Finally got put for a good spin today. Just under 100 miles, all around Meath and Louth. Had herself with me for the last 60 or so miles. Lovely spin, weather and scenery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭flashinthepan

Finally got put for a good spin today. Just under 100 miles, all around Meath and Louth. Had herself with me for the last 60 or so miles. Lovely spin, weather and scenery.
    Got out n about today too down to Glenmalure :-)
    Was a cracking day for it
    550274.jpg

Dude, if you're okay for it just pay it and document everything, you'll get it back one way or the other, its a pain in the hoop though. Make an appointment in the morning and go back, stop being a dick :D You need to get your arse back down there dude

Yeah that's what I'm doing regards payment.
    I wasn't being a dick.
    My head was hopping at that stage and couldn't take anymore.

Had to go home take some pain killers and throw myself on the couch.
    They rang me back an hour later so that's how long more I would have been.
    Rescheduled for tomorrow evening.